$775 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 31, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

Sugar Beach a Viceroy Resort formerly Jalousie Plantation

5 stars
Val des Pitons, Forbidden Beach- La Baie de Silence, Soufriere,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
9 reviews
The absolute BEST

Very professional, courteous service from start to finish. BEAUTIFUL grounds - really just beyond.... See full review

  • viaggiareebello
  • Oct 14, 2014
Luxurious Paradise

Nestled between the two pitons with a completely private beach, you just can't beat SB's location.... See full review

  • Super Globetrotter
  • Sep 18, 2014
Superior villa accommodation on sandy beach in St. Lucia
The Sugar Beach a Viceroy Resort (formerly Jalousie Plantation) offers a choice of superior private villa accommodations, with a white beach frontage and great views across the sea on one of the most attractive Caribbean islands. As well as several fine restaurants and bars on-site, a spa facility is available for guests, with a range of natural treatments designed to enhance lifestyle and promote well-being. With an outdoor pool, fine dining and some accommodations coming with butler service, Sugar Beach a Viceroy Resort is one of the premier Caribbean resorts for an extra-special vacation. 
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Landscaped grounds and fabulous sea views
  • A choice of fine dining opportunities
  • Complimentary Internet access
The Sugar Beach a Viceroy Resort rooms
The Sugar Beach a Viceroy Resort offers the ultimate in guest servicing. The high quality of the accommodation, along with comprehensive upscale facilities and amenities, directly reflects the thought put into the design of this exclusive resort. There is a choice of luxury sugar mill rooms and superior luxury sugar mill rooms, luxury and superior luxury villas, grand luxury villas and superior grand luxury villas, so guests have a wide choice based on their individual tastes and size of their party. All accommodations, however, are top-notch. This resort does not pull any punches, when it comes to quality of accommodation and service. Private walled gardens, along with plunge pools, are common features of the private villas, and the swimming pool and Great House is just a short walk away. In-room entertainment consists of flat-screen TV, a DVD and CD player, complimentary Internet access and tea- and coffee-making facilities. There is also a personalized butler service available, and the en suite bathrooms are distinctive in their signature amenities. These include claw footbaths and very spacious walk-in showers. Big four-poster beds in many of the accommodations complete the atmosphere of opulence throughout this resort, and guest room furnishings play heavily with the natural, teak wood effect to create a soothing ambience. 
Things To Do:
  • Sulphur Springs Park (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Gros Piton (8.8 mi/14.2 km)
  • St. Lucia Kite Surfing Center (20.6 mi/33.2 km)
  • Rodney Bay (34.9 mi/56.2 km)
  • St. Lucia Golf & Country Club (35.4 mi/56.9 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sugar Beach a Viceroy Resort formerly Jalousie Plantation also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.8 out of 5

Sugar Beach a Viceroy Resort formerly Jalousie Plantation Rooms

Luxury Sugar Mill Room King 400s
Luxury Sugar Mill Room King 400sqft/37sqm Private walled garden and plunge pool. Centrally located in resort with garden views.
K-Two Bedroom Luxury Villa Resid
This villa features a master bedroom with a king bed and a second bedroom with two queens
L-Two Bedroom Residence
Two Bedroom Residence the perfect choice for families or larger parties travelling together.
M-Three Bedroom Residence
Three bedroom Residence the perfect choice for families or larger parties travelling together.
O-Five Bedroom Residence
Five Bedroom Luxury Residence
N-Four Bedroom Residence
Four Bedroom Residence the perfect choice for families or larger parties travelling together.
B - Superior Luxury Sugar Mill
Superior Luxury Sugar Mill Room
Luxury Cottage KING 690sqft./64s
Luxury Cottage KING 690sqft./64sqm. A tranquil and spacious enclave with stunning views, private terrace and plunge pool.
F - Luxury Villa
Luxury Villa - One Bedroom Suite
Superior Luxury Villa KING 850sq
Superior Luxury Villa KING 850sqft/79sqm Our stylish 1-bedroom villa offers a laid- back ambiance for indoor-outdoor living.
Grand Luxury Villa Suite KG 1040
Grand Luxury Villa Suite KG 1040sf/97sm For ultimate seclusion our plush one-bedroom suites are suited for both families or couples.
I- Ocean View Grand Luxury Villa
Unobstructed ocean views meet pure luxury in the Ocean View Grand Luxury Villas 1040 sqft
Luxury Beachfront Bungalow KING
Lux Beachfront Bungalow KI 645sf/60sm Steps from the sea. Private courtyard with outdoor Jacuzzi shaded by thatched roof.
2-Bdrm Grand Lux Villa 1866sqft/
2-Bdrm Grand Luxury Villa 1866sqft/173sqm With in suite bathrooms and two living areas. Perfect for large families or friends to share.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
24 hour security
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Night club
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Meal Plan - MAP/half-board
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber shop
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Bidet

Dining

The Great Room
For discerning diners there is the elegant Great Room with its old world colonial charm serving Caribbean influenced fare in candlelit airconditioned surroundings. Open from 1830 last sitting at 2230pm Dress code is elegantly casual. shorts jeans caps
The Cane Bar
A new specialty rum bar featuring cutting edge style a wide selection of rum and a rummelier to help guide guests through their choices. In addition to the offerings behind the bar a range of tasty dishes to provide the perfect accompaniment to your chos
The Palm Court
Afternoon Tea is served daily on the Palm Court Verandah from 16:00 to 18:00
The Late Night Bar
Features funky cutting edge style and fantastic artwork. In addition to the air-conditioned lounge there is a open air terrace for cocktails under the stars and in the shadow of the Petit Piton. Open seven nights a week. Guest must be 18 years or older
Bayside Bar and Gril
Enjoy open-air sea side dining with a magnificent view of the Pitons available for breakfast- lunch and dinner. A la carte lunch available 12 30pm-3pm. Dress code for lunch and breakfast is casual bathing suits should be covered up. Dinner is served fro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (9)

Ratings and reviews for Sugar Beach a Viceroy Resort formerly Jalousie Plantation

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sugar Beach a Viceroy Resort formerly Jalousie Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
viaggiareebello
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Oct 14, 2014

The absolute BEST

Very professional, courteous service from start to finish. BEAUTIFUL grounds - really just beyond. The setting between the two pitons is stunning and one-of-a-kind. The infinity pool is large and tasteful, surrounded by semi-private cabanas on grass. The beach area has plenty of cabanas, free of charge for guests. Snorkeling is just off to the right (nice reef with plenty of fish, though I give the edge to Anse Chastenet) and all water sports are free. We loved paddle boarding especially. There was a lot of seaweed while we were there but they raked it up periodically. Upon checking in, they give you a hot towel that smells really good and also a welcome drink with coconut milk, coconut rum, coconut cream, and spices - SO GOOD! Then off to to your room... we had Sugar Mill 1, which I'd highly recommend. We had our dip pool in the back rather than the front courtyard. It felt so private and we loved relaxing there, drinking the gratis rum and (not gratis) coca cola. The bathtub is beautiful and well-situated. We didn't use the office but for those who need to get work done, it'd be a great place to work. Beautiful little flowers sprinkled throughout the room and a little "Welcome" floral sign on the bench. Huge shower. Total privacy easily achieved via all the shutters, gates/fences surrounding the room. Our room was ground floor, but we did not miss the view - get out to the pool or the beach to enjoy it! Also, our room was really close to reception and to the breakfast area, beach, pool, bars, etc. Some rooms, as I understand it, are pretty far and you have to take a little shuttle everywhere (OK you can definitely walk but it's farther). VERY HAPPY that the room had AC and wasn't any of that "open air" nonsense at most of the resorts in the area. The food was good at lunch/dinner but expensive considering portion sizes. Breakfast was more reasonably priced, in my opinion. All in all, would definitely go back and choose the exact same room, staying for 3 days. It's probably the best hotel I've ever stayed at when you consider the grounds, amenities, service and the privacy and taste of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Free paddle boarding and snorkeling were highlights; easy to access - to the right on the beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach a Viceroy Resort formerly Jalousie Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Globetrotter
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 18, 2014

Luxurious Paradise

Nestled between the two pitons with a completely private beach, you just can't beat SB's location. If you are looking for total privacy, luxury, and a breathtaking setting...this is it. The villas are beautifully designed and very comfortably furnished, and their terraces with the individual pools are kept immaculate. The staff is very friendly and helpful, we felt very taken care of. If you don't want to lift a finger, relax, and just enjoy your time there, this is the place. Good diving; nice reefs. The food was also very good; my only complaint was that the wine served by the glass left something to be desired (much smaller servings than usual and pricey). Better value is to get the whole bottle. The entree portions at the Great Room were also quite small (and I'm European). Other than that, great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dine at Boucan!!! It's a must. It is a fantastic restaurant that offers gourmet food at a reasonable price and at the right quantity. The duck confit was succulent, as was the marlin ceviche. A most original concept that delivers as far as flavors, excellent! Great staff too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach a Viceroy Resort formerly Jalousie Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Archer and The Bull
Business
Grand Rapids MI
Aug 24, 2014

Beautiful resort, great location

For me St Lucia was all about the Pitons! We always had a great view of them, from the beach, restaurants, and our room. We stayed in Sugar Mill room six. We loved having a private balcony, this is where we started and ended every day. We went in August & had great weather, only light rain & plenty of sun- the rain forest was lush and beautiful. The beach is great, we snorkeled every day. It is a little rocky but not bad. The visibility in the water is great and there are plenty of fish & other creatures to be seen. We did not do the all inclusive & came out way ahead (although we usually only eat 2 meals a day & bought some Piton beer in town at Soufriere). The food was all excellent but we appreciated the opportunity to venture to a few other restaurants, which we would not have done if we had done all inclusive. A 10% service charge and 10% VAT is added to everything so be aware of that. It can definitely get pricey but for us it was well worth it :) also taxi fare is $50 USD round trip for short distances (10 minute drive), so with how much we ventured out I think we saved by renting a car as well. The area is pretty easy to navigate, but the roads are a little crazy at times- very windy & sometimes quite narrow for two cars to pass. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing, romantic vacation in a beautiful area. There is plenty to do with water sports and tours and hikes. If you are looking for nightlife options and lots of shopping this probably isn't for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you venture out once to another restaurant I definitely recommend Boucan. The views and food are excellent. We didn't do the chocolate making course but heard good things about it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach a Viceroy Resort formerly Jalousie Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jabberjaw
Business
New York
Feb 25, 2014

Paradise

Stunning Setting, excellent service, great amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach a Viceroy Resort formerly Jalousie Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pvat
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 12, 2013

Really Great but Not 5 Star

While the location cannot be beat and the staff cannot be more friendly, the rooms and the details are overlooked. Room cleanliness is good but not great. The beds are much too soft and not everything is cleaned to 5 star standards. Also, little things like re-filling ice and other mini bar things are forgotten. Another example, there is a small movie DVD library but many are scratched beyond repair. Food at all the restaurants is above average for Caribbean standards but if you're not on all-inclusive plan, way too expensive. We will consider coming back but will keep an open mind about trying another 5 star resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach a Viceroy Resort formerly Jalousie Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newlywed T
Business
Philadelphia
Sep 19, 2012

Perfect Couples Retreat

The Ambiance at Jalouise was perfect! Very Chic and First Class the whole way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach a Viceroy Resort formerly Jalousie Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ocean Pearl
Business
San Jose,California
Aug 13, 2012

romantic getaway

This beautiful resort is in the such a unique location with wonderful view of two pitons and ocean. If you want a romantic and relax vacation, this is the right place. Rooms are beautifully decorated and patio outside and the pool in the patio has best view ever! Each room has their own butlers who always helpful and kind . Very well trained and professional. Snorkeling on the resort beach was really good , don't need to go on a snorkeling trip. We went for our Anniversary and we both were very happy! But If you want the night life and shopping, this is not right choice though. Downtown is about an hour away and there is a not much shopping available. Have a wonderful vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want to save money, go with meal plan but you need to go down to restaurant. If you rather have more flexible schedule and freedom, meal plan is not good .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach a Viceroy Resort formerly Jalousie Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Princess Kate
Business
New York
Jul 5, 2012

Dreamy vacation

Best place to stay if you're looking for privacy, incredible views, friendly people and amazing nature right at your door step. Plus luxury of a private pool, spacious rooms, combined with a natural tropical landscape, mountains and the beach. Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach a Viceroy Resort formerly Jalousie Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NY Couple
Business
NY
Jan 10, 2012

Superb Caribbean Resort

Great Experience - staff was friendly, room as advertised, food great, but the place is location, location, location. Absolutely gorgeous beach situated between the two Piton mountains. Couldn't get over how great the whole place was. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the sunset at Ladera resort about a 10 min taxi ride away and then stay for dinner. View and food are amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top