$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

4 stars
View map of 5 Coleman Street, Marina Bay Singapore, Singapore, 179805

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
azdiver44
Business
Singapore
Sep 5, 2013

Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Excellent stay! Everything I could have wanted! The staff was the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andy888888
Business
Hong Kong
Aug 13, 2013

Stay in peninsula excelsior

Despite the great location, the hotel just too outdated. It's a three star facility available only. Will not check in this one again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Natyarca
Couples
Bogota
Aug 8, 2013

Good

Nice hotel. Very well located. Nice pool!!! The staff Was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susanbeth
Single
Tokyo, Japan
Aug 4, 2013

Perfect location and good staff

I chose this hotel due to its access to major sightseeing spots, and when I actually arrived at the hotel and started going around the place, I was confident that I made the right decision - great access to not only sight seeing places but financial centre (where I needed to go), many restaurants and shops around that you need, and MRT station nearby that has access to Orchard and Changi Airport. What I also liked was their staff. Asking for help such as location on the map and how to get to a place as well as asking them to store my luggage canbe frustrating for a non-English speaker like me but no problem at all - I did hget the help I needed with satisfaction. One possible improvement might be to have a clock in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy the river cruise to graps the big picture of the place then walk around the river side.

Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JC solo
Single
New York, NY
Mar 27, 2013

Good for your money

Pros - Raffles mall is two blocks from the hotel which is convenient to shopping, it also has a supermarket and food court in the basement all in one place. Another plus, there's a subway a block away. Cons - my flight was at 10 pm and the hotel couldn't offer me a late check out so while waiting for my shuttle bus to come pick me up, I fell asleep in their lobby and was woken up to by the hotel employee saying I can't sleep here. Seriously? The bathroom needs some work, it's a tad old and moldy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DorothyF
Couples
Portland Oregon
Jan 6, 2013

Very good location in Singapore

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, very nice and a really good location to the city and marina bay. All plus would recommend and return again. Only negatives were a charge for parking and charge for internet, think for this hotel should offer free parking and free wifi in the rooms as is offered in most other hotels have stayed at

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

hotel is surrounded by three malls all of which have many places to eat, very good hawker stands with Singapore food close by

Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Schmerko
Couples
Iowa
Dec 13, 2012

Good hotel at a great location.

The Peninsula Excelsior Hotel is an older hotel which still maintains good facilities and is in a great location. Somethings are throw-backs to how hotels were set-up years ago, for example you arrive at a small ground-floor lobby manned by the bell-boys and need to take the lift up a few floors to the main lobby and checkin. The main lobby itself is warm and welcoming and the check-in staff are friendly and go through standard international check-in process. The room itself is modernized, very clean and nice. A flat-screen TV with a good selection (for Singapore) of cable TV channels is available. The bathroom is one of those older era hotel features again with the step down into the bathroom and the entire room being basically white tile. However the facilities were fine and large stand-up shower was nice. The breakfast service is unsually bad for a hotel such as this with the "chefs" obviously very unfamiliar with how breakfast food (western or asian) should taste and hotel management obviously clueless on this as well. The location of the hotel can not be beat as it is an easy 5 minute walk to either Raffles City (and City Hall MRT station) in one direction and Clarke Quay entertainment and dining area (and Central MRT) in the other direction. Very easy to get to hundreds of eating places, shopping, entertainment, coffee or other places. Even in the rain most of the walk is covered and not a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Try to book the room without breakfast. You can easily walk a few minutes to other locations for a better value (and much better taste). Internet access in the hotel is expensive as well. If you don't need the access very much just go down the Starbucks where it is free.

Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Budro86
Couples
Shreveport, Lousiana
Nov 19, 2012

Not the best stay

When my wife and I first arrived the staff was friendly and let us check early. Which was great but once we got up for breakfast it was less than ordinary. We had to ask for silverware, the staff made it seem like a large request. After we checked out since we had a late flight we could come back to use a "refresh" room. It was their pool restroom with a shower. Had to track down someone to get us towels. While refreshing another guest came in during when my wife was using the facilities very embarrassed to use the same bathroom. Had better stay at our hotel in sentosa. We would not use this hotel or recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
111111234567
Business
Shanghai
Sep 20, 2012

Good for one night stay

The room is comfort and the staff are very nice. The view is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Taffy
Couples
France
Aug 4, 2012

Excellent hotel

The only fault I can give this hotel is the breakfast. It is in the basement level & extremely hot & very chaotic!! The food was also very ordinary and not particularly good. We had an excellent room on the 17th floor, overlooking the Marine Bay Sands hotel (the one with the boat on the top of it !!) The staff were extremely a five story electronics shopping mall right next to the hotel. I would stay here again if I return to Singapore as it is in a very central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Raffles Shopping Center

Back to menu Return to top