$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephen777
Couples
Newcastle
Sep 10, 2014

Great location,

Had a great 3 nights at this hotel, only downside was the lack of view! Our room looked out onto a small courtyard but I suppose we can't all have sea views! The room itself was spotlessly clean with a lovely comfy bed & good bathroom. There was good choice for breakfast with a collection of cold meats, cheeses & fruit, hot dishes including scrambled egg & chorizo sausages, breads & pastries. The roof top pool & sun area was just big enough for nice hour in the sun with a couple of cold beers. The location is an ideal base to start from with the Port area & La Ramblas only a 10 min walk away, attractions further afield were within easy reach due to the Metro station right outside the door. Overall a very enjoyable short break which I would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Port Vell has a good selection of bars & restaurants with good views overlooking the sea.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AN San Jose
Couples
CA
Jul 28, 2014

Good value for money

This a good place to stay and very conveniently located. Very friendly and helpful staff. Less than 5-minutes walk from La Rambla. There is one caveat though - not every room has a window that opens to sky, so please verify the kind of room you are getting before booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SylvieFromLA
Couples
LOS ANGELES
Jul 25, 2014

Best Stay in Barcelona

The hotel was EXCELLENT!! Centrally located, right across the street from the METRO, which can take you anywhere in the city, including the funicular to Monjuic. The room was always clean, fresh, hardwood floors. Staff were helpful in giving directions and offering to keep our luggage when the room wasnt ready (before Check in). Pool was refreshing on the rooftop with a bar. In room safe, fridge, very modern. I would stay here again, no doubts! And for those nate light snacks, eats next door at A LA TURUC, for some kabobs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the L2 subway to sagrada familia. ABout 5 stops. takes you directly there but purchase your ticket in advance, because if you buy at the door you will have to wait an hour in the long hot sun.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StefanieH
Couples
London
Jul 23, 2014

Fantastic city break

Great hotel in good location with easy access to beach, old town and airport. Staff were very friendly and went the extra mile to assist. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and we are more than happy to recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Experttraveller
Couples
San Jose, California
Jul 7, 2014

Awesome location

We were in Barcelona for a vacation and had a great time with Barcelona Universal. The location is very good and safe, very close to the metro station, walking distance to Las Ramblas and The Gothic Quarter. Although Plaza Catalunya would be a more favorable location, this was good too. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Staff is very helpful for sharing information on places around and how to get there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Park Guell is a must visit..

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angelina7
Couples
Barcelona
Jul 2, 2014

Great weekend trip

Hotel is situated 5 mins from the ramblas and was perfect for the weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Find the place de ravel for great place to eat

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samin
Couples
Los Angeles
Jun 25, 2014

Convenient and comfortable hotel

We really enjoyed our stay in Barcelona Universal for 5 nights. It is very convenient to go anywhere from there. The staff are very helpful especially when we suffered from a theft on the subway. The hotel helped us with telephone service in contacting credit cards etc. What missing is a hot water pot. I love hot way for tea wherever I stay in a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

save time and be safe

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Panchita New York
Couples
New York, New York
Jun 17, 2014

Great vacation

This hotel is centrally located, close to public transportation. Hotel is a few blocks away from Las Ramblas, within walking distance of the gothic neighborhood and the cathedral. It is also close to the Plaza Cataluna. There are many restaurants around the hotel where you can get a meal for a decent price. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The room was of adequate size and the bed was comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend having lunch at La Boqueria Market. The seafood is amazing. Note that the market closes at 5 pm.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sanjatay
Friends
Oxford
Jun 7, 2014

good for city break

A good all round experience. Helpful staff and quiet room. Lovely shower!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jayjayt
Couples
Durbin, ND, USA
Jun 5, 2014

It doesn't get any better!

We were only in Barcelona for one day and the management hooked me up with a private (English speaking) tour guide who showed us all of Barcelona and then got us to our cruise ship on time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top