$182 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 16, 2015

InterContinental SINGAPORE

5 stars
View map of 80 Middle Road, Singapore, 188966

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental SINGAPORE

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental SINGAPORE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
stevens point wis
Feb 28, 2011

good location for the price

excellent hotel in a nice location,staff was very friendly and helpful in answering my questions, I had a very good time in singapore till the morning when I checked out,call the front desk to send someone up to carry my lugguage down, waited for almost 20 minutes,still no one,called again,finally said they will check to see,called back in about 10 mins and said someone will be coming up,when he showed up I asked were they busy, he said no, obviouly someone is not doing a good job on passing the message, had it not be this incident, I would give the staff 5 star, time is very important for someone who has to check out to go to the airport on time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping and dining is just at your front door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SINGAPORE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yoggi
Business
Hilo, HI
Aug 28, 2009

First class Staff

The hotel is located in a very busy, but also very convenient, location..sort of one stop shopping. A multitude of local restaurants are located in the vicinity, but be very very aware of the traffic. It is horrendous, as are the crowds in general.The Bugis Junction Mall is outside the hotel's doors and is a very popular shopping place for Singaporeans. You want it, they've got it somewhere in that mall. Again, the crowds are overwhelming, especially on Saturday. If you have time and a Singaporean acquaintance, go to Sentosa park. It is sort of the Disney Park of Singapore. The cable car ride was great, the Sounds of the Sea a spectacular laser show...but be prepared to get wet, as the lasers are projected onto water spraying into the air and when the wind shifts... The hotel's renovation is still continuing and this tends to make for a very noisy stay.There were an almost continuing series of drilling, sawing and clunking noises as the door locks, plumbing and ?? were changed. But to the hotels great credit, the staff was superb, eager to please and some of the most helpful that I have encountered in all my travels. I wish every hotel had that staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

To all types of local restaurants, primarily Chinese.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SINGAPORE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GaryA
Business
San Diego California
Jul 26, 2009

Wonderful week at the InterContinental

We had a wonderful stay. The Hotel is ideal in all respects, especially after we upgraded to include inernet use and access to their CLUB LOUNGE for breakfast, tea & pasteries and evening snacks. I'm not sure why using Orbitz to book our stay caused us to pay an additional 10% for a "booking fee," but even with this extra, all was wonderful for myself, wife and 22 year-old daughter. Thank you for the great trip!!! Gary Andersn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Elect to join their CLUB LOUNGE for your stay and enjoy great breakfasts and afternoon/evening pastries and local taste treats.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SINGAPORE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RandT
Business
San Diego, Ca
Jun 29, 2009

InterContinental Singapore

Everyone was very friendly, I thought we were in a great location until we had to walk a few miles to get to the great stuff. But what fun is there if you can't walk around to see a new city, right? I think the prices was a little high. Instead of getting a breakfast buffet that was S$85, and all we got was a bowl of cereal and some fruit, we should have walked down the the starbucks for a pastry and coffee. And instead of using the hotel computer at the business center S$7 for 15 minutes(which usually I find a lot of hotels have the internet access for free) we should have went down the street at the internet cafe for S$3/hour. The service was great, everyone said hello and smiled and acted like they really meant, "have a great day". Everyone offered to help with whatever you needed. But one thing that bothered me, was while we were getting used to the time change, my husband and I were lying in bed one afternoon watching television and when a man knocked on the door, my husband yelled, "One second" as he went to put his robe on to answer it and the man walked in our room. We thought he would have stopped when he saw my husband wasn't dressed appropriately and asked him to wait, but the man kept walking towards us and gave us a piece of paper that they gave us the day before stating internet would be turned off 1 a.m. to 2 a.m. It just blew my mind that he wouldn't leave when he noticed that we were in the room and my husband wasn't dressed and I was lying in bed, he just came on in. Another thing, was that we could hear everything going on in the room next to us and in the service room on the other side. Everyday/night I could hear the service elevators going up and down and people coming in and out, talking, laughing and other inappropriate things that I could have sworn came from the service room, but my husband insisted it came from the bedroom next to us. I didnt like how thin the walls were, but when you are in a new city you aren't going to spend the whole time in the hotel room. I would definitely stay at this hotel again if I had the chance, in Singapore, or another city despite the few things that threw me off. One thing I would go back to do is research the food from the country i'm going to to figure out what I can eat. I am pregnant and authentic asian food made my morning sickness worse, I wish I would have checked out the buffet items before I ordered the buffet, and read about the food before I went out to restaurants and realized I didn't think I could eat anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Every corner of the hotel was shopping. Swap meet across the street, Three story mall attached to the hotel, Five story mall across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SINGAPORE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr Awofolaju -
Business
New York, NY
Jun 22, 2009

InterContinental SINGAPORE

[...] I love Intercontinental Hotel in Singapore, staff are extremely professional, warm & caring and dutiful. I will always stay there anytime I'm in Singapore. Hospitality is second to none. ViVo Singapore. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SINGAPORE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shanghai, PRC
May 31, 2009

Singapore Vacation

The Inter-continental has a great location near both MRT and bus lines. It is also very close to many restaurants and shopping areas. The 53 sqm room is definitely worth the extra price. Housekeeping was excellent and the room was well taken care of. It would be nice to have the inter-net as part of the premium price, but that was not the case.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try "Raffles Hotel" Sunday brunch - it is a one of a kind experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SINGAPORE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mountain View, CA
May 29, 2009

Good for business trip

Was great for a quick 3 day business trip. Check-in at 1am, was very fast, had all my details ready, room key etc. Went for a club room, which meant quiet room on high floor and access to new restricted club lounge where staff were very attentive even when had business guest for meetings. Breakfast was included and was very good, as well as tea/snacks in the afternoon and cocktails/ appetizers in the evening and free Wifi. About 5-10 minute taxi ride to the center of Orchard road or to center of financial CBD, so pretty convenient although there are other hotels more central to these locations, but taxis always came within 5 mins from when requested. Hotel had limo style taxis waiting first thing in the morning e.g. at 5am when had to go to airport at no extra cost. It was a last minute booking, packaged with the flight which made the cost very reasonable compared to other highend 5 star hotels. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SINGAPORE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveled there
Business
Chennai, India
May 9, 2009

Very Nice!

This is a super hotel, and I got a last-minute reservation at a wonderful rate. Clean, comfortable room. Excellent location -- easy walk to the Quays, shopping area next door, restaurants nearby, subway right there. Very professional staff, beautiful facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss the botanical gardens an orchid garden, in particular. Also, walk all along the river.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SINGAPORE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hotel Bed Jumper
Business
Tokyo, Japan
May 8, 2009

Great Location

The staff was friendly and the hotel was beautiful. Great location bc it's close to great shopping and the MRT. A bit overpriced for certain aspects, stay away from the breakfast and internet deals... I didn't find it worth the price. Overall though, it was a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat at local places! The food is by far the best part of Singapore. Stay away from hotel restaurants. You'll find better values and tastes outside of it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SINGAPORE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Dec 5, 2008

Great business amenities

The staff was extremely polite, knowledgeable, and very helpful. I was treated very well, and after the second day everyone seemed to know my name. For example, I was greeted at breakfast everyday with, good morning. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends who travel to Singapore!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good shopping near buy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top