$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

4 stars
View map of Aribau, 33, Barcelona, ES- 08011

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY explorer
Business
Phoenix
Apr 18, 2015

Basic hotel, good location

Basic hotel with gay vibe. Easy walk to the main streets, and close to great restaurants. Hotel service and English is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pack lite
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Sep 25, 2014

Great Staff

Four Star by American Standard No. No free shuttle from airport. No free cable tv. No help with bags. Room was ok something was in the drain in sink which should have been fixed before l was given the room. Had to put key in the wall for lights and air. They had free gym, and restaurant and bars. Now the great news staff was very nice and gave me perfect directions on every where l wanted to go. The hotel is within walking distance of many of the main attractions and center of town. Outside the hotel there are bars, restaurants, drug stores, grocery stores, clothing stores, shoe stores ect. The best location.. The room was cleaned every day. The cleaning staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Rambla Best food , a lot to choose from best value back streets near or in the big almost open air market. Museums and sites get coupon book and get tickets online to avoid long lines Go after or before Merce holiday it is very crowded at this time. The Art, is everywhere the architecture is like no other in the world. Be very careful with money and clothes. My bags were full by the time l got home half my clothes were gone. Barcelona Airport Barcelona Airport . Take nothing of value and very little clothes if you are a size 12 and under you can buy clothes there.

Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barcelona girls week.
Business
stoneham, ma
Apr 27, 2014

great girls week vacation

Staff was outstanding. Very helpful and friendly. The hotel claims to be hetero friendly and it is true. We felt very comfortable and welcome here. Front desk could not be more friendly. They made great recommendations. We walked just about everywhere except Parc Guell. Take the subway there. We averaged 8 miles a day walking. Visited Sagrada Familia, great take, but get tickets online before going. Otherwise be prepared to wait in line for an hour or more. Las Ramblas, Gothic area, Picasso museum all about a 20 minute walk from hotel. Rooms are small but adequate, no closets, hair dryer is weak, but does the job at a slower rate. roof deck was magnificent. We had happy hour up there every afternoon. Just go with an open mind. We had a blast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Tapas. We ate there more then once. Delicious.

Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Micha
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 30, 2011

Great stay!

Wonderful staff, clean and trendy hotel. PERFECT location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kychiang
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Feb 27, 2012

Great Location, Good Value

As a 'heterofriendly' hotel, it is in the heart of gay Barcelona with manageable walking distance from many shopping, dining and tourist sites. Staff is super friendly. The view from the rooftop is great, unfortunately the bar or pool was not open during the winter time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Mussol. Classic Catalan food. Ask for 'Concols' (grilled green onions). La Flauta tapas bar, Catalan style, is just 1-min walk away.

Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A fan of Barcelona
Business
Munich, Germany
Mar 13, 2012

Great Spring Vacation

The hotel is very conveniently located at the center of Barcelona with easy access to public transportation including the Aerobus which runs between the city center and the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doesn't matter to anyone
Business
Philly
May 18, 2012

Nice place - bad that you require fields on a survey - all should be optional

My fourth time here. Always friendly and helpful staff, clean, comfortable, and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Write On
Business
West hollywood
Sep 24, 2012

Las Rumbles

This is the perfect hotel if you are coming to Barcelona to party. The city is vibrant and alive, and Axel is right in the middle of it. The Eixample is ideal because it sits apart from the crush of tourists. The hotel itself is sexy beyond belief, but the only drawback: It sits above a train tunnel and my hotel bed shook from 6am to Midnight. Every 7-10 minutes. And not for the right reason! The staff, especially Mirasol, was exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rhymes with Flauta.

Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brinn10
Business
Long Island, NY
Nov 4, 2012

Exactly as described...

Though upgrading to a better room was an option, I chose the basic package which was sufficient for my purposes. The location is great for sightseeing, which was the purpose of my trip. The staff was helpful and certainly easy on the eyes. My trip was not oriented around gay nightlife or the spa, so I can't really grade these aspects of the facility. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to support an LGBT friendly business while visiting this beautiful city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When you've had enough local cuisine and dealt with enough tourist-trap-tapas, stop by Wok 2 Walk on the Ramblas adjacent to the Boqueria for a no-nonsense stir fry at a great price...

Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
une voyageuse
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Dec 31, 2012

Just what we needed!

We spent three lovely days in Barcelona walking from the hotel to different locations in the city after parking the car in the hotel/city parking. The staff is friendly, the location perfect, the room was dark and quiet to sleep but well lit if needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top