$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

4 stars
View map of Gladiator Street, Johannesburg, 1627

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DaveN
Business
Swindon, UK
Nov 21, 2011

Great AIrport Hotel

We needed a hotel for our last night in South Africa and this was perfectly positioned at a fair price. We enjoyed our stay BUT the bar/restaurant area is way too noisy. However the aircraft/airport theme is great fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dont use the restaurant unless you are prepared for a noisy meal!

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
family with kids
Business
Geneva, Switzerland
Aug 23, 2011

Good for airport overnight stay

We arrived to JNB at night, got the hotel shuttle and left in the morning with the hotel shuttle. We ordered one room with three beds but the hotel informed us that all the rooms have only two beds. They were helpfull in adding a matress to the room. The rooms are clean, small , functional for overnight stay . The bathroom is open into the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairbanks AK
Jul 10, 2011

Lovely room, POOR internet

I am not traveling as a tourist. I have a computer, cellphone, and other essential items that need charging and there is only ONE outlet in the room in an inconvenient place. Internet is free, but requires an enormous, arcane username and password that have to be typed in every time you go to use it! That's absurd. The internet is so slow it's scarcely worth the time. Room is very striking and bed was superbly comfortable. Fabulous spread for breakfast. But bottom line for me is good outlets, lots of them, and free, easily accessible and fast internet. If you're serious about those things, go elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alaska
Jun 15, 2011

Outstanding Hotel, Near Airport

Far exceeded my expectations. Shuttle buses are straight out the front door of airport, past the Intercontinental Hotel. Quick trip to Protea. Really cool ambience -- aviation theme. Even have yellow oxygen mask in the bathroom (it's a joke -- and when you see it, it's funny). Totally clean. New amenities. Quiet. Service was superb. Room service dinner was delicious. Breakfast was top-notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

When you leave the airport front doors, walk like you're going to the (way too expensive) Intercontinental Hotel, but to the left of the building. There's another building where you wait for the shuttle bus to the Protea. It's not a problem, but it helps if you know the drill.

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portsmouth, NH
May 8, 2011

Great place

The hotel was very close to the airport and the free shuttle runs every 30 mins. There is a decent gym which was nice after 30 hours of travel. The room service dinners were very good and the buffet breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Cool airport theme decor. Great pool area and gardens with tons of outdoor seating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PIARC Traveler
Business
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Apr 20, 2011

Great Hotel Great Location

Stayed one night on my way to Walvis Bay and then Swakopmund. Hotel is within sight of the airport. Except for the shower in the bedroom, it was just like a hotel room in the US

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Nice restaurant in the hotel. Staff was extremely nice.

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Don Clays Shooter
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Apr 11, 2011

Close and Inexpensive

Checked in, went to the Lounge Bar, had a few drinks,ordered from the Menu and was served at our Bar table and personally visited by the Chief ! Wonderful,exoctic meal !! All around better than any Caribean Hotel and meal we've had and half the price!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Staff was wonderful ! Even went "on line" and checked us in with South African Airways so we wouldn't have to get up so early the next morning and stand in line!!

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Mar 1, 2011

A pleasant airport-overnight experience

Terrific, comfortable rooms with ultra-modern shower. Outdoor area especially notable, with comfortable lounge and sunning seating built in the midst of the swimming pool. Staff very accommodating. WiFi and free business center usage. Shuttle to the airport. More interesting than most airport hotels. Excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tiburon, California
Feb 23, 2011

Better than your usual airport hotel

Surprisingly tasty and inexpensive food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul, Minnesota
Feb 16, 2011

Protea - Johannesburg airport location

This was the perfect hotel for a layover in Johannesburg. The location is about 5 minutes from the airport, the shuttle was very convenient although was not clearly identified as Protea. The hotel looks new, room was very clean with smart design. Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top