$74 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Value Hotel Thomson

3 stars
592 Balestier Road #01-01, Singapore, 329901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
15 reviews
Nice hotel!

Lovely hotel, very clean and comfortable. Only thing that I didn't like was that the shower was... See full review

  • dancer12345
  • Nov 1, 2012
Great value!

I have stayed in many budget hotels, I have stayed in many luxury hotels. This place surpassed my... See full review

  • John and Mayflor
  • Sep 11, 2012
Comfortable, contemporary Singapore hotel for cost-conscious travelers
Value Hotel Thomson offers comfort and value to savvy travelers who want to make the most of their trip. The hotel is strategically located just outside the city center in the food paradise of the Balestier neighborhood. Guests can explore the old-world charm of the area, where Whampoa Market and the new alfresco Balestier Market offer delightful local food. The city center and its museums and shopping are easily accessible using city buses and the local MRT network. 
Highlights
  • 32-inch LCD TVs with HBO and sports channels
  • Located in an old-world neighborhood with two food markets
  • Outdoor pool
Rooms

Guests of the 12-story, 366-room Value Hotel Thomson enjoy all the basic amenities in their room, as well as a few extras such as bath essentials, complimentary bottled waters and quality bedsheets and duvet. The hotel offers Superior and Standard rooms with double or twin beds, furnished in a clean, contemporary chic style. Rooms feature 32-inch LCD TVs with HBO and sports channels, in-room broadband cable connections, DVD players in selected rooms, coffee and tea makers, Kimberly-Clark bathroom amenities, hairdryer and ironing facilities on request.

 

Property features

Value Hotel Thomson's outdoor swimming pool boasts amazing views of the Balestier and Thomson area. The hotel is situated in the Balstier neighborhood, a food paradise where guests can explore the area's old-world charm. Whampoa Market and the new alfresco Balestier Market offer delightful local food.

Transportation
  • Singapore Changi Airport (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Novena MRT station (10-minute walk)
  • Local SBS public buses service popular Singapore locations
  • Free Shuttle Bus Service from Hotel to Novena MRT station from 0815 to 1200 Hrs Daily (Hourly Departure)
Nearby attractions
  • Botanic Gardens (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Orchard Road (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • National Museum of Singapore (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Singapore Art Museum (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Chijmes (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • St. Andrew's Cathedral (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Boat Quay (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
Business
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
Policies & fees
Free Shuttle Bus Service from Hotel to Novena MRT station from 0815 to 1200 Hrs Daily (Hourly Departure)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

1.327 103.8428
Area served
Newton, Thomson, Novena, the city centre and fringe of Scotts Road. Explore the old world charm of our Balestier neighbourhood - a food paradise where Whampoa Market and the new alfresco Balestier Market offers scrumptious local delights.
Nearby airports
Just 30 minutes from Changi International Airport by taxi.
Area description
Value Hotel Thomson is located just outside city centre. Local SBS public buses service number 21, 130, 131, 139, 145, 186. Experience ease of connectivity with quick access to Pan-Island Expressway (PIE) and Central Expressway (CTE) when you stay at Value Hotel Thomson. Public transport is readily available and easy to navigate in Singapore. Novena MRT station is 10 - 12 minutes walk away and there are many public buses at nearby bus-stops going to popular places in Singapore. Getting around our Island State is a breeze from Value Hotel Thomson - 30 minutes to Changi Airport, 15 minutes to the Central Business District and 10 minutes to the popular Orchard Road shopping belt.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Value Hotel Thomson also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Value Hotel Thomson Rooms

Standard Twin
Standard Twin ( room with 2 single mattresses but without window) Room Amenities: Air conditioned, Lift/Elevator Access, Cable/Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Daily Room Service, Linen and Towels, Non-Smoking, Television, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry Facilities, Broadband Internet Access, Telephone, Desk, Tea/Coffee Making
Triple Room
Triple (Room with 1 queen + 1 single mattress and large bay window) Room Amenities: Air conditioned, Lift/Elevator Access, Cable/Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Daily Room Service, Linen and Towels, Non-Smoking, Television, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry Facilities, Broadband Internet Access, Telephone, Desk, Tea/Coffee Making
Superior Room
Superior Double (room with 1 queen mattress & large bay window) Room Amenities: Air conditioned, Lift/Elevator Access, Cable/Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Daily Room Service, Linen and Towels, Non-Smoking, Television, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry Facilities, Broadband Internet Access, Telephone, Desk, Tea/Coffee Making
Superior Twin Room
Superior Twin (room with 2 single mattresses & large bay window) Room Amenities: Air conditioned, Lift/Elevator Access, Cable/Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Daily Room Service, Linen and Towels, Non-Smoking, Television, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry Facilities, Broadband Internet Access, Telephone, Desk, Tea/Coffee Making
Superior Plus
Superior Plus ( 1 queen mattress & 1 single sofabed). Room has large bay window with pool view) Room Amenities: Air conditioned, Lift/Elevator Access, Cable/Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Daily Room Service, Linen and Towels, Non-Smoking, Television, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry Facilities, Broadband Internet Access, Telephone, Desk, Tea/Coffee Making
Standard Room
Standard Double (room with 1 queen mattress but without window) Room Amenities: Air conditioned, Lift/Elevator Access, Cable/Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Daily Room Service, Linen and Towels, Non-Smoking, Television, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry Facilities, Broadband Internet Access, Telephone, Desk, Tea/Coffee Making

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Balestier: 0.3 mi
  • Novena: 0.7 mi
  • Newton: 1.1 mi
  • Chang Jiang: 1.4 mi
  • Mustafa Centre: 1.5 mi
  • Sri Veerama Kaliamman Temple: 1.5 mi
  • Botanic Gardens: 1.6 mi
  • Rochor: 1.7 mi
  • Bencoolen: 1.9 mi
  • Arab Street: 1.9 mi
  • Dhoby Ghaut: 2 mi
  • Tanglin: 2 mi
  • Bugis Food Village: 2 mi
  • Kwan Im Thong Hood Cho Temple: 2 mi
  • Sultan Mosque: 2.1 mi
  • Balestier: 0.3 mi
  • Novena: 0.7 mi
  • Newton: 1.1 mi
  • Chang Jiang: 1.4 mi
  • Mustafa Centre: 1.5 mi
  • Sri Veerama Kaliamman Temple: 1.5 mi
  • Botanic Gardens: 1.6 mi
  • Rochor: 1.7 mi
  • Bencoolen: 1.9 mi
  • Arab Street: 1.9 mi
  • Dhoby Ghaut: 2 mi
  • Tanglin: 2 mi
  • Bugis Food Village: 2 mi
  • Kwan Im Thong Hood Cho Temple: 2 mi
  • Sultan Mosque: 2.1 mi
  • Arab Quarter: 2.1 mi
  • Bugi's Village: 2.1 mi
  • Battle Box: 2.1 mi
  • Singapore Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • National Museum of Singapore: 2.1 mi
  • National Library: 2.2 mi
  • Peranakan Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Fort Canning Park: 2.2 mi
  • National Orchid Garden: 2.3 mi
  • Chijmes: 2.3 mi
  • Raffles Hotel: 2.3 mi
  • Bras Basah: 2.3 mi
  • Armenian Church: 2.4 mi
  • City Hall: 2.4 mi
  • Suntec City Mall: 2.5 mi
  • Clarke Quay Restaurant Precinct: 2.5 mi
  • St Andrew's Cathedral: 2.5 mi
  • Zouk: 2.5 mi
  • Robertson Quay Restaurant Precinct: 2.5 mi
  • Robertson Quay: 2.5 mi
  • Suntec City: 2.5 mi
  • Havelock: 2.6 mi
  • Espalande Park: 2.6 mi
  • Supreme Court: 2.7 mi
  • National Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Esplanade Theatres on the Bay: 2.7 mi
  • Statue of Raffles: 2.7 mi
  • Arts House at the Old Parliament: 2.7 mi
  • Esplanade Theatres: 2.7 mi
  • Singapore Flyer: 2.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Value Hotel Thomson

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.1
Location:
2.9
Value:
2.5

33% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Value Hotel Thomson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John and Mayflor
Honolulu
Sep 11, 2012

Great value!

I have stayed in many budget hotels, I have stayed in many luxury hotels. This place surpassed my expectations! The rooms were small, but what do you expect in South East Asia? It was clean, efficient, and comfortable. I did not see the pool and stuff. Breakfast nearby wasn't anything special. The location is not especially convenient, but I would definitely recommend this place to the cautious traveler on a budget. You get everything you need to survive comfortably with a 10 minute walk to the Novena MRT station. We actually took a taxi to the MRT station for about S$4.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The breakfast was not that great. Take a short taxi ride to the MRT station and get some doughnuts there before you board.

Review of Value Hotel Thomson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
YouDon'tSay
Johor Bahru
Jun 9, 2014

All the basics

Nothing memorable but all the basics are provided. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Value Hotel Thomson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
la modaya
mexico city
Mar 7, 2014

too tiby, bathroom insanely small

Only stayed one night but, if i stayed more nights i would probably drive myself crazy. the room was super tiny , no space for baggage and the bathroom was really really really small, no place to shower as the water felt straight to the WC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Value Hotel Thomson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Razzed
Business
Balikpapapan, Indonesia
Mar 4, 2014

Decent hotel

Very small room. No Windows, rest room is not that clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

10 Min drive to orchard road

Review of Value Hotel Thomson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Superman0505
Minnesota
Jan 5, 2014

Good Value for money for a short stay

We stayed 2 nights in the hotel. The location is good though we took a bus to get to the metro station (3 stops). The rooms are tiny, especially the bathroom. It is ok for a short stay. The view from the hotel was great. Overall we were satisfied with our stay though wouldn't stay there for longer period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Value Hotel Thomson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LOCOLUNA
Hat Yai
Sep 24, 2013

Tiny Closet and too much dust

The superior room is very small and closet is very tiny. It is not easy to hang some cloths in the fix hanger in tiny closet. I saw some dust on the floor and inside the closet everyday during stay in this hotel. I have no idea how they clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Value Hotel Thomson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Denben
Business
Bangkok thailand
Jul 20, 2013

Terribly tiny room and closet sized bathroom

I paid for 4 days but only stayed one night because the superior room I paid for was very very tiny. The bed was hard and the bathroom was just a tiny bit bigger than the bathroom on the plane. When I went to check out after only one night the deal clerk just looked at me. So I moved on and paid for the second time for a lovely hotel called Hotel Royal-much nicer and you can get deals

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Value Hotel Thomson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ska chan
Tokyo, Japan
Apr 8, 2013

For low budget travelers

This hotel met our basic needs; reasonable cost performance, cleanness and has a relatively new facility. It is situated about 10 min walk from Novena MRT station and from this station to the heart of the city takes about 10-15 min by train. In our room we had only one outlet so we had to plug in our gadget in turn. The shower is attached on the wall in front of toilet seat and there is no door or shower curtain to divide the space, so if someone takes a shower, the whole bathroom gets wet, including the toilet seat. The room is relatively small, but if what you need is just to sleep, you have all you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Value Hotel Thomson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Globetrotter3313
Canada
Mar 8, 2013

Not bad but lower your expectations

I probably expected more than I should have after reading some reviews. This hotel is average at best. I had to pay premium for showing up at 2 am instead of their checkin time of 2 pm on the same date. Then they made me move to a different room after one night. Not a very friendly front desk staff. However there is always someone at the door ready to open the door for you when you need to enter/exit the hotel, which is a good thing I guess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

take the MRT from Novena station for easy and cheap travel around all over SG.

Review of Value Hotel Thomson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NakulArati
Malaysia
Nov 29, 2012

Easy Breezy- Tiny Weeny Rooms

always been my pick in Singapore for a short day trip-cheap rates. However I have to say that the room service is a little slow. And the rooms are very small. There is hardly any difference from the standard rooms to the superior rooms. My main issue was that the whole hotel was freezing-too coldl. It was painful. Almost felt a relief to step out to sunny Singapore,one thick quilt was not enough to beat the cold. Overall- easy access to cities, quiet environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice vegetarian good place, Ling Zhi veg. Little high prices but widespread of steamboat buffet.

Review of Value Hotel Thomson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dancer12345
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Nov 1, 2012

Nice hotel!

Lovely hotel, very clean and comfortable. Only thing that I didn't like was that the shower was right on top of the toilet and water splashed everywhere. Other than that it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top