$320 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
29 reviews
Awesome hotel

This was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Highly recommend. See full review

  • AK1601
  • Jan 28, 2015
Perfect place to relax

Even if the hotel is not on the most beautiful beach of Vieques, the location is great, and the... See full review

  • Dimitri v.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Vieques Island hotel lures with pool oasis, spa treatments and eateries
The W Retreat & Spa, Vieques Island beckons with views of the sparkling Caribbean, indulgent experiences and décor that hold timeless, modern appeal. Spaces, from poolside cabanas to a Latin-French-inspired restaurant from a Michelin-rated chef, invite visitors to unwind indoors and outdoors. Whether patrons are lounging in the alfresco living room or starting their day with yoga on the outdoor deck, the property sets the scene for relaxation. This hotel has been awarded the 2011 Conde Nast Traveler “Hot List”, 2011 Travel + Leisure “It List”, 2012 World Luxury Awards “Top 10 Best Resort” and 2012 TripAdvisor “Trendiest Hotel in the Caribbean”
  • Contemporary beachside resort on scenic Vieques Island
  • Outdoor massages and soothing facials at AWAY Spa
  • Three restaurants, including one by a Michelin-rated chef
  • Pool oasis with a firepit and private cabanas
  • Pet-friendly property with beds, treats and toys
Located on the remote, unspoiled Vieques Island, the W Retreat & Spa, Vieques Island affords prime opportunities for exploring local beaches, including Sun Bay Beach, Media Luna Beach and Playa Grande.
The W Retreat & Spa, Vieques Island defines coastal contemporary flair. Like its sister properties under the W umbrella, the hotel makes use of bold geometrics, vibrant colors and mod furniture punctuated by natural fabrics. Views are incredible, from the stunning landscaped gardens to the calming vistas of the Caribbean. Amenities emphasize luxury, including 400-threadcount Egyptian cotton linens, Bliss Spa bath products and the signature W bed and pillow menu. All rooms are equipped with high-speed Internet access and cable TV.
Guests at the W Retreat & Spa, Vieques Island soak up the views from several restaurants, from foodie favorite miX on the Beach (from Michelin-recognized chef Alain Duccasse) to WET, which prepares fresh seafood on the grill for poolside diners. The Living Room, an eclectic, indoor-outdoor space for mingling and cocktailing, shines with contemporary Caribbean style thanks to low-slung seating and DJ-driven tracks.
W Retreat & Spa, Vieques Island lives up to its name. Visitors can relieve stress with a massage in a beachside cabana at AWAY Spa, play tennis, enjoy yoga on the outdoor deck in the fitness center and even shop for home décor items at the W Store. Pets are welcome, too, with special treats such as toys, a pet bed and food and water bowls. A stunning pool oasis – complete with private cabanas and LCD TVs – amplifies the hip quotient. 
  • Vieques Airport (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Mosquito Bay (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Esperanza Beach (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Fort Conde de Mirasol Museum (2 mi/3.3 km)
  • Event space
  • 24-hour business center
  • The hotel charges a $60 USD per night resort fee that covers amenities such as Wi-Fi, parking, roundtrip airport transfers, a daily yoga class and more.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Dining

WET®
Mix and mingle in the cool of our WET® pool, with the sun-splashed sounds of summer all around you on our way-too-fun deck. Set against breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and mainland Puerto Rico, take a dip, or sip and snack away.
Sorcé
Savor authentic Puerto Rican and Caribbean cuisine with a distinct W twist, served against breathtaking ocean views that unfurl beyond the horizon.
Living Room
Where do you lounge? Enter W Living Room, where we've knocked down the walls of traditional lobby design to create a place where you can open your mind and feel alive while indulging in cocktail socializing.
W Café
Serving on-the-go light snacks and on-the-run chilled and hot drinks all day long, W Café has everything to power your beach escapades and tropical adventures. Forgot something? We've got it all, from essential resort goods to bedazzling accessories.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 29
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.3
Sort by:
Review of W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Electronic Mayhem
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jan 5, 2014

Horrible reservation cancellation/change service

The day I was heading to Vieques the ferry service was out completely. I called the hotel telling them the situation. They said they would not refund the $300 I had already paid nor would they allow me to change nights. Their apparent reason was that I could go and get a plane ticket to the island and still make my reservation. While that might have been true, it didn't work with my situation. A good hotel would have been more flexible being aware that I may have wanted to stay there at a future date given that my Viques trip was cancelled. Certainly won't be staying there when I do eventually get there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tamayori
Business
Puerto Rico
Jan 7, 2011

Too expensive for poor service...

At check-in we had to wait 1 hour for our room to be ready. The cleaning service arrived to the room almost at nite. You have to wait a long time at the concierge desk. At the restaurants you have to wait a lot to eat and the menu don't offer many choices. Even at check-out I had to wait a lot for my luggage, and the desk clerk had to leave his post to get them. Don't get me wrong, the hotel is beautiful and peaceful and the people that serve you they do it well and with kindness, but for what I saw they are short on staff and for that reason is not a 4star $500plus a night hotel. It is a 3star $200 a night hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dine outside. Very nice restaurants with better service and at a fraction cost...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TEREQUE
Business
San Diego, California
Sep 21, 2012

Birthday Celebration

My sister her son, me and my son decided to go to Vieques for my birthday. We were hopping for a nice relaxing time where we could enjoy the sun, the beach and have fun. It turned out to be the Pefect Selection! We enjoyed everything... beatiful sorroundings, smoothing pool, confortable all over the place, nice and attentive staff. The only thing missing was a real good café... anyway, We'll be back!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bili, great food, service friendly, familiar and helpfull, You have to go!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rupert H
Business
Kansas City, KS
Nov 7, 2013

Good but a tad expensive !!!

The resort is great... The staff really good... But the restaurant is expensive and there is not much choice... However, I think W is only trusted option in Vieques..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top