$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
138 reviews
It doesn't get any better!

We were only in Barcelona for one day and the management hooked me up with a private (English... See full review

  • jayjayt
  • Jun 5, 2014
4 night break for couple

Hotel is modern and spotless. Helpful, friendly staff. Small rooftop pool with great views of the... See full review

  • Deb n Phill
  • May 8, 2014
Up-to-the-minute lodging with free Wi-Fi close to downtown attractions

A hop and a skip on foot from Las Ramblas, Barcelona Universal Hotel offers contempo-chic rooms and suites with up-to-the-minute trimmings such as free Wi-Fi. A favorite among business visitors to Barcelona, it features extensive on-site facilities and well-trained staff. The tenth-floor swimming pool showcases stellar vistas of Barcelona's skyline. The solarium and fitness center next door are a boon for leisure visitors. The first-floor restaurant dishes out international fare.

Highlights
  • The three suites come with Jacuzzis and private terraces
  • Complimentary bottle of cava (Catalan champagne) in superior rooms
  • Prime views of Sagrada Família from the tenth-floor swimming pool
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi in the rooms
  • Superb location a stone's throw from Las Ramblas
Rooms

Barcelona Universal Hotel offers four different room types. Universal rooms are the simplest and smallest. The superior rooms that occupy the building's corner are more spacious and include a complimentary bottle of cava. Triple rooms are ideal for families, as they feature enough space for a sofa bed. The ninth-floor skyline suites at Barcelona Universal Hotel come equipped with marble-clad bathrooms with Jacuzzis and panoramic city views from their private terraces. All units have air conditioning and heating, safe, LCD TV, en-suite bathroom and free Wi-Fi.

Features

Well-suited to business as well as leisure travelers, Barcelona Universal Hotel provides all guests with free Wi-Fi. Two complimentary business centers offer broadband Internet connection. One is in the hotel lobby and the other on the ninth floor. Open seasonally, the small swimming pool on the tenth floor offers city views from its two terraces. The first-floor Medea restaurant dishes out international cuisine for breakfast and dinner. A variety of dining options sits within walking distance of Barcelona Universal Hotel. Guests can pay extra for private parking and laundry services. 

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (7.2 mi/ 11.5 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Paralel (the hotel is right in front of the Nou de la Rambla exit)
Attractions
  • Las Ramblas (.4 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Plaza de Cataluña (.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Picasso Museum (.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Plaza de España (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Montjuic (1.2 mi/ 2 km)
  • Sagrada Família (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
Business
  • Four conference rooms and seven private offices
  • Free wireless and hard-wire Internet service
  • Audio-visual setups
  • Two 24/7 business centers

Hotel Map

41.3751 2.1685
Area served
Barcelona.
Nearby airports
Barcelona International Airport (BCN) only 12 KMS away from the hotel.
Area description
Hotel Barcelona Universal is located on Avenida Paralel, number 76, just a few steps away from Las Ramblas (metro station "PARALEL", lines 2 and 3, just in front of the hotel). The locations gives to the hotel's guests access to some of Barcelona's most emblematic and celebrated areas such as the Old Port, the Gothic neighbourhood, the Liceu Theatre, the Palau de la Msica Catalana, the Cathedral, the Magical Fountains of Montjuc, CaixaForum, the Grec Theatre, Poble Espanyol, the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion and the Olympic Stadium. Hotel Barcelona Universal is nearby to countless tourist attractions, as well as the city's key business and commercial areas, the World Trade Centre, the Barcelona Fira and the Palau de Congresos Convention Centre.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelona Universal Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Barcelona Universal Hotel Rooms

Universal Room - Free WIFI (1 or 2 people)
These are the rooms that best define our hotel. Modern and comfortable rooms with ensuite full marble bathroom. Room Facilities: Free of Charge Safety Deposit Box, Free of Charge WIFI + High Speed Internet Connection, Minibar, Full Bath, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning and heating, private toilet, Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Bathroom amenities.
Universal Triple - Free WIFI (3 people)
These are the rooms that best define our hotel. Modern and comfortable rooms, much larger than Universal Roomm with ensuite full marble bathroom. Room Facilities: Free of Charge Safety Deposit Box, Free of Charge WIFI + High Speed Internet Connection, Minibar, Full Bath, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning and heating, private toilet, Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Bathroom amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.1 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.2 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Port of Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.4 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.4 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.5 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.5 mi
  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.1 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.2 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Port of Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.4 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.4 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.5 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.5 mi
  • Columbus Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.5 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.5 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.5 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.6 mi
  • Teatre Grec: 0.6 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.6 mi
  • Fundació Joan Miró: 0.6 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.6 mi
  • Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica de la Mare de Deu de la Merce: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Lliure: 0.7 mi
  • Archaeology CatalunyaMuseum of Catalonia: 0.7 mi
  • World trade centre and Moll de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.7 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.7 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.7 mi
  • Montjuïc Castle: 0.7 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.7 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.7 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.7 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • MareMagnum: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
There are 4 meeting rooms (under request directly to the hotel). Also, on the 9th floor there is a lobby that clients can use free of charge for small meetings.

Dining

Restaurant
The restaurant offers full breakfast buffet in the morning and a salads buffet for dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (138)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eugene K.
New York City
Feb 24, 2011

Convinient location, clean rooms

Good location relative to all the places you might want to see in the city. 5 min walk brings to the city center, Miro park and museum or promenade. Rooms are clean. As minuses I can mention: The neighborhood is more of a working class place. Restaurant is not worth eating there. King bed was simply 2 beds put together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto Canada
Aug 29, 2010

Location, Location, location !

Enjoyed our stay. More Hand and Wash Cloths needed. Hand Soap....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many available...check them out

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super dad with fastidious family
Minneapolis, MN
May 30, 2011

Super experience and great service

We found the hotel nice, clean and very comfortable. It has a modern appeal and great staff. The director personally took time to speak with us and help us with information, tips to go sightseeing, streets to avoid, and find our way around the city. The shower in the bathroom was a pleasure to be under after a long tiring day. They delivered hot water in a kettle for us to make our own special spicy tea at no charge! They are quite considerate of foreign nationals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a very conveniently located hotel

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Duck
Southern Maryland
Feb 12, 2011

Pleasant suprise

Very efficient service, clean modern decoration, spotless house keeping, very convenient to the sights and transportation. A great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 10, 2011

Nice affordable hotel

This a a nice, affordable hotel with a contemporary feel. The room is a nice size and has all essential features. Has a pool/sun lounge on the roof. This hotel is in walking distance from Las Ramblas, which makes it very convenient. When we come back we will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Penny mom of a Barcelona student
New Salisbury, IN
Feb 9, 2011

Great hotel room, but check your bill

The hotel room gave us more than I expected. I really liked the wood & marble floors. Everything was exceptionally clean and fresh smelling. The air conditioning worked well when we needed it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was the best. We used the metro & bus system to get anywhere we wanted to go. It was easy & efficient. The only downside to the hotel experience was that they tried to charge us items from the mini bar that we didn't use. It took 3 different arguments to get that taken off our bill. Hopefully it won't show up on our Visa card later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Our hotel was very close to lots of dining areas. The portions were large and we were able to share many items. The best was the "American breakfast" at most restaurants close by. Enough for two. I do suggest finding the places where locals go to eat. We had the best seafood at a place that we just happened upon. We visited a couple of places I had researched on line and they were very disappointing. The local food critic said you had to go to 7 Portes. You really don't. It was my biggest disappointment.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samin
Los Angeles
Jun 25, 2014

Convenient and comfortable hotel

We really enjoyed our stay in Barcelona Universal for 5 nights. It is very convenient to go anywhere from there. The staff are very helpful especially when we suffered from a theft on the subway. The hotel helped us with telephone service in contacting credit cards etc. What missing is a hot water pot. I love hot way for tea wherever I stay in a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

save time and be safe

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron44
Seattle, WA, USA
Jan 23, 2012

They're Not The 4 Seasons!

Great place to stay. Dont get confused thinking that like most BCN area tourist class hotels, that breakfasts are included. At this one, it isn't. Don't open the mini bar, and you won't be charged. Even if you attempt to look, front desk knows. Keep these two things in mind, and you'll be in good shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mixxx
Chicago,Illinois
Jun 28, 2012

Trip

The staff was excellent. They knew how and where to go about where you needed to go. Metro right outside you door to get around the city. If you want to do a lot of sightseeing I would sugguest get the hop on hop off bus tour for two days. The beach was nice all the churches and tours. The only bad thing was people smoking every where. Even when trying to eat outside but other than that it was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the subway and train and bus it's so easy to follow and a lot cheaper than taxi. Buy the T-10 package because it coming out to under 1euo per ride.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luke89
UK
Oct 7, 2012

Good base from which to explore the city

The hotel is smart, clean and a great place to relax and recharge after a day exploring this great city. Majority of sights/attractions within walking distance with a metro right outside for those further distances. A well located hotel which made a perfect base from which to explore Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If your a sports fan the Olympic stadium/park and the Nou Camps are a must.

Back to menu Return to top