$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

4 stars
View map of 5 Coleman Street, Marina Bay Singapore, Singapore, 179805

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
42 reviews
Good for kid

Clean and Comfort near by MRT can walk in 5 min. Nice pool. See full review

  • Worayut
  • Aug 5, 2014
Great Place To Explore Singapore

Within walking distance to Chinatown, Bugis, Arab Street and Little India, it's only a 3 minute... See full review

  • Tim M.
  • Aug 25, 2015

Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore boasts an ideal location for business and leisure travelers who want to see numerous city attractions. The hotel is in the middle of Singapore where several subway system lines meet, making it easy for guests to get around town. Within a 10-minute drive is Universal Studios theme park and Resorts World Sentosa casino. With elegantly decorated rooms and friendly hospitality, Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore invites guests to relax and recharge.

Rooms

Guest rooms at Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore feature stunning views of the Esplanade, Singapore River, business district skyline or Fort Canning Hill. Every room is designed with gracious details, blending dark wood and light hues to create a restful, modern ambiance. Every room features in-room safe, cable TV, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), mini-bar and coffee/tea making facilities. Suites include free Internet access, breakfast and evening cocktail at Sky Lounge and daily shoeshine.  

Property features

Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore features several distinctive dining options. Coleman's Cafe is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers international dishes in a buffet-style presentation. Lobby Lounge on the main floor gives guests an expansive view of the swimming pool and features piano music. Sky Lounge is a 4,000 square-foot, two-level executive lounge with outdoor balconies and spectacular views of Marina Bay and the Singapore skyline. Coffee lovers will delight in Spinelli Coffee on the ground floor.

Highlights

  • Situated at the center point of several subway lines
  • Within 10 minute drive of Universal Studios theme park
  • Outdoor pool, fitness center and sauna

Nearby attractions

  • St. Andrew's Cathedral (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Chijmes (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Museum of Singapore (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Singapore Art Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Boat Quay (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Marina Bay (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Orchard Road (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Botanic Gardens (2.7 mi/4.3 km)

Business

  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Internet access (fees apply)

Transportation
  • Singapore Changi Airport (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
Recreation

Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore gives guests ample opportunities to relax in the sauna or outdoor pool or to soak up some sun on the expansive sun deck. The fitness center offers a fully equipped gym with a range of exercise equipment.

Policies
  • Evening cocktails for Club guests will not be held at the Sky Lounge on 22 September (last day of Formula One).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore also booked these hotels.

★★★★★
$154
4.1 / 5 16 reviews
★★★★
$98
3.7 / 5 21 reviews
★★★★
$117
3.8 / 5 22 reviews
★★★
$112
4.0 / 5 23 reviews
★★★★★
$163
4.0 / 5 29 reviews
★★★★
$114
4.2 / 5 16 reviews
★★★★
$120
4.0 / 5 52 reviews
★★★★
$97
3.3 / 5 22 reviews
★★★★★
$165
4.4 / 5 23 reviews

Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore Rooms

Club Room
The neutral colours of sage and tan against the rich texture of wood are the perfect backdrop for a tranquil soothing room, accentuated with hues of bold colour in fabrics and furnishings. Layers of light, flowing texture dresses a picture-frame bay window with spectacular views of the Esplanade, the Marina Bay area, the Singapore River or the Fort Canning Hill. Premier Club Privileges include:Breakfast at Sky Lounge or at Coleman's Cafe, Coffee/Tea throughout the day at Sky Lounge, Complimentary evening Cocktail at Sky Lounge from 6.00pm to 8.00pm. House pour brands with snacks will be served. 2 hours complimentary usage of private meeting at Sky Lounge per room per stay, subject to availability, Complimentary unlimited Internet access in guest room. (Note: Sky Lounge is not available for complimentary evening Cocktail on 9th August 2015,20th September 2015 and 31st December 2015. Another venue will be assigned)
Deluxe Room
Room with Single, double or twin bed includes The design in our deluxe rooms is crafted with the guests' well-being and harmony in mind. Embrace the homely comforts of warm wood and classic furnishings in an ambience that exudes calm and serenity. Room Amenities: Electronic key cards, Self-coded safe, Cable TV, Hairdryer, Coffee and tea making facilities, Mini bar, Internet connection, IDD telephone facilities with Voicemail
Premier Room
Room with 1 single bed or 1 double bed includes Dark woods, light tone materials and a picture-frame bay window are cleverly combined to create a truly modern yet elegant ambience. The attraction of our Premier Rooms is in the minimalist, Zen-like design. A glass wall serves as a separator to a pristine white bath area with modern indulgences. The timeless beauty of our Premier Rooms will be appreciated for its subtle hints of success. Room Amenities: Electronic key cards, Self-coded safe, Cable TV, Hairdryer, Coffee and tea making facilities, Mini bar, Internet connection, IDD telephone facilities with Voicemail

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Armenian Church: 0.1 mi
  • St Andrew's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Supreme Court: 0.2 mi
  • City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Arts House at the Old Parliament: 0.2 mi
  • Statue of Raffles: 0.2 mi
  • Peranakan Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Chijmes: 0.3 mi
  • Bras Basah: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Canning Park: 0.3 mi
  • Raffles Place: 0.3 mi
  • Espalande Park: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Singapore: 0.3 mi
  • Asian Civilisations Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Boat Quay: 0.3 mi
  • Armenian Church: 0.1 mi
  • St Andrew's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Supreme Court: 0.2 mi
  • City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Arts House at the Old Parliament: 0.2 mi
  • Statue of Raffles: 0.2 mi
  • Peranakan Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Chijmes: 0.3 mi
  • Bras Basah: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Canning Park: 0.3 mi
  • Raffles Place: 0.3 mi
  • Espalande Park: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Singapore: 0.3 mi
  • Asian Civilisations Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Boat Quay: 0.3 mi
  • Clarke Quay Restaurant Precinct: 0.4 mi
  • Singapore Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Esplanade Theatres on the Bay: 0.4 mi
  • Merlion Statue: 0.4 mi
  • Raffles Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Battle Box: 0.4 mi
  • Esplanade Theatres: 0.4 mi
  • National Library: 0.5 mi
  • Suntec City: 0.5 mi
  • Dhoby Ghaut: 0.5 mi
  • Kwan Im Thong Hood Cho Temple: 0.5 mi
  • Havelock: 0.6 mi
  • Suntec City Mall: 0.7 mi
  • Robertson Quay Restaurant Precinct: 0.7 mi
  • Singapore Chinatown Heritage Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Singapore Flyer: 0.7 mi
  • Robertson Quay: 0.7 mi
  • The Olde Cuban: 0.7 mi
  • Bugis Food Village: 0.7 mi
  • Sri Mariamman Temple: 0.7 mi
  • Bencoolen: 0.7 mi
  • Bugi's Village: 0.7 mi
  • Thian Hock Keng Temple: 0.7 mi
  • Lau Pa Sat Festival Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • City Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Rochor: 0.9 mi
  • Outram: 0.9 mi
  • Arab Street: 0.9 mi
  • Sultan Mosque: 1 mi
  • Zouk: 1 mi

Dining

Coleman's Cafe
Enjoy the mouth watering array of buffet and ala carte meals ranging from local delights to international cuisine at Coleman's Cafe. This outlet serves breakfast and food all day long and is especially famous for its creative lunch and dinner menus.
Lobby Lounge
Located on the main lobby floor of the hotel in full view of the cool, blue waters of our glass swimming pool, there's no better way to enjoy some drinks and snacks at anytime of the day and relax to the soothing sounds of the piano.
Sky Lounge
The 4,000 square feet 2-level executive lounge located on the 22nd floor of Peninsula Tower comes with outdoor balconies and spectacular 270-degree unobstructed view of the Raffles City, Esplanade, Marina Bay, Central Business District sky line, Singapore River, Boat Quay, Chinatown, Clarke Quay and Fort Canning Hill. Note: Sky Lounge is not available for complimentary evening Cocktail on 9th August 2015,20th September 2015 and 31st December 2015. Another venue will be assigned)
Spinelli Coffee
Discerning coffee lovers will delight in the amazing range of coffee options. Located on the ground floor of Peninsula Tower, this gourmet coffee cafe offers an extensive range of fine coffee and freshly baked scones, cakes and cookies as well as sandwiches, soups, salads, lasagne and stews.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Okinawa Japan
Jul 19, 2009

Nice place, renovation was horrible.

after first night of stay i was awoken early due to renovation. I was told by front desk that there would be no work going on on Sunday so i kept the room for the second night only to be woke up early once again. I got no rest while staying at Peninsula Excelsior. I was very dissatisfied with being mislead. I am very upset about this and have contacted the hotel management. They have not responded and I feel I am entitled to a one night refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SF82
Single
Kuala Lumpur
Jan 20, 2014

Good location...but that is pretty much it

Good location, near City Hall MRT. However, the hotel is old, rooms are dated and small. Pool is really really small and not worth swimming in. Room was relatively clean, except for the bathroom which still had hair (I am assuming from the previous occupant) all over the floor...stayed for 2 nights, and this did not get addressed. I got it cheap and did not spend much time in the room - even with that, would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Budro86
Couples
Shreveport, Lousiana
Nov 19, 2012

Not the best stay

When my wife and I first arrived the staff was friendly and let us check early. Which was great but once we got up for breakfast it was less than ordinary. We had to ask for silverware, the staff made it seem like a large request. After we checked out since we had a late flight we could come back to use a "refresh" room. It was their pool restroom with a shower. Had to track down someone to get us towels. While refreshing another guest came in during when my wife was using the facilities very embarrassed to use the same bathroom. Had better stay at our hotel in sentosa. We would not use this hotel or recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Capistrano Beach, California
Nov 14, 2009

Not a good place to stay for the price!

I would not stay or recommend staying at this hotel. This is based on the room I had. It was very, very small, tiny closet space, no drawers, noisy AC, and noisy neighbors that kept waking me up from 12:00 to 4:00 a.m. I have stayed in hotels 5 times better for less than what I paid for Peninsula hotel. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thednc
Single
Houston, Texas
Mar 13, 2014

Slightly run down; spotty service

Checking-in is not intuitive at all and there is inadequate signage to address the unusual placement of reception - on the fifth floor: I walked into the ground floor and waited around while a staff member was on the phone at the counter. He got off the phone and walked away without even acknowledging me, let alone asking me what I needed, which was to check-in. After standing around for a while, another staff member walked out of a bag room and directed me to the fifth floor (lobby) to check in. CONs: - The business center was closed on Sunday, which is a bit unusual (and inconvenient) in a city renowned as an international business center where travelers frequently conduct business with people in other time zones, regardless of the day of the week. - For this price point, facilities feel a bit shabby and run down, even though I heard the Excelsior Tower was more recently renovated. - Skip the room with a view in Peninsula Tower - it's not worth the extra $100 per night unless you spend a lot of time in your room staring out the window. Just go to a sky bar and check out the view once from there. - Free tea was not replenished, even though the empty tea bag packets were evident on the counter. - When I asked other staff for directions to various places, they generally did their job but mostly seemed put out by having to work. Except for the staff at the business center (when they were open) - they were very friendly and helpful. PRO: + The largest safe I have ever seen in a hotel - about the size of a mini-fridge. For only about $30 more, go across the street to a hotel with better facilities, amenities, and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a grocery store in the shopping complex nearby, so you can stock up on food for the fridge, if you want to eat cheaply by, for example, packing a lunch for your daily excursions.

Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WaJO
Couples
Munich
Nov 22, 2011

Good place for doing sightseeing

Very close to all important sights; Fair price; Cleanliness in the room and bathroom was expectet to be better in a city like Singapure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yoyo from San Francisco
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 30, 2012

OK in spots - but definitely great value

Positives - gorgeous bathroom with a joint marble/shower setup - and a glass wall on 2 sides so you can see the living room TV from the shower; convenient location; Negatives - room smelled musty; had a few ants which got into my closed box of food and I had to throw it out; I was charged extra $40/night for internet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JC solo
Single
New York, NY
Mar 27, 2013

Good for your money

Pros - Raffles mall is two blocks from the hotel which is convenient to shopping, it also has a supermarket and food court in the basement all in one place. Another plus, there's a subway a block away. Cons - my flight was at 10 pm and the hotel couldn't offer me a late check out so while waiting for my shuttle bus to come pick me up, I fell asleep in their lobby and was woken up to by the hotel employee saying I can't sleep here. Seriously? The bathroom needs some work, it's a tad old and moldy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andy888888
Business
Hong Kong
Aug 13, 2013

Stay in peninsula excelsior

Despite the great location, the hotel just too outdated. It's a three star facility available only. Will not check in this one again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
twise
Business
Chicago
Nov 13, 2013

Not bad however it's starting to look a little tierd

Rooms are clean but they don't have bar soap just gel? Location is great very convenient food and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The river is just a short walk away with lots of dining options available.

Back to menu Return to top