$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

3 stars
170 Bencoolen Street, SINGAPORE, 189657
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
28 reviews
Weekend break

A clean modern hotel well positioned near the centre of Central Singapore, close to Bugis station... See full review

  • Chriscgc1
  • Apr 3, 2014
a most comfortable night

After actually paying more for the not-very-nice Porcelain Hotel in Chinatown, this hotel compared... See full review

  • enjoyed my stay downtown
  • Jun 14, 2013
Contemporary Singapore hotel near business and shopping areas
Ideally located in the heart of Singapore's business, cultural and shopping districts, Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen is a great destination for shopping, entertainment or just seeing the sights of exotic Singapore. The hotel is located is situated within walking distance to Bugis, City Hall, Little India and Orchard Road. Each of the hotel's 538 rooms feature contemporary accommodation with distinctive touches as wood floors, large bay windows and high ceilings. Cleanliness and modern accommodations reign supreme at the Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen. 

  • Hindu Temple: 0.1 mi/0.1 km
  • Bugis Cineplex: 0.1 mi/0.1 km
  • Little India: 1 mi/2 km
  • Universal Studios Singapore: 9 mi/15 km
  • Singapore Zoo: 12 mi/20 km

  • Wood floors and high ceilings in rooms
  • Within walking distance to Bugis, City Hall, Little India and Orchard Road
  • On-site bar and restaurant

The surrounding area offers numerous entertainment and cultural options, ranging from movie theaters and concert halls to a zoo and convention center.

The rooms at Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen are designed with modern comfort in mind. Rooms feature contemporary design with wood floors, large bay windows and nine-foot-high ceilings. All rooms feature LCD big-screen TVs, in-room safes and free broadband and Wi-Fi access. Other room amenities include air conditioning, phone and hair dryer, and connecting rooms are available for families.

The Ibis breakfast is an all-you-can-eat buffet served daily. The buffet combines the elements of a traditional continental breakfast while featuring local specialties from all over the world.

 

The hotel's Taste restaurant also offers an all-day dining menu that includes more than 20 iconic Singapore dishes. To whet the appetite, guests can enjoy cocktails and live sports telecasts at Le Bar cocktail lounge.

  • Changi International Airport:  14 mi/22 km

  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Business center available

ibis Singapore on Bencoolen Rooms

2 Sg beds Std
Standard Twin Bed Room. Standard Twin Room with free WiFi connection up to 5 devices, tea and coffee facilities, in-room safe, mini refrigerator, reloadable EZ-link transport card, access to 2,300 e-newspapers. Up to 2 adults.
1 Sg bed Std
Standard Room with 1 single bed. Standard room with one single bed. Free WiFi connection for up to 5 devices. Disabled-friendly room amenities and fittings include LCD TV, coffee/ tea making facilities and in-room safe. For 1 adult only.
1 Qn bed Std
Standard Room with Queen Bed. Standard Queen Room with free WiFi connection up to 5 devices, tea and coffee facilities, in-room safe, mini refrigerator, reloadable EZ-link transport card, access to 2,300 e-newspapers. Up to 2 adults.
2 Sg beds Std City S
Standard Twin with Extra Benefits. Standard Twin Room with free benefits: handy smartphone with internet access, unlimited calls to 27 countries. 4pm check out, access to offsite California Fitness Gym Bugis, use of bicycle, access to 2,300 e-newspapers
1 Qn bed Std City S
Standard Queen Room with Extra Benefits. Standard Queen Room with free benefits: handy smartphone with internet access, unlimited calls to 27 countries. 4pm check out, access to offsite California Fitness Gym Bugis, use of bicycle, access to 2,300 e-new

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
FAX
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Shower
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed ibis Singapore on Bencoolen also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

1.3009 103.8526
Nearby airports
SIN, (SIN), 17.00, KM, E;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Bencoolen: 0.1 mi
  • Kwan Im Thong Hood Cho Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Bugis Food Village: 0.2 mi
  • National Library: 0.2 mi
  • Rochor: 0.2 mi
  • Bugi's Village: 0.2 mi
  • Singapore Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Dhoby Ghaut: 0.3 mi
  • Arab Street: 0.4 mi
  • Raffles Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Chijmes: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Singapore: 0.4 mi
  • Bras Basah: 0.4 mi
  • Sultan Mosque: 0.5 mi
  • Peranakan Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bencoolen: 0.1 mi
  • Kwan Im Thong Hood Cho Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Bugis Food Village: 0.2 mi
  • National Library: 0.2 mi
  • Rochor: 0.2 mi
  • Bugi's Village: 0.2 mi
  • Singapore Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Dhoby Ghaut: 0.3 mi
  • Arab Street: 0.4 mi
  • Raffles Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Chijmes: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Singapore: 0.4 mi
  • Bras Basah: 0.4 mi
  • Sultan Mosque: 0.5 mi
  • Peranakan Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Sri Veerama Kaliamman Temple: 0.5 mi
  • Arab Quarter: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Canning Park: 0.6 mi
  • Battle Box: 0.6 mi
  • Suntec City Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Armenian Church: 0.6 mi
  • St Andrew's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Suntec City: 0.6 mi
  • Mustafa Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Espalande Park: 0.7 mi
  • Esplanade Theatres on the Bay: 0.8 mi
  • Supreme Court: 0.8 mi
  • Esplanade Theatres: 0.8 mi
  • Statue of Raffles: 0.9 mi
  • Arts House at the Old Parliament: 0.9 mi
  • Singapore Flyer: 0.9 mi
  • Clarke Quay Restaurant Precinct: 0.9 mi
  • Raffles Place: 0.9 mi
  • Asian Civilisations Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Merlion Statue: 1 mi
  • Boat Quay: 1 mi
  • Robertson Quay Restaurant Precinct: 1.1 mi
  • Havelock: 1.1 mi
  • Robertson Quay: 1.2 mi
  • Novena: 1.2 mi
  • Singapore Chinatown Heritage Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Newton: 1.3 mi
  • The Olde Cuban: 1.3 mi
  • Sri Mariamman Temple: 1.4 mi

Dining

TASTE
TASTE Restaurant displays an international and a local menu from 12PM to 10.30PM. Discover a set of 20 iconic Singaporean Tapas style dishes. Enjoy drinks and cocktails at Le Bar, 24 hour open. Alcoholic beverages served from 7am to 1am.
LE BAR
Enjoy drinks and cocktails at Le Bar, 24 hour open. Alcoholic beverages served from 7am to 1am.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
River Pilot
Vancouver BC
Feb 25, 2013

In room WiFi

Stayed here 3 nights everything was fine room wise. The in room WiFi did not work in my room. After six calls and three visits to the front desk nothing was done and no solution offered. If the WiFi had worked or the staff offered me a solution I would recommend to stay here but at this time I will not recommend a stay here if you need Internet in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Mar 23, 2010

Good but not exceptional

Great value for the money, and the location is good: just around the corner from that electronics mall, and near very good hawker-type stalls. Some gripes: (1) The elevator is sooo slow. (2) A smoking room with no ashtray? (3) I wanted to borrow an umbrella - it is, after all, Singapore where it rains; but no umbrella...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Fatty Albert's restaurant.

Review of ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jebbyjoy
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 3, 2011

we were warned and we tried to like it

We booked here for two nights but ended up checking out after the first night as the bed was uncomfortable and we couldn't get a good sleep. First they didn't want to let us checkout but after talking to the manager, who was reasonable, we got out. The hotel does have some redeeming qualities but we couldn't take the bad with the good. Pros: Great location as it is accessible to the light rail and many shops around. The restaurant was really good and reasonably priced. Front desk service is good.. Cons: We read that the rooms were small and I prepared myself for it and but I still found them smaller (this is personal preference, though). They provided a minifridge (it's kinda cute but first only ~4 soda cans). We also had to be creative in finding space for two luggages (one under the bad and one top of the table). The area was a bit noisy but I can deal with that. The deal breaker was the tough mattress. I would say spend a little bit more money to have a better experience in a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

I love the "tapas" style dining as you can taste so many different dishes influenced by the region (typical Singapore mix) without having to order a full entree and getting heartburn. Haha.

Review of ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jebbyjoy
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 3, 2011

we were warned and we tried to like it

We booked here for two nights but ended up checking out after the first night as the bed was uncomfortable and we couldn't get a good sleep. First they didn't want to let us checkout but after talking to the manager, who was reasonable, we got out. The hotel does have some redeeming qualities but we couldn't take the bad with the good. Pros: Great location as it is accessible to the light rail and many shops around. The restaurant was really good and reasonably priced. Front desk service is good.. Cons: We read that the rooms were small and I prepared myself for it and but I still found them smaller (this is personal preference, though). They provided a minifridge (it's kinda cute but first only ~4 soda cans). We also had to be creative in finding space for two luggages (one under the bad and one top of the table). The area was a bit noisy but I can deal with that. The deal breaker was the tough mattress. I would say spend a little bit more money to have a better experience in a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

I love the "tapas" style dining as you can taste so many different dishes influenced by the region (typical Singapore mix) without having to order a full entree and getting heartburn. Haha.

Review of ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ali2
California
Sep 30, 2012

Not Bad

Singapore is expansive in general. So this hotel compared to other hotels in Singapore might be fine but comparing with other Asian cities the price is very expansive and services are not amazing. Very compact room and some of the staff were not friendly. Also my visit to Singapore was during the formula 1 race which added to the high cost of the hotel, I guess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice affordable 24 hour Indian restaurant called Al-Jilani Restaurant just cross the road

Review of ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lrfbaf
Lincoln, Nebraska
Feb 12, 2010

Ibis and Singapore

We thought the Ibis was a good value, the room was a bit small but comfortable as we are a couple that don't spend much time in room except to sleep. The location was great within walking distance to most attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

definitely try the chili crab. We ate at Jumbo Shrimp but where the price was above average but the food was great.

Review of ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Mar 23, 2010

Good but not exceptional

Great value for the money, and the location is good: just around the corner from that electronics mall, and near very good hawker-type stalls. Some gripes: (1) The elevator is sooo slow. (2) A smoking room with no ashtray? (3) I wanted to borrow an umbrella - it is, after all, Singapore where it rains; but no umbrella...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Fatty Albert's restaurant.

Review of ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
American that lives in Shanghai
Oct 3, 2010

Great Price for location

Hotel was in a great location!! It is close to the MRT and bus. The rooms are really small but liveable. The walls are very thin you heard in the hallway people leaving ,talking and next door. The breaksfast was very good (western). The staff very helpful. Overall, a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are malls everywhere!!

Review of ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lrfbaf
Lincoln, Nebraska
Feb 12, 2010

Ibis and Singapore

We thought the Ibis was a good value, the room was a bit small but comfortable as we are a couple that don't spend much time in room except to sleep. The location was great within walking distance to most attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

definitely try the chili crab. We ate at Jumbo Shrimp but where the price was above average but the food was great.

Review of ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
American that lives in Shanghai
Oct 3, 2010

Great Price for location

Hotel was in a great location!! It is close to the MRT and bus. The rooms are really small but liveable. The walls are very thin you heard in the hallway people leaving ,talking and next door. The breaksfast was very good (western). The staff very helpful. Overall, a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are malls everywhere!!

Back to menu Return to top