$375 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Stonefield Estate Resort

4 stars
Stonefield Estate, Soufriere,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
23 reviews
Romantic Escape

Fabulous people and service. My only suggestion is it should be an all inclusive. Eating gets... See full review

  • PrincePrincess
  • Jul 8, 2014
Great Anniversary Trip

This was a great place for rest, relaxation and romance. Our villa, Casaurina, was overlooking the... See full review

  • KimberDunc
  • Jun 24, 2013
Individual villas at St. Lucia resort with views of Petit Piton, sea
The Stonefield Estate Villa Resort sits on a former lime and cocoa plantation at the base of the Pitons. Each villa on the luxury resort is self-contained and designed in traditional West Indian style amongst tropical greenery. All villas include a private pool and private garden showers, some with full kitchen and some with kitchenette. In keeping with the rustic and romantic vibe, there are no TVs. These elegantly rustic villas and dramatic tropical backdrop afford visitors a chance to relax, luxuriate and rejuvenate. Enjoy al fresco dining at Mango Tree Restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel provides a shuttle to Jalousie Beach and Malgretoute Bay and can arrange tours (fees may apply). Bamboo Door spa offers a variety of packages
Highlights
  • A rustic, luxurious retreat set on an old plantation with views of Petit Piton and the sea
  • Accommodations are all separate villas, many with plunge pools and private garden showers
  • Elegant Mango Tree Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner
  • Shuttle to Jalousie Beach and Malgretoute Bay available
  • Bamboo Door spa on site at Stonefield Estate Villa Resort
Location

The 27-acre Stonefield Estate Resort is located in Soufriere, a picturesque colonial town.

Rooms

The villas have terra cotta tiles, rush mats and muslin mosquito nets over the beds. Much of the furniture, including the four poster beds, bedside tables and cabinets was made by the owners. Beyond the bathroom, with its his and hers basins, many of the villas have open-air, garden showers. The villas come with large open air verandas with private pools, full kitchens/kitchenettes, living/dining area, hammocks & pool loungers,private outdoor showers, ironing board and iron, safe deposit box, four-poster bed and iPod dock station.

Features

Guests at Stonefield Estate Villa Resort can avail of rejuvenating treatments at The Bamboo Door on site or take the shuttle service to arguably two of the nicest beaches on the island, Jalousie Beach and Malgretoute Bay. Arrangements may be made for snorkeling, scuba diving, whale & dolphin watching, nature hike, waterfall experience, rainforest tour, tennis, golf, zip line, kayaking, shopping excursions, horseback riding, sunset cruise ferries to Castries & Rodney Bay.

Dining

The al fresco dining pavilion of the Mango Tree Restaurant has views of Petit Piton and the Caribbean Sea. All ingredients on the Creole-influenced menu are sourced from local markets. A vegan and children's menu is available.

Transportation
  • Hewanorra International Airport (20.5 mi/32.9 km)
  • George F. L. Charles Airport (27.6 mi/44.4 km)
Attractions
  • Sulphur Springs (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • The Pitons (4.9 mi/8 km)
  • Castries (24.6 mi/39.6 km)
  • Marigot Bay (21.1 mi/33.9 km)
  • Diamond Botanical Gardens and Waterfall (24.8 mi/39.8 km)
  • Reduit Beach (33 mi/53.2 km)
  • Rodney Bay (33.4 mi/53.8 km)
  • Pigeon Island National Historic Park (35.1 mi/56.6 km)

Hotel Map

13.8447 -61.0605
Area served
Soufriere.
Nearby airports
Hewanorra International Airport. Vigie Airport.
Area description
St Lucia

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Stonefield Estate Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5

Stonefield Estate Resort Rooms

Hillside Ocean View 1BR Villas
Our Hillside Ocean View Villas are 1,254 square feet and have a panoramic view of the Caribbean Sea and the Pitons. These larger 1 br villas have a four post canopy bed, 1 private open air bathroom, full kitchens, a dining area and can accommodate up to 3 adults. Enjoy your own private pool complete with a relaxing hammock and lounge chairs and private out door showers.
Garden View 1BR VIllas
Our Garden View Villas are 693 square feet and have 1 bedroom with four post canopy bed, a dining room and 1 private open air bathroom, full kitchens and can accommodate up to 2 adults.
Ocean View 1BR Villas
Our Ocean View Villas are 916 square feet and have breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea and the Pitons. These 1 bedroom villas have a fours post canopy bed, 1 private open air bathroom, kitchenettes. Enjoy your own private pool, complete with a relaxing hammock and lounge chairs.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Mago Tree Restaurant
Mango Tree Restaurant, like the resort itself is tropically elegant. The al fresco dining pavilion looks out over a small river stone pool and takes in the magnificent Petit Piton and views of the Caribbean Sea. The Mango Tree Restaurant features a special vegan menu, as well as a children's menu. And to stir it up true Caribbean style, The Mango Tree presents a rotating dinner theme menu featuring the popular Barbecue Thursdays, a charming Creole evening with a live local shak shak band and the best baby back ribs and jerk bake on the west coast. The Saturday Market Affair serves up the best of what has been freshly procured at the nearby Soufriere market with live entertainment from local musicians. The Mango Tree is open for breakfast from 7.30 am until 11am and is open for lunch and dinner until 10 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Stonefield Estate Resort

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JollyRTexas
Houston
Oct 28, 2009

Lovely and Quiet

We were in St. Lucia for the first time for the wedding of my daughter, which was held at Jade Mountain. St. Lucia is strinkingly beautiful, which probably explains the large percentage of visitors that are there for weddings or honeymoons. The villas at Stonefield Estates are blended into the terrain and landscaping in such a way that one feels like you are in your own private paradise. My wife was taken aback by the outdoor shower, but quickly became accustomed to the idea and was never really bothered by them. Could be a problem if it is rainy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The general maintenance was good and the room and plunge pool were quite clean. The rooms are somewhat open, but closing shutters and a small air conditioner were adequate to keep the room comfortable for sleeping at night. We mostly kept the villa open during the day. St. Lucia in general is probably not a great place for anyone that it is physically challenged at all. The terrain is mountainous and the slopes are steep. Walking even relatively short distances can be a challenge. Driving is also a bit of an adventure with narrow, winding roads. We did not try the free shuttle service to the Jalousie Beach. The resort does not have direct beach access of its own. Our experience with the food at the Mango Tree restuarant at the hotel was that it varied from good to very good. But, I would not say excellent. We ate twice at Anse Chastenet/Jade Mountain. Their food was excellent. Food everywhere in St. Lucia is quite expensive, even by island standards. Remember, even locally produced food on this place cannot be grown and delivered with high productivity. We would definately consider going back to Stonefield Estates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Best we could tell, there is little to no night life on this part of the island. If you are looking for a party, I would not look here.

Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ellieqtrhorse
Jamestown, Ohio
Oct 28, 2013

Romantic Getaway

This is the perfect place if you want a quiet getaway. All of the staff are very attentive and friendly. St. Lucia has to be the most beautiful place that I have ever been. I hope to go back some day. You will not meet any friendlier people than the people of this island. Stonefiel has the most stunning views you will see. The only only thing that we didn't like is they advertise full kitchens in the rooms and there is no microwave or stove. At least a microwave would be nice. There is also no tv in the room. Not that we really needed one but it would be nice. Overall a wonderful place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

We did not have a meal that we did not like. All of the food was delicious.

Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chatham, IL
Aug 9, 2010

Wonderful resort, but ...

I would highly recommend the Stonefield Estates for couples on honeymoon or anniversary. The staff was VERY friendly and catered to all requests. The food at the resort restaurant (The Mango Tree) was great. We also enjoyed the personal pool at our villa. The only negative we had with the resort was that the villa was not air conditioned. During the day it was too hot to stay inside and sleeping was uncomfortably hot and sticky. The number one tip I can offer is DO NOT rent a car. Plan on using the resorts airport shuttle service and only leave the resort in an excursion booked through the resort. There has been major road improvement throughout the island, but driving in the cities was VERY uncomfortable. Local men will step in front of your car and then give you directions expecting to be paid for their "help". They were very aggressive and ruined the overall island experience for us. I have traveled in Mexico, Jamaica and other Caribbean islands and this was the first time I felt unsafe traveling alone. St Lucia is a beautiful island and great place to vacation provided you stay on resort property unless accompanied by an excursion leader.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

The only place to eat is at the various resorts. If you plan to eat someplace other then the Stonefield, call ahead to make reservations. We tried the restaurants at the Ladera and Joulise resorts for diner. Both had exceptional food, but not any better than the Mango Tree at the Stonefield. (The Joulise was a major hassle to get into.)

Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DB12
New York
Apr 17, 2012

Relaxing getaway

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Stonefield. The hotel is pretty good and the room are very clean. The location is very nice and we had a nice room with spectacular views of the Pitons. The hotel doesn't have a gym and if you consider excercising that could be a problem since the area is very mountanious. Taxis are extremely expensive and we suggest you rent a car or else you end up spending your time between the beach and the hotel (the hotel offers a shuttle service to the Jalousie hotel resort). Just be aware that people in St Lucia tend to be overfriendly and very intimidating from time to time. They approach you constantly trying to sell you stuff or offering their "help". A man literally threw himself in front of our car trying to get a ride. Dining at the hotel doesn't come cheap (121USD per couple) and the food wasn't that great. Breakfast was very good though. The resort offers a variety of excursions but again, they come quite pricy. We were very happy with renting the car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you don't want to spend over 120 USD per night on food, we found this small restaurant overlooking the sea in Soufriere called "Le Petit Fleur". If you don't mind the humble appearance, the food (especially fish) is great, extremely fresh and tasty. The cook is open to changes in the menu (I love my fish simply grilled with no sauces) and she did a great job at it adding a touch of personal taste with some butter and parsley. All for 57USD per couple.

Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Khoofo
Dubai, UAE
Nov 3, 2013

Honeymoon

Over all the hotel is great, we stayed at Flamboyant villa. The view was just amazing private pool was awesome specially for honeymoon. The mango tree restaurant was amazing the food was so yummy and fresh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sugar beach, they have amazing dinner buffeh and beautiful beach and view

Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boulder, CO
Jul 15, 2011

good

The hotel was overall good. My wife and I traveled here during the second week of July. The hotel was very nice. We booked a jungle room and were upgraded to an ocean view. The hotel has one restaurant "The Mango Tree". We only ate here one time for dinner. The food was very good but was very expensive ($50 a person). The staff here was great. The beer at the bar was very reasonably priced ($3.50) for a beer. The beech that is in walking distance is not the nicest beech. The shuttle does take you to Jalousie beech resort that is about 10 minuets away. This is a very nice beech, but you can only get there 3 times of day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If I was do this over again, I would have rented a car. The taxi's get very expensive going into town to eat. Also the excursions also add up when you don't have a car and the price to get to and from the airport is $60-$70 each way.

Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pugsley18
Brooklyn, NY
Jan 29, 2014

Wonderful Couples Retreat

Stonefield sits on a beautiful location overlooking Petit Piton and the ocean. The grounds are incredibly beautiful and the views are amazing. We stayed in the Tamarind villa, and it was private and very relaxing. The villa had AC, a kitchenette, a king bed with mosquito net, a private pool, a hammock, and an outdoor shower. We loved staying there, and enjoyed many meals, including complimentary breakfasts at the Mango Tree restaurant. Stonefield sits close to many attractions in Soufriere, we had a car and drove to most of them ourselves. The only thing I wish was that we had easier access to the beaches. There are 3 beaches that are close...Anse Piton (at Sugar Beach Resort), Anse Chastenet (has access to Anse Mamin), and Anse Malgretout. Each was a drive, and at the first 3, you end up getting treated like 2nd class citizens because the resorts that are actually on the beach won't give you access to chairs or umbrellas, or they'll only put you on one side of the beach. Malgretout is a local beach. It's beautiful, and worth a visit, but if no one is on the beach, it feels a little unsafe. Stonefield is in the middle of the rainforest. It rains a lot, and we were not there in the rainy season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Martha's Tables serves delicious lunch Mon-Fri. Don't miss it for a taste of local cuisine. It's not fancy though, if you want fancy, have lunch at Hotel Chocolat or Dasheene at Ladera resort.

Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy bottoms
atlanta georgia
Apr 9, 2013

amazing views

I just came back from 5 days at Stonefield and had a wonderful time. The staff was friendly, our villa had an amazing ocean view and our very own secluded pool. The view every morning from the restaurant is incredible(loved that breakfast was included). My only critique is that the front desk will book things for you but didn't seem to do much for getting the price down. Definitely make sure you ask for a lower rate when hiring drivers, water taxis etc. The first price is sometimes double the final price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
puckface
Ft Lauderdale, FL
May 13, 2014

A villa with a spectacular view

The villa and the service was excellent. We had a great time, our villa was very private abnd we loved the private pool outdoor our bed room. The food was awesome but very expensive. That was the only downfall. Dinner for two was around $160.00 US every night. A lot of money for fish and rice. Overall one of the best vacations ever. We will go back..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Take a taxi to some local restaurants and the food would be more reasonable

Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B and M
NJ
Feb 28, 2012

pleasant trip

i stayed at bamboo room for 4 nights, everything was excellent but the bed was kinda hard. no other complains. loved the outdoor shower and private room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

its on location. but every expensive

Back to menu Return to top

Change search