$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 1, 2015

Avenida Palace

4 stars
View map of Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 605, Barcelona, 08007

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Avenida Palace

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rita W
Business
Staten Island, NY
May 17, 2012

Great location but problem-solving needs work

My travel companion had a broken minibar for days and each time, she called down to report the problem, nothing was done until 5 days into our stay, they finally replaced the unit. Also, her TV coverage was a lot less than my room across the hall. Despite these problems, they tried to make amends by offering us breakfast coupons on our last morning there. Hotel is old but location cannot be beat. The heavy room key needs to be updated with magnetic key cards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend BAR TAPAS 1/2 block from the hotel. Also Cafe Obama is good for breakfast or a quick bite to eat.

Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CDandCD
Business
USA
Mar 28, 2012

Just 'ok' and not a value for the price

At 150+ euro this hotel is above average in appearance, but that is about it. Any hotel that charges 22 euro a day for wifi is behind the times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G Green
Business
Braintree, Essex, UK
Feb 22, 2012

Superb location & value

Friendly, helpful staff, excellent dinner (at a very good price), central location and a huge bed !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

El Tablao de Carmen Flamenco show & Tapas at Poble Espanyol is excellent.

Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kazpat06
Business
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Dec 7, 2011

let down for 4*

Clean hotel and close to everything but that was its only good points. When we arrived we were put into a tiny twin room (after booking a double delux) with a view of other peoples rooms and asked to be moved, they wer not happy but put in in a double room after some asking, which had a view of a carpark lol! for a 4* i expected alot more, rooms were outdated, walls were paper thin (we heard our neighbours talking, running water, tv, door close) right up to 3/4am every night, our toilet seat was broke, door didnt lock and shower only half worked. Had already changed rooms and spent half a day trying to organise it and didnt want to waste anymore of our holiday trying to move again, Staff were unfriendly we felt. No tea making facilities which i know is common in spain etc but just to let you know :) Maybe better suited to elderly couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On the plus side we found Obamas...like 30 seconds up from the hotel. Fab wee bar, live music, large range of cocktails and beer, good food, friendly staff and great atmosphere. Would def go back here.

Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alexanderngan
Business
Hong Kong
Nov 28, 2011

there with friends

the location is awesome. the rooms are okay, good size, but old.beds are not too comfortable. morning staffs are great, but the evening staffs are not really respectful to their customers. several friends and i came back after a night out. and the guy at the front desks threatens to call the cops on us if they get any complain, but oh well. also the subway is under the hotel, so it gets annoying when the train pass by, as you can clearly hear them. other than that, this hotel is okay, and for the price, i would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maize
Business
UK
Nov 18, 2011

great location

The hotel and staff were great. Would like to have been warned about the metro passing under the hotel though, but did get used to it. Could not have been in a better location for exploring Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Allieup
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Staff Unfriendly

The hotel was a nice hotel for Europe. No wash clothes but also typical. No coffee or tea maker which is standard in most hotels and breadfast was expensive and the food was not good. The staff at front desk was the biggest problem. They do not like Americans and were very unfriendly and rude. We would not stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Aug 9, 2011

good

very convenient, walking distance to city center and good restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

right next to hotel.

Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kuwait
Jul 10, 2011

Really bad

Very bad hotel , the TV not working most of the time and once working , only spanish chanel really suck , the AC was really suck too , also the bed was very hard not comfortable at all and the funny issue was the key heavy and big

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YFL168
Business
Plano, TX
Jul 7, 2011

Very Close to Many Attractions

The hotel is very conveniently located in the center of many attractions. 5 min. walking distance to La Rambla, Palace of Catalunya and Tour Bus Stop, 3 min. to Casa Batllo, 4 min. to Casa Mila, 1 min to Metro, If prefer to walk more, 20 min. to Sagrada Familia. You can't ask more than that. The hotel itself is old but has style. Very elegant looking in lobby. Internet is free for 30 min. Friendly service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top