$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 20, 2014 Check-out: Oct 23, 2014

Royal Palm Beach Resort

4 stars
Airport Road, Simpson Bay, Philipsburg, St. Maarten,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
56 reviews
Great getaway

Very accommodating friendly staff. Beautiful room perfect for 5 people. 2 bedroom 2 bathroom great... See full review

  • Mom Dad and 3 sisters
  • Jul 29, 2014
The Best Place to Stay in Sint Maarten's...

It was better than we expected, especially for the price. We had a first floor 2 bedroom suite... See full review

  • nikkiworld
  • Jul 9, 2014
Caribbean condo in the resort of St. Martin

Enjoy the mixture of French and Dutch culture at the Royal Palm Beach Resort, a serene haven surrounded by the beautiful sandy beaches of the Caribbean. Guests can take a dip in the hotel pool and enjoy a drink at the swim up bar. Guests can try the hotel's Cabana Beach and Bar Restaurant with its fresh seafood and local cuisine. A complimentary rum punch party is on Mondays and a barbeque is every Wednesday. The Maho Beach and the Kim Sha Beach are both nearby and for an evening out, there is the Hollywood Casino and Casino Royale.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Great location near casinos, restaurants and beaches

  • Free Wi-Fi access available throughout the hotel

  • Complimentary rum punch parties every Monday and barbeque buffet every Wednesday

Royal Palm Beach Resort Rooms
The 140 rooms at the Royal Palm Beach Resort are light and airy with spectacular views of the Caribbean or pool. Decorated in the ocean colors of blue and white, the rooms have a relaxing atmosphere and all have private terraces. All rooms are complete with full air conditioning and a ceiling fan. Rooms also include a full kitchen and amenities for in-room dining as well as an en suite bathroom complete with complimentary toiletries. Guests can sink into the bed and watch some cable TV or a DVD on the DVD player. A wake up call service is available as well as a nightly turndown service both on request. Wi-Fi is available compliments of the Royal Palm Beach Resort.
Things To Do:
  • Bicycle Rental (hotel)

  • Scuba Diving (hotel)

  • Sailing (hotel)

  • Maho Beach (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

  • Mullett Bay Golf Course (0.6 mi/0.95 km)

  • Kim Sha Beach (3.1 mi/4.9 km)

  • Paradise Plaza (3.6 mi/5.7 km)

Policies and fees
A major credit card is required at check-in for incidental charges. An incidental amount of $250.00 US for all guests will be charged at the time of check-in and returned to you at the time of check-out pending no damage or items missing to your room after inspection. No cash allowed and only debit cards with Visa or MasterCard logo accepted. If there is damage or items missing the guest will be responsible for the charges. Please note that this property does not have daily maid service.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.0349 -63.0944
Area served
Simpson Bay, St.Martin
Nearby airports
Princess Juliana International Airport (SXM) 2 miles
Area description
Located directly on the beach of beautiful Simpson Bay on the Dutch side of the island. A haven of sun, sea and sand awaits you on Saint Martin/Sint Maarten. Endless stretches of powder white sand, swaying palms and the clear blue waters of the Caribbean Sea engulf magnificent beaches that will take your breath away. Experience Caribbean splendor steeped in French and Dutch culture as you stroll along island beaches listening to the calypso sound of steel pan drums and watch the hypnotic beat of carnival dancers.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Palm Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Royal Palm Beach Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean View
One Bedroom Units have one king bed and Queen sofa bed in living/dining room. Balcony or ground-floor terrace with two-chair dining set, cushioned lounge chair providing view of Caribbean Sea. Fully equipped kitchen with four-burner stove, microwave, refrigerator, and two-stool breakfast bar. Two TVs with U.S./international cable channels, DVD/VCR combinations. Ceiling fans plus air conditioning. Two tile bathroom with stall showers (no tubs).
Two Bedroom Ocean View
Two Bedroom Units have one king bed in each bedroom. Queen sofa bed in living/dining room along with two wing chairs, six-chair dining set. Balcony or ground-floor terrace with two-chair dining set, cushioned lounge chair providing view of Caribbean Sea. Fully equipped kitchen with four-burner stove, microwave, refrigerator, and two-stool breakfast bar. Three TVs with U.S./international cable channels, DVD/VCR combinations. Ceiling fans plus air conditioning. Two tile bathrooms with stall showers (no tubs).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Oyster Pond: 5.2 mi
  • Dawn Beach: 5.2 mi

Dining

La Cabana
Offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Palm Beach Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Palm Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KA obsessed w St Marten
Business
New York, NY
Aug 26, 2014

Royal Palm

I've been going to St. Marten for 23+ years, and this is my hotel of choice. Great rooms, each with a view. Full kitchen, dining room, LR, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. One of my favorite places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

3 minute drive: IZI restaurant. Don't let the outside fool you. Adorable inside, amazing staff and service, very good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Palm Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom Dad and 3 sisters
Business
Hanover Township Pennsylvania
Jul 29, 2014

Great getaway

Very accommodating friendly staff. Beautiful room perfect for 5 people. 2 bedroom 2 bathroom great for couple traveling with 3 teenage girls

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Izzi good Italian food great staff fun atmosphere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Palm Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
York11
Business
New York
Jul 21, 2014

Nice hotel but...

I really enjoyed my stay. The room was nice, location was excellent, the stuff were friendly and helpful, but... when I came back to NY I got a phone call from my credit card company...telling me that someone tried to buy some stuff from the store in St.Maarten for $9800 using my credit card number, which I gave the Royal Palm Beach hotel for incidental charges, so my cc number was stolen from this hotel :( Will never stay at this hotel again!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Palm Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mimsyny
Business
new york, ny
Jul 11, 2014

nice family vacation getaway

This is a nice family resort, even though the hotel could use some cosmetic renovation. The best part is that you get a 2 bedroom suite with a full kitchen, 2 bathrooms, living room & dining room, so you feel very comfortable. All the rooms have ocean view & that is a nice perk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Palm Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nikkiworld
Business
Wilmington, Delawarae
Jul 9, 2014

The Best Place to Stay in Sint Maarten's...

It was better than we expected, especially for the price. We had a first floor 2 bedroom suite w/full kitchen & 2 full baths & it was beautiful. And if that wasn't enough, the patio walked right out onto the beach! The beach was your front yard! We were amazed! The pool was beautiful as well. Also great was the fact that there were so many places you could walk to. Every night we just walked to a different restaurant for dinner. And there were small markets to shop at to fill your fridge for breakfast & lunch. A couple of times we ate breakfast at a French pastry shop nearby. No need to rent a car whatsoever. We took the bus a couple of times to the boardwalk & beach in Philipsburg - only $1.50/person, one way - what! We want to go back to explore more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

At the boardwalk in Philipsburg, for the best deals, don't shop at the stores on the boardwalk, shop from the stores on the streets behind the boardwalk. Also, great deal for the day at the beach; all along the boardwalk most every place will have an offer of: 2 chairs, 1 umbrella & 5 drinks for $20! Can't beat it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Palm Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kc dave
Business
kc
Jul 5, 2014

good spot

The staff at the bars were friendly and helpful. We paid extra for ocean view and found all the rooms to have a ocean view. The hotel confirmation number was different than the one provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Palm Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mums307
Business
Near NYC
Jun 25, 2014

Wonderful

Booked for long birthday weekend to get family in our favorite spot for a few days. We are familiar with the resort; check in was easy, accommodations were good. This is a timeshare resort, so if you are expecting room service and/or daily maid service go somewhere else. Staff is all friendly, this location is great right in Simpson Bay and close to Maho. Got a super rate too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Palm Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gregg Clan
Business
Staten Island, NY
Jun 24, 2014

Need more 4 star guest service

Lovely hotel but a few flaws for being 4 star. Check in and check out was slow. Though professional, there seemed to be no urgency to move things along. No one offered to help with bags. Also mosquitoes were constantly in the room. Had two incidents with room that was quickly resolved and that is a plus. Staff was professional but lacked the friendliness and going the extra step to ensure guests felt valued. I enjoyed the on site beach very much and the males in the family liked the gym which was well equipped. A lot of choice of dining in the area and local markets not very expensive. My family would stay again but for me, I'm not so sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anything you may want to eat is located in nearby vicinity. Prices vary and are not unreasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Palm Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CogPsy
Business
Ohio
Jun 9, 2014

Despite an initial hiccup, stay was pleasant

Upon arrival, we were informed that the hotel was overbooked and that we would be forced to stay at a nearby sister resort. The sister resort was a mess -- shabby, unclean, no amenities. The following day we were finally able to check in to the resort we had booked. The staff was courteous but either impotent or unwilling to make any amends for the hassle we'd been put through upon attempting to check in. Eventually they did offer us a meal voucher for our troubles, but it seemed like a poor antidote to the problems at the beginning of our stay. Aside from this, our stay was pleasant. The room was comfortable and well-appointed. The resort is reasonably well-located with a handful of restaurants and activities within walking distance. For more exotic and diverse activities, restaurants and attractions, we had to take taxis which can be exceedingly pricey. The hotel's pool is nice, albeit small and crowded. The beach is pleasant but was a bit overrun by seaweed and frequent sales-pitches from the rather pushy masseurs that roam the beach. The workout room is open to the public and was often very crowded with monstrously-huge body-builders. All-in-all, we had a nice time but given the number and variety of other resorts on the island, I'd probably stay somewhere else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Palm Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mario Finogio
Business
Stamford, CT
Jun 8, 2014

Awesome hotel for everybody

Beautiful hotel right on the water with a swim up bar and restaurant on the beach. Great dining locations right across the street as well. Full kitchen.Doesn't get much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Maho is the place to be on any night with great dining locations, casinos, and bars as well as many shops. Located right past the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top