$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Fond Doux Holiday Plantation

3 stars
Soufriere Road, Soufriere,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
6 reviews
Great Staff, Great Room

The rooms are unique and are in themselves worth staying. We were in the treehouse with a private... See full review

  • bxtraveler
  • Apr 29, 2014
Fond Doux Plantation, St. Lucia

This plantation is midway between the international airport and the Castries, St. Lucia's largest... See full review

  • RunBikeSwim
  • Mar 11, 2014
Fond Doux Holiday Plantation has a jewel of a setting, nestled in a lush, cool tropical valley within Saint Lucia's World Heritage Site. With the famous twin Peaks of Gros & Pet it Piton behind them, you could not find a more picturesque holiday location. Fond Doux is the oldest working holiday plantation in the Eastern Caribbean, established since the 19th Centaury. Although Fond Doux has Ten unique cottages to rent, it has not forgotten its roots and strives to keep the plantation running, just as it used to be. This is not a "tourist show" but a living, breathing estate where you can feel the pulse of Saint Lucia and its amazing people. Fond Doux Holiday Plantation has become a certified member of Green Globe International. This prestigious position gives the plantation and by extension St.Lucia visibility on the International marketplace. It makes Fond Doux a recognized leader in environmental conservation on the island that other businesses in tourism are benchmarking against. Fond Doux Holiday Plantation is a vacation destination unrivaled and unmatched in its offering authentic St.Lucia and Caribbean Hospitality. Colonial style cottages are your accommodations, ideal for guests who appreciate history and nature set in this tranquil paradise. Some of these cottages were due for demolition in other parts of the island. Seeing history and culture about to be destroyed, the owners of Fond Doux brought the cottages to the plantation. They were then lovingly restored, preserving and keeping the Creole Architecture; the hand carved details, fretwork, wooden-shingle and hip configurations, which makes each cottage unique.The cottages are situated with care, surrounded by light whispering breezes, serenity and birdsong that infuse the atmosphere. The estate comprises of well kept pebbled trails with gentle walks among the Cocoa Trees, Bananas, Coconuts, Coffee, Nutmeg, Cinnamon and a variety of Citrus. The Lamontagne trail, named after the owners offers a lovely view of the Pet it Piton and Jalousie Bay. Fond Doux Holiday Plantation is also open to day-trippers wanting to learn about Cocoa production and/or wandering around the tropical grounds. Guests are free to partake in the "Cocoa Rina" dance. This daily ritual is part of the Cocoa production process and is done to polish the Cocoa beans before roasting.The Jardin Cacao Restaurant is one of two restaurants on the plantation and is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. It makes the most of St. Lucian ingredients. Indeed the fruit and vegetables come form the estate which is one of St. Lucia`s rare certified organic farms. During the day, the tropical garden gives shade and colour to the Bamboo-timbered restaurant. In the evening, flambeau touches and candlelight provides a warm ambiance. The Mama La Terre Spa has recently opened its doors and is committed to creating the relaxing atmosphere that is conducive to renewing mind, body and soul. Treatments include Swedish massage, manicures and their signature treatment, the Chocolate scrub and wrap. Whether you are looking for a hard earned vacation, a picture perfect wedding or an extra ordinary Honeymoon retreat in Paradise, Fond Doux can deliver it all and then some. They seek to offer you a real, valued welcome to their island. Fond Doux Holiday Plantation is a unique property in St. Lucia. Being a certified organic farm selling locally and a member of Green Globe they lead the way in Sustainable Tourism in St. Lucia. These cottages accommodations are refurbished to the highest standard, with delightful balconies to the tranquility. They were voted the "Second Best Plantation Retreat in the World" by the Guardian Travel newspaper and were recently awarded a "2012 Certificate of Excellence Award" by Tripadvisor. Travelers consistently commend their property with the highest praise, and Trip advisor have recognized their 4.5 rating as an exceptional achievement.

Hotel Map

13.822 -61.0502
Area served
Soufriere.
Nearby airports
Distance form Vigie Airport (SLU) to hotel: 51km/80min. Distance from Hewanorra Airport (UVF) to hotel: 28 km/40min.
Area description
Fond Doux Holiday Plantation is 4km south of the town of Soufriere, St. Lucia in the Eastern Caribbean. Situated in cool vally at 1100ft above Sea Level, it is an ideal location to visit the popular visitor attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fond Doux Holiday Plantation also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Fond Doux Holiday Plantation Rooms

1 bd. Garden View Cottage
Offers 1 Queen bed with refrigerator, alarm clock, room service, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, kettle, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service, telephone, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer. These are one bedroom cottages built in a ginger bread style with rain-forest shingles on the outside. Each cottage has a porch with seating area and table. Approx 30m sq, equipped with roof fans, fridge and mosquito netting. Telephone to connect with front desk & personal safe.
2 bd. Garden View Cottage
Two Deluxe Rooms offer 2 king beds. All have with refrigerator, alarm clock, room service, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, kettle, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service, telephone, mini bar, crockery / cutlery, non-smoking rooms, en-suite / private bathroom, full kitchen in two bedroom cottage and hairdryer. The Deluxe cottages are all uniquely styled. Two of the four Deluxe rooms have two double bedrooms. All have minimum 60m sq, fridge and other facilities include kitchenette and one also has a plunge pool. All have telephones, safe, balcony.
1 bd. Honeymoon Cottage
Caribbean architecture in a stunning secluded location at the plantation. This one bedroom cottage with its en-suite bathroom, spacious living area with plunge pool is furnished with a king four poster bed, combined with locally made bamboo lamps, bright tropical drapes at the windows and doors which blends with the plantation. Lush tropical foliage and colorful flowering plants flourish throughout the Plantation and surround the cottage adding a sense of privacy for guests.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Jardin Cacao & Coco Pod
Fond Doux Holiday Plantation has two open sided restaurants, Jardin Cacao & Coco Pod. Both are beautifully appointed with the structure in the heart of the plantation serving Breakfast and Lunch daily. Service style is casual with produce taken from the organic estate.Jardin Caco Restaurant and Bar is set amidst an unspoiled tropical rain-forest. The structure is made form Tropical Bamboo, each peace individually selected and cut, to achoeve an ambiance of natural beauty. The service is more formal but with a friendly and romantic atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (6)

Ratings and reviews for Fond Doux Holiday Plantation

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 6
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kuzzo
Beverly Hills, California
Apr 4, 2012

Getaway From the Outside World

This is a great place if you want to getaway from the outside world. My lover and I were very pleased with our stay at Fond Doux. It was like no place we have ever been to. We stayed in the African Cottgae and it was great. The room was pretty and we loved the setting of the cottage. Also we loved the idea that we got fresh fruits to our cottage every morning. The food was amazing and we loved the Sous Kaye and also the Nightly specails. Complements to the chefs. We would like to say thanks we all the staff that treated us well, Indira and katrina in the front office, susaney, tracy, lovely and beverly. we look forwrd to visiting Fond Doux again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

the food is great and excellent. you must try the lamontange sous kaye it is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bxtraveler
New York, New York
Apr 29, 2014

Great Staff, Great Room

The rooms are unique and are in themselves worth staying. We were in the treehouse with a private plunge pool and a four post bed with netting, even had we not been in a beautiful setting the room itself would have been enough. The setting though, happens to be beautiful and really makes you feel that you're away. The staff was amazing, especially Dennis, the driver. We had a few emergencies on our trip and the entire staff went out of their way to support us. They never made it feel like a big deal and we still had a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rian
New St, New York, NY 10029, USA
Apr 4, 2012

A surprise getaway

The love of my life and I recently stayed at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation. It was my first visit to St.Lucia. Brad was the one who made the booking as a surprise 30th birthday present for me. We stayed in the Tree House cottage. My God! when I entered the cottage it took my breath away. The bed was decorated with rose petals and the room was lit up with candles. I was in heaven. There was a huge banner in the cottage with a question every girl whose in love wants to be asked. "Will you marry me?" I said yes. I want to thank Indira and the entire Fond Doux team for making that day possible. The food was delicious. I had a wonderful time. See you again in December.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jacqui 01
Ontario, Canada
Apr 4, 2012

Tropical Paradise at it's best!!

My husband and I recently stayed at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation and we must say that this was the best part of our stay in St. Lucia. The website does not do the place enough justice as it was more beautiful when we got there. The cottages are ideally located amongst lush tropical foliage and this was really an escape from the everyday life.There are three cascading pools and you get some magnificent views from the pool deck. This was the best food we had on the island and don't forget to try out their famous sousekaye!!. The staff are very welcoming always willing to offer their help. The estate guy Philip brought us some fresh coconuts and we must say that this was so refreshing- We are already planning our next visit with the kids. Thank you so much for a relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathy watercolor artist
Frankfort, indiana
Nov 11, 2013

Loved our charming rainforest cabin!

Loved the charmingly restored Bamboo cottage we stayed in! Lovely gingerbread wood cutout details let light shine in and tall ceiling added to ambiance. Spacious bathroom with pretty hand-carved mirror and circular window in shower. Cabin setting was also lovely with lush vegetation surrounding its nice front porch. Pathways through the rainforest loed us easily to the restaurant and lobby area. Dinner at the restaurant here was very good , esp. The fish catch of the day. Beautiful restaurant and reasonable prices. We felt the only thing lacking was the breakfast - it was average, and the service was slow. We rented a car for the week and recommend this, as it allowed us to tour many sites nearby and see the entire island. Driving is not for the feint of heart (very twisting and mountainous road) but the main roads are in good condition and my husband enjoyed driving. Highly recommend Tet Paul trail and snorkeling at sugar beach (at jealousy plantation) and Anse Chastenet beach. We also recommend eating at Orlando's restaurant in Souffriere Very gourmet food with excellent service - uses all local food. We loved our stay and the beauty of this island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RunBikeSwim
Colorado Springs
Mar 11, 2014

Fond Doux Plantation, St. Lucia

This plantation is midway between the international airport and the Castries, St. Lucia's largest city. It is a revived cocoa plantation with many different types of tropical plants and trees with fruits and spices. We stayed in a very nice cabin located in the jungle and went to sleep with cricket, frog and bird chirps. There is a nice restaurant often with nightly live entertainment. Our package came with breakfast that was quite satisfying. The staff is exceedingly friendly and helpful. There is a shuttle to a nearby beach and the nearest town, Soufriere is an authentic Caribbean experience. If you are looking to be in the lap-of-luxury, beach side resort, this is not your place. But if you are looking for a very unique place with nice amenities, then Fond Doux Plantation is the place to be on St. Lucia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We took the Plantation's walking tour. This was very interesting to learn about all the edible fruits, vegetables and spices that are on the property.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search