$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 24, 2014

Avenida Palace

4 stars
Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 605, Barcelona, 08007
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
42 reviews
We only wish we could have stayed longer. EXCELLENT !!!

Could not have been any better. Buffet breakfast --- excellent. Room was superb. See full review

  • Buffalo 1950
  • Oct 17, 2013
would repeat at this nice hotel

Staff was helpful and friendly, with restaurant tips and business questions. Room was cool and... See full review

  • Carida
  • Jul 30, 2013
Unwind at this elegant hideaway in the heart of the action

A landmark property in Eixample, Avenida Palace has hosted many celebrities since opening inside a former tea house and restaurant in 1952. Famous guests have included Ernest Hemingway, Liza Minnelli and The Beatles. Time-honored elegance pervades the interiors, which are decked out with 21st-century amenities. Rooms feature classic décor and high-tech perks like Wi-Fi. The on-site Insolit Restaurant serves seasonal Mediterranean fare. The beauty center on the premises offers spa services. Wireless Internet is available for free in all public areas.

Highlights
  • Classic elegance and time-honored ambience
  • Excellent location right by Passeo de Gracia
  • Restaurant serving Mediterranean fare
  • Free Wi-Fi in all public areas
  • Beauty center on the premises
Rooms

Avenida Palace has 151 spacious rooms with a classic look, showcasing dark wood furniture and earth-toned carpets and bed covers. All rooms come with desks, Wi-Fi (fees apply), satellite TV, mini bar, safe, double-glazed windows and air-conditioning. Rooms range from superior to executive (with an independent living space). The premium suite is the property's most luxurious unit. The Beatles suite pays homage to the famous band that stayed here in 1965. Room service is available in all units.

Features

Avenida Palace has an unbeatable location right by Paseo de Gracia, a stroll away from Plaza Catalunya, Las Ramblas and the Gothic Quarter. The modern Insolit Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, serving high-quality, seasonal Mediterranean cuisine. The on-site Golden Place serves a la carte dinners in an intimate dining room. The business center is equipped with two computers and printers. Wi-Fi is free to use in all public areas of the hotel. The on-premise beauty center offers hairdressing services, massages and facials. Avenida Palace also has meeting rooms with state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment.

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Passeig de Gracia (on the L2, L3 and L4 line)
Attractions
  • Plaza Catalunya (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Las Ramblas (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sagrada Familia (1 mi/1.7 km)

 

Avenida Palace Rooms

Twin Room - City View with Balcony
26 square meters room with two single beds, with fantastics views of Barcelona's Gran Via and Passeig de Gracia boulevards, includes in-room mini-bar, safe, direct telephone, satellite TV, air-conditioning, WI-FI internet access, double window and room service.
Executive Room
This elegant courtyard oriented twin room features a seating area, includes work desk, in-room mini-bar, safe, direct telephone, satellite TV, air-conditioning, WI-FI internet access, double window and room service.
Family Room - twin (single) beds and 2 twin (single) beds
This family room consists of 2 interconnecting rooms of 26 square meters, include in-room mini-bar, safe, direct telephone, satellite TV, air-conditioning, WI-FI internet access, double window and room service.
Standard Double or Twin Room (1 or 2 adults)
26 square meters room with one double or two single beds, includes in-room mini-bar, safe, direct telephone, satellite TV, air-conditioning, WI-FI internet access, double window and room service.
Junior Suite
Spacious (40 square meters) and elegant Junior Suite overlooks Gran Via with reception area and separate living room includes in-room mini-bar, safe, direct telephone, satellite TV, air-conditioning, WI-FI internet access, double window and room service.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avenida Palace also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.3891 2.1671
Area served
Barcelona.
Nearby airports
Barcelona International Airport - El Prat (12km)
Area description
The hotel is centrally located, a few steps away from Placa Catalunya, Les Rambles, from the Picasso Museum, in short distance to the FC Barcelona Stadium and its Museum and very close to the best works of the great modernist architect Antoni Gaudi.

Nearby points of interest

  • Coliseum: 0.1 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.1 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.2 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.2 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.2 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.3 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.3 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.3 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.3 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.1 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.1 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.2 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.2 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.2 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.3 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.3 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.3 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.3 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.3 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Calvet: 0.3 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.4 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.4 mi
  • Parroquia de la Purissima Concepció: 0.4 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.4 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 0.4 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 0.4 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 0.5 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.5 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 0.5 mi
  • Catalonia Square: 0.5 mi
  • Casa Mila: 0.5 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.5 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.6 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.6 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.6 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.6 mi
  • Mercat Santa Caterina: 0.6 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Monasterio de San Pedro de las Puellas: 0.6 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 0.6 mi

Dining

Cafe Gran Via
Cafe Gran Via is a new stylish and elegantly designed restaurant. Exquisite cuisine in a friendly and relaxing atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Avenida Palace

Overall score

4 / 5
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

5
Penell
Saint Remy de Provence, France
Oct 29, 2012

GREAT HOTEL

We had booked a "Standard Double" for about $155.00 a night but were given a mini suite with a separate living room, couch, and table for four. The room was great, hotel location perfect, and the staff could not have been more accomodating. Great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

4
Pamela Arkin
Cape Coral, FL
Jul 7, 2013

Hotel stay

We arrived at the hotel early and our room was not ready which we expected so they held our luggage for us. It is a beautiful hotel and we were treated very nicely and it is in an excellent location close to everything. When we returned our rooms were ready and our luggage was taken to our rooms promptly. They had free Wifi which was a plus. The room was spacious and so was the bathroom. I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to anyone going to Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

4
Larry H
Los Angeles, USA
Jul 2, 2013

Great location

Excellent location, nice little hotel, close to everything. Rooms are small but clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

4
BrittB
Sausalito, CA
Jun 4, 2013

One night stay

Good value for price. Stayed while transiting to airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

5
Carol supertraveller
Eastbourne UK
Jun 1, 2013

wonderful hotel!

The hotel is set in a perfect position close to many amenities. It is beautiful inside and has a real grandeur feel about it. The staff were helpful and polite. The breakfasts were a real treat. I would thoroughly recommend it to my friends and family. We had a lovely stay there and would go back again any time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of wonderful things to see within a short walking distance.

Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

5
Diver David
Nashville TN
May 27, 2013

Fabulous Barcelona

This was my second time to visit Barcelona. I took what I learned and made the second trip even better than the first. One of the positives was staying at Avenida Palace. The location is absolutely perfect...near to Plaza Catalonya, but without all the noise and crowds of La Ramblas. The rooms are good size and very clean. The staff goes out of their way to make sure everything was as expected. One of the best restaurants in the city (Cuidad Contal) is right around the corner. Two of Gaudi's best works are within easy walking distance. There are plenty of stores/shops very close for anything you need. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to spend their time seeing Barcelona instead of commuting to where they need to go to do tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

5
John great husband
Brea, CA
May 20, 2013

Really great experience

We arrived early on the 17th, but the hotel staff stored our luggage until check-in at 3PM. The room was fantastic and the bed very comfortable. I can't say enough about the staff. They were super. We would certainly stay at this hotel if and when we return to Barcelona. John Kimble

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping was excellent around this hotel.

Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

4
exacting susie
NYC
Apr 29, 2013

elegant hotel

This is a charming and elegant looking hotel and the room was spacious and comfortable. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The location was convenient to shopping and sight seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

4
Btw0205
Boston, Massachusetts
Apr 29, 2013

Good hotel in the perfect area

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Avenida Palace. Th e staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The room was a small as compared to other four star hotels that I have stayed in. There really was no place to store our luggage. As location s vey thing, the ai stand, bus, Metro and railway was close by. We were ale to walk to stores, restaurants, and galleries without any issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

3
LBK traveler
Longboat Key, FL
Apr 26, 2013

3 day stay after trans-atlantic cruise

Paid top dollar for room with a balcony. Perfect location. Staff does not speak much English which is a problem. The breakfast buffet might be good if you get there when it opens, but could not eat the cold scrambled eggs stuck to the container. Also had a problem with the lights in the room--all 3 days. Had to call the front desk (the entire floor was without electric) but on the third day after they turned it back on, a staff member came to the room and blamed us for turning the wrong switch. (Could not have turned off the entire floor with that switch).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Avenida Palace

Reviewer score

4
PaulEll
Nottinghamshire
Apr 15, 2013

City breaks

Ideal location 10 min walk from la rambles, value for money and good breakfast. Very friendly staff all english speaking offering good advice on resurants etc. For good tapas and drinks try MY WAY off la ramblas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top