$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 3, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

4 stars
View map of Gladiator Street, Johannesburg, 1627

Hotel Overview

Protea-Hotel-OR-Tambo-Airport-Guest-Room
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
54 reviews
Great trip!

Very convenient! Easy to get to and great amenities! See full review

  • Peggy M.
  • Jan 25, 2015
Highy recommended

Excellent service; all of our requests were completely satisfied. Couldn't have been more pleased... See full review

  • AlaskaJerry
  • Sep 21, 2014
The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. Themed around an aeroplane hangar, the industrial ambiance of the Hotel is felt in the white floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows that overlook the aeroplanes as they dock and take off. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a dedicated, complimentary shuttle service to and from OR Tambo International Airport and a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel OR Tambo has it all. GUESTS can make use of executive boardrooms, relax around the pool or in the funky bar and lounge or dine at the in-house restaurant.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport also booked these hotels.

Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Whether youre stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R Tambo Airport has everything you need and more. Time-conscious local and international business travellers will enjoy this convenient hotel 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. No detail has been spared to ensure that business travellers can conduct their day-to-day business efficiently and comfortably. 213 Remarkable bedrooms ranging from Business class, First Class provides a direct dial telephone, large executive work desk and a laptop size safe. The luxurious Suite should not go unnoticed as well as the universal accessible rooms equipped for the convenient movement. 500MB PER DAY /PER ROOM Executive Working Desk European & UK Adaptors Individually Controlled Air-conditioning Laptop-friendly safe LCD Flat Screen TV with 18 DSTV channels Hairdryer Tea & Coffee Making Facilities Soundproof windows

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Ellis Park Stadium: 11.8 mi
  • Soccer City Stadium: 17.4 mi

Dining

Warehouse Restaurant
Breakfast: 06:30-10:30 Lunch:12:30-14:30 Dinner:18:30-22:30 Room service: 24 hours

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Host your conference with us and we will change it from an ordinary meeting to an experience you will never forget. With the luxury of choosing between 10 different venues accommodating delegates of 2 to 300, we have the capability of hosting any type of event. Give us a try and you will not regret it! Conference Package Includes: Venue Hire Data Projector and Screen Buffet Lunch 2 x Tea/Coffee Breaks with Snacks PA System Stationery Bottled Water Sweets Flip Chart and Marker Pens

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 54
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fabio m.
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

couple trip

very close to the airport with a free shuttle room are comfortable but the staff at the restaurant very poor and lazy and unfriendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MARGARET P.
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Overnight Stop-over

We had an overnight stay at the Protea. We arrived tired after a long trip - check in was simple and the staff were helpful and friendly. Room was clean and comfortable. We would stay here again with no hesitation. The free transport from/to airport was icing on the cake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYCSherry
Business
NYC
Sep 30, 2014

Great airport Hotel

We stayed at the Protea OR Tambo in between flights at Tambo Intl in Joberg. The place is clean and modern. The staff is very pleasant. The restaurant was surprisingly very good, as I feel that most hotel restaurants often lack quality. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel if you need to be near the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great steaks!

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AlaskaJerry
Business
Willow, Alaska
Sep 21, 2014

Highy recommended

Excellent service; all of our requests were completely satisfied. Couldn't have been more pleased with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try Nelson Mandela Square for numerous and varied dining options

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ol F
Business
Charlottesville,Va
Nov 5, 2013

Enroute to safari

Though tired on arrival, we settled in quickly. The room was clean, the check in/out prompt, bar slow but nice , reasonable and food average. Small but adequate fitness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucyna
Business
Chicago il
Aug 17, 2013

Airport stay

Needed to stay overnight in Johannesburg between my flights. Hotel is right by the airport. 5 min shuttle nice and clean. Has a very nice breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelererer
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 5, 2013

Great stopover hotel

This hotel was great! It was fairly close to the hotel. We waited about 15 minutes at the airport (near the Protea Hotel sign at the bus terminal) for the free shuttle. It was a five minute drive to the hotel. The hotel was great, clean, and a perfect place to sleep when we arrived at night in Jo-burg after 30 hours of travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Animkii
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 28, 2013

No room!

I reserved and prepaid for my room in January. When I arrived in June, they had no room for me although they did have my reservation and payment information. In short, they sold my room even though I already paid for it. They did send me to another hotel without charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gjlhome
Business
Florida
May 10, 2013

Outstanding place for airport stay

This was a very nice motel. Great breakfast bar. Clean rooms. For the price I don't think you can get any better. Best for overnight stays for airport. Not sure how well it would work for visiting Joburg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deep water lily
Business
Sebastopol, Ca.
Mar 27, 2013

Great over-night stay

Perfect for overnight stay when making connections at airport. Fast, efficient service. Good food available at all hours for busy travellers. Would use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The buffet is fast, good & has a good variety of food

Back to menu Return to top