$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

4 stars
View map of Aribau, 33, Barcelona, ES- 08011

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 25, 2011

Excellent location and service

Super friendly service with a great vibe. Rooms were well-appointed with a great location. Walking distance to most bars and great restaurants, as well as the buses, metro, La Rambla and Plaza Catalunya. The wifi here is terrible, though; there are two computers in the "business center" on the first floor that are much faster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"La Flauta" has incredible tapas, sandwiches and full meals at reasonable prices. I had the most amazing "bocadillo" (sandwich) of jamón iberico, cheese and dates!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 21, 2011

Hotel Amenities Listed --- NOT Accurate

Most of the things in the listed amenities are not accurate. After mentioning this to hotel management, nothing was done... [...] Inaccuracies from listing of ameneties on hotel description were as follows--- I had booked a premium room --- Listed room as having an exclusive space with Living Room (NONE - not even a chair), Listed Living Room as having a personal computer and printer (NONE - there was not even a living room, much less a computer and printer. Management laughed at this, as they don't even have a printer in the business center.) Listed room as having a shower and a hydromassage bathtub (None - the room did not even have a bath tub of any kind - did have shower, but certainly not a hydromassage bathtub. Again management laughed at this). With the booking, it was listed [...] that WiFi was free of charge... Hardly the case, as the charge was almost $20.00 US per day. Again management refused to do anything about this. I do not recommend this hotel.. highly overpriced and very disappointing on many levels --- left a strong feeling of feeling ripped off... and I was. Management was not accomodating at all and offered no apologies for the misrepresentation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fitnessexpert mario godiva
Business
new york new york
Jun 17, 2011

amazing experience and property!!!

the property was gorgeous, the staff was friendly and very helpful with all of my needs, the rooftop lounge had breathtaking views of barcelona and i couldn't have been happier with my experience! i will definitely be going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julia and Piedad. From New Jersey U.S.A
Business
West New York, New Jersey
Apr 1, 2011

Fantastic hotel. wonderful location.

We had wonderful experience in the hotel and the sorroundings. All the staff were wondertul the room were clean and had everything you need. It was in a good location everything was close good restaurants and tourist places to see. Overall we had a good experience on our vacation. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We recoment this hotel to anyone. It a good place to stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Dec 4, 2010

Great Hotel

Excellent Hotel. First, I got room 414 without windows and 2 single beds put together. I called and they gave me room 417. Loved my room. Very well equipped with all amenities and minibar. Anything you may want they had there. I gave it 4 stars because of the see-thru rain shower. See-thru is fine, but the rain shower is not. They should have sliding up-and-down shower head so I don't have to wet my hair all the time. If you are bold or have very short hair, then this kind of shower is for you. Also, wireless internet slows down at times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

You can walk everywhere (bars, clubs, cafes, restaurants, supermarket, shops) thus saving euros on taxis. Everything is within 1-2 blocks or 5 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tha Atlanta Bears
Business
Atlanta , Georgia
Nov 17, 2010

Barcelona 2010

Hotel was way overpriced on there food, and very impressive on the decor and location. But the daily up keep on details was bad, lightbulb out in the restroom, room was always too hot temperature wise, knew we had an early arrival and made us wait 4 hours for our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Disappointed Paris Visitor
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jan 3, 2010

Great Barcelona Value

The hotel was great. Our room had two balconies, one with operable stained glass windows and seating. The room was modern with nice bedding. The bathroom was nice, but the shower needed a curtain or door as it spilled water onto the floor. The location was great-close to a lot of bars and restaurants. It was a ten minute walk to La Rambla and two blocks from a Gaudi building. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dew02of5
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 7, 2009

Not as good as I had hoped for.

If you don't mind noise and smoke then I'd give this hotel a 4 star rating. If you're like me and smoke gives you a headache and you're a light sleeper I'd give this hotel a 2 star rating and I won't stay there again. The room was non-smoking but that doesn't matter because the ground floor is all smoking and it travels up into all the rooms via the central air system.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the underground Metro to get to any destination in Barcelona. Buy a 10 trip ticket for convenience. Make sure to have a PIN because the automated machines require it. I used my debit card since I didn't know what the PIN was for my credit card.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler from the USA
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 29, 2009

Outstanding!

Great Location, Staff, and rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta GA
Nov 8, 2009

Hotel Axel

The hotel is in a great location near nightlife and the metro. One of the best features was the free cold bottled water on every floor. The rooftop was a fun place to hang out during the day and before going out in the evening. I will definitely stay at the Hotel Axel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Definitely recommend taking a day trip down to Sitges. It's easy to get to by train and well worth the 30 minute ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top