$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

4 stars
View map of Aribau, 33, Barcelona, ES- 08011

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
une voyageuse
Portland, OR, USA
Dec 30, 2012

A hotel I will go back to.

Great location, friendly staff, a quiet room both dark enough to sleep and bright enough to read in, and very clean. We walked to some of the liveliest places in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jasonbb
Business
Ny, ny
Jul 9, 2014

Central LGBT epicenter

Best part of this hotel is the rooftop pool hottub and bar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Rooftop

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tomlin
Business
Barcelona
Jun 10, 2014

poor staff

we asked 2 Concierge staff members @ Hotel AXEL to check to see if Breakfast was free - we were reassured it was on check out, we were given a bill for Breakfast, we named the 2 staff who had given inaccurate information, the Manager was dismissive, abrupt unwilling to meditate -he was unwilling to accept than any training needs were required for his Concierge desk! Hotel Axel is an actively gay hotel -on line booking should highlight this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JohnPaul Mc Clave
Business
Ireland
May 21, 2014

Hotel was fine, got stung with charge for breakfast

Hotel was fine, however i was angry they charged for breakfast.(14e each per day) They told us all you have to do was present your hotel card for breakfast, after that i expected it was part of the room price. It was a sly way to catch out the customer at check out, it wasnt clear and it spoiled the stay at the hotel , which was as to be expected for a central city location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dont get breakfast at Axel, (14e each per day)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T.Traveler
Business
New York
May 5, 2014

Some great aspects but a few issues

I found the location and decor of this hotel to be very nice. The staff was quite helpful. I did have a couple of issues however that I thought were hard to overlook. On the bed the bottom sheet was placed directly on the mattress without any other sort of pad which I actually never seen at any other good quality hotel. I found this odd given the otherwise comfortable comforter and sheets. This may have just been an issue with the particular room attendant but certain things such as soap for the sink and a drinking glass in the bathroom were missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barcelona girls week.
Business
stoneham, ma
Apr 27, 2014

great girls week vacation

Staff was outstanding. Very helpful and friendly. The hotel claims to be hetero friendly and it is true. We felt very comfortable and welcome here. Front desk could not be more friendly. They made great recommendations. We walked just about everywhere except Parc Guell. Take the subway there. We averaged 8 miles a day walking. Visited Sagrada Familia, great take, but get tickets online before going. Otherwise be prepared to wait in line for an hour or more. Las Ramblas, Gothic area, Picasso museum all about a 20 minute walk from hotel. Rooms are small but adequate, no closets, hair dryer is weak, but does the job at a slower rate. roof deck was magnificent. We had happy hour up there every afternoon. Just go with an open mind. We had a blast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Tapas. We ate there more then once. Delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tope
Business
USA
Nov 27, 2013

hotel ok

The Hotel is OK. But having to pay just to view TV in the room is a bit underhanded. Also spa services OK but the female manager/desk person there is all about the money and though she gives the erroneous idea that she is sorry for errors made by staff she makes no effort to make amends. hotel management should take note. The front desk staff are courteous, friendly and always willing to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Griff
Business
yorkshire
Nov 26, 2013

quick break for two

Nice clean hotel with welcoming staff. Didn't realise it was aimed for the gay community but this didn't pose a problem, the staff were most helpful. The room and shower was spacious and very clean with provision of lovely toiletries and slippers. Always a bonus for us ladies. Would go again and have already recommended it to friends. Excellent nights sleep with no traffic noise or noise in the corridors due to thick carpeting

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Their area few bars and restaurants locally to the hotel and plenty to do just a few minutes walk into the town centre.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susan J
Business
London
Nov 1, 2013

Amazing

What a fabulous hotel to stay in. Very clean, friendly staff and excellent location. The roof top pool completed the package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
London Husand and Wife
Business
London, England
Jul 9, 2013

Great Location

While unaware of the "gay-friendly" hotel status, my wife and I felt perfectly welcome. Clean and spacious rooms - close to many restaurants and shops! The view from the roof-top bar and lounge area is fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The 2 day "Hop-on, Hop-off" bus tour pass is definitely worth the money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona and Urban Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miami Gay couple
Business
Miami, FL
Jun 12, 2013

Great LGBT option

Friendly staff. Comfortable and clean room. Very well located and great spa and gym facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Most gay bars are walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top