$113 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 7, 2014 Check-out: Nov 9, 2014

Crowne Plaza JOHANNESBURG - THE ROSEBANK

3 stars
Crn Tyrwhitt&Sturdee Av Rosebank,PO BOx 52025, ROSEBANK, Johannesburg, 2132
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
6 reviews
Elegant hotel, wonderful staff

Are there more than 5 stars available? Some other reviews said this place tries too hard - I say,... See full review

  • Nancy66
  • Feb 23, 2012
Good for business

Very nice hotel. Good location, safe. Very pleasant and friendly stuff. Good food. Quite. I would... See full review

  • arosis
  • Feb 5, 2011
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Johannesburg The Rosebank, located in the heart of Rosebank. The hotel is conveniently located two blocks away from Rosebank Mall and the Rosebank Gautrain station, close to Zoo Lake, Sandton City shopping centre and the Sandton Convention Centre. This cosmopolitan hotel is in close proximity to OR Tambo International airport. Our hotel offers complimentary WiFi to keep you connected, with a spacious lobby and friendly staff. Take time and relax with us at our Amani Spa, or take a dip in our rim flowing pool. Our gym is open 24hrs a day. We offer the most delicious buffet breakfast at our Fresh Restaurant or indulge in a hot beverage, light snacks and pastries at our Rosebank Cafe which also offers an a la carte menu. Enjoy having some sundowners at our famous Circle Bar which also offers platter meals. Our state-of-the art meeting rooms have a tranquil environment with controlled lighting, and our Crowne Plaza Meetings Director will oversee every single detail. Book your stay today at the Crowne Plaza Johannesburg – The Rosebank.

Hotel Map

-26.146 28.0385
Nearby airports
O.R .Tambo International Airport, (JNB), 28.80, KM, SW; Lanseria International Airport, (HLA), 31.20, KM, NW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza JOHANNESBURG - THE ROSEBANK also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Ellis Park Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Soccer City Stadium: 7.1 mi

Dining

Fresh Restaurant
Fresh boasts a unique concept making use of the best and freshest products available. With a wide variety to choose from, Fresh is the undisputed specialist in breakfast which is served in comfortable and casual surroundings with breakfast served buffet s
Butcher Block
At Butcher Block Restaurant, plating the most succulent, tender and flavoursome steaks, is almost like a religion. Only prime AAA Grade South African beef is served. Expertly aged at controlled temperatures to ensure texture, flavour and colour, the meat
The Rosebank Cafe
Enjoy the best coffee, ultra fresh sandwiches or a deli style snacks created by our chef. Open daily from 06h30 to 22h30. The Rosebank Cafe serves our open lobby lounge, ideal for one on one meetings and food on the go. The Rosebank Cafe also acts as a un
The Circle Bar
Mix in the right circle at our boutique style bar and enjoy one of the cocktails created by South Africa’s top mixologists. A large selection of wines and champagnes on the menu are available by the glass. The award winning Circle Bar is the place to be s

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (6)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza JOHANNESBURG - THE ROSEBANK

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 6
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza JOHANNESBURG - THE ROSEBANK

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nancy66
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Elegant hotel, wonderful staff

Are there more than 5 stars available? Some other reviews said this place tries too hard - I say, lighten up! This place is perfectly located in a safe neighborhood near the mall, which is great for it's Woolworth's for picking up necessities and it's craft market. The gym and spa are great (oh, what a pedicure!), and I hired a wonderful driver to take me around the city. My room was lovely, had an iron and ironing board, and was very spacious but for the, er, efficient bathroom. The shower is huge but there's no counter space. I can't say enough about this hotel, and I saw a celebrity in the excellent restaurant!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza JOHANNESBURG - THE ROSEBANK

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
arosis
Business
Lithuania
Feb 5, 2011

Good for business

Very nice hotel. Good location, safe. Very pleasant and friendly stuff. Good food. Quite. I would recommend the hotel not only for business but for family as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza JOHANNESBURG - THE ROSEBANK

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Nov 27, 2010

Feeling at home

I had a great time. I received assistance from everyone. Counter, restaurant, bussines center, room service, travel agency, transportation, luggage storage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza JOHANNESBURG - THE ROSEBANK

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland OR
Mar 24, 2010

Lovely hotel, confused staff

[...] Front desk people were not helpful until finally someone was willing to accept my copy of the [...] reservation and told us not to worry. The room was lovely, clean, modern, Housekeeping was confused on several occasions. Room was cleaned,used towles taken but replacement towels were not there. No one at "Travel Desk" could give us information on how to get to the major international airport. There were no maps available of the area either. Finally hit on the one person with great customer service skills, [...] and got stuff accomplished when needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Rosebank Mall is 3 short blocks away. Can walk easily during daylight hours, not after dark.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza JOHANNESBURG - THE ROSEBANK

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Onyez
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 9, 2011

Very Outdated

This hotel is trying too hard to be chic and ends up looking like the set of an Austin Powers movie. The location is fantastic, a very short walk to Rosebank mall and convenient for business. The rooms are not great for business travelers, very dark and outdated. Nice to have restaurants within, and plenty at the mall to choose from as well. Shortly after checking in, a very strong, horrid odor started coming up through the shower drain and I had to literally flee the room. THe lady in the room next door had the same problem. They moved us straight away - it smelled like strong chemicals and made us very nauseous. The hotel is just OK, not great and not cheap for what you get. If it were priced lower, I wouldn't mind it being completely average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Location is very convenient to Rosebank business district and mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza JOHANNESBURG - THE ROSEBANK

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Feb 23, 2010

Good Value for Money

This is a good hotel and a nice, quiet and SAFE area. When you make reservation for hotel transportation, please make sure you are getting Hotel car and not the car of a friend of transportation booking agent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A mall close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top