$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

4 stars
View map of Aribau, 33, Barcelona, ES- 08011

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SC JN
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC
May 8, 2013

Great facility.

Fantastic front desk staff. Just wish they had in-room coffee makers. Excellent location for getting around Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dionisius a Greek/Mediterranean restaurant. Delicious entrees.

Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TJP74
Business
Michigan, USA
Apr 10, 2013

Ideally located

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Hotel is ideally located for restaurants and is a short walking distances to tourist areas. Heart of LGBT area. (Hotel's business centre does NOT offer a computer connected to a printer of you are looking to print ex: boarding pass.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Area has a variety of restaurants within immediate area offering various international cuisine.

Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AussBrit86
Business
Washington DC
Apr 6, 2013

Great Location!

We arrived in Barcelona at 6 in the morning. When we got to the hotel, the front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were quite small, but it didn't cause a problem. The location was great! Just a tiny walk to Las Ramblas and to a metro stop. Great restaurants close by. My only complaint is that you have to pay for Wifi. In all the other hotels we stayed in on our trip, wifi was free. It was a surprise that it wasn't free with this hotel as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DrewIzzy
Business
Park City, Utah
Feb 22, 2013

Pretty good

Great staff, very helpful, and courteous. Good location, clean, and comfortable. Downside was hot tub wasn't so hot, the room requested wasn't available on arrival(but we were upgraded), and housekeeping didn't seem to understand "Do not disturb" sign. But all in all a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coffee Sam
Business
California
Jan 17, 2013

Great shower

We were in Spain for 15 nights and the two at Axel were our best hotel nights. Bed was great, room was small but clean and it had a fantastic shower. Staff were super with great restaurant recommendations. No breakfast but a great location, with plenty of options. Definitely gay friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Been There Done That 2012
Business
Canada
Jan 7, 2013

Do go to their website before booking

The good: - Very friendly and helpful staff. They went out of their way to accommodate us - Location is great, close to everything and far from the city noise. Everything within a few minutes walk. - Room was clean and as soon as we told them about the issue with the bed (twin beds instead of king), they fixed the issue right away The not so good: - It caters to a certain group of people though not exclusive but check the website to make sure you have no problem with that. I was unaware since the booking site does not mention that we live in the 21st century, don't we? - There is a club downstairs and some artifacts on display that may not be suitable for children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
une voyageuse
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Dec 31, 2012

Just what we needed!

We spent three lovely days in Barcelona walking from the hotel to different locations in the city after parking the car in the hotel/city parking. The staff is friendly, the location perfect, the room was dark and quiet to sleep but well lit if needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
une voyageuse
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Dec 30, 2012

A hotel I will go back to.

Great location, friendly staff, a quiet room both dark enough to sleep and bright enough to read in, and very clean. We walked to some of the liveliest places in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brinn10
Business
Long Island, NY
Nov 4, 2012

Exactly as described...

Though upgrading to a better room was an option, I chose the basic package which was sufficient for my purposes. The location is great for sightseeing, which was the purpose of my trip. The staff was helpful and certainly easy on the eyes. My trip was not oriented around gay nightlife or the spa, so I can't really grade these aspects of the facility. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to support an LGBT friendly business while visiting this beautiful city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When you've had enough local cuisine and dealt with enough tourist-trap-tapas, stop by Wok 2 Walk on the Ramblas adjacent to the Boqueria for a no-nonsense stir fry at a great price...

Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Write On
Business
West hollywood
Sep 24, 2012

Las Rumbles

This is the perfect hotel if you are coming to Barcelona to party. The city is vibrant and alive, and Axel is right in the middle of it. The Eixample is ideal because it sits apart from the crush of tourists. The hotel itself is sexy beyond belief, but the only drawback: It sits above a train tunnel and my hotel bed shook from 6am to Midnight. Every 7-10 minutes. And not for the right reason! The staff, especially Mirasol, was exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rhymes with Flauta.

Back to menu Return to top