$157 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 17, 2015 Check-out: Apr 19, 2015

Captain Oliver's Resort

3 stars
View map of Oyster Pond, St Martin,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Captain Oliver's Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billyberg Traveller
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 8, 2009

Not bad

Just got back today. We were at Captain Oliver's for 8 nights. I picked the hotel because it worked out to be around $600 for 8 nights with the special, so it seemed like an incredible bargain. A few things about this "resort". You must have a car, it wouldn't be an interesting enough place to stay for a week staying on the property. The staff is relatively lazy, but kind and generally accomodating. There is 220v power on the property, and they will not provide converters, though you can buy small ones in town for $20. The restaurant is not bad, though not great compared to some of the others on the island. Stick to the Grand Case area to start with for dinner, and work out from there. Skip the dutch side unless you want to gamble and get drunk with a bunch of yahoos. The marina on the property is lovely. There is a great restaurant within walking distance called La Planteur that has incredible food - dinner only. For lunch, we had the best meal at L'Orange, a small french restaurant on the Baie Orientale, which is the best beach for swimming, with full facilities. There are many other beaches, but this beach is set up with all the amenities, though no hotels, and very little hustlers. Marigot has amazing food near the marina. All the restaurants had great fish and the typical french and American fare. Looked like pizza was the national food of St. Martin. The mosquitos are relentless, bring DEET and use it. For the price, we actually really loved the place. Location was great - 10 minute drive to best beach (Orientale) and 20 minutes to Grand Case for dinners. The internet SUCKS at this hotel, complicated passwords, and horribly intermittant connections. There is a "PC" for use as well, but this fat dutch guy seemed to always be there, playing online solitaire. The internet connectivity seemed rock solid across the street, where I eventually went and bought a prepaid pass. The "Iguana Bar" had horrible food, which we sent back and never returned to, but I don't think it is supposed to be taken seriously anyway. The pool was quite nice, especially in the early evening when there was generally no one there. The main restaurant was pretty good, though again, there is much better places for the money. Parking is a pain, so rent a tiny car (though not from EUROPCAR! watch out guy scammed me for an extra $100 and sntached the credit card receipt out of my hand!!). The beaches nearby are unbelievable, and the drinks and food at the beach, sublime. For a place to crash, it's great. The room/lobby decor looks like something from Golden Girls' french aunt. It's safe and clean. Water pressure is so-so, but the bed wasn't too bad, and the view at night of the marina was lovely. TV gets 5 english stations, but don't go to St. Martin to watch TV. St. Martin is a very populated island compared to some of the other islands I have visited in the Caribbean (Anguilla, Bonaire, Curacao, Jamaica, etc). It's very commericalized on the Dutch Side, especially. It has it's tough parts, but somehow after Jamaica, they never actually made me nervous. Stick to the French side, better food, better beaches, and enjoy the Rhum Jumbie.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
May 2, 2009

Great place to extend your stay

Pretty location close to alot of attractions. No traffic issues in this area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Grand Case is a short drive from the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wallingford
Dec 8, 2008

Very beatiful location

I stay at this hotel to extend my trips for a few extra days. It has a nce location, restaurant and bar are very good. The resort is dated but clean. There is some building going on nearby that will have some impact on some ocean views. Great value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

GRand CAse for excellent restaurants, and the best beach on the island, Orient is ten minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 1, 2008

Great location...not so clean at all

Captain Olivers is a very cool hotel, great location, and has lots of character. However, the hotel staff and the room was not the greatest. One good thing, they did let us check in early, but the room was just cleaned and it was not clean at all. There were hairs ALL over the bathroom floor, and one of the sinks was clogged. Not only did I have to shower with my flip-flops on, but the window in the shower was broken, so the mosquitos were getting in...and they were viscous! The bed was terribly hard. The curtains had mildrew on them too. The fride and the cabinets were old and mildewy. Although we liked the charachter of the hotel since it's on the water, etc. I would not stay there again. And this was the kicker...they do not have ANY alarm clocks in the rooms! You have to have the security guard call and wake you up. A lot of room for error if you have a plane to catch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia
Jun 16, 2008

Great get away

Captain Olivers had great views of the ocean and marina. Although most staff spoke French, they did understand basic English and were very courteous. The restaraunts and bars located at the marina were convienent, however, lunch/dinner prices were somewhat expensive at Captain Olivers restaraunt. The room was very nice and had a small kitchenette. It's a great location if you are wanting some peace and quiet. Not great if you are wanting to walk around and check out other sights/restaraunts, or bars. I would suggest renting car from the airport to save on taxi/shuttle fees. You can also rent one from the front office for about $35 a day. It's located in the marina so you can rent boats or take the ferries to other nearby islands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

They also have some cheap food prices and burgers and sandwiches. There's also a small store about 3 blocks away where you can get groceries, drinks, supplies at a reasonable price. If you are into the party/club scene, drive down to Maho Beach area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 10, 2008

My stay at Captain

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel once i was changed to a room that the hot water worked. The hot work didn't seem to last long and the water pressure was weak. There was a problem when I left on the second day for I stepped out to go into town and I was not able to get in my room. They were going to change my room again but they later called and said no you going to stay in the room. Overall the hotel was nice and peaceful and the management was great for I was moved immediately after i notified them of the water situation. The beds were not so comfortable for they were hard but the view from the room is breathtaking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The orient bay beach is a short drive away and the beach is so nice. If you stay at this hotel you will need a car for the nightlife is mostly on the Dutch side so its a drive nightly if you plan on staying here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 10, 2008

A Total Nightmare!

Initial impression was rather good. Hotel was charming and check-in was swift. Room was a bit dirty (grime and splatters along the base moulding) but the sheets were clean and the space large and airy. Grounds were casually landscaped with bright, pretty tropical flowers. The marina view from our room was nice because of the mountain in the background (the only part of the marina one could see was the masts of sailboats). The restaurant staff was terrible. The breakfast buffet was okay but overpriced at $15.00/pp. I would recommend not getting the breakfast inclusive rate because, honestly, you don't need to pay for the breakfast. The inattentive restaurant staff could care less that you are there and could care even less if you pay. When I offered my credit card, the woman seemed surprised at first and then put-out by having to actually work. The entire restaurant staff enjoyed instead staying behind the counter gossiping and complaining. The blue cheese burger was rather good. The lobby staff, beyond check-in, was also completely unhelpful. Unable to recommend anything. No places to snorkel, no places to eat, no ATM locations (this one is important...take the free water taxi to Dawn Beach, there is one in the lobby of the Oyster Bay Beach Club...the beach and bar here are really nice as well). Additionally, we booked a snorkel trip through the hotel which ended up being cancelled. We waited for 15 minutes past the pick-up time for the excursion before checking with the hotel staff.... It was late and we were not hopeful, but after accessing the internet found a company at the Grand Case Beach Club that said if we could get there quickly they would take us out. It took 45 minutes to get there including waiting for the cab. Remember to take U.S. dollars. Credit cards are accepted, but are charged in Euros. The island is so heavilly dependent upon U.S. tourists, that if you pay cash, many places offer 1E=1$. If you are unfortunate enough to get stuck here, remember to rent a car. I cancelled a three day car rental (for $99) and ended up paying over $200 in taxis because the hotel is in the middle of nowhere. Equally far to either the Dutch side or anywhere on the French side...minimum of $18...25% more between 10PM and Midnight...50% more past midnight. Honestly, everyone else on the island was completely different than the staff at this hotel. The staff at Le Ti Provencale, the people at the Oyster Bay Beach Club, the staff at the beach at Pinel Island, everyone, had a smile and was super helpful. The staff at Captain Oliver's was indifferent and complacent. Do not waist your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Bern, NC
Dec 14, 2007

ST MAARTEN 10 DAY GETAWAY

CAPTAIN OLIVER'S RESORT IS IN A SOMEWHAT REMOTE LOCATION AND A RENTAL CAR IS NECESSARY. OUR ROOOM WAS VERY COMFORTABLE WITH THE EXCEPTION OF THE AIR CONDITIONING NOT FUCTIONING JUST RIGHT. WE HAD TV ON DAY 9 AFTER STAFF RECRUITED A TECH TO INSTALL A PROPER CABLE PLUG. INTERNET SERVICE WAS AVAILABLE FOR 2 DAYS OUT OF 10. WATER PRESSURE IS MINIMAL AND HOT WATER IS AT A PREMIUM MOST MORNINGS. OUR SHOWER HEAD BRACKET HAD FALLEN OUT OF THE WALL AND AFTER WAITING TWO DAYS FOR REPAIR, I MANAGED TO REATTACH THE BRACKET BY SOAKING MATCH STICKS IN LIQUID SKIN, INSERTING THEM IN THE REAMED OUT HOLES FOR THE SCREWS MUCH TO STAFFS CHAGRIN. WE TRAVEL TO THE CARIBBEAN FREQUENTLY AND ARE ACCUSTOMED TO ISLAND TIME. I ALWAYS CARRY A SWISS ARMY KNIFE AND MULTI PURPOSE TOOL FOR SURVIVAL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

FRENCH TAPAS RESTURANT WITHIN 100' OF OUR DOOR WAS EXCELLENT AND STAFF WAS WONDERFUL. SOME OF THE BEST FOOD IN THE CARIBBEAN!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top