$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 17, 2014

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
110 reviews
Great hotel before a cruise

We loved this hotel!! The location was perfect! It was very quiet but just a couple of blocks from... See full review

  • Wind1953
  • Nov 21, 2014
Recent Trip To Barcelona

Barcelona Universal is a real 4 star hotel. It's central location makes it easy to get to the major... See full review

  • WS Chuck 2
  • Aug 14, 2014
Up-to-the-minute lodging with free Wi-Fi close to downtown attractions

A hop and a skip on foot from Las Ramblas, Barcelona Universal Hotel offers contempo-chic rooms and suites with up-to-the-minute trimmings such as free Wi-Fi. A favorite among business visitors to Barcelona, it features extensive on-site facilities and well-trained staff. The tenth-floor swimming pool showcases stellar vistas of Barcelona's skyline. The solarium and fitness center next door are a boon for leisure visitors. The first-floor restaurant dishes out international fare.

Highlights
  • The three suites come with Jacuzzis and private terraces
  • Complimentary bottle of cava (Catalan champagne) in superior rooms
  • Prime views of Sagrada Família from the tenth-floor swimming pool
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi in the rooms
  • Superb location a stone's throw from Las Ramblas
Rooms

Barcelona Universal Hotel offers four different room types. Universal rooms are the simplest and smallest. The superior rooms that occupy the building's corner are more spacious and include a complimentary bottle of cava. Triple rooms are ideal for families, as they feature enough space for a sofa bed. The ninth-floor skyline suites at Barcelona Universal Hotel come equipped with marble-clad bathrooms with Jacuzzis and panoramic city views from their private terraces. All units have air conditioning and heating, safe, LCD TV, en-suite bathroom and free Wi-Fi.

Features

Well-suited to business as well as leisure travelers, Barcelona Universal Hotel provides all guests with free Wi-Fi. Two complimentary business centers offer broadband Internet connection. One is in the hotel lobby and the other on the ninth floor. Open seasonally, the small swimming pool on the tenth floor offers city views from its two terraces. The first-floor Medea restaurant dishes out international cuisine for breakfast and dinner. A variety of dining options sits within walking distance of Barcelona Universal Hotel. Guests can pay extra for private parking and laundry services. 

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (7.2 mi/ 11.5 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Paralel (the hotel is right in front of the Nou de la Rambla exit)
Attractions
  • Las Ramblas (.4 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Plaza de Cataluña (.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Picasso Museum (.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Plaza de España (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Montjuic (1.2 mi/ 2 km)
  • Sagrada Família (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
Business
  • Four conference rooms and seven private offices
  • Free wireless and hard-wire Internet service
  • Audio-visual setups
  • Two 24/7 business centers

Hotel Map

41.3751 2.1685
Area served
Barcelona.
Nearby airports
Barcelona International Airport (BCN) only 12 KMS away from the hotel.
Area description
Hotel Barcelona Universal is located on Avenida Paralel, number 76, just a few steps away from Las Ramblas (metro station "PARALEL", lines 2 and 3, just in front of the hotel). The locations gives to the hotel's guests access to some of Barcelona's most emblematic and celebrated areas such as the Old Port, the Gothic neighbourhood, the Liceu Theatre, the Palau de la Msica Catalana, the Cathedral, the Magical Fountains of Montjuc, CaixaForum, the Grec Theatre, Poble Espanyol, the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion and the Olympic Stadium. Hotel Barcelona Universal is nearby to countless tourist attractions, as well as the city's key business and commercial areas, the World Trade Centre, the Barcelona Fira and the Palau de Congresos Convention Centre.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelona Universal Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Barcelona Universal Hotel Rooms

Universal Room - Free WIFI (1 or 2 people)
These are the rooms that best define our hotel. Modern and comfortable rooms with ensuite full marble bathroom. Room Facilities: Free of Charge Safety Deposit Box, Free of Charge WIFI + High Speed Internet Connection, Minibar, Full Bath, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning and heating, private toilet, Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Bathroom amenities.
Universal Triple - Free WIFI (3 people)
These are the rooms that best define our hotel. Modern and comfortable rooms, much larger than Universal Roomm with ensuite full marble bathroom. Room Facilities: Free of Charge Safety Deposit Box, Free of Charge WIFI + High Speed Internet Connection, Minibar, Full Bath, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning and heating, private toilet, Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Bathroom amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.1 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.2 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Port of Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.4 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.4 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.5 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.5 mi
  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.1 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.2 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Port of Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.4 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.4 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.5 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.5 mi
  • Columbus Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.5 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.5 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.5 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.6 mi
  • Teatre Grec: 0.6 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.6 mi
  • Fundació Joan Miró: 0.6 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.6 mi
  • Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica de la Mare de Deu de la Merce: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Lliure: 0.7 mi
  • Archaeology CatalunyaMuseum of Catalonia: 0.7 mi
  • World trade centre and Moll de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.7 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.7 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.7 mi
  • Montjuïc Castle: 0.7 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.7 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.7 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.7 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • MareMagnum: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
There are 4 meeting rooms (under request directly to the hotel). Also, on the 9th floor there is a lobby that clients can use free of charge for small meetings.

Dining

Restaurant
The restaurant offers full breakfast buffet in the morning and a salads buffet for dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
enrichment2000
West Linn, Oregon
Nov 21, 2012

Great place to stay

We were there after a 14 day cruise and it was better than what we expected. The staff was very helpful and the location was perfect for the hop-on-hop-off bus. not far from the cruise terminal and airport. The room was spacious and very clean. Not only would we recommend this hotel but we plan to stay there on out next trip to Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samin
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 25, 2014

Convenient and comfortable hotel

We really enjoyed our stay in Barcelona Universal for 5 nights. It is very convenient to go anywhere from there. The staff are very helpful especially when we suffered from a theft on the subway. The hotel helped us with telephone service in contacting credit cards etc. What missing is a hot water pot. I love hot way for tea wherever I stay in a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

save time and be safe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Panchita New York
Business
New York, New York
Jun 17, 2014

Great vacation

This hotel is centrally located, close to public transportation. Hotel is a few blocks away from Las Ramblas, within walking distance of the gothic neighborhood and the cathedral. It is also close to the Plaza Cataluna. There are many restaurants around the hotel where you can get a meal for a decent price. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The room was of adequate size and the bed was comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend having lunch at La Boqueria Market. The seafood is amazing. Note that the market closes at 5 pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sanjatay
Business
Oxford
Jun 7, 2014

good for city break

A good all round experience. Helpful staff and quiet room. Lovely shower!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jayjayt
Business
Durbin, ND, USA
Jun 5, 2014

It doesn't get any better!

We were only in Barcelona for one day and the management hooked me up with a private (English speaking) tour guide who showed us all of Barcelona and then got us to our cruise ship on time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tsofi
Business
Isreal
May 24, 2014

great hotel

The room we got was 8 floor the view was nice, the bed was big,Helped each question Orientation, The only thing that they need to improve is to add hard egg and more cheese and Vegetables the fruit are great. The roof with the view and the swimming pool are great. The location close to every thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abs1983
Business
London
May 20, 2014

Great Hotel in great location

Stayed at Hotel Barcelona Universal for 4 nights and we werent disappointed. We got a good deal, much cheaper than the cost advertized on the hotel website. Location is superb, the hotel is literally outside the metro station, which in my opinion is a wonderful thing to have for visiting tourists. Staff were very friendly, approachable and always willing to help. This helped us a lot in getting our bearings as this was our first visit to Barcelona. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the bustling La Ramblas Avenue and only a 10 - 15 minute bus ride to the beach. Rooms were very clean and exactly as advertised on the hotel website. My only slight negative would be the beds which were two twins rather than a king size bed hence the 4 star rating otherwise i would have given a 5 star review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurants just before the Barceloneta Beach have amazing seafood at literally half the price of most tourists areas. Stay away from Port Olimpic unless you have over €100 to spend on a meal per head.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deb n Phill
Business
England
May 8, 2014

4 night break for couple

Hotel is modern and spotless. Helpful, friendly staff. Small rooftop pool with great views of the city. Lots of bathroom goodies more akin to higher star hotel. On second floor so we had a terrace which was lovely to sit out on (no view but nice to have patio door open for fresh air in room rather than air con on). Fridge in room and safe which you need in Barcelona as you take bare minimum money or valuables out with you. We had breakfast included in our room rate and it was fantastic. All freshly prepared on a buffet that was constantly filled up. Would recommend hotel for an evening meal as well. Had one of best steaks ever. Tube station right outside hotel but only 10 min walk to La Rambla.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the evening buffet. Help yourself to starters, then we had an amazing steak with all the trimmings and help yourself to desert off the buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim77
Business
Maine
Feb 23, 2014

Barcelona in February

The weather was springlike! We had sunny days with a light breeze, temperatures in the high 50's each day. We were comfortable in a light coat and a scarf for when a breeze kicked up by the water. The hotel was clean and the staff was wonderful! We loved the location, safe, convenient to subway stop, ATM, restaurants and a short walk to Barcelona cathedral and the wonderful La Boqueria market. We loved the palace Guell which again was an easy 10 minute walk. Take a walk around the Gothic Quarter, lots of winding, more narrow streets with little shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Elche restaurant for delicious paella at a very reasonable price. A friend who lives in that area said it was the best around. Check it out at www.elcherestaurant.es

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poli Prof
Business
Utah
Feb 14, 2014

Well located and comfortable

The hotel is modern and the staff kind and efficient. The location was only a few blocks from La Rambla and right next to a metro station. .My wife and I had a very comfortable stay. The wi-fi was good although we were asked to renew our connection on a regular basis. The in-room safe was an added bonus. We skipped the 16 euro breakfast at the hotel in favor of eating at local restaurants. Our trip was a combination of work and pleasure. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the T 10 metro pass which is much more economical than purchasing indiviidual tickets. The Barcelona metro system is clean, fast, and efficient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYE in BCN
Business
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Jan 11, 2014

Good value, very pleased

Hotel is very well located, with Para-lel Metro Station right in front. Use the Carrer de Sant Pau exit. Lots of small restaurants and cafes around to get a quick inexpensive bite. The lobby is smallish and can get a bit crazy if there are a lot of people checking in. The rooms are not huge but perfectly functional. I have never been crazy about those funky half shower doors. But they are common in Europe and this place appears to cater to European rather than North American guests. The rooms were nicely done and the TV's had a lot of channels, in case you are going to Barcelona to watch TV. Couple of things that are nice were the wi-fi which had decent speed and lots of power outlets by the beds. If you are charging up multiple devices, this will make life a lot easier. Good thinking! Beds were very comfortable. This can be an issue when traveling because I can develop a sore back. The staff has pretty good English. Surprised a couple of the guys couldn't help me with relatively simple requests though. My credit card company stopped a transaction and I needed to make a collect call to the US. The guys at the desk had no idea how to do it. Still, at check out, my wife had a bit of a stomach problem and at that hour it would be a long walk to a store. Felip at the front desk helped us get a Coke for her. Just super classy on his part. I really enjoyed it. I felt like I received outstanding value and would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dino Pan across the street from the Universal and around Barcelona is a fine local cafe to get your morning coffee and breakfast. Its got a nice selection and really good prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top