$262 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 24, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Stonefield Estate Resort

4 stars
Stonefield Estate, Soufriere,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
23 reviews
Romantic Escape

Fabulous people and service. My only suggestion is it should be an all inclusive. Eating gets... See full review

  • PrincePrincess
  • Jul 8, 2014
Great Anniversary Trip

This was a great place for rest, relaxation and romance. Our villa, Casaurina, was overlooking the... See full review

  • KimberDunc
  • Jun 24, 2013
Individual villas at St. Lucia resort with views of Petit Piton, sea
The Stonefield Estate Villa Resort sits on a former lime and cocoa plantation at the base of the Pitons. Each villa on the luxury resort is self-contained and designed in traditional West Indian style amongst tropical greenery. All villas include a private pool and private garden showers, some with full kitchen and some with kitchenette. In keeping with the rustic and romantic vibe, there are no TVs. These elegantly rustic villas and dramatic tropical backdrop afford visitors a chance to relax, luxuriate and rejuvenate. Enjoy al fresco dining at Mango Tree Restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel provides a shuttle to Jalousie Beach and Malgretoute Bay and can arrange tours (fees may apply). Bamboo Door spa offers a variety of packages
Highlights
  • A rustic, luxurious retreat set on an old plantation with views of Petit Piton and the sea
  • Accommodations are all separate villas, many with plunge pools and private garden showers
  • Elegant Mango Tree Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner
  • Shuttle to Jalousie Beach and Malgretoute Bay available
  • Bamboo Door spa on site at Stonefield Estate Villa Resort
Location

The 27-acre Stonefield Estate Resort is located in Soufriere, a picturesque colonial town.

Rooms

The villas have terra cotta tiles, rush mats and muslin mosquito nets over the beds. Much of the furniture, including the four poster beds, bedside tables and cabinets was made by the owners. Beyond the bathroom, with its his and hers basins, many of the villas have open-air, garden showers. The villas come with large open air verandas with private pools, full kitchens/kitchenettes, living/dining area, hammocks & pool loungers,private outdoor showers, ironing board and iron, safe deposit box, four-poster bed and iPod dock station.

Features

Guests at Stonefield Estate Villa Resort can avail of rejuvenating treatments at The Bamboo Door on site or take the shuttle service to arguably two of the nicest beaches on the island, Jalousie Beach and Malgretoute Bay. Arrangements may be made for snorkeling, scuba diving, whale & dolphin watching, nature hike, waterfall experience, rainforest tour, tennis, golf, zip line, kayaking, shopping excursions, horseback riding, sunset cruise ferries to Castries & Rodney Bay.

Dining

The al fresco dining pavilion of the Mango Tree Restaurant has views of Petit Piton and the Caribbean Sea. All ingredients on the Creole-influenced menu are sourced from local markets. A vegan and children's menu is available.

Transportation
  • Hewanorra International Airport (20.5 mi/32.9 km)
  • George F. L. Charles Airport (27.6 mi/44.4 km)
Attractions
  • Sulphur Springs (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • The Pitons (4.9 mi/8 km)
  • Castries (24.6 mi/39.6 km)
  • Marigot Bay (21.1 mi/33.9 km)
  • Diamond Botanical Gardens and Waterfall (24.8 mi/39.8 km)
  • Reduit Beach (33 mi/53.2 km)
  • Rodney Bay (33.4 mi/53.8 km)
  • Pigeon Island National Historic Park (35.1 mi/56.6 km)

Hotel Map

13.8447 -61.0605
Area served
Soufriere.
Nearby airports
Hewanorra International Airport. Vigie Airport.
Area description
St Lucia

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Stonefield Estate Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5

Stonefield Estate Resort Rooms

Hillside Ocean View 1BR Villas
Our Hillside Ocean View Villas are 1,254 square feet and have a panoramic view of the Caribbean Sea and the Pitons. These larger 1 br villas have a four post canopy bed, 1 private open air bathroom, full kitchens, a dining area and can accommodate up to 3 adults. Enjoy your own private pool complete with a relaxing hammock and lounge chairs and private out door showers.
Garden View 1BR VIllas
Our Garden View Villas are 693 square feet and have 1 bedroom with four post canopy bed, a dining room and 1 private open air bathroom, full kitchens and can accommodate up to 2 adults.
Ocean View 1BR Villas
Our Ocean View Villas are 916 square feet and have breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea and the Pitons. These 1 bedroom villas have a fours post canopy bed, 1 private open air bathroom, kitchenettes. Enjoy your own private pool, complete with a relaxing hammock and lounge chairs.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Mago Tree Restaurant
Mango Tree Restaurant, like the resort itself is tropically elegant. The al fresco dining pavilion looks out over a small river stone pool and takes in the magnificent Petit Piton and views of the Caribbean Sea. The Mango Tree Restaurant features a special vegan menu, as well as a children's menu. And to stir it up true Caribbean style, The Mango Tree presents a rotating dinner theme menu featuring the popular Barbecue Thursdays, a charming Creole evening with a live local shak shak band and the best baby back ribs and jerk bake on the west coast. The Saturday Market Affair serves up the best of what has been freshly procured at the nearby Soufriere market with live entertainment from local musicians. The Mango Tree is open for breakfast from 7.30 am until 11am and is open for lunch and dinner until 10 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Stonefield Estate Resort

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CaribbeanGal
Business
California
Jul 14, 2012

Best resort I've ever stayed at!

This resort is so secluded and private and romantic! The staff is so friendly and helpful all the time! The rooms are always kept very clean, and the views from the rooms and restaurant are breathtaking! It is a perfect place for couples! Absolutely breathtaking!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DB12
Business
New York
Apr 17, 2012

Relaxing getaway

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Stonefield. The hotel is pretty good and the room are very clean. The location is very nice and we had a nice room with spectacular views of the Pitons. The hotel doesn't have a gym and if you consider excercising that could be a problem since the area is very mountanious. Taxis are extremely expensive and we suggest you rent a car or else you end up spending your time between the beach and the hotel (the hotel offers a shuttle service to the Jalousie hotel resort). Just be aware that people in St Lucia tend to be overfriendly and very intimidating from time to time. They approach you constantly trying to sell you stuff or offering their "help". A man literally threw himself in front of our car trying to get a ride. Dining at the hotel doesn't come cheap (121USD per couple) and the food wasn't that great. Breakfast was very good though. The resort offers a variety of excursions but again, they come quite pricy. We were very happy with renting the car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you don't want to spend over 120 USD per night on food, we found this small restaurant overlooking the sea in Soufriere called "Le Petit Fleur". If you don't mind the humble appearance, the food (especially fish) is great, extremely fresh and tasty. The cook is open to changes in the menu (I love my fish simply grilled with no sauces) and she did a great job at it adding a touch of personal taste with some butter and parsley. All for 57USD per couple.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
too cold up north
Business
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Apr 9, 2012

Fabulous romantic getaway

Stonefield Villas provided a secluded, romantic oasis. Our villa provided a spectacular view of the ocean and a partial view of the Petit Piton. We loved the large plunge pool, hammock and outdoor shower. The complete privacy with the rainforest on one side was perfect. Staff at this hotel were wonderful and the breakfasts every morning were delicious with a beautiful view from the tables. Location at South end of island is close to lots of wonderful attractions but not really within walking distance to anything. We rented a car for the week to explore the island and eat at different restaurants. Loved the resort and t he island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mango Tree Restaurant at hotel was very good, but if you want to try a variety of food and go to other restaurants, you will need a car. Nothing is really within walking distance (particularly at night, in the dark) or you will spend quite a bit on cabs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B and M
Business
NJ
Feb 28, 2012

pleasant trip

i stayed at bamboo room for 4 nights, everything was excellent but the bed was kinda hard. no other complains. loved the outdoor shower and private room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

its on location. but every expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SEGMN
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Wonderful start to our St. Lucia honeymoon

We stayed at Stonefield for a few nights to begin our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. We were greeted with fresh juices and cool towels upon arrival before we were promptly checked in and ushered to our ocean-view villa, Ginger Lily. The view was breathtaking, the room was very clean and charming. We loved the outdoor shower, double vanity, large walk-in closet and of course, the amazing private outdoor living area and plunge pool. The service was outstanding throughout our entire stay, the food at Mango Tree was fresh and authentic. We would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the complimentary shuttle to Jalousie Beach, incredible views of the pitons and beach activities available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder, CO
Jul 15, 2011

good

The hotel was overall good. My wife and I traveled here during the second week of July. The hotel was very nice. We booked a jungle room and were upgraded to an ocean view. The hotel has one restaurant "The Mango Tree". We only ate here one time for dinner. The food was very good but was very expensive ($50 a person). The staff here was great. The beer at the bar was very reasonably priced ($3.50) for a beer. The beech that is in walking distance is not the nicest beech. The shuttle does take you to Jalousie beech resort that is about 10 minuets away. This is a very nice beech, but you can only get there 3 times of day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If I was do this over again, I would have rented a car. The taxi's get very expensive going into town to eat. Also the excursions also add up when you don't have a car and the price to get to and from the airport is $60-$70 each way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 17, 2010

Takes your breath away!

Solo traveler on a last minute spur of the moment trip. This Estate is gorgeous. It is such a good value for the type of rooms you can get. Private pool in every room. The villas have the best views of the Petit Piton and those wonderful Carribbean sunsets. The restaurant - Mango Tree - is delicious and affordable. The Front desk staff is very helpful. The General Manager introduced himself which was also a nice touch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chatham, IL
Aug 9, 2010

Wonderful resort, but ...

I would highly recommend the Stonefield Estates for couples on honeymoon or anniversary. The staff was VERY friendly and catered to all requests. The food at the resort restaurant (The Mango Tree) was great. We also enjoyed the personal pool at our villa. The only negative we had with the resort was that the villa was not air conditioned. During the day it was too hot to stay inside and sleeping was uncomfortably hot and sticky. The number one tip I can offer is DO NOT rent a car. Plan on using the resorts airport shuttle service and only leave the resort in an excursion booked through the resort. There has been major road improvement throughout the island, but driving in the cities was VERY uncomfortable. Local men will step in front of your car and then give you directions expecting to be paid for their "help". They were very aggressive and ruined the overall island experience for us. I have traveled in Mexico, Jamaica and other Caribbean islands and this was the first time I felt unsafe traveling alone. St Lucia is a beautiful island and great place to vacation provided you stay on resort property unless accompanied by an excursion leader.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The only place to eat is at the various resorts. If you plan to eat someplace other then the Stonefield, call ahead to make reservations. We tried the restaurants at the Ladera and Joulise resorts for diner. Both had exceptional food, but not any better than the Mango Tree at the Stonefield. (The Joulise was a major hassle to get into.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. R. B.
Business
Apache Junction, AZ
Jun 12, 2010

Great trip !

Very nice and with complimentary breakfast, made it even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We actaully were working at the Sulphur Springs and Qualibou volcano as we are both scientists.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shannon Bonnanon
Business
New York City, NY
Jun 1, 2010

St. Lucia Vaca at Stonefield Estate

Wake up every morning with the most beautiful view on the island and the tastiest breakfast. Everyone is beyond friendly and personable at Stonefield, which is why we returned. The villas are great as you get your own with your personal pool and outdoor shower. The grounds are beautiful with a bounty of mangoes that you can pick and eat all day long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The snorkeling at Jalousie Beach is my favorite, even over Anse Chatenet (which the black sand is great, but I didn't think the snorkeling was better) and Jalousie is closer and a free ride from Stonefield compared to Anse Chastenet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top