Marina Mandarin Singapore

5 stars
6 Raffles Boulevard, Marina Square, Singapore, 039594
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
61 reviews
A good experience

The hotel was great, good service, excellent breakfast, convenient location, and reasonably priced. See full review

  • John and Karen
  • Apr 1, 2014
Great stop over in Singapore

We arrived at the hotel and was greated by a very friendly and professional personnel.The hotel was... See full review

  • Roger Super Husband
  • Jun 5, 2013
Luxury hotel with breathtaking views of Singapore's Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore offers stunning views of Singapore's Marina Bay, luxury accommodations and abundant amenities. Guests are welcomed into a majestic, soaring 21-story atrium. Rooms are lavishly appointed with sumptuous fabrics, stylish decor and plush bedding. Spa services, a distinctive mineral pool and a 24-hour fitness center help guests relax and recharge. Marina Mandarin Singapore is perfectly situated for sightseeing, shopping and business, thanks to its location, close to the city's financial district and major tourist spots.
Highlights
  • Breathtaking views of Marina Bay
  • 21-story atrium
  • Mineral pool
  • Close to financial district and tourist areas
Rooms
Marina Mandarin Singapore offers 575 luxurious guest rooms and suites decorated with sleek, modern furnishings, soothing colors and soft lighting. Each room features a private balcony overlooking Marina Bay or the city skyline, wireless Internet access (fees apply), large flat-screen television and spacious work desk and tea/coffee machine. Suites include a separate living area and ergonomic work chair. Meritus Club Rooms are located at the two highest floors of the hotel, and offer free Internet access, laundry of two garments daily, pillow-top mattress, breakfast and evening cocktails at the Club Lounge.

 

Property features
Marina Mandarin Singapore boasts an excellent selection of dining options. Ristorante Bologna features the best of Italian cuisine, while Peach Blossoms is an exquisite Chinese restaurant with authentic Cantonese dishes. AquaMarine serves an international buffet specializing in seafood.

Marina Mandarin Singapore is situated on the waterfront of the busy Singapore port, and overlooks the beautiful harbor and some of the city's historical sites. Located only a few minutes from the popular Orchard Road, the hotel is within walking distance of some of Singapore's top tourist sites.
Recreation
The hotel's St. Gregory Spa is an oasis of calm after a busy day of work or sightseeing. Offering a wealth of services, the spa has seven treatment rooms. Guests can also relax by taking a dip in the signature mineral pool. The lack of chlorine helps to minimize the type of sore eyes and dry skin sometimes experienced in traditional, chlorinated pools.
Transportation
  • Singapore Changi Airport (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Marina Bay (0.0 mi/0.0 km)
  • St. Andrew's Cathedral (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Chijmes (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Singapore Art Museum (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum of Singapore (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Boat Quay (0.7 mi/1.1 km)

Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Internet access (fees apply)

Marina Mandarin Singapore Rooms

Executive Deluxe
The Executive Deluxe Rooms feature glass panels embellished with pressed orchids at the head of the beds, symbolising Marina Mandarin's signature Asian grace, warmth and care. Promising business travellers all they need and more, the rooms and suites are furnished with a large flat screen television, a larger work desk and an ergonomic work chair, as well as six hours of complimentary wireless/wired broadband Internet access.
Premier
Contemporary in design with clean, modern furnishings by using glass and soothing colours, the Premier Rooms exude an aura of tranquility and elegance.Planned with the well-travelled in mind, the "business class" Premier Rooms offer an unprecedented level of luxury with a spacious working desk, a 37-inch plasma screen television and 12 hours of complimentary wireless/wired broadband Internet access
Meritus Club
The "first class" Meritus Club Rooms are situated on the two topmost levels of the hotel. Decked with dark wood decorative panelling that brings out a touch of Orientalism, each Club Room is equipped with a personal Nespresso coffee maker, six-jet power shower and a plush Simmons 13-inch pillow top mattress for a good night's rest. Club guests enjoy complimentary in-room Internet access and pressing for two pieces of garment daily during their stay. Experience Meritus' signature Asian Hospitality with exclusive check-in, breakfast and evening cocktails at the expansive Meritus Club Lounge. In addition, business executives will find the all-day complimentary high-speed broadband Internet access and two-hour usage of the Meritus Club Boardroom for meetings highly convenient.
Deluxe
Rooms with king or twin bed (subject to availability). Room boasts a contemporary look with colours so soothing and refreshing that it becomes your personal oasis right in the heart of the bustling Marina Bay district. Each deluxe room is fitted with a large writing desk, a coffee table, an armchair and bedside reading lamps, so that travellers can relax after a hectic day of sight seeing of business meetings.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

1.2911 103.8578
Area served
Singapore
Nearby airports
Changi Airport
Area description
The Marina Mandarin Singapore opened on 14 January 1987 at Marina Square, the new heart of Singapore. Situated right on the Waterfront of the World's busiest port, it overlooks the beautiful harbour and some of the city's historical sites. Marina Mandarin Singapore thus offers its guests an unimpeded view not only of Marina Bay but the city skyline. It is located next to the Esplanade-Theatres on the Bay-Singapore's premier performing arts center. It is located only 5 minutes from the busy Orchard Road and is within walking distance of some of Singapore's tourists sites-The Singapore River, National Library, National Museum, Chinatown and the Merlion.

Nearby points of interest

  • Singapore Flyer: 0.1 mi
  • Suntec City: 0.1 mi
  • Esplanade Theatres: 0.2 mi
  • Esplanade Theatres on the Bay: 0.2 mi
  • Espalande Park: 0.2 mi
  • Suntec City Mall: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Raffles Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • St Andrew's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Merlion Statue: 0.4 mi
  • Bras Basah: 0.5 mi
  • Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Statue of Raffles: 0.5 mi
  • Arts House at the Old Parliament: 0.5 mi
  • Asian Civilisations Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Singapore Flyer: 0.1 mi
  • Suntec City: 0.1 mi
  • Esplanade Theatres: 0.2 mi
  • Esplanade Theatres on the Bay: 0.2 mi
  • Espalande Park: 0.2 mi
  • Suntec City Mall: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Raffles Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • St Andrew's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Merlion Statue: 0.4 mi
  • Bras Basah: 0.5 mi
  • Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Statue of Raffles: 0.5 mi
  • Arts House at the Old Parliament: 0.5 mi
  • Asian Civilisations Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Chijmes: 0.5 mi
  • National Library: 0.5 mi
  • Raffles Place: 0.5 mi
  • Armenian Church: 0.6 mi
  • Singapore Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bugi's Village: 0.7 mi
  • Boat Quay: 0.7 mi
  • Bugis Food Village: 0.7 mi
  • Kwan Im Thong Hood Cho Temple: 0.7 mi
  • Peranakan Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Singapore: 0.7 mi
  • Sultan Mosque: 0.8 mi
  • Bencoolen: 0.8 mi
  • Fort Canning Park: 0.8 mi
  • Arab Quarter: 0.8 mi
  • Arab Street: 0.8 mi
  • Dhoby Ghaut: 0.9 mi
  • Lau Pa Sat Festival Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Clarke Quay Restaurant Precinct: 0.9 mi
  • Battle Box: 0.9 mi
  • Thian Hock Keng Temple: 1 mi
  • Rochor: 1 mi
  • Sri Mariamman Temple: 1.1 mi
  • Singapore Chinatown Heritage Centre: 1.1 mi
  • The Olde Cuban: 1.1 mi
  • City Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Havelock: 1.2 mi
  • Robertson Quay Restaurant Precinct: 1.2 mi
  • Sri Veerama Kaliamman Temple: 1.2 mi
  • Robertson Quay: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Boasting extensive meeting facilities that spell stylish versatility and welcomed convenience, our professional convention sercices team will be on hand to ensure that your event will be a success. Whilst the grand, pillar free Marina Mandarin Ballroom can accommodate up to 700 people, the elegant Vanda ballroom allows for a cosy group of up to 300. In addition a series of 12 meeting rooms located on levels 1 and 6 can accomodate smaller business style gatherings. Enhanced with the latest audiovisual equipments and wireless or wired broadband internet access, all your meeting requirements will be met to perfection.

Dining

AquaMarine
AquaMarine features a resplendent buffet spread of seafood and international cuisines. Alongside an enticing a la carte menu of local facourites, this unique concept restaurant is complemented by an alfresco dining alternative. AquaMarine is a Halal Certified Restaurant.
Atrium Lounge and Senses Patisserie
Enjoy an afternoon tete-a-tete in the Atrium Lounge amidst all chirping of asian exotic birds, as you partake of a delightful blend of speciality tea or cofee accompanied by delectable pastries and cakes from senses patisserie. In the evening unwind and let the pressures of the day slip away as our resident musicians charm you with a repertoire of popular tunes.
Peach Blossoms
Backed by a stellar cast of award winning chefs, Peach Blossoms impresses with a dazzling collection of exquisite Cantonese fare and well loved dim sum that will bring gourmet gratification to even the most discerning taste bud.
Ruth's Chris
Ruth's Chris specialises in broiling the finest custom-aged USDA prime beef in its trademark 982.2C oven to lock in natural flavour and tenderness. Each signature steak is served on a sizzling 260.0C plate to ensure the utmost quality and consistency. And while steak is king, the menu also includes seafood, lamb, pork, and poultry dishes, as well as classic New Orleans dishes, appetizers, fresh salads, side dishes, and homemade desserts. The award-winning wine list features many world-class international labels with premium wines also available by the glass. Operating Hours Daily Lunch: 11.30am - 3.00pm Dinner: 5.30pm - 11.00pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for Marina Mandarin Singapore

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marina Mandarin Singapore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kuala Lumpur
Mar 21, 2010

Quality not super expensive

Trouble-free check-in: I booked online and they had all my details. I've stayed here before and always enjoy the pleasant atmosphere. You cannot get any closer to the plethora of shops and restaurants - they are virtually at the hotel door yet invisible until you pass through that door. The area is actually very quiet and restful and a 10 minute taxi ride to Orchard Street if you want the bright lights and glitzy shop fronts. The hotel was very good value for money compared to other hotels of a similar quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

From reception on the 4th floor it's one set of stairs and a doorway to enter into a shopaholics paradise.

Review of Marina Mandarin Singapore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kuala Lumpur
Mar 21, 2010

Quality not super expensive

Trouble-free check-in: I booked online and they had all my details. I've stayed here before and always enjoy the pleasant atmosphere. You cannot get any closer to the plethora of shops and restaurants - they are virtually at the hotel door yet invisible until you pass through that door. The area is actually very quiet and restful and a 10 minute taxi ride to Orchard Street if you want the bright lights and glitzy shop fronts. The hotel was very good value for money compared to other hotels of a similar quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

From reception on the 4th floor it's one set of stairs and a doorway to enter into a shopaholics paradise.

Review of Marina Mandarin Singapore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boerne, Texas
Mar 1, 2010

Excellent Hotel, Great price

Friendly greeting at the door as I arrived and they took me to reception. All interactions with the staff were with a smile and asking if they could do anything to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marina Mandarin Singapore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boerne, Texas
Mar 1, 2010

Excellent Hotel, Great price

Friendly greeting at the door as I arrived and they took me to reception. All interactions with the staff were with a smile and asking if they could do anything to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marina Mandarin Singapore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zabes
Washington, DC
Dec 16, 2009

A Friday Night stay

The check-in experience was wonderful, we arrived several hours before check-in time and were promptly greeted and told to have a seat while someone came down from the Meritus Lounge to greet us and we were checked in early. The room was beautifully appointed, but incredibly small 30SqM which in comparison to some other properties was a disappointment. The bathroom came with a separate shower and bathtub, definitely a 5 star bathroom, though again small. Room had a 40" LCD in wall, great sound-system, balcony, internet. The lounge which was part of the reason we chose this room, was definitely not 5 stars by any means, the offerings for cocktails were nothing special and rather a disappointment in comparison to many 4 star hotels I've stayed at. The breakfast was terrible, when asking for pancakes the chef opened up the heated "fridge" and took 3 already cooked pancakes and put them on the grill, of course they were dry and unedible. The fried eggs were done McDonald's McMuffin style, and there were only 4 other offerings of warm food, 2 being Asian. This is in comparison to stays at the Intercontinental, Renaissance, etc., whose breakfast offerings were several times better. Overall this was a 4 star hotel, not a 5 star hotel by any means except for the in room pricing for snacks and $8 sodas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Botanical Garden's, they're beautiful and I think passed up way to often. The shopping is everywhere, there is a Carrefour's Grocery store in SunTec if you're on a budget or just want some snacks. Singapore Flyer at sunset is a great shot, but probably not worth the S$28 unless they have some promotion going on.

Review of Marina Mandarin Singapore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zabes
Washington, DC
Dec 16, 2009

A Friday Night stay

The check-in experience was wonderful, we arrived several hours before check-in time and were promptly greeted and told to have a seat while someone came down from the Meritus Lounge to greet us and we were checked in early. The room was beautifully appointed, but incredibly small 30SqM which in comparison to some other properties was a disappointment. The bathroom came with a separate shower and bathtub, definitely a 5 star bathroom, though again small. Room had a 40" LCD in wall, great sound-system, balcony, internet. The lounge which was part of the reason we chose this room, was definitely not 5 stars by any means, the offerings for cocktails were nothing special and rather a disappointment in comparison to many 4 star hotels I've stayed at. The breakfast was terrible, when asking for pancakes the chef opened up the heated "fridge" and took 3 already cooked pancakes and put them on the grill, of course they were dry and unedible. The fried eggs were done McDonald's McMuffin style, and there were only 4 other offerings of warm food, 2 being Asian. This is in comparison to stays at the Intercontinental, Renaissance, etc., whose breakfast offerings were several times better. Overall this was a 4 star hotel, not a 5 star hotel by any means except for the in room pricing for snacks and $8 sodas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Botanical Garden's, they're beautiful and I think passed up way to often. The shopping is everywhere, there is a Carrefour's Grocery store in SunTec if you're on a budget or just want some snacks. Singapore Flyer at sunset is a great shot, but probably not worth the S$28 unless they have some promotion going on.

Review of Marina Mandarin Singapore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yorba Linda Brit
Business
Yorba Linda, CA
Nov 12, 2009

Great Hotel, Great Location

The Marina Mandarin is a great hotel for business travel. The Deluxe room I had wasn't huge, but was bigger than many more expensive rooms in Singapore. The facilities are excellent; great pool and gym, good restaurants and bars. The location is ideal for visiting the Convention Center and Boat Quay area. The hotel sits atop a large upscale shopping mall that also connects to the City Hall MRT train. station

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Boat Quay is a short walk away, with many restaurants and bars.

Review of Marina Mandarin Singapore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wade on in
Massachusetts
Oct 23, 2009

Comfortable and friendly

We had very bad timing for arrival and departure due to Northwest's ungodly arrival and departure hours from Japan. Our plane arrived an hour late at 3am, and we didn't get to the hotel until 4am. We had a 5:55am departure which meant getting to the airport by 4am, and a 3 am wake-up call. Good bus-limo connections from the airport at S$9 (i.e. Singapore dollars) per person, cab back from the airport in the morning costing us S$26. I thought I read somewhere that there were free shuttles, but no, there aren't. The hotel performed superbly with those times. Only one glitch with the hotel. We were offered an 'upgrade' to the Club floors for S$50 a night with certain amenities which after carefully thinking about (at 4:15am in the morning) we accepted, only to find that the room we were given was a smoking room. Since they didn't have a non-smoking room at the Club floor rate we had to go to another room, at our original price but without the amenities. I think they should have told us before we went to the room that it was a smoking room. We wasted about 30 minutes at 4:15am. But, that was the only thing we have to complain about regarding the hotel. The service is very friendly and efficient. We came from Japan, where service is first-rate, and we feel that the Hotel's service is equally superb. I guess one minor complaint is the 'dress code' expectations, which made it somewhat awkward to go to the pool, since you weren't supposed to walk through the hotel in your bathing suit and flip-flops (which we didn't have anyway). I saw several people who ignored this, and I think it should be acceptable when one goes directly from the room to the pool. The pool was lovely. We did not eat at the hotel since it seemed pricey, but the staff directed us to some very nice reasonable breakfast places nearby. We recommend the basement food court of the SunTec building or the small row of shops just outside the hotel on the side street heading towards Raffles. Very good local style breakfasts, inexpensive and fun to eat where the locals eat. The nearest subway stop at City Hall is a bit of a walk, but it can largely be done underground (air conditioning!), and you see lots more shops and people (people watching!), which is also fun. We would definitely stay again at this hotel, and would strongly recommend it for others. Correction on a previous post: those are not 'fake bird call' you hear in the morning. For better or worse they are real birds in cages on the 5th floor. I think it is a cultural tradition. Also, we were not at all troubled by evening music. And the beds are terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the underground food court in the SunTec building for breakfast. I like the Indian style one, my wife the Chinese porridge style one.

Review of Marina Mandarin Singapore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wade on in
Massachusetts
Oct 23, 2009

Comfortable and friendly

We had very bad timing for arrival and departure due to Northwest's ungodly arrival and departure hours from Japan. Our plane arrived an hour late at 3am, and we didn't get to the hotel until 4am. We had a 5:55am departure which meant getting to the airport by 4am, and a 3 am wake-up call. Good bus-limo connections from the airport at S$9 (i.e. Singapore dollars) per person, cab back from the airport in the morning costing us S$26. I thought I read somewhere that there were free shuttles, but no, there aren't. The hotel performed superbly with those times. Only one glitch with the hotel. We were offered an 'upgrade' to the Club floors for S$50 a night with certain amenities which after carefully thinking about (at 4:15am in the morning) we accepted, only to find that the room we were given was a smoking room. Since they didn't have a non-smoking room at the Club floor rate we had to go to another room, at our original price but without the amenities. I think they should have told us before we went to the room that it was a smoking room. We wasted about 30 minutes at 4:15am. But, that was the only thing we have to complain about regarding the hotel. The service is very friendly and efficient. We came from Japan, where service is first-rate, and we feel that the Hotel's service is equally superb. I guess one minor complaint is the 'dress code' expectations, which made it somewhat awkward to go to the pool, since you weren't supposed to walk through the hotel in your bathing suit and flip-flops (which we didn't have anyway). I saw several people who ignored this, and I think it should be acceptable when one goes directly from the room to the pool. The pool was lovely. We did not eat at the hotel since it seemed pricey, but the staff directed us to some very nice reasonable breakfast places nearby. We recommend the basement food court of the SunTec building or the small row of shops just outside the hotel on the side street heading towards Raffles. Very good local style breakfasts, inexpensive and fun to eat where the locals eat. The nearest subway stop at City Hall is a bit of a walk, but it can largely be done underground (air conditioning!), and you see lots more shops and people (people watching!), which is also fun. We would definitely stay again at this hotel, and would strongly recommend it for others. Correction on a previous post: those are not 'fake bird call' you hear in the morning. For better or worse they are real birds in cages on the 5th floor. I think it is a cultural tradition. Also, we were not at all troubled by evening music. And the beds are terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the underground food court in the SunTec building for breakfast. I like the Indian style one, my wife the Chinese porridge style one.

Review of Marina Mandarin Singapore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FAVORITE MEXICAN
Business
LAS VEGAS, NEVADA USA
Sep 20, 2009

Working on warmth...

Although the hotel was not busy (newspapers on very few doors, among other signs), they assigned me the room furthest from the elevators; a veritable hike, in the round, atrium-centered hotel. I had the distressing feeling that being an Orbitz customer carried a penalty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top