$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

3 stars
View map of 170 Bencoolen Street, SINGAPORE, 189657

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ali2
Single
California
Sep 30, 2012

Not Bad

Singapore is expansive in general. So this hotel compared to other hotels in Singapore might be fine but comparing with other Asian cities the price is very expansive and services are not amazing. Very compact room and some of the staff were not friendly. Also my visit to Singapore was during the formula 1 race which added to the high cost of the hotel, I guess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice affordable 24 hour Indian restaurant called Al-Jilani Restaurant just cross the road

Review of ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
catfish18
Couples
Campbell River, BC Canada
Mar 6, 2012

Great place.

Small room but more than adequate for two people. Close enough to walk to Little India, Arab Quarter, Bugis Street Singapore Flyer ans Orchard street. Restaurant was good but lots of good value eating places near by. Staff helpful and friendly. Fair currency exchange in hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

walking to attractions, restaurants events is easy from this location.

Review of ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BPML
Couples
Trinity, FL
Jan 24, 2012

Excellent Hotel

This hotel was great. We were there for 5 nights. The restaurant was OK; the breakfast was not that good and it was overpriced. We ate across the street in an American fast food place. The staff was very gracious and they let us check in early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The subway system is modern and efficient and easy to use. It is close to the hotel.

Review of ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Plissken
Couples
Cheshire
Jan 7, 2012

Fantastic hotel

Great hotel for the price, very friendly and helpful staff. Good location, but a taxi / walk to the downtown. Not a problem as taxis are so cheap. Will be returning to Singapore and definitely staying in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jebbyjoy
Couples
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 3, 2011

we were warned and we tried to like it

We booked here for two nights but ended up checking out after the first night as the bed was uncomfortable and we couldn't get a good sleep. First they didn't want to let us checkout but after talking to the manager, who was reasonable, we got out. The hotel does have some redeeming qualities but we couldn't take the bad with the good. Pros: Great location as it is accessible to the light rail and many shops around. The restaurant was really good and reasonably priced. Front desk service is good.. Cons: We read that the rooms were small and I prepared myself for it and but I still found them smaller (this is personal preference, though). They provided a minifridge (it's kinda cute but first only ~4 soda cans). We also had to be creative in finding space for two luggages (one under the bad and one top of the table). The area was a bit noisy but I can deal with that. The deal breaker was the tough mattress. I would say spend a little bit more money to have a better experience in a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

I love the "tapas" style dining as you can taste so many different dishes influenced by the region (typical Singapore mix) without having to order a full entree and getting heartburn. Haha.

Review of ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Redpaddle
Business
Bali, Indonesia
Jan 29, 2011

Good for work

Ibis Hotel in Bencoolen is a good destination for a quick stay, the Bar/Restaurant is good but pricey but it is in a good location with short walks/bus rides to shopping/eating etc. If you are going to Singapore for vacation, Spend a few more bucks for a nice hotel with bigger rooms, pool and the like. Ibis was great, clean, well serviced and worth it's money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sim Lim Square is a stone's throw away!

Review of ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brisbane, QLD, Australia.
Nov 12, 2010

Efficient and friendly stay

The Ibis is a clean, modern and efficient hotel. The staff were very friendly. The room was fairly small but fitted the purpose and had a great view. It had all it needed without unnecessary frills which can add to the cost of the stay. Included in my booking was breakfast and free wifi. The location was great. I have no negative comments about my stay and would recommend this to business and tourist transports.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sim Lim Square is approximately 200m from hotel and great for electronic goods. For a good deal bargain the price down. Cash is a good strength for bargaining power.

Review of ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
American that lives in Shanghai
Oct 3, 2010

Great Price for location

Hotel was in a great location!! It is close to the MRT and bus. The rooms are really small but liveable. The walls are very thin you heard in the hallway people leaving ,talking and next door. The breaksfast was very good (western). The staff very helpful. Overall, a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are malls everywhere!!

Review of ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Houston, TX
Apr 11, 2010

Very happy with Ibis Singapore

I am predisposed to liking the Ibis, because we arrived around 9:30 a.m. very much worse for the wear after a long journey. Although check-in time was 2 p.m., the desk clerk got us into a room on the spot without my even asking. Granted, this won't happen all the time, but it set the tone for our stay. Overall, everyone was very helpful and pleasant, whether we were getting directions or needing a cab to the airport at 4:30 a.m. The maid on our hall was particularly friendly and provided outstanding service. It is a new hotel, so everything was in very good condition. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The rooms are small by American standards, esp. if you have a lot of luggage, but we've stayed in smaller rooms in Europe. The in-room safe and coffeemaker were nice touches. Also, the bathroom is fairly spacious given the overall size of the bedroom. Would not recommend the hotel's breakfast buffet unless you're in a crunch. You can get better, cheaper nearby. On the other hand, the tapas-style dinner in the hotel restaurant was surprisingly good if you're looking for a quick meal without going out. Transportation shouldn't be an issue. There's a bus stop in front of the hotel and a taxi stand at the back in addition to the nearby subway station. Short walk to Bugis Street market and walking distance to Arab Street and Little India, but it is HOT and HUMID, and we live in Houston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ibis Hotel is a few blocks from the Bugis Metro (subway) station, which is one stop from Singapore's City Hall and business district, and two stops from Orchard Road shopping. We carried our luggage on the subway and didn't really have any problems, but given the heat and humidity we wished we had paid for a taxi. The two-day pass for the subway is definitely worth it; we used it to go pretty much everywhere. IMPORTANT NOTE: tourist passes do not go on sale until after 10 a.m. and can only be purchased from staffed ticket offices, not the ticket machines. You will have to buy individual ride tickets if you arrive early in the morning (as we did). The price includes a refundable $10 deposit for each pass, but the refunds are only available from the staffed ticket offices, which are open from 10 a.m. to 9 p.m.

Review of ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Mar 23, 2010

Good but not exceptional

Great value for the money, and the location is good: just around the corner from that electronics mall, and near very good hawker-type stalls. Some gripes: (1) The elevator is sooo slow. (2) A smoking room with no ashtray? (3) I wanted to borrow an umbrella - it is, after all, Singapore where it rains; but no umbrella...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Fatty Albert's restaurant.

Back to menu Return to top