$71 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 31, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

Value Hotel Thomson

3 stars
592 Balestier Road #01-01, Singapore, 329901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
14 reviews
Nice hotel!

Lovely hotel, very clean and comfortable. Only thing that I didn't like was that the shower was... See full review

  • dancer12345
  • Nov 1, 2012
Great value!

I have stayed in many budget hotels, I have stayed in many luxury hotels. This place surpassed my... See full review

  • John and Mayflor
  • Sep 11, 2012
Comfortable, contemporary Singapore hotel for cost-conscious travelers
Value Hotel Thomson offers comfort and value to savvy travelers who want to make the most of their trip. The hotel is strategically located just outside the city center in the food paradise of the Balestier neighborhood. Guests can explore the old-world charm of the area, where Whampoa Market and the new alfresco Balestier Market offer delightful local food. The city center and its museums and shopping are easily accessible using city buses and the local MRT network. 
Highlights
  • 32-inch LCD TVs with HBO and sports channels
  • Located in an old-world neighborhood with two food markets
  • Outdoor pool
Rooms

Guests of the 12-story, 366-room Value Hotel Thomson enjoy all the basic amenities in their room, as well as a few extras such as bath essentials, complimentary bottled waters and quality bedsheets and duvet. The hotel offers Superior and Standard rooms with double or twin beds, furnished in a clean, contemporary chic style. Rooms feature 32-inch LCD TVs with HBO and sports channels, in-room broadband cable connections, DVD players in selected rooms, coffee and tea makers, Kimberly-Clark bathroom amenities, hairdryer and ironing facilities on request.

 

Property features

Value Hotel Thomson's outdoor swimming pool boasts amazing views of the Balestier and Thomson area. The hotel is situated in the Balstier neighborhood, a food paradise where guests can explore the area's old-world charm. Whampoa Market and the new alfresco Balestier Market offer delightful local food.

Transportation
  • Singapore Changi Airport (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Novena MRT station (10-minute walk)
  • Local SBS public buses service popular Singapore locations
  • Free Shuttle Bus Service from Hotel to Novena MRT station from 0815 to 1200 Hrs Daily (Hourly Departure)
Nearby attractions
  • Botanic Gardens (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Orchard Road (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • National Museum of Singapore (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Singapore Art Museum (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Chijmes (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • St. Andrew's Cathedral (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Boat Quay (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
Business
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
Policies & fees
Free Shuttle Bus Service from Hotel to Novena MRT station from 0815 to 1200 Hrs Daily (Hourly Departure)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Value Hotel Thomson also booked these hotels.

Value Hotel Thomson Rooms

Standard Twin
Standard Twin ( room with 2 single mattresses but without window) Room Amenities: Air conditioned, Lift/Elevator Access, Cable/Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Daily Room Service, Linen and Towels, Non-Smoking, Television, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry Facilities, Broadband Internet Access, Telephone, Desk, Tea/Coffee Making
Triple Room
Triple (Room with 1 queen + 1 single mattress and large bay window) Room Amenities: Air conditioned, Lift/Elevator Access, Cable/Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Daily Room Service, Linen and Towels, Non-Smoking, Television, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry Facilities, Broadband Internet Access, Telephone, Desk, Tea/Coffee Making
Superior Room
Superior Double (room with 1 queen mattress & large bay window) Room Amenities: Air conditioned, Lift/Elevator Access, Cable/Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Daily Room Service, Linen and Towels, Non-Smoking, Television, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry Facilities, Broadband Internet Access, Telephone, Desk, Tea/Coffee Making
Superior Twin Room
Superior Twin (room with 2 single mattresses & large bay window) Room Amenities: Air conditioned, Lift/Elevator Access, Cable/Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Daily Room Service, Linen and Towels, Non-Smoking, Television, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry Facilities, Broadband Internet Access, Telephone, Desk, Tea/Coffee Making
Superior Plus
Superior Plus ( 1 queen mattress & 1 single sofabed). Room has large bay window with pool view) Room Amenities: Air conditioned, Lift/Elevator Access, Cable/Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Daily Room Service, Linen and Towels, Non-Smoking, Television, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry Facilities, Broadband Internet Access, Telephone, Desk, Tea/Coffee Making
Standard Room
Standard Double (room with 1 queen mattress but without window) Room Amenities: Air conditioned, Lift/Elevator Access, Cable/Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Daily Room Service, Linen and Towels, Non-Smoking, Television, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry Facilities, Broadband Internet Access, Telephone, Desk, Tea/Coffee Making

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Balestier: 0.3 mi
  • Novena: 0.7 mi
  • Newton: 1.1 mi
  • Chang Jiang: 1.4 mi
  • Mustafa Centre: 1.5 mi
  • Sri Veerama Kaliamman Temple: 1.5 mi
  • Botanic Gardens: 1.6 mi
  • Rochor: 1.7 mi
  • Bencoolen: 1.9 mi
  • Arab Street: 1.9 mi
  • Dhoby Ghaut: 2 mi
  • Tanglin: 2 mi
  • Bugis Food Village: 2 mi
  • Kwan Im Thong Hood Cho Temple: 2 mi
  • Sultan Mosque: 2.1 mi
  • Balestier: 0.3 mi
  • Novena: 0.7 mi
  • Newton: 1.1 mi
  • Chang Jiang: 1.4 mi
  • Mustafa Centre: 1.5 mi
  • Sri Veerama Kaliamman Temple: 1.5 mi
  • Botanic Gardens: 1.6 mi
  • Rochor: 1.7 mi
  • Bencoolen: 1.9 mi
  • Arab Street: 1.9 mi
  • Dhoby Ghaut: 2 mi
  • Tanglin: 2 mi
  • Bugis Food Village: 2 mi
  • Kwan Im Thong Hood Cho Temple: 2 mi
  • Sultan Mosque: 2.1 mi
  • Arab Quarter: 2.1 mi
  • Bugi's Village: 2.1 mi
  • Battle Box: 2.1 mi
  • Singapore Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • National Museum of Singapore: 2.1 mi
  • National Library: 2.2 mi
  • Peranakan Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Fort Canning Park: 2.2 mi
  • National Orchid Garden: 2.3 mi
  • Chijmes: 2.3 mi
  • Raffles Hotel: 2.3 mi
  • Bras Basah: 2.3 mi
  • Armenian Church: 2.4 mi
  • City Hall: 2.4 mi
  • Suntec City Mall: 2.5 mi
  • Clarke Quay Restaurant Precinct: 2.5 mi
  • St Andrew's Cathedral: 2.5 mi
  • Zouk: 2.5 mi
  • Robertson Quay Restaurant Precinct: 2.5 mi
  • Robertson Quay: 2.5 mi
  • Suntec City: 2.5 mi
  • Havelock: 2.6 mi
  • Espalande Park: 2.6 mi
  • Supreme Court: 2.7 mi
  • National Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Esplanade Theatres on the Bay: 2.7 mi
  • Statue of Raffles: 2.7 mi
  • Arts House at the Old Parliament: 2.7 mi
  • Esplanade Theatres: 2.7 mi
  • Singapore Flyer: 2.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Value Hotel Thomson

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
2.9
Comfort:
2.2
Location:
3
Value:
2.6

36% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Value Hotel Thomson

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
United States
Jul 19, 2010

Cheap hotel - but clean

This newly built hotel is simple and clean. The room was sold as standard room, but was infact an economy room without window and non working ventilation in the bathroom. When you shower, the whole bathroom including toilet is wet. The paper-thin walls made my night rest very uncomfortable and noisy children in the night and morning made my stay even worse. Internet is S$10 per day extra and can be purchased from the unfriendly hotel personal. The next metro stop is 10-15 minutes walking away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Value Hotel Thomson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pssp
Business
mission, bc
Apr 24, 2012

Value Thompson hotel

room without a window, is considered as a closet and not a bedroom,it was smelling wet (musty). The bathroom to small, every time you have a shower, the whole bathroom is wet because everything is together in a 5'x5' or smaller. Location not to bad and cleanliness ok. We upgraded for SD10.00 a day to a room with a window ( 8'x9' bedroom, 5'x5' bathroom and a 3'x5' nentrance hallway)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Value Hotel Thomson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Robin
Business
UK
May 21, 2012

spoilt by little things ...

No breakfast facilities: poorly designed bathrooms where shower overflows under door to main room because no shower curtain (and everything including the toilet gets soaking wet). Corridors noisy because of tiled flooring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Indian restaurant in Novena complex good food, service and reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Value Hotel Thomson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Denben
Business
Bangkok thailand
Jul 20, 2013

Terribly tiny room and closet sized bathroom

I paid for 4 days but only stayed one night because the superior room I paid for was very very tiny. The bed was hard and the bathroom was just a tiny bit bigger than the bathroom on the plane. When I went to check out after only one night the deal clerk just looked at me. So I moved on and paid for the second time for a lovely hotel called Hotel Royal-much nicer and you can get deals

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Value Hotel Thomson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Razzed
Business
Balikpapapan, Indonesia
Mar 4, 2014

Decent hotel

Very small room. No Windows, rest room is not that clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

10 Min drive to orchard road

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Value Hotel Thomson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NakulArati
Business
Malaysia
Nov 29, 2012

Easy Breezy- Tiny Weeny Rooms

always been my pick in Singapore for a short day trip-cheap rates. However I have to say that the room service is a little slow. And the rooms are very small. There is hardly any difference from the standard rooms to the superior rooms. My main issue was that the whole hotel was freezing-too coldl. It was painful. Almost felt a relief to step out to sunny Singapore,one thick quilt was not enough to beat the cold. Overall- easy access to cities, quiet environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice vegetarian good place, Ling Zhi veg. Little high prices but widespread of steamboat buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Value Hotel Thomson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Globetrotter3313
Business
Canada
Mar 8, 2013

Not bad but lower your expectations

I probably expected more than I should have after reading some reviews. This hotel is average at best. I had to pay premium for showing up at 2 am instead of their checkin time of 2 pm on the same date. Then they made me move to a different room after one night. Not a very friendly front desk staff. However there is always someone at the door ready to open the door for you when you need to enter/exit the hotel, which is a good thing I guess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

take the MRT from Novena station for easy and cheap travel around all over SG.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Value Hotel Thomson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ska chan
Business
Tokyo, Japan
Apr 8, 2013

For low budget travelers

This hotel met our basic needs; reasonable cost performance, cleanness and has a relatively new facility. It is situated about 10 min walk from Novena MRT station and from this station to the heart of the city takes about 10-15 min by train. In our room we had only one outlet so we had to plug in our gadget in turn. The shower is attached on the wall in front of toilet seat and there is no door or shower curtain to divide the space, so if someone takes a shower, the whole bathroom gets wet, including the toilet seat. The room is relatively small, but if what you need is just to sleep, you have all you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Value Hotel Thomson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LOCOLUNA
Business
Hat Yai
Sep 24, 2013

Tiny Closet and too much dust

The superior room is very small and closet is very tiny. It is not easy to hang some cloths in the fix hanger in tiny closet. I saw some dust on the floor and inside the closet everyday during stay in this hotel. I have no idea how they clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Value Hotel Thomson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Superman0505
Business
Minnesota
Jan 5, 2014

Good Value for money for a short stay

We stayed 2 nights in the hotel. The location is good though we took a bus to get to the metro station (3 stops). The rooms are tiny, especially the bathroom. It is ok for a short stay. The view from the hotel was great. Overall we were satisfied with our stay though wouldn't stay there for longer period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top