$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

4 stars
View map of 5 Coleman Street, Marina Bay Singapore, Singapore, 179805

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
twise
Business
Chicago
Nov 13, 2013

Not bad however it's starting to look a little tierd

Rooms are clean but they don't have bar soap just gel? Location is great very convenient food and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The river is just a short walk away with lots of dining options available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
azdiver44
Business
Singapore
Sep 5, 2013

Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Excellent stay! Everything I could have wanted! The staff was the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andy888888
Business
Hong Kong
Aug 13, 2013

Stay in peninsula excelsior

Despite the great location, the hotel just too outdated. It's a three star facility available only. Will not check in this one again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Natyarca
Business
Bogota
Aug 8, 2013

Good

Nice hotel. Very well located. Nice pool!!! The staff Was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susanbeth
Business
Tokyo, Japan
Aug 4, 2013

Perfect location and good staff

I chose this hotel due to its access to major sightseeing spots, and when I actually arrived at the hotel and started going around the place, I was confident that I made the right decision - great access to not only sight seeing places but financial centre (where I needed to go), many restaurants and shops around that you need, and MRT station nearby that has access to Orchard and Changi Airport. What I also liked was their staff. Asking for help such as location on the map and how to get to a place as well as asking them to store my luggage canbe frustrating for a non-English speaker like me but no problem at all - I did hget the help I needed with satisfaction. One possible improvement might be to have a clock in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy the river cruise to graps the big picture of the place then walk around the river side.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JC solo
Business
New York, NY
Mar 27, 2013

Good for your money

Pros - Raffles mall is two blocks from the hotel which is convenient to shopping, it also has a supermarket and food court in the basement all in one place. Another plus, there's a subway a block away. Cons - my flight was at 10 pm and the hotel couldn't offer me a late check out so while waiting for my shuttle bus to come pick me up, I fell asleep in their lobby and was woken up to by the hotel employee saying I can't sleep here. Seriously? The bathroom needs some work, it's a tad old and moldy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Good Step Mom
Business
Delaware
Feb 8, 2013

Great Asian Experience

This hotel has the best location for shopping and sightseeing. You can walk to Raffles and Clarkes' Quay. The hop on hop off bus stop is right at the corner. We received a 30% discount for our full buffet breakfast each morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Singapore Flyer for observation but also the main area to catch sightseeing buses and the hop on and hop off bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DorothyF
Business
Portland Oregon
Jan 6, 2013

Very good location in Singapore

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, very nice and a really good location to the city and marina bay. All plus would recommend and return again. Only negatives were a charge for parking and charge for internet, think for this hotel should offer free parking and free wifi in the rooms as is offered in most other hotels have stayed at

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

hotel is surrounded by three malls all of which have many places to eat, very good hawker stands with Singapore food close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Schmerko
Business
Iowa
Dec 13, 2012

Good hotel at a great location.

The Peninsula Excelsior Hotel is an older hotel which still maintains good facilities and is in a great location. Somethings are throw-backs to how hotels were set-up years ago, for example you arrive at a small ground-floor lobby manned by the bell-boys and need to take the lift up a few floors to the main lobby and checkin. The main lobby itself is warm and welcoming and the check-in staff are friendly and go through standard international check-in process. The room itself is modernized, very clean and nice. A flat-screen TV with a good selection (for Singapore) of cable TV channels is available. The bathroom is one of those older era hotel features again with the step down into the bathroom and the entire room being basically white tile. However the facilities were fine and large stand-up shower was nice. The breakfast service is unsually bad for a hotel such as this with the "chefs" obviously very unfamiliar with how breakfast food (western or asian) should taste and hotel management obviously clueless on this as well. The location of the hotel can not be beat as it is an easy 5 minute walk to either Raffles City (and City Hall MRT station) in one direction and Clarke Quay entertainment and dining area (and Central MRT) in the other direction. Very easy to get to hundreds of eating places, shopping, entertainment, coffee or other places. Even in the rain most of the walk is covered and not a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Try to book the room without breakfast. You can easily walk a few minutes to other locations for a better value (and much better taste). Internet access in the hotel is expensive as well. If you don't need the access very much just go down the Starbucks where it is free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Budro86
Business
Shreveport, Lousiana
Nov 19, 2012

Not the best stay

When my wife and I first arrived the staff was friendly and let us check early. Which was great but once we got up for breakfast it was less than ordinary. We had to ask for silverware, the staff made it seem like a large request. After we checked out since we had a late flight we could come back to use a "refresh" room. It was their pool restroom with a shower. Had to track down someone to get us towels. While refreshing another guest came in during when my wife was using the facilities very embarrassed to use the same bathroom. Had better stay at our hotel in sentosa. We would not use this hotel or recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top