$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 22, 2014

Avenida Palace

4 stars
Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 605, Barcelona, 08007
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
47 reviews
best city ever

one of the best hotels we have stayed at and would go back again See full review

  • steve superman
  • Jun 2, 2014
Great Location

This hotel is located at the top of La Rambla close to the Placa de Catalunya. A perfect place to... See full review

  • Beach Boy Sam
  • May 21, 2014
Unwind at this elegant hideaway in the heart of the action

A landmark property in Eixample, Avenida Palace has hosted many celebrities since opening inside a former tea house and restaurant in 1952. Famous guests have included Ernest Hemingway, Liza Minnelli and The Beatles. Time-honored elegance pervades the interiors, which are decked out with 21st-century amenities. Rooms feature classic décor and high-tech perks like Wi-Fi. The on-site Insolit Restaurant serves seasonal Mediterranean fare. The beauty center on the premises offers spa services. Wireless Internet is available for free in all public areas.

Highlights
  • Classic elegance and time-honored ambience
  • Excellent location right by Passeo de Gracia
  • Restaurant serving Mediterranean fare
  • Free Wi-Fi in all public areas
  • Beauty center on the premises
Rooms

Avenida Palace has 151 spacious rooms with a classic look, showcasing dark wood furniture and earth-toned carpets and bed covers. All rooms come with desks, Wi-Fi (fees apply), satellite TV, mini bar, safe, double-glazed windows and air-conditioning. Rooms range from superior to executive (with an independent living space). The premium suite is the property's most luxurious unit. The Beatles suite pays homage to the famous band that stayed here in 1965. Room service is available in all units.

Features

Avenida Palace has an unbeatable location right by Paseo de Gracia, a stroll away from Plaza Catalunya, Las Ramblas and the Gothic Quarter. The modern Insolit Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, serving high-quality, seasonal Mediterranean cuisine. The on-site Golden Place serves a la carte dinners in an intimate dining room. The business center is equipped with two computers and printers. Wi-Fi is free to use in all public areas of the hotel. The on-premise beauty center offers hairdressing services, massages and facials. Avenida Palace also has meeting rooms with state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment.

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Passeig de Gracia (on the L2, L3 and L4 line)
Attractions
  • Plaza Catalunya (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Las Ramblas (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sagrada Familia (1 mi/1.7 km)

 

Hotel Map

41.3891 2.1671
Area served
Barcelona.
Nearby airports
Barcelona International Airport - El Prat (12km)
Area description
The hotel is centrally located, a few steps away from Placa Catalunya, Les Rambles, from the Picasso Museum, in short distance to the FC Barcelona Stadium and its Museum and very close to the best works of the great modernist architect Antoni Gaudi.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avenida Palace also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Avenida Palace Rooms

Twin Room - City View with Balcony
26 square meters room with two single beds, with fantastics views of Barcelona's Gran Via and Passeig de Gracia boulevards, includes in-room mini-bar, safe, direct telephone, satellite TV, air-conditioning, WI-FI internet access, double window and room service.
Executive Room
This elegant courtyard oriented twin room features a seating area, includes work desk, in-room mini-bar, safe, direct telephone, satellite TV, air-conditioning, WI-FI internet access, double window and room service.
Family Room - twin (single) beds and 2 twin (single) beds
This family room consists of 2 interconnecting rooms of 26 square meters, include in-room mini-bar, safe, direct telephone, satellite TV, air-conditioning, WI-FI internet access, double window and room service.
Standard Double or Twin Room (1 or 2 adults)
26 square meters room with one double or two single beds, includes in-room mini-bar, safe, direct telephone, satellite TV, air-conditioning, WI-FI internet access, double window and room service.
Junior Suite
Spacious (40 square meters) and elegant Junior Suite overlooks Gran Via with reception area and separate living room includes in-room mini-bar, safe, direct telephone, satellite TV, air-conditioning, WI-FI internet access, double window and room service.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Coliseum: 0.1 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.1 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.2 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.2 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.2 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.3 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.3 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.3 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.3 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.1 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.1 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.2 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.2 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.2 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.3 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.3 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.3 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.3 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.3 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Calvet: 0.3 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.4 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.4 mi
  • Parroquia de la Purissima Concepció: 0.4 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.4 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 0.4 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 0.4 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 0.5 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.5 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 0.5 mi
  • Catalonia Square: 0.5 mi
  • Casa Mila: 0.5 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.5 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.6 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.6 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.6 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.6 mi
  • Mercat Santa Caterina: 0.6 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Monasterio de San Pedro de las Puellas: 0.6 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 0.6 mi

Dining

Cafe Gran Via
Cafe Gran Via is a new stylish and elegantly designed restaurant. Exquisite cuisine in a friendly and relaxing atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Avenida Palace

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Penell
Saint Remy de Provence, France
Oct 29, 2012

GREAT HOTEL

We had booked a "Standard Double" for about $155.00 a night but were given a mini suite with a separate living room, couch, and table for four. The room was great, hotel location perfect, and the staff could not have been more accomodating. Great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
kuwait
Jul 10, 2011

Really bad

Very bad hotel , the TV not working most of the time and once working , only spanish chanel really suck , the AC was really suck too , also the bed was very hard not comfortable at all and the funny issue was the key heavy and big

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mrs. Wonderful
Michigan
Jul 13, 2013

First Time in Barcelona

We had a very very good time in Barcelona. We found it to be very attractive and contradictory - all good. The Hotel ground floor area is four stars. The room that we reserved was a "double", that is it appeared that way, the way the covers were arranged. After a very eventful travel experience,( cancelled flight ,late flights, missed flights), we were desperate to get to bed.When we found out that it was two single beds pushed tightly together that were each beautifully made up with tightly tucked in sheets down each side and the bottom, we resigned ouselves and settled down for one night! We moved A clock, lights that functioned,access to ice without having to tip room service every time, glasses that did not disappear, a functioning room safe and fluffy towels without holes would have been the least to expect from a four star hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronii
Santa Cruz California
Jun 10, 2014

Don't go if you need internet

I have become accustomed to having workable internet and to have super slow internet was a big disappoinment. Decided to leave early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Tableo de Cordobes for good flamenco

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CDandCD
USA
Mar 28, 2012

Just 'ok' and not a value for the price

At 150+ euro this hotel is above average in appearance, but that is about it. Any hotel that charges 22 euro a day for wifi is behind the times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kazpat06
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Dec 7, 2011

let down for 4*

Clean hotel and close to everything but that was its only good points. When we arrived we were put into a tiny twin room (after booking a double delux) with a view of other peoples rooms and asked to be moved, they wer not happy but put in in a double room after some asking, which had a view of a carpark lol! for a 4* i expected alot more, rooms were outdated, walls were paper thin (we heard our neighbours talking, running water, tv, door close) right up to 3/4am every night, our toilet seat was broke, door didnt lock and shower only half worked. Had already changed rooms and spent half a day trying to organise it and didnt want to waste anymore of our holiday trying to move again, Staff were unfriendly we felt. No tea making facilities which i know is common in spain etc but just to let you know :) Maybe better suited to elderly couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On the plus side we found Obamas...like 30 seconds up from the hotel. Fab wee bar, live music, large range of cocktails and beer, good food, friendly staff and great atmosphere. Would def go back here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
romanfel
Ramla, Israel
Aug 31, 2014

Our worst experience so far

When we made reservations with this hotel we made it with breakfast included. We made the reservation with our friends who also stayed at the hotel at the same time and we both had the same information about the reservation. Everytime we visited the dining room the staff greeted us after checking our room number and letting us in without questions. Surprisingly at our last day in the hotel, when we visited the dining room, the guy that was greeting us told us that breakfast was not included. We were shocked! First of all we were sure that we made reservation with breakfast. Second of all we were outraged at the hotel's staff as to why they only told us this information at the last day after we already ate breakfast there. If we knew that breakfast was not included we would have eaten outside of the hotel because we did not like the breakfast there anyways. The manager refused to ask her staff as to why they did not inform us of this mishap earlier and we ended up paying extra for the breakfast. In overall we had the worst experience so far in all of our travels, not to mentions that we were on our honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Allieup
Dallas, TX, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Staff Unfriendly

The hotel was a nice hotel for Europe. No wash clothes but also typical. No coffee or tea maker which is standard in most hotels and breadfast was expensive and the food was not good. The staff at front desk was the biggest problem. They do not like Americans and were very unfriendly and rude. We would not stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bernie 007
Houston TX
Sep 10, 2013

vacation

good location,beds were hard,the food at hotel was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alexanderngan
Hong Kong
Nov 28, 2011

there with friends

the location is awesome. the rooms are okay, good size, but old.beds are not too comfortable. morning staffs are great, but the evening staffs are not really respectful to their customers. several friends and i came back after a night out. and the guy at the front desks threatens to call the cops on us if they get any complain, but oh well. also the subway is under the hotel, so it gets annoying when the train pass by, as you can clearly hear them. other than that, this hotel is okay, and for the price, i would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LBK traveler
Longboat Key, FL
Apr 26, 2013

3 day stay after trans-atlantic cruise

Paid top dollar for room with a balcony. Perfect location. Staff does not speak much English which is a problem. The breakfast buffet might be good if you get there when it opens, but could not eat the cold scrambled eggs stuck to the container. Also had a problem with the lights in the room--all 3 days. Had to call the front desk (the entire floor was without electric) but on the third day after they turned it back on, a staff member came to the room and blamed us for turning the wrong switch. (Could not have turned off the entire floor with that switch).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search