Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

4 stars
View map of Gladiator Street, Johannesburg, 1627

Hotel Overview

Protea-Hotel-OR-Tambo-Airport-Guest-Room
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
48 reviews
Great trip!

Very convenient! Easy to get to and great amenities! See full review

  • Peggy M.
  • Jan 25, 2015
Highy recommended

Excellent service; all of our requests were completely satisfied. Couldn't have been more pleased... See full review

  • AlaskaJerry
  • Sep 21, 2014
The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. Themed around an aeroplane hangar, the industrial ambiance of the Hotel is felt in the white floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows that overlook the aeroplanes as they dock and take off. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a dedicated, complimentary shuttle service to and from OR Tambo International Airport and a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel OR Tambo has it all. GUESTS can make use of executive boardrooms, relax around the pool or in the funky bar and lounge or dine at the in-house restaurant.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport also booked these hotels.

Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Whether youre stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R Tambo Airport has everything you need and more. Time-conscious local and international business travellers will enjoy this convenient hotel 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. No detail has been spared to ensure that business travellers can conduct their day-to-day business efficiently and comfortably. 213 Remarkable bedrooms ranging from Business class, First Class provides a direct dial telephone, large executive work desk and a laptop size safe. The luxurious Suite should not go unnoticed as well as the universal accessible rooms equipped for the convenient movement. 500MB PER DAY /PER ROOM Executive Working Desk European & UK Adaptors Individually Controlled Air-conditioning Laptop-friendly safe LCD Flat Screen TV with 18 DSTV channels Hairdryer Tea & Coffee Making Facilities Soundproof windows

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Ellis Park Stadium: 11.8 mi
  • Soccer City Stadium: 17.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Host your conference with us and we will change it from an ordinary meeting to an experience you will never forget. With the luxury of choosing between 10 different venues accommodating delegates of 2 to 300, we have the capability of hosting any type of event. Give us a try and you will not regret it! Conference Package Includes: Venue Hire Data Projector and Screen Buffet Lunch 2 x Tea/Coffee Breaks with Snacks PA System Stationery Bottled Water Sweets Flip Chart and Marker Pens

Dining

Warehouse Restaurant
Breakfast: 06:30-10:30 Lunch:12:30-14:30 Dinner:18:30-22:30 Room service: 24 hours

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Animkii
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 28, 2013

No room!

I reserved and prepaid for my room in January. When I arrived in June, they had no room for me although they did have my reservation and payment information. In short, they sold my room even though I already paid for it. They did send me to another hotel without charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairbanks AK
Jul 10, 2011

Lovely room, POOR internet

I am not traveling as a tourist. I have a computer, cellphone, and other essential items that need charging and there is only ONE outlet in the room in an inconvenient place. Internet is free, but requires an enormous, arcane username and password that have to be typed in every time you go to use it! That's absurd. The internet is so slow it's scarcely worth the time. Room is very striking and bed was superbly comfortable. Fabulous spread for breakfast. But bottom line for me is good outlets, lots of them, and free, easily accessible and fast internet. If you're serious about those things, go elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fabio m.
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

couple trip

very close to the airport with a free shuttle room are comfortable but the staff at the restaurant very poor and lazy and unfriendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
On Safari
Business
Spain
Aug 25, 2012

No heating in cold spell

The room was comfortable but very cold. A call to the maintenance department was promptly answered but he just reset the switch settings which failed to get the room heating working. Otherwise the hotel was OK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AlJe
Business
New Haven, CT
Aug 24, 2012

OK for a transient, airport hotel but...

Everything was average. But upon checkin staff required that they photocopy our credit card and put up 300 rand in cash to cover added expenses. Allowing someone to photocopy a credit card is a serious security breach. Then on top of that to require another 300 in rand in cash just created suspicions on our part and added uneeded tensions to our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
isoergo
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Nov 23, 2012

Good value for money

I just spent a night, because I was traveling to Cape Town on a early morning. Typical airport hotel. Nice staff. Close enough to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bird waxer
Business
Annapolis, MD
Nov 26, 2012

Quite all right for a transit hotel

Interesting decor -- warehouse - safari cargo look - quite stark. Comfortable room, good internet access. Decent food at the hotel restaurant, though service left something to be desired. Easy to get to through regular shuttle service from the airport. A good deal for a transit hotel, but I wouldn't want to stay there more than a night or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Tambo International has GREAT shopping. Get to the airport early and enjoy the shops.

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
charliemom
Business
Tucson, AZ
Oct 5, 2010

Good location and safe

Hotel provided safe transportation free of charge from the airport. This is a must in Johannesburg. Friendly staff, good location and clean rooms for quick overnight stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 7, 2010

Pretoria Hotel OR Tambo

Staff are extremely friendly, courteous and polite - great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madagascar, Tana
Nov 9, 2010

lets have good time

Our stay was just for over night. No. very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top