$127 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Petro Palace

4 stars
View map of 14 Malaya Morskaya Str., Saint Petersburg, 190000

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
7 reviews
Excellent

I was very imressed by staying in this hotel. Well done! See full review

  • Valkos
  • Nov 28, 2013
Great Location

The Petro Palace is in the best location in St. Petersburg. It is on a nice quite street, and only... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 12, 2011
The 4 star Petro Palace Hotel is located in the historic centre of St Petersburg on Malaya Morskaya Street. The Petro Palace Hotel occupies the famous fully restored Staal's building, preserved for its historical and cultural value since the early 1900's.
The Petro Palace Hotel has 194 comfortable rooms, of which 25 rooms are first class suite rooms. The rooms on the 8th floor (mansard rooms) have beautiful views over Saint Petersburg. The hotel also offers free breakfast to its guests.

Petro Palace Rooms

Standard room
Standard room offers 1 queen bed or 2 twin beds. The Standard Rooms have a contemporary design with total area of 16-24 sqm. All rooms have individually-controlled air-conditioning, and the following amenities: direct dial phone, radio, colour TV set with major satellite news channels, Pay TV, minibar, safe, spy hole and deadlock. Bathrooms have either a bathtub, or a shower, underfloor heating and are equipped with hairdryer, a make-up mirror and various bath amenities. Some rooms feature a connecting door.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hermitage Museum: 0.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
7 modern conference rooms accommodating 17-100 people equipped with wide range of meeting equipment: high definition LCD projectors, over head projectors
High speed Wired and WiFi Internet connection, sound system with wireless mikes and much more.

Dining

Baron Restaurant
Traditional dishes of Russian cuisine from the chef.
Sky Bar
Located on the 7th floor, the Sky Bar is one of the best places to enjoy wonderful panoramic view of the city.
Lobby Bar
A cozy bar with variety of snacks, desserts and great choice of cold and hot drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Petro Palace

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 7
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Petro Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Valkos
Business
US
Nov 28, 2013

Excellent

I was very imressed by staying in this hotel. Well done!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petro Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunshine Surfer III
Business
new york ny
Oct 14, 2013

good for business travelers

located very close to the Nevski prospect (main ave. in the city ) and St Isaac cathedral, it is very convenient. generally speaking its a great hotel for the price and with a nice swimming pool and sauna its worth of staying. for a 4 star hotel bars and restaurants could be more upscale, and interiors need bit more design and probably artworks to be at the 4star level. Interiors, furniture are all brand new which is nice, and rooms have very high ceilings, also a pleasant surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petro Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Potato chips
Business
California
Sep 4, 2012

Great location but a 2 to 3 star quality

The hotel is close to everything! It' within walking distance to the St. Isaac Cathedral and the Hermitage. But the room I stayed in was small. That's after I requested to change rooms twice, because I was first given a room right next to the Sky Bar which was noisy. The bathroom had the bare minimum and didn't feel like the cleanest. The swimming pool looked dirty. Also, the Wifi, which I had to pay extra for, broke down for one day. The breakfast buffet was not bad. The English level of the hotel staff was average. Overall, the hotel didn't live up to its 4-star rating, but the location was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petro Palace

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
intesar
Business
uk
Aug 2, 2012

city break

the hotel staff were not polite enough on the first day at the checking in when we asked about our passports that were taken away for registration . on the second night we asked the receptionist to look at the airconditioning system which was not working well. the weather was really hot and stuffy. the receptionist said she will send an engineer in 5-10 minutes but we did not get one after waiting for more than one hour. i had to phone again to reception saying it is now 12 midnight and no one has come to our room and we want to go to bed, i therefore asked to look into it next day. in the morning i went to reception to report the same thing and the fact that no one turned up to look at the airconditioning system. the receptionist did not know any thing about the incident and obviously was embaressed and promised to send someone to repair the cooling system which happened soon but the cooling system was not great any way even after perair but a little improvement seen. when we checked out the receptionist said that you have to pay the adminstration fee which was not mentioned at the time of the booking or at the time of checking in. when i asked why this was not mentioned before he said the recptionist should have mentioned it to you when you checked in but they forgot. the room was basic. the lift is always busy and you have to wait a considerable time for it. the breakfast was poor and the dining room was understaffed . food run out and not replaced till after a long while due to understaff problems. this hotel is NOT good value for money at all. apart from the location , nothing else deserves the money we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petro Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jul 12, 2011

Great Location

The Petro Palace is in the best location in St. Petersburg. It is on a nice quite street, and only a couple of block blocks from the Nevsky Prospect, main street of St. Petersburg. The concierge service was wonderful and booked us a private guided tour with Natasha for the Hermitage. One really needs a guide because the Hermitage is so massive it would take you weeks to see everything. [...] knew all the history about everything we looked at, and we wasted no time in seeing all the highlights, plus you don't have to wait in a very, very long line for tickets. The Hermitage is also only two and a half blocks from the hotel, so you can walk back there anytime you want. The hotel concierge also booked us a very enjoyable tour to Catherine's Palace. The beautiful Church of The Spilled Blood is another very close attraction, as well as many others, the souvenir stalls behind the church have the best prices in all of St. Petersburg, but if you don't have time to go there, the hotel shop wasn't so bad either as to selection and price. We also took the Hop on and Hop off Bus, which I usually really like, but in St. Petersburg, I wouldn't recommend it since it only drives you up and down Nevsky Prospect, and you can walk there easily from the hotel.The Petro Palace has really great beef stroganoff, we only ordered room service, but it was really nice. However, the restaurant has a dancing bear show if you're interested in that kind of thing. Don't get a room on the third floor because that is where their giant, laundry operation room is, and the whole third floor is always really hot and humid. The reason they call it the Petro Palace is because it was once a real palace, so some of the rooms are quite a walk from the elevator. If you spend any time in the hotel as we did, 10 days, you will notice that the hotel seems to be really two hotels in one. One side has basic decorations in the hallways and basic rooms, and the other half has stained glass windows and really nice carpet and wall decorations, which is where the suites are located. The hotel has free high speed internet service in the lobby where there is a bar you can buy drinks and some treats, if you wish, while checking your email and watching the exotic fish swimming in the tank. The Italian restaurant across the street "Da Vinci" has really great pizza, along with many traditional Russian dishes such as dumplings, which were delicious. We would recommend the Petro Palace to anyone visiting St. Petersburg. It is really a great location. As for the staff, they all spoke English, some may seem standoffish by Americans but this is Russian and not the US. They are not on vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The souvenir stalls behind the Church of The Spilled Blood have the best prices in all of St. Petersburg, but if you don't have time to go there, the hotel shop wasn't so bad either as to selection and price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petro Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ashburn, Virginia
Nov 24, 2009

great experience with the Petro Palace

Great location. Most of the hotel staff, except for the maids, spoke good English and were very helpful. Hotel is resonably priced, clean and comfortable. Many other Americans there, along with Chinese business people, Danish and English business people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Petro Palace is located two minutes from Nevsky Prospekt, the main street of St. Petersburg, which has hundreds of shops and restaurants. The Petro Palace is also just a 5 minute walk from major churches and the Hermitage Museum, which should take you all day to explore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petro Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
paradise M
Business
St Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Jun 24, 2009

St Petersburg

The location is right in the historic district. We could walk almost everywhere. Was close enough to walk to see the raisng of the bridges and walk back even as late as it was. Went to the bar on the 7th floor several times. Enjoyed the view from there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel we didn't eat at but there were a few places very close to eat at. Also close to the river and took several boat trips including one to the summer palace which is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top