$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

Avenida Palace

4 stars
View map of Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 605, Barcelona, 08007

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Avenida Palace

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Penell
Couples
Saint Remy de Provence, France
Oct 29, 2012

Great Hotel

We had booked a "standard double" for an average of $155.00 per night but were given a mini-suite with a small separate living room with couch, TV, dining table and four chairs in addition to a separate sizeable bedroom and entry foyer. The hotel staff could not have been more accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hotpoint Stove
Couples
Milwaukee, Wi
Oct 7, 2014

Great location!

Close to the port (about 1 to 2 miles), close to the airport (about 6 to 7 easy miles) one block from Red and Blue Tour buses, one block from good restaurants and shopping. Great nightlife!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take both the Red and Blue Tour buses----one fare covers both. Get on and off as many times as you wish. They will take you to most of the interesting sites. About 27 euros. Start early---pass is good for all day.

Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
romanfel
Couples
Ramla, Israel
Aug 31, 2014

Our worst experience so far

When we made reservations with this hotel we made it with breakfast included. We made the reservation with our friends who also stayed at the hotel at the same time and we both had the same information about the reservation. Everytime we visited the dining room the staff greeted us after checking our room number and letting us in without questions. Surprisingly at our last day in the hotel, when we visited the dining room, the guy that was greeting us told us that breakfast was not included. We were shocked! First of all we were sure that we made reservation with breakfast. Second of all we were outraged at the hotel's staff as to why they only told us this information at the last day after we already ate breakfast there. If we knew that breakfast was not included we would have eaten outside of the hotel because we did not like the breakfast there anyways. The manager refused to ask her staff as to why they did not inform us of this mishap earlier and we ended up paying extra for the breakfast. In overall we had the worst experience so far in all of our travels, not to mentions that we were on our honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
plove999
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Aug 9, 2014

Avenida Palace

Cool, grand hotel from the 40's, lots of solid brass and marble with grand staircases. Air conditioned.1/2 block off La Rhombla, and steps from a metro station.Internet, as everywhere in Europe is touch and go in the rooms but solid in the spacious lobby with wait staff. You could pay far more and do far worse. Enjoyed just as much as the Arts hotel in Barcelona. Steps from everything!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Obama British Africa with live music, stiff drinks and late hours 3 doors down. Starbucks nearby for those that need.

Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronii
Couples
Santa Cruz California
Jun 10, 2014

Don't go if you need internet

I have become accustomed to having workable internet and to have super slow internet was a big disappoinment. Decided to leave early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Tableo de Cordobes for good flamenco

Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
steve superman
Couples
passeig de gracia barcelona
Jun 2, 2014

best city ever

one of the best hotels we have stayed at and would go back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

sagrada familia-roman catholic church

Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Boy Sam
Couples
Laguna Beach, California
May 21, 2014

Great Location

This hotel is located at the top of La Rambla close to the Placa de Catalunya. A perfect place to walk to places to eat and to shop. We also walked to the Picasso Museum and to the Cathedral of Barcelona. Public transportation is easily available at the Placa as well as the Metro to other parts of this great city. You can also walk down Ramblas as far as you like. Ramblas is the most busy and interesting street in the city ending at the ocean with historic monuments. The Avenida Palace is very clean and a beautiful hotel with free Wi Fi and a good restaurant for morning brunch. If you arrive early before your room is ready they will store your luggage until your room is available while you go out to explore the city. Will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Their morning buffet brunch had everything you could want for your morning meal. If you just want coffee and a Danish that is available also.

Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Baby Girl 3
Friends
Southfield Michigan
Nov 14, 2013

Vacation

Hotel AVENIDA Palace was very well located it was very easy to get around walking or taking a taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinning and shopping starts when you walk out of hotel

Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel for Dummies
Couples
Herriman, Utah
Nov 6, 2013

Great location, not so great of a room

Fortunately we only needed a place to lay our heads at night and shower in the morning. The bed sunk in, in the middle and was very uncomfortable. The lighting was terrible and our only view was of the surrounding outside walls of the hotel. Very old hotel and the rooms felt like it. The rooms need a remodel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Las Ramblas within a few blocks as well as the hop on hop off bus

Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Buffalo 1950
Couples
Naples, Florida
Oct 17, 2013

We only wish we could have stayed longer. EXCELLENT !!!

Could not have been any better. Buffet breakfast --- excellent. Room was superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Cab fare -- expensive !!!

Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sparkling Shirley
Friends
Middleboro, Massachusetts
Oct 15, 2013

Wonderful ambiance

Good experience, well maintained hotel with beautiful Old World Spanish decor. Great location, with shops, tour buses, outside cafe dining all close by. Also close to theaters and opera.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top