$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Taj Cape Town

5 stars
Wale Street, ST GEORGES MALL 8, Cape Town, 8001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
9 reviews
Great Stay

We enjoyed a Saturday night in Cape Town and enjoyed everything the hotel had to offer See full review

  • Stellenbosch Traveller
  • Feb 11, 2014
A World Apart

We were booked into another hotel for one night by another tour company having travelled to Cape... See full review

  • Alsudi
  • Feb 3, 2014
Five-star opulence and service in downtown Cape Town
Whether travelling for business or leisure, guests at the Taj Cape Town find old and new amidst heritage buildings and a modern tower. Located next to St. George’s Cathedral at the entrance of St. George’s famed pedestrian district, the hotel offers guests superb service from the well trained multi-lingual staff, modern facilities and old-world ambiance. Taj Cape Town offers multiple dining options including The Mint, Bombay Brasserie, and the Twankey Seafood, Champagne and Oyster Bar.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Convenient location in the heart of Cape Town, close to the financial district and the city's cultural and leisure attractions
  • Business center with 24-hour secretarial services, high speed Internet, and complimentary car service to the financial district
  • Leisure facilities including a modern fitness center, heated indoor pool, saunas and the Jiva Grande Spa
Taj Cape Town Rooms
The 177 guest rooms and suites at the Taj Cape Town are in two distinct areas with the Heritage Rooms and Suites located in the hotel’s older buildings, and the Tower Rooms and Suites housed in the hotel’s modern tower. The Heritage accommodations offer old-world elegance with strong architectural character such as high ceilings and large windows. Tower accommodations are contemporary with floor-to-ceiling windows, and private balconies overlooking Table Mountain or the city. All guest rooms and suites at the Taj Cape Town feature spacious en suite bathrooms with oversized bathtubs, separate walk-in duel-head showers, vanities, and complimentary Molton Brown bathroom amenities. Room service is available 24 hours a day in both the Heritage and Tower accommodations. Accessible rooms are available upon request.
Things to Do:
  • Cape Town Castle (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Cape Town International Convention Centre (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Two Oceans Aquarium (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • South African Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • V&A Waterfront (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Rhodes Memorial (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Robben Island (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Table Mountain National Park (22.3 mi/36 km)
  • Cape of Good Hope (30 mi/48 km)

Taj Cape Town Rooms

ALL
Description not provided
Luxury Room/ City View/ King
Luxury Room/ City View/ King Bed/ 40 Sq Mt/ Incl Buffet Breakfast And WiFi/ Step Out Balcony/ Tower Wing
Tower 1 Bed Suite/ City View/
Tower 1 Bed Suite/ City View/ King Bed/ 65 Sq Mt/ Incl Buffet Breakfast WiFi And 1 Way Transfer/ Suite Benefits/ Balcony
Superior Room/ King Bed/ 34 Sq
Superior Room/ King Bed/ 34 Sq Mt/ Incl Buffet Breakfast And WiFi
Taj Club/ City View/ King Bed/
Taj Club/ City View/ King Bed/ 45 Sq Mt/ Incl Buffet Breakfast WiFi And 1 Way Transfer/ Club Benefits/ Private Floor
Luxury Room/ Mountain View/ King
Luxury Room/ Mountain View/ King Bed/ 40 Sq Mt/ Incl Buffet Breakfast And WiFi/ Heritage Wing
Presidential 2 Bed Suite/
Presidential 2 Bed Suite/ Mountain View/ 200 SqMt/ Incl Buffet Breakfast WiFi And 2 Way Transfer/ Suite Benefits/ Terrace
Luxury Room/ Mountain View/ Twin
Luxury Room/ Mountain View/ Twin Bed/ 40 Sq Mt/ Incl Buffet Breakfast And WiFi/ Heritage Wing
Luxury Room/ City View/ King
Luxury Room/ City View/ King Bed/ 40 Sq Mt/ Incl Buffet Breakfast And WiFi/ Heritage Wing
Tower 2 Bed Suite/ City View/
Tower 2 Bed Suite/ City View/ King Bed/ 65 Sq Mt/ Incl Buffet Breakfast WiFi And 1 Way Transfer/ Suite Benefits/ Balcony
Luxury Room/ Mountain View/ King
Luxury Room/ Mountain View/ King Bed/ 40 Sq Mt/ Incl Buffet Breakfast And WiFi/ Step Out Balcony/ Tower Wing
Heritage 1 Bed Suite/ City View/
Heritage 1 Bed Suite/ City View/ 65 SqMt King Bed/ Incl Buffet Breakfast WiFi And 1 Way Transfer/ Suite Benefits
Luxury Room/ Mountain View/ Twin
Luxury Room/ Mountain View/ Twin Bed/ 40 Sq Mt/ Incl Buffet Breakfast And WiFi/ Step Out Balcony/ Tower Wing

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Sauna
Solarium
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
Theater desk
Car rental desk
FAX
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Shower
Electronic door locks
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Taj Cape Town also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

-33.9244 18.4197
Area served
CityCenter
Nearby airports
Cape Town Intl Airport, (CPT), 18.00, KM, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Long Street: 0.3 mi
  • District Six Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Gold of Africa Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Castle of Good Hope: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall and Grand Parade: 0.4 mi
  • Railway Service: 0.6 mi
  • Cape Town railway station: 0.7 mi
  • Two Oceans Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Green Point Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • Table Mountain: 2.5 mi
  • Camps Bay: 2.9 mi
  • University of Cape Town: 3.4 mi
  • Table Bay: 3.5 mi
  • Newlands Rugby Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Kirstenbosch National Botanical Garden: 4.6 mi
  • Long Street: 0.3 mi
  • District Six Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Gold of Africa Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Castle of Good Hope: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall and Grand Parade: 0.4 mi
  • Railway Service: 0.6 mi
  • Cape Town railway station: 0.7 mi
  • Two Oceans Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Green Point Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • Table Mountain: 2.5 mi
  • Camps Bay: 2.9 mi
  • University of Cape Town: 3.4 mi
  • Table Bay: 3.5 mi
  • Newlands Rugby Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Kirstenbosch National Botanical Garden: 4.6 mi
  • Athlone Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Thunder City: 7.3 mi
  • Robben Island: 8.7 mi
  • Chapman's Peak: 12 mi
  • University of the Western Cape: 12.1 mi
  • Bellville Velodrome: 12.5 mi
  • Noordhoek: 12.6 mi
  • Premier Classe Train: 12.8 mi
  • Cape Winelands: 15.3 mi
  • Simon's Town: 17.7 mi
  • Boulders Beach: 19.1 mi
  • Cape Peninsula: 19.8 mi
  • Stellenbosch University: 25.3 mi
  • Cape of Good Hope: 28.9 mi
  • Clara Anna Fontein: 30.3 mi
  • Cape Point: 30.5 mi
  • Cape Agulhas: 110.1 mi
  • Cango Caves: 221.6 mi

Dining

Bombay Brasserie
Type: Fine dining Cuisine: Authentic Indian Theme: Indian fine dining Entertainment: Open plan show kitchen and Chefs Table
Seafood, Champagne and Oyster
Type: Casual and informal setting with a wide selection of wines and champagnes by the glass Cuisine: Seafood and oyster bar Open Timings: Open from 10.30am till late Entertainment: Live music in the evenings

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (9)

Ratings and reviews for Taj Cape Town

Overall score

4.7 / 5
9 out of 9
Amenities:
4.7
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Taj Cape Town

Reviewer score

5
Macsup30
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 12, 2012

Great deal for a great hotel

I visited this hotel on a recent business trip. I switched from the Proteia Hotel Fire and Ice because it was so terrible. What a contrast to the Taj! It was a fantastic stay with a great room and friendly staff. They delivered my laundry with a rose!! I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Taj Cape Town

Reviewer score

4
World travel enthusiast
Washington DC
Mar 29, 2014

Cape Town break

Hotel amazing but staff need improvement. A few errors led to my tours not running as smoothly as I had hoped. They don't give you the full information. Also, I was put into an adjoining room and they refused to move me because they already had my money and told me they couldn't offer me a better room at that price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Taj Cape Town

Reviewer score

4
EHamertime
NYC
Feb 26, 2014

Nice Inexpensive Central Hotel

Coming from a boutique smaller hotel, the Taj felt slightly less personal. That being said, the staff was always available, rooms large and great price for the location and amenities, so really had no complaints and would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Taj Cape Town

Reviewer score

5
Stellenbosch Traveller
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Feb 11, 2014

Great Stay

We enjoyed a Saturday night in Cape Town and enjoyed everything the hotel had to offer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Enjoy a Kir Royal at the bar which is quiet and classy

Review of Taj Cape Town

Reviewer score

5
Alsudi
Sheffield, UK.
Feb 3, 2014

A World Apart

We were booked into another hotel for one night by another tour company having travelled to Cape Town by cruise on the QM2. The hotel we had been booked into was "the pits". We decided to extend our holiday and made a new booking online in this hotel. The hotels were a World apart. Beautiful building, pleasant, attentive and courteous staff who couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast was a feast and included in the price. Shuttle bus to waterfront and Table Mountain every hour. This was our first stay in a TAJ hotel. Next time it will be our first choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel food excellent in the Mint and Bombay Brasserie.

Review of Taj Cape Town

Reviewer score

5
Hidayat
Jakarta
May 14, 2013

Amazin gateaway to cape town

Historical building turn to became luxury hotel. Extremely kind and attentive staffs, nice and huge room with aromatic amenities, breakfast was superb,.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Waterfront shopping and dinning area

Review of Taj Cape Town

Reviewer score

5
Macsup30
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 12, 2012

Great deal for a great hotel

I visited this hotel on a recent business trip. I switched from the Proteia Hotel Fire and Ice because it was so terrible. What a contrast to the Taj! It was a fantastic stay with a great room and friendly staff. They delivered my laundry with a rose!! I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Taj Cape Town

Reviewer score

4
zzzzaz
Business
new york
Jan 29, 2012

great location

great experience, and location is prerfect right next to st george mall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

St George Mall

Review of Taj Cape Town

Reviewer score

5
LoveyBug
Miami, FL, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Wonderful Hotel in Cape Town

The rooms are spacious, clean, and have amazing bathrooms. The service was great and all this at a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Taj Cape Town

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
In Transit
Jun 19, 2011

Taj = Luxurious

We arrived in Cape Town, and were first amazed at the natural beauty of the city and surrounds, and then by our hotel! The staff at the Taj were excellent, they were open, friendly and honest. The room itself was excellent, the view from our bathroom of Table Mountain was better than most other hotels! The Taj's location in the center of town is superb for exploring on foot, and allowed us to see the city from foot level. The concierge was excellent. The dinner recommendations and reservations were spot-on and superb. The complimentary shuttle in the Jaguar and Range Rover were a big hit as well! I will recommend this hotel to anyone who goes to Cape Town. This is the price you pay for luxury, and it proves you get what you pay for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need to use the internet, go to one of the internet cafe's on Long street or at the waterfront, some are only 10 rand/hour. As well, the hotel breakfast is terrific, but we would highly recommend Mozart's on Church Street, they had the best breakfast and a very funky vibe!

Back to menu Return to top