$296 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

1898 Hotel Barcelona

4 stars
Les Rambles, 109, Barcelona, 08002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
24 reviews
Perfect First Visit to Barcelona

The hotel is located in a perfect location, right on Les Rambles. You can walk to most of the main... See full review

  • Travel87
  • Aug 21, 2014
Exceptional hotel

Beautiful hotel right in the heart of La Rambla, close to Metro. Spectacular subterranean pool,... See full review

  • Phila vacationer
  • Jul 1, 2013
Stay in style at this colonial-themed hideaway with spa

Located on Las Ramblas, 1898 Hotel Barcelona showcases a fine-tuned balance between the past and present. Inspired by neoclassical style with colonial flair, the hotel mixes exotic woods, dark fabrics and a black, brown and white color theme. Classy rooms and suites feature high-tech perks like free Wi-Fi. On the premises are two swimming pools and a spa, offering a range of Asian-inspired treatments. The first-floor Restaurant H1898 serves market-fresh Mediterranean cuisine. The terrace bar-restaurant (April to October) offers tapas and cocktails.

Highlights
  • Great location on Las Ramblas
  • Terrace swimming pool with poolside bar
  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms
  • Spa with exotic treatments
  • Gourmet Mediterranean restaurant
Rooms

1898 Hotel Barcelona has six types of units among its 169 rooms and suites. All have one of four color combinations: red, green, black or sandstone. Each unit comes with a plasma screen TV, radio with USB port and free Wi-Fi. All units also showcase en-suite bathrooms with marble countertops, shower and full bath. Classic rooms around the hotel's interior patio feature colonial style, warm colors, bamboo ornaments and sucupira hardwood floors. The bright deluxe rooms on the fifth floor have private terraces with fantastic city views. The junior suite has a bed with a black sucupira wood canopy and a separate living room. The colonial suites boast a terrace with private pool, solarium and lounge, plus comp perks like champagne, fruit and chocolates.

Features

Guests of Hotel 1898 Barcelona have free entrance to the Asian-inspired spa with a fitness center, hot tubs, sauna, steam rooms, heated pool and aquatic relaxation zone. A range of exotic treatments is available, such as Ceylonese massage and silk extract wrap. The seventh-floor outdoor swimming pool and solarium are open year-round. The 24-hour business center offers free Internet access and showcases a small library. Hotel 1898 Barcelona even offers the services of a personal shopper. Five meeting rooms on the premises are equipped with state-of-the-art audiovisual technology. The lobby bar is a great spot for a drink and features live jazz and blues once a week.

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (7.6 mi/12.3 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Catalunya (lines L1 and L3)
Attractions

  • Plaza Catalunya (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Port Olimpic (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Sagrada Familia (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

 

 

Hotel Map

41.3834 2.171
Area served
Barcelona
Nearby airports
BARCELONA EL PRAT AIRPORT, (BCN), 16.00, KM, S;
Area description
Located right in the heart of town, the 1898 Hotel is easily accessible through public transport. The hotel's convenient location gives its guests total access to all the major attractions in Barcelona, like Plaza Catalunya, Liceu, the Boqueria Marketplace, Casa Batllo, the Cathedral and several museums, including the Picasso Museum and the Contemporary Art Museum.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed 1898 Hotel Barcelona also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

1898 Hotel Barcelona Rooms

CLASSIC - HOTEL
Room

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.1 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.1 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.1 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.1 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.2 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.2 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.1 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.1 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.1 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.1 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.2 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.2 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.2 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.2 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.3 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.3 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.3 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.3 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.3 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.3 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.3 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.3 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.4 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.4 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.4 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
barcelona fan
Chcio, Ca
Jun 4, 2012

A special experience in Barcelona

The hotel is beautiful and provides for every comfort. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. Its location was perfect. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel menu was pricey and limited. There are several outdoor and indoor cafe's located near the hotel in most directions,.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Jun 17, 2011

Very unsatisfied

The hotel was nice and clean. But upon check in they charged us anothe 35 Euro, because they said our reservations were for only 1 person in a room. I showed them our confirmation from [...]showing it was for 2 people, but they refused to honor that. We were forced to pay the additional amount or find another place to stay. Of course we paid because we were in Spain and not sure we could find another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
T.Z.
Business
Kona, Hawaii
Jun 16, 2011

Not a good experience

Pre-paid 4 nights for a "superior room". They put us in a very nice room but much smaller then depicted on their web sight. But the room shared a wall with their employee service elevator which was very loud starting at 5 A.M. and continued all day until after 10 P.M. Constant banging of service carts, shutting doors, voices, etc. We asked for a new room the first day there. The hotel staff only offered to put us in a much smaller plain "standard room" claiming it was also a "superior room". Not what you expect for a expensive luxury hotel. Finally got some sleep on the plane home!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Harrisburg, PA
May 5, 2011

Quiet, Central Hotel

H1898 was fantastic for its location and an extremely nice place to stay at. Part of me feels it's not worth it to stay at a pricier hotel when you will spend most of your time out, but then it's amazingly refreshing to be able to return from the hectic pace of scheduled travel into a place to unwind a bit and get ready for your next trip outside. The location is spectacular - it's very easy to make a quick stop in to change shoes and even run to La Boqueria while your travel companion freshens up. The gym was necessary and the other amenities like the pool at the rooftop and evening tea time were lovely to momentarily take advantage of for relaxing. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful with odds and ends questions: weather, buses, converters. I appreciated the way security took care of hotel guests with posted guards and side-entry only access when La Rambla heated up at night. The hotel soundproofing deserves some recognition; we walked through a great fun crowd of chanting, singing, sparklers, drummers, and more singing with the Barcelona-Madrid match win, and in minutes were back to our peaceful hotel and the sounds of nothing at all. With such a great location and so much peace in between long and varied days, even though we chose somewhere more expensive and didn't take advantage of all the amenities, I feel I'd stay here again for the pure convenience and feeling of niceness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I was skeptical of the Montserrat day trip popularity, but my skepticism was overcome with enchantment at the day trip. Pick up a Tot Montserrat inclusive ticket at the Information center in Plaza Catalunya: 5 trips on the metro, railway there and back, unlimited access to the Funiculars and museums, and an enormous lunch are included. It's 15 Euros less for the next ticket down without lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike from DC
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 12, 2011

Right in the heart of Barcelona

Hotel 1898 was charming, beautiful, and located perfectly for our purposes (couple on first-time trip to Barcelona). It's on La Rambla 200 metres from Placa Catalunya, 10 minutes walk to the heart of the Barri Gotica. Obviously, it's an very busy area with no end of activity. We had a "classic" room on an interior courtyard. We would have upgraded had it not been such a busy season--prices were astronomical all over Barcelona. More light would have been welcome. The couryard also funneled music at all hours--sometimes karaoke, sometimes technopop--apparently from the rooftop bar. Not sure what the noise situation would be facing the streets. Decor was very stylish, the bed was large and comfortable, and the bathroom, while a bit tight, was well-organized and functional. The staff was outstanding. Front-desk staff very welcoming; housekeeping and maintenance very accommodating. No official concierge, but the desk staff--Jaime in particular--put real effort and expertise into advising on sights and picking out restaurants. We had dinner on the rooftop (so-so selection of tapas) and breakfast (high-priced but overwhelming amount of excellent food). Beautiful views. We'd go back, but we'd spring for a superior room facing a street next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bethesda, Maryland
Jan 4, 2012

Location, Location, Location

1898 Hotel Barcelona was perfectly located for everything we wanted to do while in Barcelona for five days. Given its place between Liceu and Catalunya Metro stations, my wife and I moved easily to the amazing museums, Gaudi casas, church and park, opera and concert halls, and other important sights. We found excellent, reasonably priced restaurants within comfortable walking distances (15 minutes), with the assistance of computer websites and local maps. The Boqueria market was a short stroll away and we had delightfully tasty breakfasts in our room every morning after picking out fresh fruit, cheese and croissants at the stalls. The hotel itself was spotless, pretty, comfortable and quiet despite the outside noise from La Ramblas. The well equipped , complimentary business center allowed for emails back home and any research we needed to do, as well as printing out air tickets in advance. In short, 1898 Hotel Barcelona is a terrific place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take in a concert at the Palau Nacional and find one of the many small, superior restaurants to walk to afterwards.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JandW
Business
Santa Cruz, California
Mar 19, 2013

Nice hotel and great location

Nice place that is close to shopping and easy walking distance to sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat breakfast outside hotel. Either at the market or the corner cafe! Hotel was very expensive and not very good, food wise

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Aug 17, 2010

Classy place in the center of the action

I really liked the roof top cafe. Nice to sit there in the evening eating tapas and drinking wine. I stayed in a superior and it was very nice. Some rooms can get a little noisy but it's nothing more wine can't solve. Lots to do within walking distance. We took a seven day cruise and stayed here before and after. Went to Monserat on our last day. Nice trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drkisa
Business
tampa, FL
Jul 7, 2011

Awesome spa

Centrally located on bustling La Ramblas, lots of people-watching, shopping, food and tours nearby. Hotel was very modern, clean, fabulous rooftop lounge but spa was by far the highlight. Beautiful, something you have to see, enough alone to bring us back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hard Rock Cafe right around the corner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norway / USA
Jul 17, 2010

Hotel 1898

Great location on the Rambala. Room was a good size for Europe and appeared to be recently updated. Hotel staff were friendly and prompt when service was requested. Pool on the terrace was small, but not crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tourista Grande
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Oct 1, 2014

Central Location

Excellent staff, beautiful view from rooftop pool/bar area. Walls are very thin so bring earplugs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not miss the flaminco!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top