$163 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Marina Mandarin Singapore

5 stars
View map of 6 Raffles Boulevard, Marina Square, Singapore, 039594

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marina Mandarin Singapore

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marina Mandarin Singapore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Austravel
Business
Melbourne, Australia
Nov 25, 2010

Singapore City Break

The Hotel was fantastic - and very majestic in scope and the level of service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Check the in-room materials that describe discounts in hotel restaurants.

Review of Marina Mandarin Singapore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
Nov 3, 2010

Marina Mandarin Singapore

I was there for three days on business and this is just not a business hotel. There were many families with children, the restaurants were crowded and noisy at breakfast, and the service was rushed and unhelpful. The gym was ok, but small, and not enough equipment. The elevators were also extremely slow. The rooms were mediocre in furnishings and on the small side. All in all a bad choice and I will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marina Mandarin Singapore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redwood City, CA
Sep 11, 2010

Perfectly nice business hotel

We chose this hotel for a business trip after staying at the Sheraton Towers on a prior trip. Definitely an improvement. Not a truly exceptional hotel, but very friendly, very comfortable. Breakfast buffet with a wide variety of choices is available (for a charge). Several restaurants, including, I am told one, of the better Chinese restaurants in Singapore. Room was quite comfortable. Expensive internet charges, however, and you cannot use both your computer and your phone on the same wireless charge. Nice touch is the birds they put out in the morning in the inner atrium. Makes for a very pleasant, melodious environment to wake up to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marina Mandarin Singapore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beijing, China
Jul 25, 2010

Unbeatable Location

I took a red-eye flight and arrived at the hotel as early as 7am. The staff helped me check-in and offered me the executive lounge for a fresh-up, which helped me to kill the jet-leg a little bit. The hotel is surrounded by shopping malls and food courts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marina Mandarin Singapore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rohnert Park, CA
Jun 28, 2010

inbeatable location for the price

Great location, but don't eat at the resturants. Small portions high prices. Internet is not free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marina Mandarin Singapore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lynn a
Business
england
Mar 22, 2010

excellent stay

excellent stay from start to finish, lovely room, service superb for the price - central location, couldn't have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marina Mandarin Singapore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kuala Lumpur
Mar 21, 2010

Quality not super expensive

Trouble-free check-in: I booked online and they had all my details. I've stayed here before and always enjoy the pleasant atmosphere. You cannot get any closer to the plethora of shops and restaurants - they are virtually at the hotel door yet invisible until you pass through that door. The area is actually very quiet and restful and a 10 minute taxi ride to Orchard Street if you want the bright lights and glitzy shop fronts. The hotel was very good value for money compared to other hotels of a similar quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

From reception on the 4th floor it's one set of stairs and a doorway to enter into a shopaholics paradise.

Review of Marina Mandarin Singapore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boerne, Texas
Mar 1, 2010

Excellent Hotel, Great price

Friendly greeting at the door as I arrived and they took me to reception. All interactions with the staff were with a smile and asking if they could do anything to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marina Mandarin Singapore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zabes
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 16, 2009

A Friday Night stay

The check-in experience was wonderful, we arrived several hours before check-in time and were promptly greeted and told to have a seat while someone came down from the Meritus Lounge to greet us and we were checked in early. The room was beautifully appointed, but incredibly small 30SqM which in comparison to some other properties was a disappointment. The bathroom came with a separate shower and bathtub, definitely a 5 star bathroom, though again small. Room had a 40" LCD in wall, great sound-system, balcony, internet. The lounge which was part of the reason we chose this room, was definitely not 5 stars by any means, the offerings for cocktails were nothing special and rather a disappointment in comparison to many 4 star hotels I've stayed at. The breakfast was terrible, when asking for pancakes the chef opened up the heated "fridge" and took 3 already cooked pancakes and put them on the grill, of course they were dry and unedible. The fried eggs were done McDonald's McMuffin style, and there were only 4 other offerings of warm food, 2 being Asian. This is in comparison to stays at the Intercontinental, Renaissance, etc., whose breakfast offerings were several times better. Overall this was a 4 star hotel, not a 5 star hotel by any means except for the in room pricing for snacks and $8 sodas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Botanical Garden's, they're beautiful and I think passed up way to often. The shopping is everywhere, there is a Carrefour's Grocery store in SunTec if you're on a budget or just want some snacks. Singapore Flyer at sunset is a great shot, but probably not worth the S$28 unless they have some promotion going on.

Review of Marina Mandarin Singapore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wade on in
Business
Massachusetts
Oct 23, 2009

Comfortable and friendly

We had very bad timing for arrival and departure due to Northwest's ungodly arrival and departure hours from Japan. Our plane arrived an hour late at 3am, and we didn't get to the hotel until 4am. We had a 5:55am departure which meant getting to the airport by 4am, and a 3 am wake-up call. Good bus-limo connections from the airport at S$9 (i.e. Singapore dollars) per person, cab back from the airport in the morning costing us S$26. I thought I read somewhere that there were free shuttles, but no, there aren't. The hotel performed superbly with those times. Only one glitch with the hotel. We were offered an 'upgrade' to the Club floors for S$50 a night with certain amenities which after carefully thinking about (at 4:15am in the morning) we accepted, only to find that the room we were given was a smoking room. Since they didn't have a non-smoking room at the Club floor rate we had to go to another room, at our original price but without the amenities. I think they should have told us before we went to the room that it was a smoking room. We wasted about 30 minutes at 4:15am. But, that was the only thing we have to complain about regarding the hotel. The service is very friendly and efficient. We came from Japan, where service is first-rate, and we feel that the Hotel's service is equally superb. I guess one minor complaint is the 'dress code' expectations, which made it somewhat awkward to go to the pool, since you weren't supposed to walk through the hotel in your bathing suit and flip-flops (which we didn't have anyway). I saw several people who ignored this, and I think it should be acceptable when one goes directly from the room to the pool. The pool was lovely. We did not eat at the hotel since it seemed pricey, but the staff directed us to some very nice reasonable breakfast places nearby. We recommend the basement food court of the SunTec building or the small row of shops just outside the hotel on the side street heading towards Raffles. Very good local style breakfasts, inexpensive and fun to eat where the locals eat. The nearest subway stop at City Hall is a bit of a walk, but it can largely be done underground (air conditioning!), and you see lots more shops and people (people watching!), which is also fun. We would definitely stay again at this hotel, and would strongly recommend it for others. Correction on a previous post: those are not 'fake bird call' you hear in the morning. For better or worse they are real birds in cages on the 5th floor. I think it is a cultural tradition. Also, we were not at all troubled by evening music. And the beds are terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the underground food court in the SunTec building for breakfast. I like the Indian style one, my wife the Chinese porridge style one.

Back to menu Return to top