$66 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Chartfield Guesthouse

4 stars
30 Gatesville Road, Kalk Bay, Cape Town, 7975
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
5.0
out of 5
4 reviews
Superb location

The guest house is elevated above the main road in Kalt Bay and enjoys views over the harbour. Our... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 22, 2011
We booked their standard room.

We booked their standard room. This room is quite small but cozy, very quiet and with a view of the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 8, 2010
Chartfield Guesthouse evokes the spirit of a time when everything was done with a little more style and with a lot more attention to detail. It's a haven created to whisk you away from the cares of the world the moment you step inside this grand old house, which has been standing for over 120 years overlooking the picturesque Kalk Bay harbour. Now lovingly restored, Chartfield Guesthouse is nestled in this quaint seaside village where the pace and charm is reminiscent of a bygone era while every modern convenience is provided for.

Hotel Map

-34.1257 18.4489
Area served
Cape Town
Nearby airports
Cape Town International Airport
Area description
Worlds away from the high-rise hustle of Cape Town, Kalk Bay is a busy little fishing village which developed into a tight knit bustling seaside village and much of everything that makes it special remains today.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chartfield Guesthouse also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Chartfield Guesthouse Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Decorated in an understated, comfortable and uncluttered style, con- temporary sea house luxury awaits you. All our rooms are with en-suite bathroom and furnished with king size beds and flat screen TV with 8 DSTV channels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Simon's Town: 3.9 mi
  • Boulders Beach: 5.1 mi
  • Noordhoek: 5.4 mi
  • Chapman's Peak: 5.7 mi
  • Cape Peninsula: 6.5 mi
  • Kirstenbosch National Botanical Garden: 9.4 mi
  • Newlands Rugby Stadium: 10.8 mi
  • University of Cape Town: 11.5 mi
  • Table Mountain: 11.9 mi
  • Athlone Stadium: 12.2 mi
  • Camps Bay: 12.8 mi
  • Premier Classe Train: 13.4 mi
  • Railway Service: 13.6 mi
  • City Hall and Grand Parade: 13.6 mi
  • District Six Museum: 13.8 mi
  • Simon's Town: 3.9 mi
  • Boulders Beach: 5.1 mi
  • Noordhoek: 5.4 mi
  • Chapman's Peak: 5.7 mi
  • Cape Peninsula: 6.5 mi
  • Kirstenbosch National Botanical Garden: 9.4 mi
  • Newlands Rugby Stadium: 10.8 mi
  • University of Cape Town: 11.5 mi
  • Table Mountain: 11.9 mi
  • Athlone Stadium: 12.2 mi
  • Camps Bay: 12.8 mi
  • Premier Classe Train: 13.4 mi
  • Railway Service: 13.6 mi
  • City Hall and Grand Parade: 13.6 mi
  • District Six Museum: 13.8 mi
  • Castle of Good Hope: 13.9 mi
  • Cape Town railway station: 14.3 mi
  • Long Street: 14.3 mi
  • Gold of Africa Museum: 14.4 mi
  • Cape of Good Hope: 14.9 mi
  • Two Oceans Aquarium: 15.2 mi
  • Green Point Stadium: 15.3 mi
  • Cape Winelands: 15.4 mi
  • Thunder City: 15.5 mi
  • Clara Anna Fontein: 16.3 mi
  • Cape Point: 16.5 mi
  • Table Bay: 17 mi
  • University of the Western Cape: 17.1 mi
  • Bellville Velodrome: 19.9 mi
  • Robben Island: 22.6 mi
  • Stellenbosch University: 27.2 mi
  • Cape Agulhas: 101.2 mi
  • Cango Caves: 222.4 mi

Dining

Breakfast
Our exceptional a la carte breakfast is available for an extra R90.00 per person per day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (4)

Ratings and reviews for Chartfield Guesthouse

Overall score

5 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 4
Amenities:
4.8
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sort by:
Review of Chartfield Guesthouse

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Apr 8, 2010

We booked their standard room.

We booked their standard room. This room is quite small but cozy, very quiet and with a view of the ocean. However it does not provide much privacy as the entry door is a glass door with curtains. We loved our staying! The place is a jewel to relax; the food is exquisite; the location very central to stores and restaurants; very safe location. The only thing that I would not recommend is to use their laundry service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chartfield Guesthouse

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manchester
Jun 22, 2011

Superb location

The guest house is elevated above the main road in Kalt Bay and enjoys views over the harbour. Our room was number 6 and had a covered view of the harbour, Simonstown and the sea. The staff were extremely friendly. The lounge area had lots of comfy seating and was kept warm with a log burner. The bedroom itself was warm and had enough storage space for our belongings. The bathroom was enormous with a separate walk-in shower and a corner bath. There was plenty of hot water and the lights in the bathroom gave off plenty of heat. Both the bathroom and bedroom were bright and airy. We had a lovely, complimentary hot drink brought to our room each morning, ordered at reception the previous evening. The breakfast offered was innovative and tasty with plenty of choice for everyone. The guest house arranged for our transport to the Cape and we had a very interesting tour around Cape Point, Cape of Good Hope, Simonstown (including the Penguin Sanctuary) and the surrounding vineyards. We saw baboons, impala and ostrich. The driver was interesting to talk to and showed us much we would have missed on our own. The train ride into the centre of Cape Town was approximately 1 hour and 15 minutes at a cost of around £1.50 return. Fishoek is the next stop along the line and the beach here is lovely and sandy, with a cafe right on the front. The bay is lovely, with picturesque views along the shore line. Seals abound in the sea all around here and a Southern Right Whale was spotted by my husband on a fishing trip, (on a trawler). The harbour had 3 fish restaurants, of which we tried 1.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to The Bell Inn, situated inbetween the railway line and the sea (the breakers throw spray into the open sided restaurant when the wind is in the right direction). The steak was approximately £8.00 and absolutely delicious- I would return just for the steak! (beer's not bad either). For those of you who have a habit of smoking, it is permitted inside at the Bell Inn!

Review of Chartfield Guesthouse

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Annica
Norrköping
Feb 17, 2013

Frukosten underbar

Har bott andra gången på detta guesthouse. Personalen väldigt trevlig och ägaren Florian är verkligen mån om sina gäster. Honom kan man fråga om var bästa restaurangen finns, utflyktstips mm. Chartfield gusthouse känns som "hemma". Gångavstånd till underbara stränder. Lagom avstånd till Cape Town om Kalk Bay känns för litet. Det finns jättebra restauranger alldeles intill. Restaurng Olympia blev vår favorit den här gången.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chartfield Guesthouse

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ricoshay
Stockholm
Jun 11, 2014

Service Minded

Det som gav störst intryck var servicen som de erbjöd i form av information om sevärdheter och restaurang tips bl.a. De erbjöd även hjälp med bokningar av sevärdheter och andra äventyr så att man lättare kunde få det gjort på rätt sätt. Frukosten var mycket bra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

V&A Waterfront Cape Town

Back to menu Return to top

Change search