$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

4 stars
Gladiator Street, Johannesburg, 1627
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
63 reviews
Outstanding place for airport stay

This was a very nice motel. Great breakfast bar. Clean rooms. For the price I don't think you can... See full review

  • gjlhome
  • May 10, 2013
Friendly staff, convenient location

Only 5 minutes from Johannesburg airport by free shuttle. Very friendly staff, clean hotel, and... See full review

  • Timbo3164
  • Jul 1, 2014
The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. Themed around an aeroplane hangar, the industrial ambiance of the Hotel is felt in the white floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows that overlook the aeroplanes as they dock and take off. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a dedicated, complimentary shuttle service to and from OR Tambo International Airport and a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel OR Tambo has it all. GUESTS can make use of executive boardrooms, relax around the pool or in the funky bar and lounge or dine at the in-house restaurant.

Hotel Map

-26.1232 28.2325
Area served
Johannesburg
Nearby airports
OR Tambo Airport, (Air), 3.00, KM;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
The 4-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo boasts 213 superbly appointed bedrooms. Elegant furnishings are complimented by luxurious carpets and cool finishes while soundproof windows ensure a peaceful stay. Adjust the lighting to your suit your mood and select heating or cooling as you require. GUESTS can enjoy first-class leisure and entertainment amenities including a flat screen television with 17 Satellite Channels.No detail has been spared to ensure that business traveler can conduct their day to day business efficiently and comfortably, and each room provides a direct dial telephone, large executive work desk and a laptop fitting room safe.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Ellis Park Stadium: 11.8 mi
  • Soccer City Stadium: 17.4 mi

Dining

Warehouse Restaurant
Breakfast: 06:30-10:30 Lunch:12:30-14:30 Dinner:18:30-22:30 Room service: 24 hours

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 63
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ol F
Charlottesville,Va
Nov 5, 2013

Enroute to safari

Though tired on arrival, we settled in quickly. The room was clean, the check in/out prompt, bar slow but nice , reasonable and food average. Small but adequate fitness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucyna
Chicago il
Aug 17, 2013

Airport stay

Needed to stay overnight in Johannesburg between my flights. Hotel is right by the airport. 5 min shuttle nice and clean. Has a very nice breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelererer
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 5, 2013

Great stopover hotel

This hotel was great! It was fairly close to the hotel. We waited about 15 minutes at the airport (near the Protea Hotel sign at the bus terminal) for the free shuttle. It was a five minute drive to the hotel. The hotel was great, clean, and a perfect place to sleep when we arrived at night in Jo-burg after 30 hours of travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Animkii
Wisconsin
Jun 28, 2013

No room!

I reserved and prepaid for my room in January. When I arrived in June, they had no room for me although they did have my reservation and payment information. In short, they sold my room even though I already paid for it. They did send me to another hotel without charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gjlhome
Florida
May 10, 2013

Outstanding place for airport stay

This was a very nice motel. Great breakfast bar. Clean rooms. For the price I don't think you can get any better. Best for overnight stays for airport. Not sure how well it would work for visiting Joburg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deep water lily
Sebastopol, Ca.
Mar 27, 2013

Great over-night stay

Perfect for overnight stay when making connections at airport. Fast, efficient service. Good food available at all hours for busy travellers. Would use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The buffet is fast, good & has a good variety of food

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
isoergo
Washington, DC, USA
Nov 23, 2012

Good value for money

I just spent a night, because I was traveling to Cape Town on a early morning. Typical airport hotel. Nice staff. Close enough to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
crimestopper
San Rafael, California
Oct 21, 2012

Exceptionally good

Very modern rooms with lots of amenities. Pleasant and cooperative staff. Great weekend brunch with large variety and good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
On Safari
Spain
Aug 25, 2012

No heating in cold spell

The room was comfortable but very cold. A call to the maintenance department was promptly answered but he just reset the switch settings which failed to get the room heating working. Otherwise the hotel was OK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AlJe
New Haven, CT
Aug 24, 2012

OK for a transient, airport hotel but...

Everything was average. But upon checkin staff required that they photocopy our credit card and put up 300 rand in cash to cover added expenses. Allowing someone to photocopy a credit card is a serious security breach. Then on top of that to require another 300 in rand in cash just created suspicions on our part and added uneeded tensions to our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top