$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

Barcelo Atenea Mar

4 stars
Passeig Garcia Faria, 37-47, Barcelona, 08019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
14 reviews
very nice place for business

the roon service is very kind and helpful, the minibar is great and the view is awsome from the... See full review

  • Junior1986
  • Feb 23, 2014
This was a very friendly hotel.

This was a very friendly hotel. The rooms were bright and spacious.The check in service was quick... See full review

  • VELMA
  • May 11, 2010
The Barcelo Atenea Mar stands right on the sea front just 5 minutes from the new Barcelona Conference Center, a bus stop on the corner and 10 minutes to the Metro and main means of transport around the city. This modern, functional hotel makes the perfect base for an enjoyable stay on either business trips or vacations. As well as high standards of facilities and customer service, the hotel offers excellent cuisine in el Comedor restaurant, which specializes in Mediterranean dishes. Great Breakfast Buffet selection also available at 12 eur per person per day. Please notice this is a non smoking property, so smoking is not allowed.

Hotel Map

41.4019 2.2116
Area served
Barcelona - Mar Bella Beach
Nearby airports
Barcelona International Airport
Area description
Right on the sea front with direct access to the Nova Mar Bella beach Just 5 minutes from the new Barcelona Conference Center, the Zoo and the Diagonal Mar and 10 minutes to the Metro to City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Atenea Mar also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Barcelo Atenea Mar Rooms

SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Spectacular sea views. The rooms have a king size bed or 2 beds of 90 cm. A digital safe, a fully equipped bathroom with a bathtub or shower, a hair dryer, a minibar, air conditioning and heating. Rooms for disabled people and for smokers available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Platja de Mar Bella: 0.3 mi
  • El Poblenou: 0.4 mi
  • Diagonal Mar i el Front Marítim del Poblenou: 0.6 mi
  • Platja de Bogatell: 0.7 mi
  • Poblenou Park: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona International Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Diagonal Mar Shopping centre: 0.8 mi
  • Forum: 0.8 mi
  • The Blue Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Parc del Forum: 0.9 mi
  • Geology Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Torre Agbar: 1.2 mi
  • Olympic Port: 1.2 mi
  • Teatre Nacional de Catalunya: 1.3 mi
  • Auditori: 1.4 mi
  • Platja de Mar Bella: 0.3 mi
  • El Poblenou: 0.4 mi
  • Diagonal Mar i el Front Marítim del Poblenou: 0.6 mi
  • Platja de Bogatell: 0.7 mi
  • Poblenou Park: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona International Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Diagonal Mar Shopping centre: 0.8 mi
  • Forum: 0.8 mi
  • The Blue Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Parc del Forum: 0.9 mi
  • Geology Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Torre Agbar: 1.2 mi
  • Olympic Port: 1.2 mi
  • Teatre Nacional de Catalunya: 1.3 mi
  • Auditori: 1.4 mi
  • Parliament of Catalonia: 1.5 mi
  • Barcelona Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • La Monumental, The Bullring: 1.6 mi
  • Parc de la Ciutadella: 1.6 mi
  • Castell dels Tres Dragons: 1.8 mi
  • Arc de Triomf: 1.8 mi
  • Passeig del Born: 1.8 mi
  • Barcelona Estació de França: 1.8 mi
  • Chocolate Museum: 1.8 mi
  • La Maquinista: 1.9 mi
  • Museu d’Història de la Immigració de Catalunya: 1.9 mi
  • Temple Expiatori de la Sagrada Família: 1.9 mi
  • Monasterio de San Pedro de las Puellas: 1.9 mi
  • La Barceloneta: 1.9 mi
  • Sant Pere: 1.9 mi
  • Platja de Sant Sebastià: 1.9 mi
  • La Ribera: 1.9 mi
  • Carrer de Montcada: 2 mi
  • Museum of Textiles and Fashion: 2 mi
  • Mercat Santa Caterina: 2 mi
  • Picasso Museum: 2 mi
  • Museu Barbier-Mueller d'Art Precolombí: 2 mi
  • Santa Maria del Mar: 2 mi
  • Institute for Advanced Architecture of Catalonia: 2 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 2 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 2.1 mi
  • Hospital de Sant Pau: 2.1 mi
  • Museo de la Erotica: 2.1 mi
  • Catalonia Square: 2.1 mi
  • Camp Municipal Narcís Sala: 2.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
5 meeting rooms

Dining

El Comedor
The hotel offers excellent cuisine in el Comedor restaurant, which specializes in Mediterranean dishes. Great Breakfast Buffet selection also available at 12 eur per person per day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Atenea Mar

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Atenea Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Junior1986
Business
Hungary
Feb 23, 2014

very nice place for business

the roon service is very kind and helpful, the minibar is great and the view is awsome from the front side of the building! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Atenea Mar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Purplegirl
UK
Oct 9, 2012

Did what we needed....

Well, the one night's stay didn't start well, after leaving our campsite and driving to Barcelona in time to check in, only to be told by the snooty receptionist that our room wasn't ready- with no apology we were told we could wait in reception or go away and come back! Not very helpful regarding parking either! So my daughter and I waited in reception while my husband went off to park the car. We waited for about 30 to 40 minutes before I went back to reception to enquire if our room was ready, to be informed by the lovely man that it was- don't know how long it had been ready but he was obviously not gping to tell us! Our stay was fine, transport links good using both the nearby metro stations, and we had a lovely walk into town along the promenade walk from the hotel- would recommend to anyone who enjoys people watching. The other staff we came across were much more helpful- maybe he was having a bad day?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Barcelo Atenea Mar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ashish M
Austin, TX
Jun 1, 2012

Nice beat hotel but far away from center

Decent hotel with friendly staff but not very close to center. We did hop-on hop-off bus that departed right out side the hotel so it wasn't bad. Nice access to beach and good places to eat close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

From airport book shuttle to get to this place.

Review of Barcelo Atenea Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
riddle
Emmaus, PA, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Location

Location was a 10-15 minute walk to a subway stop. Also- hop-no - hop-off bus had a stop almost in front of the hotel. Neighborhood had many small and good, if unpretentious, restaurants. My wife and I were very happy with location and hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Atenea Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VELMA
Not Provided
May 11, 2010

This was a very friendly hotel.

This was a very friendly hotel. The rooms were bright and spacious.The check in service was quick and the staff on the reception desk were most helpful.The food on the set evening menu was very good and very reasonably priced.The tour bus stopped just along the road and also a 41 bus which will take you to the Airobus for transport to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Atenea Mar

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, OH
Sep 4, 2009

Unfortunate experience

We were in town for a convention and stayed at this hotel 5 days. Unfortunately, one day the elevators broke and our room was on the 9th floor! That same day a water pipe broke and we had no running water or toilet. You can imagine how difficult that was in 90 degree weather. The hotel did not compensate us. Some of the staff were very helpful but others were unfriendly and unhelpful (a mixed bag). There is only one ice machine for the entire hotel on the 1st floor -- get it while you can!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

They do not have coffee makers in the rooms but there is a little cafe about 1 block south of the hotel that offers decently priced espresso.

Review of Barcelo Atenea Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 11, 2008

Close to beach

We only spent one night but the hotel was beautiful. They offered wireless internet for a small fee which we took advantage of. The location is right across the street from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Atenea Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 4, 2007

The finest

I was very pleased with the room and the service. They went beyond the normal service and helped me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Casino and a great restaurant down on the marina.

Review of Barcelo Atenea Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
raxavio
chateauneuf du pape
Jun 2, 2014

excellent

hotel tres agreable,tres bien placé,personnels excellents

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Atenea Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mademoiselle Raphia
Business
BATZ SUR MER, FRANCE
May 7, 2014

globalement satisfaite

En séminaire au CCIB, j'ai pu m'y rendre à pied tous les jours. L'hôtel est confortable, les chambres assez bien isolées au niveau acoustique, le petit déjeuner copieux et excellent. J'ai choisi cet hôtel pour sa proximité avec le CCIB et parce que nombre de mes partenaires y séjournaient aussi. Globalement, je suis satisfaite de mon séjour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Bon choix pour un séminaire ou congrès au forum ou au CCIB. Station de bus et taxis devant l'hôtel. Par contre, relativement éloigné du centre ville, déplacement en voiture ou en bus conseillé.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search