$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Cape Royale Luxury Hotel and Spa

5 stars
47 Main Road, Green Point, Cape Town, 8005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
37 reviews
Exceptional service and good value

The staff were exceptionally attentive and constantly strived to make the stay a terrific... See full review

  • Tom27
  • May 16, 2014
Great 2 BR/2 bath suite

Huge room/apt with a waterfront view! Lobby staff could have been a little more time efficient and... See full review

  • Cali Yorker
  • Feb 16, 2014
Designer suites with city and ocean views in the heart of Cape Town

Cape Royale Luxury Hotel and Spa is a lavish all-suite base in Cape Town that offers modern elegance located near the shops at Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and within convenient access to the beaches in Clifton. Tourists can explore nearby attractions such as Two Oceans Aquarium, Cape Town Stadium, and Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens and later unwind at the on-site roof deck pool, gym, and Equinox Spa. Diners feast on a variety of mouth-watering steaks and sumptuous seafood cuisines at in-house 1800 Restaurant. The hotel also provides complimentary Wi-Fi access, valet parking, and conference center with modern equipment that can host events of up to 150 guests.

3 Reasons To Stay
  • Equinox Spa offering beauty and relaxation services
  • Conference center with state-of-the-art equipment
  • Award-winning 1800 Restaurant
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel and Spa Rooms

The spacious suites at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel and Spa feature plush fabric, chic furniture and partial views of Signal Hill or Table Mountain from the private balcony. Each unit comes with satellite TV, safe deposit box, iron/ironing board, CD/DVD player, granite and porcelain bathroom, and separate lounge and dining areas.

Things To Do
  • Greenpoint Market (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Two Oceans Aquarium (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Cape Town Stadium (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Chavonnes Cannon Battery Museum (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Cape Town International Convention Center (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • The Fugard Theatre (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Castle of Good Hope (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Policies and fees

Parking fee costs R80 per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Cape Royale Luxury Hotel and Spa Rooms

Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
1 x double bedrooms with en-suite bathroom and separate bath and shower, 1 x twin bedded room with en-suite bathroom fitted with shower or bath,open plan lounge with Juliet balcony and double-glazed swing doors, all suites are 120m in size with ample living and entertainment areas, Floral arrangements, complimentary butlers tray with an array of local and imported tea and coffee, lavish Charlotte Rhys bath and body products, ladies and gents bathrobes and slippers, satellite TV with 14 channels, 32 inches LCD TV in lounge, 22 inches LCD TV in main bedroom, DVD player and surround sound music system, complimentary high speed internet access, private laptop safe, International plug adapters, double glazed window and doors
Penthouse Suite
2 x queen size bedrooms both with en-suite bathrooms and separate bath and shower, 1 x twin bedded rooms with en-suite bathroom fitted with shower or bath, open plan lounge with Juliet balcony and double-glazed swing doors, all suites are 150m in size with ample living and entertainment areas, Floral arrangements, complimentary butlers tray with an array of local and imported tea and coffee, lavish Charlotte Rhys bath and body products, ladies and gents bathrobes and slippers, satellite TV with 14 channels, 32 inches LCD TV in lounge, 22 inches LCD TV in main bedroom, DVD player and surround sound music system, complimentary high speed internet access, private laptop safe, International plug adapters, double glazed window and doors
Presidential Suite
2 x queen size bedrooms both with en-suite bathrooms and separate bath and shower, 2 x twin bedded rooms with en-suite bathroom fitted with shower or bath, open plan lounge with Juliet balcony and double-glazed swing doors, all suites are 150m in size with ample living and entertainment areas, Floral arrangements, complimentary butlers tray with an array of local and imported tea and coffee, lavish Charlotte Rhys bath and body products, ladies and gents bathrobes and slippers, satellite TV with 14 channels, 32 inches LCD TV in lounge, 22 inches LCD TV in main bedroom, DVD player and surround sound music system, complimentary high speed internet access, private laptop safe, International plug adapters, double glazed window and doors
Studio Suite
This open plan suite, located on the second floor of the hotel is ideal for a short stay. It consists out of one bedroom, fitted with a double bed, in-room shower with separate basin and toilet, a small lounge and dining area. The suite is fitted with cable television in the lounge and complimentary WI-FI internet access.
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite with Living Area
1 x queen bed with silk-filled duvets and 300 thread Egyptian cotton percale linen with en-suite granite and porcelain bathroom, open plan lounge with Juliet balcony and double-glazed swing doors, all suites are 120m in size with ample living and entertainment areas, Floral arrangements, complimentary butlers tray with an array of local and imported tea and coffee, lavish Charlotte Rhys bath and body products, ladies and gents bathrobes and slippers, satellite TV with 14 channels, 32 inches LCD TV in lounge, 22 inches LCD TV in main bedroom, DVD player and surround sound music system, complimentary high speed internet access, private laptop safe, International plug adapters, double glazed window and doors

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cape Royale Luxury Hotel and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

-33.9089 18.4122
Area served
Cape Town, Waterfront, Cape Town Stadium; Set against the iconic outline of Table Mountain, with panoramic views over the city and Atlantic Ocean. 5 minutes from Clifton and Camps Bay beaches.
Nearby airports
Cape Town International Airport
Area description
The hotel is in close proximity to the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront, Central Business District, within walking distance to the 2010 Soccer World Cup stadium and 10 minutes from famous Clifton and Camps Bay beaches this hotel offers the ideal location for the discerning corporate and leisure traveller. The 95 luxuriously appointed suites offer the ultimate in contemporary life-style and elegant accommodation.

Nearby points of interest

  • Green Point Stadium: 0.2 mi
  • Two Oceans Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Gold of Africa Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Long Street: 0.9 mi
  • Cape Town railway station: 1.3 mi
  • Castle of Good Hope: 1.4 mi
  • District Six Museum: 1.5 mi
  • City Hall and Grand Parade: 1.5 mi
  • Railway Service: 1.7 mi
  • Table Bay: 3 mi
  • Table Mountain: 3.4 mi
  • Camps Bay: 3.4 mi
  • University of Cape Town: 4.5 mi
  • Newlands Rugby Stadium: 5.4 mi
  • Kirstenbosch National Botanical Garden: 5.7 mi
  • Green Point Stadium: 0.2 mi
  • Two Oceans Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Gold of Africa Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Long Street: 0.9 mi
  • Cape Town railway station: 1.3 mi
  • Castle of Good Hope: 1.4 mi
  • District Six Museum: 1.5 mi
  • City Hall and Grand Parade: 1.5 mi
  • Railway Service: 1.7 mi
  • Table Bay: 3 mi
  • Table Mountain: 3.4 mi
  • Camps Bay: 3.4 mi
  • University of Cape Town: 4.5 mi
  • Newlands Rugby Stadium: 5.4 mi
  • Kirstenbosch National Botanical Garden: 5.7 mi
  • Athlone Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • Robben Island: 7.5 mi
  • Thunder City: 7.8 mi
  • University of the Western Cape: 12.6 mi
  • Bellville Velodrome: 12.7 mi
  • Chapman's Peak: 12.9 mi
  • Noordhoek: 13.6 mi
  • Premier Classe Train: 13.6 mi
  • Cape Winelands: 16.1 mi
  • Simon's Town: 18.8 mi
  • Boulders Beach: 20.3 mi
  • Cape Peninsula: 20.8 mi
  • Stellenbosch University: 25.7 mi
  • Cape of Good Hope: 30.1 mi
  • Clara Anna Fontein: 31.4 mi
  • Cape Point: 31.6 mi
  • Cape Agulhas: 111.1 mi
  • Cango Caves: 221.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Equipped with state-of-the-art audio-visual equipment, each of the Cape Royale's four executive boardrooms features a boardroom table, wireless internet access, screen and laptop connections, ceiling-mounted data projectors and speakers. Stylish in-room cappuccino machines and mini-bars are on hand in every room to see to your every refreshment needs. Executive Boardroom 1 Seats 22 pax Executive Boardroom 2 Seats 14 pax Executive Boardroom 3 Seats 10 pax Executive Boardroom 4 Seats 6 pax The hotel offers full secretarial and business services, wireless internet access and a printer. The Business Centre is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Dining

Bistro 1800
Bistro 1800 offers a range of succulent signature steaks, delectable meat dishes and shellfish. Our grill prepares our meat at a temperature of 1800 Fahrenheit. The result is moist, tender, melt-in-your-mouth steak, accompanied by a wide variety of mouth-watering sauces from around the world.
Sky Bar
With panaramic veiws of the Cape Town Stadium, city and Atlantic Ocean, the roof top pool deck and Sky Bar, is the perfect setting for a light meal and a cocktail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Cape Royale Luxury Hotel and Spa

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cape Royale Luxury Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PENFISH
HOUSTON
Dec 21, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE

I was so thrilled to stay at this hotel and especially be in south africa. IT was ruined by those in charge of this hotel because they house THIEVES! I had personal items stolen from my hotel room after strict orders not to enter my room were given. The staff did nothing about it and had the audacity to tell me nothing was stolen. Completely ruined my trip. There are several other wonderful hotels in South Africa to stay and I am here to warn everyone NOT TO STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Cape Royale Luxury Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jamkam
Alexandria, VA
May 8, 2013

Not bad, not great

We selected a 2 bedroom suite at this hotel. It is billed as a luxury hotel. The pictures supported that classification. Upon arrival, the check-in process is fine. The employees were pleasant. We had very high hopes for the hotel. Unfortunately, the Cape Royale did fall short several times. The rooms are gorgeous and spacious. We could not have asked for more space, closet/ drawer space. a nicer kitchen. Everything in the photos was spot on. The location was very close to the VA Waterfront. 10 minute walking distance. Parking is about 30rand per day. Not a lot in US dollars, but I wish I had known that earlier. In my opinion, Luxury hotels distinguish themselves from the average joes by paying attention to detail. This was not the case in this hotel. The bathrooms were cleaned with inconsistent quality. THe housekeepers would remove dirty towels or open toiletries and not replenish them. Repeated calls for service, supplies sometimes took 5 - 10 hours. We complained once and received the materials. However, the next day our room reeked of rotting food/ trash. We believe that it was in retaliation for complaining about the inconsistent service. We rarely ate in the room and did not have much trash. It was a terrible and offensive smell that came out of nowhere. Lastly, on the last day we saw the ceiling at the entrance of our room had significant mold. Like I said...detail. I would recommend the hotel to another patron if the cost were $100 - 150/ night. Check out the Icon Luxury Apartments. Similar apartments, but a much cheaper price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Saigon Vietnamese Restaurant. Awesome meal.

Review of Cape Royale Luxury Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess 1974
Maputo, Mozambique
Apr 16, 2012

Great for Cape Town 1st timer

We had a spacious, clean suite with nice furnishings. A little loud on the "ocean" side at night thurs-sun. Good breakfast. Excellent, helpful staff who were good with kids. Plenty of places to eat/drink/grab groceries nearby. Decent walk or quick cab ride to V&A waterfront; cabs were generally plentiful. Rooftop is a nice bonus, but fair warning, the pool is frigid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Great place to run/jog/walk/skate/bike from the hotel out along the Main road to the shore.

Review of Cape Royale Luxury Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston,TX
Jun 1, 2010

Beautiful Hotel

This is really a nice and beautiful hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful. We missed Internet connection because it was not working. Other than that was an excellent weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Victoria and Alfred waterfront is a beautiful place with lots of things to do at a short distance from the Hotel. Don't miss table mountain, Cape Point, Cape of Good Hope and Wine country plus all the beautiful beaches around Cape Town.

Review of Cape Royale Luxury Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mungo park
San Francisco, California
Sep 2, 2013

Nice Hotel

Suite hotel, with kitchen and separate sleeping and living rooms. Hotel design was the highlight. Service was okay but too intrusive. Too many phone calls to guest room to check on how the guest is doing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Cape Royale Luxury Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First-time Capetown visitor
Washington, D.C.
Mar 2, 2010

First-time Capetown Visitor

My friend and I spent 3 days, 4 nights in Capetown. We decided that location was key in deciding where to stay, given that this was our first visit to Capetown. The Cape Royale seemed to fit this bill, and we were very pleased with its proximity to the V&A Waterfront, as well as to the downtown area with nicer restaurants. The hotel offers free transport within .5 km, which we utilized during most of our stay (extra nice when we rode in a jaguar!) The hotel is new and the rooms are quite comfortable and spacious. The rooms are equipped with kitchens that include a refrigator, washer/dryer, a microwave/grill, and toaster (all of which we utilized, with some effort in reading through the instruction manuals!) The space was surprising, and we discovered that the hotel is selling one and two-bedroom units as condominiums. Having a suite configuration for the hotel rooms is nice, particularly if there is more than one of you. The concierge was extremely knowledgeable and we relied heavily on him to help plan our daily activities, which included a day trip around the Cape of Good Hope. Securing a car and driver through the hotel for the day trip was not cheap, but definitely worthwhile. We stopped at Boulders Beach, where we saw the famed penguins, went to the Cape of Good Hope, stopped at an ostrich farm, and drove up along the coast with its beautiful vistas of the ocean and quaint seaside towns. Having a private car enabled us to pick and choose what we wanted to see, and spend as much time as we wanted to at each site. My one qualifier of the hotel has to do with the room service. While the food itself was good, the hotel did not seem used to providing room service (they forgot an order, then provided half an order.) Not the best service in this area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Cape Royale Luxury Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First-time Capetown visitor
Washington, D.C.
Mar 2, 2010

First-time Capetown Visitor

My friend and I spent 3 days, 4 nights in Capetown. We decided that location was key in deciding where to stay, given that this was our first visit to Capetown. The Cape Royale seemed to fit this bill, and we were very pleased with its proximity to the V&A Waterfront, as well as to the downtown area with nicer restaurants. The hotel offers free transport within .5 km, which we utilized during most of our stay (extra nice when we rode in a jaguar!) The hotel is new and the rooms are quite comfortable and spacious. The rooms are equipped with kitchens that include a refrigator, washer/dryer, a microwave/grill, and toaster (all of which we utilized, with some effort in reading through the instruction manuals!) The space was surprising, and we discovered that the hotel is selling one and two-bedroom units as condominiums. Having a suite configuration for the hotel rooms is nice, particularly if there is more than one of you. The concierge was extremely knowledgeable and we relied heavily on him to help plan our daily activities, which included a day trip around the Cape of Good Hope. Securing a car and driver through the hotel for the day trip was not cheap, but definitely worthwhile. We stopped at Boulders Beach, where we saw the famed penguins, went to the Cape of Good Hope, stopped at an ostrich farm, and drove up along the coast with its beautiful vistas of the ocean and quaint seaside towns. Having a private car enabled us to pick and choose what we wanted to see, and spend as much time as we wanted to at each site. My one qualifier of the hotel has to do with the room service. While the food itself was good, the hotel did not seem used to providing room service (they forgot an order, then provided half an order.) Not the best service in this area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Cape Royale Luxury Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston,TX
Jun 1, 2010

Beautiful Hotel

This is really a nice and beautiful hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful. We missed Internet connection because it was not working. Other than that was an excellent weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Victoria and Alfred waterfront is a beautiful place with lots of things to do at a short distance from the Hotel. Don't miss table mountain, Cape Point, Cape of Good Hope and Wine country plus all the beautiful beaches around Cape Town.

Review of Cape Royale Luxury Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cesar R
Maputo
Mar 14, 2013

Very good location and staff

I went to ride the Argus and the hotel´s location was perfect. THe staff is very friendly and helpful. The family room is quite big. recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Cape Royale Luxury Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bk family
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 9, 2014

Great Experience in Cape Town for Family

Nice hotel, very large rooms, more than enough space for our family of four to really stretch out. Staff fantastically helpful and friendly. Great value, even though they required us to use the valet parking and breakfast was not included. Wifi was a little problematic at times. Gym very basic. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top