$320 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2014 Check-out: Apr 24, 2014

1898 Hotel Barcelona

4 stars
Les Rambles, 109, Barcelona, 08002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
21 reviews
Exceptional hotel

Beautiful hotel right in the heart of La Rambla, close to Metro. Spectacular subterranean pool,... See full review

  • Phila vacationer
  • Jul 1, 2013
Hotel 1898- Primo Location

Fantastic hotel in prime location, right on La Rambla. Excellent area for shopping, dining and... See full review

  • tmn54
  • Apr 25, 2013
Stay in style at this colonial-themed hideaway with spa

Located on Las Ramblas, 1898 Hotel Barcelona showcases a fine-tuned balance between the past and present. Inspired by neoclassical style with colonial flair, the hotel mixes exotic woods, dark fabrics and a black, brown and white color theme. Classy rooms and suites feature high-tech perks like free Wi-Fi. On the premises are two swimming pools and a spa, offering a range of Asian-inspired treatments. The first-floor Restaurant H1898 serves market-fresh Mediterranean cuisine. The terrace bar-restaurant (April to October) offers tapas and cocktails.

Highlights
  • Great location on Las Ramblas
  • Terrace swimming pool with poolside bar
  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms
  • Spa with exotic treatments
  • Gourmet Mediterranean restaurant
Rooms

1898 Hotel Barcelona has six types of units among its 169 rooms and suites. All have one of four color combinations: red, green, black or sandstone. Each unit comes with a plasma screen TV, radio with USB port and free Wi-Fi. All units also showcase en-suite bathrooms with marble countertops, shower and full bath. Classic rooms around the hotel's interior patio feature colonial style, warm colors, bamboo ornaments and sucupira hardwood floors. The bright deluxe rooms on the fifth floor have private terraces with fantastic city views. The junior suite has a bed with a black sucupira wood canopy and a separate living room. The colonial suites boast a terrace with private pool, solarium and lounge, plus comp perks like champagne, fruit and chocolates.

Features

Guests of Hotel 1898 Barcelona have free entrance to the Asian-inspired spa with a fitness center, hot tubs, sauna, steam rooms, heated pool and aquatic relaxation zone. A range of exotic treatments is available, such as Ceylonese massage and silk extract wrap. The seventh-floor outdoor swimming pool and solarium are open year-round. The 24-hour business center offers free Internet access and showcases a small library. Hotel 1898 Barcelona even offers the services of a personal shopper. Five meeting rooms on the premises are equipped with state-of-the-art audiovisual technology. The lobby bar is a great spot for a drink and features live jazz and blues once a week.

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (7.6 mi/12.3 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Catalunya (lines L1 and L3)
Attractions

  • Plaza Catalunya (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Port Olimpic (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Sagrada Familia (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

 

 

1898 Hotel Barcelona Rooms

CLASSIC - HOTEL
Room

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed 1898 Hotel Barcelona also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.3834 2.171
Area served
Barcelona
Area description
Located right in the heart of town, the 1898 Hotel is easily accessible through public transport. The hotel's convenient location gives its guests total access to all the major attractions in Barcelona, like Plaza Catalunya, Liceu, the Boqueria Marketplace, Casa Batllo, the Cathedral and several museums, including the Picasso Museum and the Contemporary Art Museum.

Nearby points of interest

  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.1 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.1 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.1 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.1 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.2 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.2 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.1 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.1 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.1 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.1 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.2 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.2 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.2 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.2 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.3 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.3 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.3 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.3 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.3 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.3 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.3 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.3 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.4 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.4 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.4 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

4.3 / 5
21 out of 21
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
Phila vacationer
Philadelphia
Jul 1, 2013

Exceptional hotel

Beautiful hotel right in the heart of La Rambla, close to Metro. Spectacular subterranean pool, clean, comfortable room, excellent staff. Drinks and restaurants are pricey though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
tmn54
Shelton, CT
Apr 25, 2013

Hotel 1898- Primo Location

Fantastic hotel in prime location, right on La Rambla. Excellent area for shopping, dining and sightseeing. Great staff, comfortable rooms, and afternoon tea!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
JandW
Santa Cruz, California
Mar 19, 2013

Nice hotel and great location

Nice place that is close to shopping and easy walking distance to sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat breakfast outside hotel. Either at the market or the corner cafe! Hotel was very expensive and not very good, food wise

Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
Benhj
Isle of Man
Aug 26, 2012

Brilliant Honeymoon

The hotel is a quiet and luxurious oasis perfectly situated on La Rambla. Rooms are nice and quiet considering the location and staff are very helpful. The rooftop terrace and pool is the highlight of this excellent hotel with amazing views over the entire city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
barcelona fan
Chcio, Ca
Jun 4, 2012

A special experience in Barcelona

The hotel is beautiful and provides for every comfort. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. Its location was perfect. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel menu was pricey and limited. There are several outdoor and indoor cafe's located near the hotel in most directions,.

Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Bethesda, Maryland
Jan 4, 2012

Location, Location, Location

1898 Hotel Barcelona was perfectly located for everything we wanted to do while in Barcelona for five days. Given its place between Liceu and Catalunya Metro stations, my wife and I moved easily to the amazing museums, Gaudi casas, church and park, opera and concert halls, and other important sights. We found excellent, reasonably priced restaurants within comfortable walking distances (15 minutes), with the assistance of computer websites and local maps. The Boqueria market was a short stroll away and we had delightfully tasty breakfasts in our room every morning after picking out fresh fruit, cheese and croissants at the stalls. The hotel itself was spotless, pretty, comfortable and quiet despite the outside noise from La Ramblas. The well equipped , complimentary business center allowed for emails back home and any research we needed to do, as well as printing out air tickets in advance. In short, 1898 Hotel Barcelona is a terrific place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take in a concert at the Palau Nacional and find one of the many small, superior restaurants to walk to afterwards.

Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
Anteater
Naples, FL, USA
Dec 22, 2011

Best Hotel We Have Stayed At

My wife and I have been blessed to do a fair amount of traveling in the US and abroad. We have stayed at some exceptional hotels, but the experience we had staying at the H1898 in Barcelona tops them all. This is a true gem, run in a manner that makes guests feel like royalty. When we return once again to Barcelona, we will stay at the H1898. We give this hotel the highest recommendation possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a meal at Caracoles, one of the oldest restaurants in Barcelona. There are numerous reasons they have been in business since 1835. You will not be disappointed!

Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
Mike from DC
Washington, DC
Oct 12, 2011

Right in the heart of Barcelona

Hotel 1898 was charming, beautiful, and located perfectly for our purposes (couple on first-time trip to Barcelona). It's on La Rambla 200 metres from Placa Catalunya, 10 minutes walk to the heart of the Barri Gotica. Obviously, it's an very busy area with no end of activity. We had a "classic" room on an interior courtyard. We would have upgraded had it not been such a busy season--prices were astronomical all over Barcelona. More light would have been welcome. The couryard also funneled music at all hours--sometimes karaoke, sometimes technopop--apparently from the rooftop bar. Not sure what the noise situation would be facing the streets. Decor was very stylish, the bed was large and comfortable, and the bathroom, while a bit tight, was well-organized and functional. The staff was outstanding. Front-desk staff very welcoming; housekeeping and maintenance very accommodating. No official concierge, but the desk staff--Jaime in particular--put real effort and expertise into advising on sights and picking out restaurants. We had dinner on the rooftop (so-so selection of tapas) and breakfast (high-priced but overwhelming amount of excellent food). Beautiful views. We'd go back, but we'd spring for a superior room facing a street next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
PCCC
Washington DC
Aug 30, 2011

Great Stay

We stayed at Hotel 1898 on a Saturday before a cruise and a Sunday after the cruise. My wife and I agreed that it was the nicest hotel we've ever stayed in. The rooms were large, beautiful, and had amazing bathrooms. The staff spoke great English and the location can't be beat. The only negatives were some noise issues. In our first room, there was a strange creaking that repeated off and on consistently. The second room had a great view of Las Ramblas, but we could hear (and feel) the metro go by underground even though we were on the 3rd floor. Neither of those things kept us up, but at an expensive hotel those shouldn't happen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of 1898 Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
Anthony MD
Business
Scottsdale, Az
Jul 13, 2011

1898 Hotel

Perfect location if you want the best of the dining/shopping/club scene. Was able to walk everywhere! The hotel rooms are small, but comfortable. Great value. Would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right on Las Ramblas shopping/dining/club district.

Back to menu Return to top