$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Hotel La Plantation

3 stars
View map of C5 Orient Bay, St. Martin,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
41 reviews
awesome place!

Awesome place! Everything was perfect!... See full review

  • Maria K.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Always Perfect

We love this hotel. The rooms, staff, service, location and amenities always make us want to... See full review

  • Stoney
  • Feb 20, 2015
Stylish, 52-room hotel on Orient Bay in French St. Martin

Hotel La Plantation, located on Orient Bay, features easy access to a two-mile-long stretch of beach and the turquoise waters. Seventeen stylish colonial villas are set amid 7.5 acres of lush tropical grounds. All accommodations are tastefully decorated in warm colors featuring hand-painted murals and friezes evoking Caribbean themes. The hotel provides complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby, reception, pool and bar areas, plus a library/Internet café.

Highlights
  • Voted one of the best small hotels by Caribbean Travel & Life
  • Easy stroll to one of the nicest stretches of Orient Bay beach
  • Good-sized kitchens
  • Pets allowed
Rooms

Each of the 17 villas comprises one suite and two studios, which may be combined or rented separately. The suites feature a separate bedroom, a living room, and a large kitchen. The studios are equipped with king or queen beds and also come with a kitchenette. All rooms have air conditioning, a private balcony or terrace, satellite television, a ceiling fan, dishes and silverware, a microwave oven, a refrigerator, room service, a safe, tea and coffee-making facilities, and a toaster.

Features

Enjoy the hotel's pool, bar, and beach. The resort offers windsurfing, jet skiing, waterskiing, kayaking, parasailing, and tennis on site. Scuba diving, horseback riding, and golf can all be arranged at the front desk, as well as a soothing massage on the beach.


The resort's restaurant Café Plantation serves French and Creole dinners. At lunch, guests can use the in-house "privilege card" to buy French/creole/international meals at any of five beachfront restaurants associated with the resort.

 

Other hotel amenities include babysitting, a library, and tour desk.

Transportation
  • Princess Juliana International Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Philipsburg (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Marigot (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Grand Case (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • Business center with computers
  • High-speed Internet access

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel La Plantation also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel La Plantation Rooms

Studio Lower Level
These 425 sq. ft. studios, located on the lower level of the property are equipped with 1 king or 2 twin size beds, full size sofa bed for children under 12, kitchenette, bathroom with shower and hair dryer, air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial telephone, safe, television, iron and ironing board and a terrace with garden and partial ocean view. Studio contains 1 king or 2 Twin beds plus a double sofa bed.
1 Bedroom Suite Lower Level
These 740 sq. ft. suites feature a separate bedroom with king size bed, spacious living room elegantly furnished in teak, queen size sofa bed, full kitchen, hand crafted tiled bathroom with shower and hair dryer and a separate toilet room, air conditioning, ceiling fan, safe, television, iron and ironing board, terrace with garden and partial ocean view. Suite contains 1 King in bedroom plus a double sofa bed in living room.
Studio Upper Level
These 425 sq. ft. studios, located on the upper level of the property are equipped with 1 king or 2 twin size beds, full size sofa bed for children under 12, kitchenette, bathroom with shower and hair dryer, air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial telephone, safe, plazma television, iron and ironing board and a terrace with a panoramic ocean view. Studio contains 1 queen or 2 Twin beds plus a double sofa bed.
1 Bedroom Suite Upper Level
These 740 sq. ft. suites feature a separate bedroom with king size bed, spacious living room elegantly furnished in teak, Queen size sofa bed, full kitchen, hand crafted tiled bathroom with shower and hair dryer and a separate toilet room, air conditioning, ceiling fan, safe, plazma television, iron and ironing board, terrace with a panoramic ocean view. Suite contains 1 King in bedroom plus a double sofa bed in living room.
2 Bedroom Suite Lower Level
These 1165 sq. ft. 2 bedroom suites combine the feaures of a 1 bedroom suite and a connecting studio and are locatd on the lower level of the property with garden and partial ocean views. Suite contains 1 King in master bedroom, 1 Queen or 2 twins in 2nd bedroom plus a queen sofa bed in living room.
2 Bedroom Suite Upper Level
These 1165 sq. ft. 2 bedroom suites combine the feaures of a 1 bedroom suite and a connecting studio and are locatd on the upper level of the property with panoramic ocean views. uite contains 1 King in master bedroom, 1 Queen or 2 twins in 2nd bedroom plus a queen sofa bed in living room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
On orient bay, voted best beach in the caribbean, 5 full service beach restaurants Coco - Waikiki -Bikini - Kakao - Kon-Tiki, offer international and French cuisine, private beach, boutique, snack bars & massages services.
Cafe Plantation
Hotels tropical breakfast buffet is served poolside at Cafe Plantation in the open air restaurant featuring a refined exotic menu for evening dining in a romantic and elegant atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 AM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel La Plantation

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel La Plantation

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jennifer A.
Business
Silver Spring
May 20, 2015

Great value

This hotel was recommended by someone who frequents SXM and has stayed at the hotel before. I wanted to be close to Orient Beach but get a good deal and this definitely worked out. It looks just like the pics, so no frills but clean and neat. The mosquito net is a must as the vegetation around the hotel is lush. The toilet didn't flush properly and the WIFI did NOT work in the room at all (not good since the cable is basic) so on a rainy day there is not much you can do in the room. Other than that, I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maria K.
Business
springfield
Apr 6, 2015

awesome place!

Awesome place! Everything was perfect! .........................................................................................................................................................................................................

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stoney
Business
Columbia
Feb 20, 2015

Always Perfect

We love this hotel. The rooms, staff, service, location and amenities always make us want to return. We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Plantation

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Southern island hopper
Business
Concord
Feb 4, 2015

Pleasant accommodating staff

La Plantation is my usual go-to for my annual (minimal) trip to Orient Beach. The staff has generally remained stable and they are friendly and as accommodating as possible. My room was ample for a solo traveler but nothing fancy. This year I experienced an issue with not having hot water in the shower, which I eventually reported. An attempt was made to fix it but it wasn't really corrected to where there was hot water, although a stinky smell was present after the repair attempt. This was the first time I was made aware that there was an ice maker on the premises - something not really advertised. One of the drawbacks for me is that the office isn't open in the morning until after 8:00. That is inconvenient because there were times I needed to exchange a beach towel or access the computer/internet in order to plan outings for the day but was unable to because the office wasn't yet opened. The breakfast is served from 7:00 am so it would be nice if the reception area was open beginning at 7:00 also. Another issue I experienced was the delay in (or even failure to) deliver telephone messages to me in a timely manner. There wasn't a message system on the phone in the room so if you receive a call, and a message is left, you have to depend on the front desk person relaying the message to you. In one instance I was promised that if I received a message it would be delivered personally to my room, however, that didn't happen in at least one incident and I learned other attempts to leave messages were made, but the messages weren't delivered. The phone/message system needs to be updated. Despite these few incidents I consider La Plantation to be a reliable place to land while on the island and will definitely consider going back on future trips. The breakfast buffet is always the same, but very sufficient and tasty. Love the chocolate croissants!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grilledcheese
Business
CHARLESTON
Feb 4, 2015

Even better than the pictures!

This place was really great. What the pictures don't show is that every morning you gather around the pool for breakfast and beyond the pool in the background are enormous green, verdant mountains. Absolutely beautiful background in the morning. Also, right down the street is a charming town center that is oh-so French in feel. My boyfriend and I travel often to France and with this being the first time in St. Martin, we didn't know what to expect. When we made the 5-minute walk to the center of the small town (or rather village), we came upon a fully stocked market with french wines and french products for very good prices. And across the street, a charming pedestrian plaza with about six restaurants ranging from thai to italian to french cuisine. A wonderful surprise for lunch and for dinner. Also, the beach is only a minute by foot further beyond. The hotel was extremely generous in their meals, courtesy and ability to help out with information. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat dinner at least once in the center of the small town down the road from the hotel. Walk there. The proprietors of the bars and restos are charming. It's a bit of France in the Caribbean. Also, save money if you like by purchasing wine at the "Petit Casino" market (no, it's not a gambling casino...it's a French chain of mini-markets), and taking it back to the hotel with some cheese and baguettes. :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Plantation

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Southern island hopper
Business
Concord
Feb 3, 2015

Pleasant accommodating staff

La Plantation is my usual go-to for my annual (minimal) trip to Orient Beach. The staff has generally remained stable and they are friendly and as accommodating as possible. My room was ample for a solo traveler but nothing fancy. This year I experienced an issue with not having hot water in the shower, which I eventually reported. An attempt was made to fix it but it wasn't really corrected to where there was hot water, although a stinky smell was present after the repair attempt. This was the first time I was made aware that there was an ice maker on the premises - something not really advertised. One of the drawbacks for me is that the office isn't open in the morning until after 8:00. That is inconvenient because there were times I needed to exchange a beach towel or access the computer/internet in order to plan outings for the day but was unable to because the office wasn't yet opened. The breakfast is served from 7:00 am so it would be nice if the reception area was open beginning at 7:00 also. Another issue I experienced was the delay in (or even failure to) deliver telephone messages to me in a timely manner. There wasn't a message system on the phone in the room so if you receive a call, and a message is left, you have to depend on the front desk person relaying the message to you. In one instance I was promised that if I received a message it would be delivered personally to my room, however, that didn't happen in at least one incident and I learned other attempts to leave messages were made, but the messages weren't delivered. The phone/message system needs to be updated. Despite these few incidents I consider La Plantation to be a reliable place to land while on the island and will definitely consider going back on future trips. The breakfast buffet is always the same, but very sufficient and tasty. Love the chocolate croissants!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PHXLouis
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 8, 2014

Huge Room & Veranda

I was very pleased with my stay at La Plantation. The room was huge…..one of the biggest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. I loved the wrap around veranda, as I had a corner room. The ambiance of the property was pleasing and it was very quiet. I enjoyed the daily breakfast buffet. While this is not a beach front property, Orient Beach is a relatively short walk or a quick drive away. If you're looking for action, this isn't the part of the island to stay on……the Simpson Bay area might be a better choice. But for a relaxing stay at a very nice property on the quiet side of the island, La Plantation is a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

It's a short drive to Grand Case, billed as the "gastronomic capital of the Caribbean", with many excellent restaurants on the main street in the little town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dvesc
Business
South Carolina
Dec 23, 2013

Great Hotel

For the price, location and amenities, I really don't think La Plantation can be beat. We received an upgrade to a suite upon check-in without even asking and were really happy with the size of the room. The kitchen looked to have been recently updated and had everything we needed. However, since breakfast was included in the price and we were near the great restaurants in Orient Village, we didn't cook very much. With that said, the hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk to the Village and also the beach. We felt safe the entire time, both on the hotel grounds in and the surrounding area. We've already started planning our trip back. And, of course, we'll be staying at Hotel La Plantation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has an agreement with three of the beachfront restaurants that allows free access to their beach chairs. You can either walk to these down the main road toward the beach, or take a short cut to Waikiki and Coco Beach through a side road. You'll see the signs. It cuts the beach walk to about five minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Always vacationing couple
Business
Lacey, New Jersey
Dec 20, 2013

No disappointments here!

We just returned from a 7 night stay on the island and split up our stay at different hotels. This was our first stop. Our room was clean and view from balcony was beautiful. Very close to the famous orient beach which we visited each day. Village restaurants are great also. This is so worth the money!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Simpson bay or Maho is where you need to be for nightlife

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bernie and Leah
Business
East Brunswick
Dec 11, 2013

Hotel La Plantation

For the past 15 years we have spent a week at Orient Beach at numerous hotels right off the beach. While they were nice, they did not compare to Hotel La Plantation. La Plantation is a 5 minute walk from the beach but the hotel was worth the additional walking distance. The rooms were large and well laid out. They included a modern kitchenette, including a refrigerator, cooktop, stainless steel sink, and granite countertop. There were plenty of cooking utensils and dining ware. Because it is at a higher elevation, the views were good from the lower level rooms and fantastic from the upper level room. All rooms had huge terraces to appreciate the wonderful views. The entire hotel was spread out so you had privacy and did not feel that you were on top of you neighbor's apartment. While other hotels advertise free breakfasts, they offer only the basics and charge additional for anything more. The breakfast buffet at La Plantation however, was quite generous and could fill you up until dinner time. The staff at La Plantation was always very friendly and always willing to help in which ever way they could. We are looking forward to return this hotel for our future visits to Saint Martin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top