$157 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 17, 2015 Check-out: Apr 19, 2015

Captain Oliver's Resort

3 stars
View map of Oyster Pond, St Martin,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
38 reviews
great location great price

This hotel is located right off the docks. The ambiance was very nice. Parking was very difficult... See full review

  • timothy w.
  • Jan 21, 2015
PERFECT 4 US

STAFF IS SUPER NICE----POOL IS GREAT ---QUIET WITH GREAT VIEWS See full review

  • CHAZZARINI
  • Mar 10, 2014
This half French/half Dutch resort sits on the border of St. Martin
Guests can enjoy both the Dutch and French sides of St. Martin at Captain Oliver's Resort. The hotel is on the French side, while the restaurants and marina are on the Dutch side, symbolizing the island's unity. Dawn Beach is located just across the bay, only a two-minute trip via the free water taxi. Orient Beach is a 12-minute drive away.
Highlights
  • Bungalows with ocean, marina, or garden views
  • Free water taxi to Dawn Beach
  • Home to exotic birds, sharks, turtles and other creatures
Rooms

The 50 rooms and suites are perched on the hillsides, hidden among tropical plants, natural rock outcroppings, and winding paths. The junior suites have private terraces or balconies offering spectacular views. Guest rooms have high-beamed ceilings and tile floors and are decorated with white rattan and local art. All rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, in-room safe, mini-bar, coffee and tea maker, ceiling fan, direct-dial telephone, and free Wi-Fi.

Features

It only takes a couple of minutes to get to Dawn Beach via the free taxi. On calm days, the beach is great for snorkeling, and on windy days there's nice wave action, good for body surfing. A freshwater pool is also on site. A sandy area in front of the hotel with tikis and hammocks is available for hotel guests.


Captain Oliver's is also home to exotic birds, sharks, turtles, and other creatures. The birds often greet guests crossing the International Bridge entrance to Captain Oliver's restaurant, which serves fresh seafood and French and Creole cuisine. The sharks, turtles, tarpon, and other native marine species live in a natural aquarium under the restaurant's glass floor. The Quai Ouest Restaurant and Bar, on the hillside overlooking the marina, is family operated and features authentic Italian cuisine. The Dinghy Dock Bar and Restaurant on the marina is famous for its happy hour from 5 pm to 7 pm where guests get to mix their own drinks for just $2. The hotel also offers sailing charters to nearby uninhabited islands, and the ferry to St. Barths departs directly from Captain Oliver's Marina.

Transportation
  • Princess Juliana International Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Philipsburg (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Marigot (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Orient Beach (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet
Policies and fees
  • Rates include welcome drink and taxes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Captain Oliver's Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Captain Oliver's Resort Rooms

Marina-Mountain View with Buffet Breakfast
Room with one king or two twin beds includes a balcony with view on the Marina and/or the Mountains, with a separate bar area that has a refrigerator with mini-bar, a sink, a water heater for tea and coffee, a shower/bathtub combo, hair dryer, toiletries, air conditioner, satellite television. 356 sqft
Super Saver Marina-Mountain View w/Breakfast
Room with one king or two twin beds includes a balcony with view on the Marina and/or the Mountains, with a separate bar area that has a refrigerator with mini-bar, a sink, a water heater for tea and coffee, a shower/bathtub combo, hair dryer, toiletries, air conditioner, satellite television. 356 sqft
Ocean View with Buffet Breakfast
Room with one king or two twin beds includes a private terrace, a separate bar area that has a refrigerator with mini-bar, a sink, a water heater for tea and coffee, a shower/bathtub combo, hair dryer, toiletries, air conditioner, satellite television. 418 sqft
Garden View with Buffet Breakfast
Room with two king beds includes a separate bar area that has a refrigerator with mini-bar, a sink, a water heater for tea and coffee, a shower/bathtub combo, hair dryer, toiletries, air conditioner, satellite television. 520 sqft
Ocean View Deluxe with Buffet Breakfast
Room with one king bed includes private terrace, luxury beds, with a separate bar area that has a refrigerator with mini-bar, a sink, a water heater for tea and coffee, a walk-in shower, hair dryer, bath linens and top-of-the-line toiletries, air conditioner, satellite television. 418 sqft

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The conference room is located across from the hotelm reception and is free of charge for groups of 12 ore more staying at the hotel (upon availability). The sitting capacity is 40 persons in theatre style, 25 persons in classroom style.

Dining

Dinghy Dock Bar and Restaurant
The Dinghy Dock Bar and Restaurant on the marina is famous for it's Happy Hourfrom 5:00pm to 7:00pm where you get to mix your own drinks for just $2.00. Plus a variety of beers are available for $1.00-$1.50 during Happy Hour. This sailor's bar also serves breakfast, lunch and dinner featuring casual American style food and a variety of daily specials.
Iguana Bar
The Iguana Bar is located adjacent to Captain Oliver's Restaurant and the swimming pool. It has an open terrace with tikis that overlook the ocean with St. Barths on the horizon. Here you can enjoy your favorite cocktail while being cooled by the fresh ocean breezes. During Happy Hour from 4:30pm to 6:30pm drinks are two for the price of one.
Yacht Club Piano Bar
The Yacht Club Piano Bar is located on the marina. The interactive musical ambiance features Niko, a singing piano player that welcomes you to sing along.
Captain Oliver's Restaurant
Captain Oliver's Restaurant was established in 1982 by Parisian restaurateur Olivier Lange who emphasizes fresh seafood, French and Creole cuisine. The open-air reataurant is built on pilings above the way. Below the restaurant is an aquarium for sharks, turtles, tarpon and other native marine life that can be viewed through the glass floor. Every Saturday night is Captain Oliver's famous seafood buffet. There is a plentitude of deliciously prepared and pleasingly presented food. The offerings include lobster, shrimp, prime rib, lamb, pork, ribs, chicken, fish, salads, side dishes, desserts and much, much more. On Sundays a brunch buffet is offered in addition to the regular menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Captain Oliver's Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 10, 2008

A Total Nightmare!

Initial impression was rather good. Hotel was charming and check-in was swift. Room was a bit dirty (grime and splatters along the base moulding) but the sheets were clean and the space large and airy. Grounds were casually landscaped with bright, pretty tropical flowers. The marina view from our room was nice because of the mountain in the background (the only part of the marina one could see was the masts of sailboats). The restaurant staff was terrible. The breakfast buffet was okay but overpriced at $15.00/pp. I would recommend not getting the breakfast inclusive rate because, honestly, you don't need to pay for the breakfast. The inattentive restaurant staff could care less that you are there and could care even less if you pay. When I offered my credit card, the woman seemed surprised at first and then put-out by having to actually work. The entire restaurant staff enjoyed instead staying behind the counter gossiping and complaining. The blue cheese burger was rather good. The lobby staff, beyond check-in, was also completely unhelpful. Unable to recommend anything. No places to snorkel, no places to eat, no ATM locations (this one is important...take the free water taxi to Dawn Beach, there is one in the lobby of the Oyster Bay Beach Club...the beach and bar here are really nice as well). Additionally, we booked a snorkel trip through the hotel which ended up being cancelled. We waited for 15 minutes past the pick-up time for the excursion before checking with the hotel staff.... It was late and we were not hopeful, but after accessing the internet found a company at the Grand Case Beach Club that said if we could get there quickly they would take us out. It took 45 minutes to get there including waiting for the cab. Remember to take U.S. dollars. Credit cards are accepted, but are charged in Euros. The island is so heavilly dependent upon U.S. tourists, that if you pay cash, many places offer 1E=1$. If you are unfortunate enough to get stuck here, remember to rent a car. I cancelled a three day car rental (for $99) and ended up paying over $200 in taxis because the hotel is in the middle of nowhere. Equally far to either the Dutch side or anywhere on the French side...minimum of $18...25% more between 10PM and Midnight...50% more past midnight. Honestly, everyone else on the island was completely different than the staff at this hotel. The staff at Le Ti Provencale, the people at the Oyster Bay Beach Club, the staff at the beach at Pinel Island, everyone, had a smile and was super helpful. The staff at Captain Oliver's was indifferent and complacent. Do not waist your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 27, 2010

Shockingly primitive

Captain Oliver's said they would have a driver there to meet me when I landed. I waited 1-1/2 hours for them, and made two phone calls in the interim to say I'd prefer to just take a cab; each time they said the driver was "on the way" or "almost there". When I finally arrived, they seemed to think it was funny. You must have a rental car as there is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING close to this place -- no groceries, drug stores, restaurants or shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
phx Az
Jun 27, 2009

headache/nightmare

The staff was very unfriendly and did not accommodate simple request. I would stay in this location again but never at this hotel again. Future customers watch out for hidden fees because there everywhere at this hotel including charging you 30 dollars extra per night for each person. Unless your traveling alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Bern, NC
Dec 14, 2007

ST MAARTEN 10 DAY GETAWAY

CAPTAIN OLIVER'S RESORT IS IN A SOMEWHAT REMOTE LOCATION AND A RENTAL CAR IS NECESSARY. OUR ROOOM WAS VERY COMFORTABLE WITH THE EXCEPTION OF THE AIR CONDITIONING NOT FUCTIONING JUST RIGHT. WE HAD TV ON DAY 9 AFTER STAFF RECRUITED A TECH TO INSTALL A PROPER CABLE PLUG. INTERNET SERVICE WAS AVAILABLE FOR 2 DAYS OUT OF 10. WATER PRESSURE IS MINIMAL AND HOT WATER IS AT A PREMIUM MOST MORNINGS. OUR SHOWER HEAD BRACKET HAD FALLEN OUT OF THE WALL AND AFTER WAITING TWO DAYS FOR REPAIR, I MANAGED TO REATTACH THE BRACKET BY SOAKING MATCH STICKS IN LIQUID SKIN, INSERTING THEM IN THE REAMED OUT HOLES FOR THE SCREWS MUCH TO STAFFS CHAGRIN. WE TRAVEL TO THE CARIBBEAN FREQUENTLY AND ARE ACCUSTOMED TO ISLAND TIME. I ALWAYS CARRY A SWISS ARMY KNIFE AND MULTI PURPOSE TOOL FOR SURVIVAL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

FRENCH TAPAS RESTURANT WITHIN 100' OF OUR DOOR WAS EXCELLENT AND STAFF WAS WONDERFUL. SOME OF THE BEST FOOD IN THE CARIBBEAN!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 1, 2008

Great location...not so clean at all

Captain Olivers is a very cool hotel, great location, and has lots of character. However, the hotel staff and the room was not the greatest. One good thing, they did let us check in early, but the room was just cleaned and it was not clean at all. There were hairs ALL over the bathroom floor, and one of the sinks was clogged. Not only did I have to shower with my flip-flops on, but the window in the shower was broken, so the mosquitos were getting in...and they were viscous! The bed was terribly hard. The curtains had mildrew on them too. The fride and the cabinets were old and mildewy. Although we liked the charachter of the hotel since it's on the water, etc. I would not stay there again. And this was the kicker...they do not have ANY alarm clocks in the rooms! You have to have the security guard call and wake you up. A lot of room for error if you have a plane to catch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vermont
Mar 17, 2011

Not 4 Star

This hotel advertises itself at 4 star, but it's really 1 or 2 star. The entire facility is way overdue for a complete renovation. Everything is showing wear and tear. The best thing it has going is its location at the Oyster Pond Marina. If you're chartering a boat, it is very convenient, and only steps away from the docks. The pool is nice and the staff is friendly enough- just the rooms need a complete re-do. I can't imagine staying more than 1 or 2 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Access to the chartered yachts is right there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winter Haven, Fl
Mar 17, 2011

This is no 4 star resort!

We stayed here 1 night prior to departing on a Moorings sail. The bathrooms are very old, small and have never been renovated. Service is bland if not non existant. Pool furniture is in need of replacement. This is simply not a 4 star resort. I'd be generous in giving them a 2 AAA star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mike12
Business
Sint Eustatius, Netherlands Antilles
Nov 16, 2011

couple stay

Very friendly service, good restaurant with good music to dance ( was Saturday night). the bedroom was clean but just 3 stars class ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
common man 47
Business
Rhode Island
Jan 11, 2014

Beautiful, strange little place

I loved my room. It was very pleasing. The bars and restaurants are in a different country so they can't do room charges. Yet they don't even take credit cards. I've always said that a nice thing about a resort is that you can go to the pool or beach and not have to carry money. Well, forget that here. Cash is king. And there is no ATM on site. The happy hour at the Iguana Bar is a very good deal. The nearby restaurant is pricey, consistent with prices in the area. But there are other restaurants and bars on the property that rent the space and are independently owned, so they can have their own pricing and specials. It pays to check out all the options. I enjoyed the novelty of the "pour your own" happy hour at the Dinghy Bar. Wi-fi was non-existent outside the lobby for the first three days and the staff said that there was nothing they could do. Then, on day four, it was working fine in my room. Someone fixed something, in spite of the denials by the staff. When I went for breakfast the first morning, one employee said that the bread and coffee was free for guests at the hotel. Then, after the fact, a different one charged me for this and it doubled the cost of the omelet that I ordered. I didn't go back. The shampoo in my room made my hair feel like straw. The "beach" was a dock where you could jump into deep water. All in all, this place would have been a fair deal at 80% of what I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have breakfast at the Oasis.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TMJP
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Mar 4, 2014

warm weather getaway

The staff was friendly. The accomodations were basic but clean. Nice ocean view from the pool, but no beach. It is in a neighborhood area so you can walk around without a lot of traffic. You can also walk around the marina. Several bar and restaurants located close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top