$311 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

1898 Hotel Barcelona

4 stars
View map of Les Rambles, 109, Barcelona, 08002

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
30 reviews
Great Spa Hotel in an Ideal Spot

Can't fault the hotel. Helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable and convenient. Our room rate didn't... See full review

  • Paul D.
  • May 4, 2015
Amazing stay in great location! Cant be better

Beautiful hotel with a great rooftop pool.. best rooftop bar in Barca.. the most amazing beds I... See full review

  • vishal s.
  • Dec 30, 2014
General

Guests of Hotel 1898 Barcelona have free entrance to the Asian-inspired spa with a fitness center, hot tubs, sauna, steam rooms, heated pool and aquatic relaxation zone. A range of exotic treatments is available, such as Ceylonese massage and silk extract wrap. The seventh-floor outdoor swimming pool and solarium are open year-round. The 24-hour business center offers free Internet access and showcases a small library. Hotel 1898 Barcelona even offers the services of a personal shopper. Five meeting rooms on the premises are equipped with state-of-the-art audiovisual technology. The lobby bar is a great spot for a drink and features live jazz and blues once a week.

Nearby attractions

Classy colonial-style hotel with free Wi-Fi on Las Ramblas

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed 1898 Hotel Barcelona also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

1898 Hotel Barcelona Rooms

CLASSIC - HOTEL
Room

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.1 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.1 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.1 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.1 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.2 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.2 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.1 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.1 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.1 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.1 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.2 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.2 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.2 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.2 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.3 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.3 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.3 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.3 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.3 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.3 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.3 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.3 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.4 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.4 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.4 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 30
Amenities:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
5
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
T.Z.
Business
Kona, Hawaii
Jun 16, 2011

Not a good experience

Pre-paid 4 nights for a "superior room". They put us in a very nice room but much smaller then depicted on their web sight. But the room shared a wall with their employee service elevator which was very loud starting at 5 A.M. and continued all day until after 10 P.M. Constant banging of service carts, shutting doors, voices, etc. We asked for a new room the first day there. The hotel staff only offered to put us in a much smaller plain "standard room" claiming it was also a "superior room". Not what you expect for a expensive luxury hotel. Finally got some sleep on the plane home!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike from DC
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 12, 2011

Right in the heart of Barcelona

Hotel 1898 was charming, beautiful, and located perfectly for our purposes (couple on first-time trip to Barcelona). It's on La Rambla 200 metres from Placa Catalunya, 10 minutes walk to the heart of the Barri Gotica. Obviously, it's an very busy area with no end of activity. We had a "classic" room on an interior courtyard. We would have upgraded had it not been such a busy season--prices were astronomical all over Barcelona. More light would have been welcome. The couryard also funneled music at all hours--sometimes karaoke, sometimes technopop--apparently from the rooftop bar. Not sure what the noise situation would be facing the streets. Decor was very stylish, the bed was large and comfortable, and the bathroom, while a bit tight, was well-organized and functional. The staff was outstanding. Front-desk staff very welcoming; housekeeping and maintenance very accommodating. No official concierge, but the desk staff--Jaime in particular--put real effort and expertise into advising on sights and picking out restaurants. We had dinner on the rooftop (so-so selection of tapas) and breakfast (high-priced but overwhelming amount of excellent food). Beautiful views. We'd go back, but we'd spring for a superior room facing a street next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bethesda, Maryland
Jan 4, 2012

Location, Location, Location

1898 Hotel Barcelona was perfectly located for everything we wanted to do while in Barcelona for five days. Given its place between Liceu and Catalunya Metro stations, my wife and I moved easily to the amazing museums, Gaudi casas, church and park, opera and concert halls, and other important sights. We found excellent, reasonably priced restaurants within comfortable walking distances (15 minutes), with the assistance of computer websites and local maps. The Boqueria market was a short stroll away and we had delightfully tasty breakfasts in our room every morning after picking out fresh fruit, cheese and croissants at the stalls. The hotel itself was spotless, pretty, comfortable and quiet despite the outside noise from La Ramblas. The well equipped , complimentary business center allowed for emails back home and any research we needed to do, as well as printing out air tickets in advance. In short, 1898 Hotel Barcelona is a terrific place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take in a concert at the Palau Nacional and find one of the many small, superior restaurants to walk to afterwards.

Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JandW
Business
Santa Cruz, California
Mar 19, 2013

Nice hotel and great location

Nice place that is close to shopping and easy walking distance to sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat breakfast outside hotel. Either at the market or the corner cafe! Hotel was very expensive and not very good, food wise

Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norway / USA
Jul 17, 2010

Hotel 1898

Great location on the Rambala. Room was a good size for Europe and appeared to be recently updated. Hotel staff were friendly and prompt when service was requested. Pool on the terrace was small, but not crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gulka
Business
Baku,Azerbaijan
Dec 2, 2014

Fvery good location

stayed in this hotel 4 nights-very good location,comfortable rooms....Fantasticall restaurant on the 1-sf floor thanks a lot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ramblas

Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richard F Preston
Business
UK
Oct 6, 2014

pre cuise stay for 2 days

Hotel was great but considering the cost per night [ 300 euro] I felt it was mean that breakfast was not included. Because of this we ate all meals except one out-with the hotel and got great food at excellent prices . We did eat at the roof top restaurant one evening and the food and atmosphere were great .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Some great eating places around this hotel.

Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anteater
Business
Naples, FL, USA
Dec 22, 2011

Best Hotel We Have Stayed At

My wife and I have been blessed to do a fair amount of traveling in the US and abroad. We have stayed at some exceptional hotels, but the experience we had staying at the H1898 in Barcelona tops them all. This is a true gem, run in a manner that makes guests feel like royalty. When we return once again to Barcelona, we will stay at the H1898. We give this hotel the highest recommendation possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a meal at Caracoles, one of the oldest restaurants in Barcelona. There are numerous reasons they have been in business since 1835. You will not be disappointed!

Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
barcelona fan
Business
Chcio, Ca
Jun 4, 2012

A special experience in Barcelona

The hotel is beautiful and provides for every comfort. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. Its location was perfect. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel menu was pricey and limited. There are several outdoor and indoor cafe's located near the hotel in most directions,.

Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Benhj
Business
Isle of Man
Aug 26, 2012

Brilliant Honeymoon

The hotel is a quiet and luxurious oasis perfectly situated on La Rambla. Rooms are nice and quiet considering the location and staff are very helpful. The rooftop terrace and pool is the highlight of this excellent hotel with amazing views over the entire city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top