$345 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Go Sox 321
Business
Boston
Jul 8, 2013

Great Couples Retreat

We just returned from the W Hotel in Vieques and overall we had a lovely time. The hotel is very nice, the food was pretty good, the staff was very friendly, and the pools and beaches were great. Vieques is a beautiful island and there are wild horses everywhere, which we thought was neat. While the W beach was very nice, the beaches on the Carribbean side of the island are much better. Also, Vieques is a small island without a lot going on. The two "main towns" are small (you could see all of Esperanza in about 10 minutes; Isabel II is a bit bigger, but not really much to see). The W is a typical resort with all that is good and bad. Very clean and nice, great pools. The gym was nice and very good by hotel standards, but needed more air conditioning and did not have free weights (other than a dumbell rack). Also, you have to numb yourself to the exorbitant fees. Just like airlines with their checked baggage fees, there was about a $65 a day "resort fee." While the hotel gives you a little card trying to explain the "value" behind the fee (e.g, you get "free" coffee, "free" wifi, and a "free" ride to the airport, which is less than 10 minutes away), this is just a way to increase the room rate. (If you stay 5 nights, you pay $325, which buys a lot of coffee, wifi, and airport transfers if charged separately). I was also a bit shell shocked when I was charged over $50 for two drinks delivered to the (non-main) pool. But if (as they hope) you simply accept that this is the price to pay for staying at any very nice resort, then the W is a great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rupert H
Business
Kansas City, KS
Nov 7, 2013

Good but a tad expensive !!!

The resort is great... The staff really good... But the restaurant is expensive and there is not much choice... However, I think W is only trusted option in Vieques..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Feb 15, 2011

W Retreat and Spa, Vieques

The purpose of the trip was to spend a long week-end at a warm and relaxing beach in a comfortable hastle-free environment. The W in Vieques is set in a very beautiful environment, the 2 beaches accessible from the hotel are tiny but nice, although the resort is located on the North side of the island, so the waves were strong and the water colder than in other beaches I experiences in the Carrabean. Service was very kind and professional. Decor was perfect. The Mix on the beach restaurant does not have a varied menu but everything we tasted was delicious. For other food choices, you have to drive to Esperanza or other places on the island, nothing else is available within walking distance. The main disadvantage of the resort is the difficulty to get to the hotel and away from it. The filghts out of the island to San Juan were all booked when we tried to make a reservation as soon as we arrived. The ferry from Fajardo is a risky option. You have to get to the ferry well over an hour in advance, otherwise, there is a substantial risk of not getting on board because priority is given to PR residents. Each time we asked for a cab to go to other places on the island or beaches, we had to wait from 30 to 45 minutes. One other more minor disadvantage is that the spa has no steam room, sauna, or jacuzzi. Generally a very nice stay if not for the stress of making it to the island and back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book flights to and from Vieques at the same time as you book your trip. And be careful, flights out of Vieques are often late (ours was 50 minutes late, and it did not surprise the locals taking the flight with us).

Review of W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Numsayin
Business
birmingham, al
Jan 31, 2011

W hotel Vieques

Great location - plenty of varied restaurants on the island if you take the trouble to go. Alain Duccase restaurant disappointing as was the loud music played by the main pool area for most of the day. Staff wonderful in helping you plan your days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the local restaurants and go for the local dishes (e.g. snapper on mofongo)

Review of W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heather CO Travel
Business
Denver, CO
Oct 24, 2014

Getaway

The pool was amazing! Staff was welcoming and very nice. The activities they offered that came with the hotel were a nice addition. Room was slightly dark and not well lit (we were on the ground level). For a W I thought the room could have been slightly cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miny L
Business
ASTORIA
Dec 24, 2014

perfect place for a couple

It was beyond my expectation!!! The concept of the hotel was simply tropical comfort and it had all the details about. Just I felt I was in the middle of caribbean to enjoy :) with friendly staffs and their amazing food in the restaurant!!! Overall it's neat, clean and very comfortable spot to stay and I will definitely go back :D

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nimish D.
Business
Avon Lake
May 12, 2015

PR trip

The W was very nice - wish we could have stayed longer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TonyG from Brooklyn
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Feb 19, 2012

Our Vieques getaway at the W Retreat and Spa

The island of Vieques is simply gorgeous with it's upspoiled beaches.It was like we were taken back to a time of the 50's & 60's when there were only local merchants no big island corporations operating,The local fare in esperanza was some of the best and affordable cuisine I've ever experinced.The hotel was superb.Both accomodations and the friendly staff.Food at the hotel was quite expensive however.The island is only twenty minutes away from San Juan by plane.Otherwise a 1&1/2 hour ferry ride is needed.We intend to visit at least once a year.A good way to enjoy the sun and escape the hustle and bustle of the big city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best food is in Esperanza.There are a row restaurants facing the ocean.The local Puerto Rican flavor is delicious .

Review of W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EJP51
Business
Hugo, MN
Apr 26, 2012

As good as it sounds...

Beautiful location. Everything was excellent. Very good value. Nice, quiet getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurants and cafe's at the W were all superb.

Review of W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CAL5one2
Business
Austin
May 20, 2012

Whatever, Whenever.

Stayed at the W Vieques for our honeymoon and couldn't have asked for a better experience. The staff was extremely welcoming and always able to answer questions and meet needs. Edward in the sports shop is fantastic and made great recommendations for things to do off the resort grounds. miX on the beach has an amazing, yet simple local menu, and excellent service. The resort grounds are fantastic, the pool is gorgeous, and the beaches are quiet, private and perfectly placed on the Atlantic side of the island. Don't let the price tag scare you away, because the experience is worth every dollar spent. Yes, it's a W, and no, it won't be cheap, but you will be very pleased should choose to visit this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Spend at least one day off the resort and rent a Jeep to explore the island. There is a rental facility on site, but you can rent the same vehicles significantly cheaper at Island car rental, which is a short walk from the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top