$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Hotel Royal Singapore

4 stars
View map of 36 Newton Road, Singapore, Singapore, 307964

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Royal Singapore

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
2.1
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.8
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
3
Value:
2.2

25% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Royal Singapore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Whitewanderer
Business
Wakefield, West Yorkshire, UK
Jan 27, 2012

Good value family holiday location

The hotel is looking a little tired and in need of refurbishment, whilst there was no major fault, the elevators worked, plumbing was okay, television was fine it just had an old feel about everything. Previous correspondents have commented on the reception, it was fine with booking in and out and attention to queries prompt and efficient, the breakfast buffet was good with a wide choice although the restaurant in the same room in the evening offered a limited quantity of below average food with very little western food, so visiting families with children take note. There is a good size outdoor pool which is a plus, although in the 4 days we were there, and the kids used the pool, I never saw it cleaned

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid dining in this hotel, the food quality is poor, take a right out of reception a short walk, 2 or 3 minutes takes you to the Novena shopping area with a good selection of decent restaurants

Review of Hotel Royal Singapore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Biz Travel Spore
Business
Canada
Jan 20, 2010

Hotel Royal Singapore Newton Road

The room was not very clean. The sink basin had a large crack in it. The TV reception was horrible. There was no one to help with my bags on check in or check out. No service to help with getting a taxi. Check out staff slow and complained they were busy and forgot to give me my receipt and no 'thank you'.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Royal Singapore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
UK
Nov 15, 2009

Not even close to the 4 star they claim

Check-in takes roughly an hour due to disorganization. If you don't print have a printout of your confirmation, they have no system to check your reservation. Thus you must pay to use the business center, where the computers are so painfully slow that it takes, seriously, upwards of a minute to load each page.Waiting times at check-in and check out are upwards of a half hour to an hour. Staff continuously running around, looking confused. Rooms have very cheap, basic furniture and bedding. Television only had 2 channels with actual good reception.Location is OK. Quick cab ride to Orchard Rd, but not a good walk if you use the rail system.Irish Pub on the third floor: Day 1 I walk in and the drunken owner has just been in fist fight. Day 3 I try again and, just as drunk, he is throwing chairs and picking fights again. Fun lad to chat with, until he goes off. So, I try the "Nightclub" on the upper level. About 30 beautiful, beautiful Asian girls dressed to impress all over the place. And about 20 old Asian guys. Hmmmmm. [*]Overall, probably the most overpriced hotel I have ever stayed at for the the quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

See Orchard Towers, just for the experience. It's a good laugh. Clarke Quay is also good spot to visit, right on the river.

Review of Hotel Royal Singapore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
UK
Nov 15, 2009

Not even close to the 4 star they claim

Check-in takes roughly an hour due to disorganization. If you don't print have a printout of your confirmation, they have no system to check your reservation. Thus you must pay to use the business center, where the computers are so painfully slow that it takes, seriously, upwards of a minute to load each page.Waiting times at check-in and check out are upwards of a half hour to an hour. Staff continuously running around, looking confused. Rooms have very cheap, basic furniture and bedding. Television only had 2 channels with actual good reception.Location is OK. Quick cab ride to Orchard Rd, but not a good walk if you use the rail system.Irish Pub on the third floor: Day 1 I walk in and the drunken owner has just been in fist fight. Day 3 I try again and, just as drunk, he is throwing chairs and picking fights again. Fun lad to chat with, until he goes off. So, I try the "Nightclub" on the upper level. About 30 beautiful, beautiful Asian girls dressed to impress all over the place. And about 20 old Asian guys. Hmmmmm. [*]Overall, probably the most overpriced hotel I have ever stayed at for the the quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

See Orchard Towers, just for the experience. It's a good laugh. Clarke Quay is also good spot to visit, right on the river.

Review of Hotel Royal Singapore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Japan
Oct 14, 2009

Hotel Royal Singapore

Good location and staff was really friendly and helpful. We were located near Orchard Road and Novena Square, and was walking distance to Newton Food Centre! The only thing that I didn't like and was shocked to find was that our bathroom was dirty. There was hair on the floor and the tub was not clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Newton Food Centre! It's open until 3 AM. Great food and 80 stalls to choose from. Also recommend Clarke Quay for great nightlife and dining. Young, lively crowd there and beautiful area.

Review of Hotel Royal Singapore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelling for work
Business
Phoenix
Aug 20, 2009

Still needs more refurbishing

Hotel says it has been refurbished but this still needs to be cleaned up. The doors are peeling, the carpet is musty, the lamps and decor are not adequate and broken also, and the bathroom needs to be cleaned better. Yes I was looking for an inexpensive place to stay for 2 nights but this was no value. I have stayed in older hotels in various travels and sometimes the experience is quite good with sparkling linens and rustic charm and good work accomodations. The hotel had none of those.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top