$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 14, 2015

Captain Oliver's Resort

3 stars
View map of Oyster Pond, St Martin,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Captain Oliver's Resort

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vermont
Mar 17, 2011

Not 4 Star

This hotel advertises itself at 4 star, but it's really 1 or 2 star. The entire facility is way overdue for a complete renovation. Everything is showing wear and tear. The best thing it has going is its location at the Oyster Pond Marina. If you're chartering a boat, it is very convenient, and only steps away from the docks. The pool is nice and the staff is friendly enough- just the rooms need a complete re-do. I can't imagine staying more than 1 or 2 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Access to the chartered yachts is right there.

Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winter Haven, Fl
Mar 17, 2011

This is no 4 star resort!

We stayed here 1 night prior to departing on a Moorings sail. The bathrooms are very old, small and have never been renovated. Service is bland if not non existant. Pool furniture is in need of replacement. This is simply not a 4 star resort. I'd be generous in giving them a 2 AAA star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Feb 28, 2011

Great place to visit and stay

A great place to stay the week. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Atmosphere for a cozy getaway. Interent only available in lobby is only drawback to great week. Several french resturants available. All we attended was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great places to eat with different menus

Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
B.C. Canada
Dec 18, 2010

Vary Good

Vary good staff. We thought that breakfast came with our stay acording to [...]. We where told that SuperSaver did not come with breakfast. Yet the first day they said to go ahead and have breakfast on them. Vary nice of them. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

It is quite expensive to eat there.

Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crizaig
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Aug 12, 2010

Great rooms with a/c!!

Rooms were great with a nice view! However the "bars and restaurants" claimed by the resort were lackluster and were kinda disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 27, 2010

Shockingly primitive

Captain Oliver's said they would have a driver there to meet me when I landed. I waited 1-1/2 hours for them, and made two phone calls in the interim to say I'd prefer to just take a cab; each time they said the driver was "on the way" or "almost there". When I finally arrived, they seemed to think it was funny. You must have a rental car as there is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING close to this place -- no groceries, drug stores, restaurants or shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North NJ.
Mar 18, 2010

Average Hotel

Hotel is really out of the way. Overall hotel was not bad. Internet access was free, but if you are very far from the reception, the WiFi signal is poor. The shower holder was broken and had no phone dial tone despite my reporting both the issues to the management. Parking is free. Linens are nice and changes everyday. TV channels were limited... only 4 American channels: TBS, TNT, CNN, HBO3. Only 2 channels were clear enough to watch. Pool looked nice. The food was VERY EXPENSIVE. You are better off going to Philipsburg to eat. I think for the money and time I spent renting a car and paying for gas, I would have been better off staying near the airport.. there is more to do there and better hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Very EXPENSIVE!

Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
long time visitors to St. Maarten
Business
New Hampshire
Feb 21, 2010

Charming, low profile, rustic

Very easy going

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London UK
Oct 26, 2009

A great place to relax.

This is a great place to stay. You are minutes away from great beaches on boths sides of the boarder. However a Car is a must. This location is on the quite side. Staff are friendly and the food at Captain Olivers is one of the best on the Island. (not expensive as some suggest). All in all i spent a very pleasant & peaceful 14 days here at the beginning of the season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Captain Oliver's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
"Dr. Bill"
Business
GEORGIA
Oct 10, 2009

CAPTAIN OLIVER'S RESORT-

EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE. YES, IT IS A BIT OUT OF THE WAY,BUT WELL WORTH IT. EASY TO RENT A CAR. I GOT ONE FROM BUDGET FOR $137- A WEEK. EXPLORED THE ENTIRE ISLAND IN FIVE DAYS. THEY ALSO HAVE FREE INTERNET BUSINESS OFFICE (THOUGH i COULD NOT GET MY SERVER IN THE u.s. FOR SOME REASON). DAWN BEACH WESTIN short drive away has a better beach (cleaner) that on the Oyster Bay end of Dawn Beach..they also have a casino that opens at 5 PM nightly. Again, you will need a car to really enjoy the Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

RENT A CAR. ALSO BEST TO HAVE SHORT-TERM MEDICAL COVERAGE WHILE AWAY FROM THE U.S.---I GOT IT FOR $28 us FOR A WEEK---$100k INCLUDING FLIGHT EVACUATION IS NECESSARY..($250- DEDUCTIBLE),

Back to menu Return to top