$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

4 stars
View map of Gladiator Street, Johannesburg, 1627

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ol F
Business
Charlottesville,Va
Nov 5, 2013

Enroute to safari

Though tired on arrival, we settled in quickly. The room was clean, the check in/out prompt, bar slow but nice , reasonable and food average. Small but adequate fitness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucyna
Business
Chicago il
Aug 17, 2013

Airport stay

Needed to stay overnight in Johannesburg between my flights. Hotel is right by the airport. 5 min shuttle nice and clean. Has a very nice breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelererer
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 5, 2013

Great stopover hotel

This hotel was great! It was fairly close to the hotel. We waited about 15 minutes at the airport (near the Protea Hotel sign at the bus terminal) for the free shuttle. It was a five minute drive to the hotel. The hotel was great, clean, and a perfect place to sleep when we arrived at night in Jo-burg after 30 hours of travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Animkii
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 28, 2013

No room!

I reserved and prepaid for my room in January. When I arrived in June, they had no room for me although they did have my reservation and payment information. In short, they sold my room even though I already paid for it. They did send me to another hotel without charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gjlhome
Business
Florida
May 10, 2013

Outstanding place for airport stay

This was a very nice motel. Great breakfast bar. Clean rooms. For the price I don't think you can get any better. Best for overnight stays for airport. Not sure how well it would work for visiting Joburg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom Brady Junior
Business
South America
Apr 15, 2013

Met my expectations.

Very well located, clean and comfortable. The only weak points was the 62 minutes waiting for room service and free internet access is just for 100mb (which means nothing).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deep water lily
Business
Sebastopol, Ca.
Mar 27, 2013

Great over-night stay

Perfect for overnight stay when making connections at airport. Fast, efficient service. Good food available at all hours for busy travellers. Would use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The buffet is fast, good & has a good variety of food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tigergemm
Business
Boston,MA
Mar 19, 2013

AMAZING STAFF

Great location to the airport with a free shuttle to and from. All of the staff were pleasant and very helpful and were always smiling. Once inside the modern, comfortable hotel, I had no idea I was near the airport. The bar/lounge area was comfortable and the restaurant served delicious food and had lovely service. The outdoor area with pool and lounge was beautiful and relaxing. The room was a good size and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom had everything I needed and was very clean. Thanks to all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the hotel. The food and service are great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vazaha
Business
Madagascar
Jan 3, 2013

Protea

Good value. Way too modern. The combined shower-bedroom isn't the best setup.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vazaha
Business
Madagascar
Dec 3, 2012

Modern Airport Hotel

Nice hotel, close to the airport, ideal for overnight stay. Very modern if you like that kind of thing. Only buffet option for breakfast which is greatly overpriced, but they have free coffee while waiting for the complimentary shuttle to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top