$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Avenida Palace

4 stars
Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 605, Barcelona, 08007
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
48 reviews
best city ever

one of the best hotels we have stayed at and would go back again See full review

  • steve superman
  • Jun 2, 2014
Great Location

This hotel is located at the top of La Rambla close to the Placa de Catalunya. A perfect place to... See full review

  • Beach Boy Sam
  • May 21, 2014
Unwind at this elegant hideaway in the heart of the action

A landmark property in Eixample, Avenida Palace has hosted many celebrities since opening inside a former tea house and restaurant in 1952. Famous guests have included Ernest Hemingway, Liza Minnelli and The Beatles. Time-honored elegance pervades the interiors, which are decked out with 21st-century amenities. Rooms feature classic décor and high-tech perks like Wi-Fi. The on-site Insolit Restaurant serves seasonal Mediterranean fare. The beauty center on the premises offers spa services. Wireless Internet is available for free in all public areas.

Highlights
  • Classic elegance and time-honored ambience
  • Excellent location right by Passeo de Gracia
  • Restaurant serving Mediterranean fare
  • Free Wi-Fi in all public areas
  • Beauty center on the premises
Rooms

Avenida Palace has 151 spacious rooms with a classic look, showcasing dark wood furniture and earth-toned carpets and bed covers. All rooms come with desks, Wi-Fi (fees apply), satellite TV, mini bar, safe, double-glazed windows and air-conditioning. Rooms range from superior to executive (with an independent living space). The premium suite is the property's most luxurious unit. The Beatles suite pays homage to the famous band that stayed here in 1965. Room service is available in all units.

Features

Avenida Palace has an unbeatable location right by Paseo de Gracia, a stroll away from Plaza Catalunya, Las Ramblas and the Gothic Quarter. The modern Insolit Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, serving high-quality, seasonal Mediterranean cuisine. The on-site Golden Place serves a la carte dinners in an intimate dining room. The business center is equipped with two computers and printers. Wi-Fi is free to use in all public areas of the hotel. The on-premise beauty center offers hairdressing services, massages and facials. Avenida Palace also has meeting rooms with state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment.

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Passeig de Gracia (on the L2, L3 and L4 line)
Attractions
  • Plaza Catalunya (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Las Ramblas (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sagrada Familia (1 mi/1.7 km)

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avenida Palace also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.8 out of 5

Avenida Palace Rooms

Twin Room - City View with Balcony
26 square meters room with two single beds, with fantastics views of Barcelona's Gran Via and Passeig de Gracia boulevards, includes in-room mini-bar, safe, direct telephone, satellite TV, air-conditioning, WI-FI internet access, double window and room service.
Executive Room
This elegant courtyard oriented twin room features a seating area, includes work desk, in-room mini-bar, safe, direct telephone, satellite TV, air-conditioning, WI-FI internet access, double window and room service.
Family Room - twin (single) beds and 2 twin (single) beds
This family room consists of 2 interconnecting rooms of 26 square meters, include in-room mini-bar, safe, direct telephone, satellite TV, air-conditioning, WI-FI internet access, double window and room service.
Standard Double or Twin Room (1 or 2 adults)
26 square meters room with one double or two single beds, includes in-room mini-bar, safe, direct telephone, satellite TV, air-conditioning, WI-FI internet access, double window and room service.
Junior Suite
Spacious (40 square meters) and elegant Junior Suite overlooks Gran Via with reception area and separate living room includes in-room mini-bar, safe, direct telephone, satellite TV, air-conditioning, WI-FI internet access, double window and room service.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Coliseum: 0.1 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.1 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.2 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.2 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.2 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.2 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.3 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.3 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.3 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.3 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.3 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.1 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.1 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.2 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.2 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.2 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.2 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.3 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.3 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.3 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.3 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.3 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Calvet: 0.3 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.4 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.4 mi
  • Parroquia de la Purissima Concepció: 0.4 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.4 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 0.4 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 0.4 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 0.5 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.5 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 0.5 mi
  • Catalonia Square: 0.5 mi
  • Casa Mila: 0.5 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.5 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.6 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.6 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.6 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.6 mi
  • Mercat Santa Caterina: 0.6 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Monasterio de San Pedro de las Puellas: 0.6 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 0.6 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.6 mi

Dining

Cafe Gran Via
Cafe Gran Via is a new stylish and elegantly designed restaurant. Exquisite cuisine in a friendly and relaxing atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Avenida Palace

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 48
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hotpoint Stove
Business
Milwaukee, Wi
Oct 7, 2014

Great location!

Close to the port (about 1 to 2 miles), close to the airport (about 6 to 7 easy miles) one block from Red and Blue Tour buses, one block from good restaurants and shopping. Great nightlife!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take both the Red and Blue Tour buses----one fare covers both. Get on and off as many times as you wish. They will take you to most of the interesting sites. About 27 euros. Start early---pass is good for all day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
romanfel
Business
Ramla, Israel
Aug 31, 2014

Our worst experience so far

When we made reservations with this hotel we made it with breakfast included. We made the reservation with our friends who also stayed at the hotel at the same time and we both had the same information about the reservation. Everytime we visited the dining room the staff greeted us after checking our room number and letting us in without questions. Surprisingly at our last day in the hotel, when we visited the dining room, the guy that was greeting us told us that breakfast was not included. We were shocked! First of all we were sure that we made reservation with breakfast. Second of all we were outraged at the hotel's staff as to why they only told us this information at the last day after we already ate breakfast there. If we knew that breakfast was not included we would have eaten outside of the hotel because we did not like the breakfast there anyways. The manager refused to ask her staff as to why they did not inform us of this mishap earlier and we ended up paying extra for the breakfast. In overall we had the worst experience so far in all of our travels, not to mentions that we were on our honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronii
Business
Santa Cruz California
Jun 10, 2014

Don't go if you need internet

I have become accustomed to having workable internet and to have super slow internet was a big disappoinment. Decided to leave early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Tableo de Cordobes for good flamenco

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
steve superman
Business
passeig de gracia barcelona
Jun 2, 2014

best city ever

one of the best hotels we have stayed at and would go back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

sagrada familia-roman catholic church

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Boy Sam
Business
Laguna Beach, California
May 21, 2014

Great Location

This hotel is located at the top of La Rambla close to the Placa de Catalunya. A perfect place to walk to places to eat and to shop. We also walked to the Picasso Museum and to the Cathedral of Barcelona. Public transportation is easily available at the Placa as well as the Metro to other parts of this great city. You can also walk down Ramblas as far as you like. Ramblas is the most busy and interesting street in the city ending at the ocean with historic monuments. The Avenida Palace is very clean and a beautiful hotel with free Wi Fi and a good restaurant for morning brunch. If you arrive early before your room is ready they will store your luggage until your room is available while you go out to explore the city. Will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Their morning buffet brunch had everything you could want for your morning meal. If you just want coffee and a Danish that is available also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel for Dummies
Business
Herriman, Utah
Nov 6, 2013

Great location, not so great of a room

Fortunately we only needed a place to lay our heads at night and shower in the morning. The bed sunk in, in the middle and was very uncomfortable. The lighting was terrible and our only view was of the surrounding outside walls of the hotel. Very old hotel and the rooms felt like it. The rooms need a remodel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Las Ramblas within a few blocks as well as the hop on hop off bus

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Buffalo 1950
Business
Naples, Florida
Oct 17, 2013

We only wish we could have stayed longer. EXCELLENT !!!

Could not have been any better. Buffet breakfast --- excellent. Room was superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Cab fare -- expensive !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couple from San Diego
Business
San Diego
Oct 14, 2013

Very good experience in Barcelona

The location is excellent to visit most tourist attractions and places of interest. Lots of restaurants and stores near by. We decided to take taxi rather than the metro for safety reasons. (9 Euros to Camp Nou, 8 to park Guel, 9 to Barceloneta.) Walking distance to ramblas, 3-5 blocks away from La pedrera and casa Batllo and 4 blocks to plaza de cataluna. Buffet Breakfast was great for ( 9 EU). Hotel is dated but clean. Good shower and acceptable beds. Staff were friendly, great with good tips for restaurants. All things considered, we will come back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

In Barceloneta we have a great dinner at the "Barraca " restaurant. We ordered two different kinds of Paella. What a Fantastic flavor! The cooks and the entire stuff are great. The view to the ocean from our table was picture perfect.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bernie 007
Business
Houston TX
Sep 10, 2013

vacation

good location,beds were hard,the food at hotel was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
80027
Business
Boulder, CO
Aug 25, 2013

Excellent hotel for Barcelona visit

The location was perfect for us - one block from the top of La Rambla. Aside from the days we took the bus tour, we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Very classy hotel, around 60 years old. Room was nicely furnished and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Their English was far, far better than my Spanish. Would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top