$255 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
31 reviews
Nice

The hotel is well preserved and well structured. It is very beautiful and located in a beautiful... See full review

  • Joel
  • Apr 25, 2015
Awesome hotel

This was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Highly recommend. See full review

  • AK1601
  • Jan 28, 2015
Vieques Island hotel lures with pool oasis, spa treatments and eateries
The W Retreat & Spa, Vieques Island beckons with views of the sparkling Caribbean, indulgent experiences and décor that hold timeless, modern appeal. Spaces, from poolside cabanas to a Latin-French-inspired restaurant from a Michelin-rated chef, invite visitors to unwind indoors and outdoors. Whether patrons are lounging in the alfresco living room or starting their day with yoga on the outdoor deck, the property sets the scene for relaxation. This hotel has been awarded the 2011 Conde Nast Traveler “Hot List”, 2011 Travel + Leisure “It List”, 2012 World Luxury Awards “Top 10 Best Resort” and 2012 TripAdvisor “Trendiest Hotel in the Caribbean”
  • Contemporary beachside resort on scenic Vieques Island
  • Outdoor massages and soothing facials at AWAY Spa
  • Three restaurants, including one by a Michelin-rated chef
  • Pool oasis with a firepit and private cabanas
  • Pet-friendly property with beds, treats and toys
Located on the remote, unspoiled Vieques Island, the W Retreat & Spa, Vieques Island affords prime opportunities for exploring local beaches, including Sun Bay Beach, Media Luna Beach and Playa Grande.
The W Retreat & Spa, Vieques Island defines coastal contemporary flair. Like its sister properties under the W umbrella, the hotel makes use of bold geometrics, vibrant colors and mod furniture punctuated by natural fabrics. Views are incredible, from the stunning landscaped gardens to the calming vistas of the Caribbean. Amenities emphasize luxury, including 400-threadcount Egyptian cotton linens, Bliss Spa bath products and the signature W bed and pillow menu. All rooms are equipped with high-speed Internet access and cable TV.
Guests at the W Retreat & Spa, Vieques Island soak up the views from several restaurants, from foodie favorite miX on the Beach (from Michelin-recognized chef Alain Duccasse) to WET, which prepares fresh seafood on the grill for poolside diners. The Living Room, an eclectic, indoor-outdoor space for mingling and cocktailing, shines with contemporary Caribbean style thanks to low-slung seating and DJ-driven tracks.
W Retreat & Spa, Vieques Island lives up to its name. Visitors can relieve stress with a massage in a beachside cabana at AWAY Spa, play tennis, enjoy yoga on the outdoor deck in the fitness center and even shop for home décor items at the W Store. Pets are welcome, too, with special treats such as toys, a pet bed and food and water bowls. A stunning pool oasis – complete with private cabanas and LCD TVs – amplifies the hip quotient. 
  • Vieques Airport (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Mosquito Bay (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Esperanza Beach (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Fort Conde de Mirasol Museum (2 mi/3.3 km)
  • Event space
  • 24-hour business center
  • The hotel charges a $60 USD per night resort fee that covers amenities such as Wi-Fi, parking, roundtrip airport transfers, a daily yoga class and more.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Dining

W Café
Serving on-the-go light snacks and on-the-run chilled and hot drinks all day long, W Café has everything to power your beach escapades and tropical adventures. Forgot something? We've got it all, from essential resort goods to bedazzling accessories.
Living Room
Where do you lounge? Enter W Living Room, where we've knocked down the walls of traditional lobby design to create a place where you can open your mind and feel alive while indulging in cocktail socializing.
Sorcé
Savor authentic Puerto Rican and Caribbean cuisine with a distinct W twist, served against breathtaking ocean views that unfurl beyond the horizon.
WET®
Mix and mingle in the cool of our WET® pool, with the sun-splashed sounds of summer all around you on our way-too-fun deck. Set against breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and mainland Puerto Rico, take a dip, or sip and snack away.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Electronic Mayhem
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jan 5, 2014

Horrible reservation cancellation/change service

The day I was heading to Vieques the ferry service was out completely. I called the hotel telling them the situation. They said they would not refund the $300 I had already paid nor would they allow me to change nights. Their apparent reason was that I could go and get a plane ticket to the island and still make my reservation. While that might have been true, it didn't work with my situation. A good hotel would have been more flexible being aware that I may have wanted to stay there at a future date given that my Viques trip was cancelled. Certainly won't be staying there when I do eventually get there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
Mar 23, 2011

Avoid! Not worth the cash!

The location was stunning. We were so excited to be pampered and soak up the sun! In the past three days we have had the WORST service possible. We waited an hour to check into our room- than waited an hour to eat at the poolside grill. We didn't get what we ordered and were served with an attitude. We woke up to "drilling and construction" outside our door the next day. We called to report it and it stopped. Then we went back to sleep - and the operator called to check in- once awakened again- the construction restarted. We dined at the pricey resturaunt and waited for over 40 minutes for our water! My husband didnt even get his after dinner drink. We scheduled a wake up call the next day - which we didn't get. We asked our mini bar to be restocked- no luck. We booked massages with concierge - they had no record of them at the spa. This is honestly to the point where we feel like chumps- and completely taken advantage of!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
Mar 27, 2011

Horrible

Worst service ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
brpmah
Business
New Haven, CT
Mar 9, 2013

needs a lot of work

This place is at a fantastic spot on Vieques. Location is prime. Rooms are nice but decor is bizarre and not very functional. Chairs are huge flat steel things that are not very conducive to sitting in. The food is below average and phenominally expensive. Lunch will easily crest $100 for two people. The staff is nice but management is lacking. You may wait over 30 minutes to see a staff member at the concierge desk at a prime time of day. They have a "wherever/whenever" button on the telephone which twice went unanswered during our stay. They have nice covered beds by the pool and a sunny morning at 10AM there was still dirty sheets and trash in many of those spaces. A garbage can overflowing with trash was not emptied from 8AM until after 2:30 when we left the pool area. The inclusive fee is quite high at $60 poer day for amenities that should be included for nothing. The place does very little well and needs some serious guidance to warrant $680 per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Theparkers
Business
Nashville, TN, USA
Jan 10, 2012

A mixed bag

just beware of the extraordinary costs of this resort- I paid $5.00 for a can of sprite. This was certainly one of the more beautiful vacations we have had but all of the resorts shortcomings don't make up for the very rude bartender on New Years, the lousy and crazy overpriced food and the poor response to room requests. The managers however were friendly and accessible. The concierge went out of his way to help us and the beauty of the resort is worth seeing. We will definitely come back to Vieques but won't stay at the W.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car your entire stay and most certainly eat El Quenepo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not trying to be picky...
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 8, 2013

Short on the W brand

Although a gorgeous location, amazing grounds, and very comfortable room decor, the W Hotel in Vieques Puerto Rico was short on meeting their quality expectations. Given a Fabulous Oceanfront Escape room described as "quiet" we were kept up late into the evening by two wedding receptions on two separate nights within 50 ft of our room. One event went until 2:30 AM with live music and fireworks; not exactly relaxing or quiet. The maid service was spotty; one time coming to our room at 5:30 PM which was unworkable. The food was less than average with uninspiring menus and many ingredients such as vegetables and fruits clearly imported from the mainland lacking in flavor. Accessible only by taxi, the food at other restaurants on the island was far superior and a much better value. Although we didn't watch a lot of TV, over a third of all the cable stations (e.g., Bravo!, BBC, Travel, Discovery, TBS, etc...) were over-riden by the same looped infomercial for hours. Finally, most of the staff were very courteous but when I requested a coffee maker for my room (a feature supposedly available) I had to ask four times before someone ever replied with an honest answer that none were. available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Next Course was fantastic. Very fresh and locally grown ingredients and awe-inspiring flavors that integrate Puerto Rican flavors and international styles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tamayori
Business
Puerto Rico
Jan 7, 2011

Too expensive for poor service...

At check-in we had to wait 1 hour for our room to be ready. The cleaning service arrived to the room almost at nite. You have to wait a long time at the concierge desk. At the restaurants you have to wait a lot to eat and the menu don't offer many choices. Even at check-out I had to wait a lot for my luggage, and the desk clerk had to leave his post to get them. Don't get me wrong, the hotel is beautiful and peaceful and the people that serve you they do it well and with kindness, but for what I saw they are short on staff and for that reason is not a 4star $500plus a night hotel. It is a 3star $200 a night hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dine outside. Very nice restaurants with better service and at a fraction cost...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fair say
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Dec 4, 2011

Amazing, Beautiful getaway

The place was great. The hotel beach was all right (once they cleaned out the sea weeds on the last day of my stay), but other beaches on the island offer so much more. I'd strongly suggest to rent a car and explore the island - you'll discover so much! I had lots of issues with the kitchen/restaurant: breakfast omelet served with wrong components a couple of times; room menu catalog differed from what they'd actually cook (they explained their menu changed, but the room catalog hasn't been updated yet); during a dinner - a waitress never came up to our table, then I had to go look for her, so I could sign the bill and leave. The hotel kitchen/restaurant was pretty expensive, but the food was worth it. The hotel itself is overpriced. Overall, it's a great place to visit. I strongly recommend it primarily because of the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GAFO4
Business
New York
Mar 13, 2012

W Vieques

We showed up at the hotel from another supposed luxury hotel on Vieques after they lost power, couldn't serve us food, no hot water, had a wedding scheduled they didn't tell us about, and wanted to keep our money (but they didn't). I booked our same-day reservation but it took over four hours to hit the W's reservation system. Even though I had a confirmation code and receipt this hotel's staff wouldn't let us into the room until I finally got a rep to speak directly with a W Front Desk staff member. Since we were paying top $ I would have expected better accommodation to just allow us to our room so we could get settled. Once we did get settled it was an enjoyable place. We were super close to the beach and pool, the food was not spectacular but just right, our dinner waiter Alexander was a great guy, and the hotel is five minutes to the Vieques airfield with their own private lounge. We also used a new, private airplane charter business that is less expensive than the retail airlines. We will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Look up Omar at Taxi Aereo to book your flights from Isla Grande Airport San Juan, PR to Vieques. Tell him Galen recommended it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TEREQUE
Business
San Diego, California
Sep 21, 2012

Birthday Celebration

My sister her son, me and my son decided to go to Vieques for my birthday. We were hopping for a nice relaxing time where we could enjoy the sun, the beach and have fun. It turned out to be the Pefect Selection! We enjoyed everything... beatiful sorroundings, smoothing pool, confortable all over the place, nice and attentive staff. The only thing missing was a real good café... anyway, We'll be back!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bili, great food, service friendly, familiar and helpfull, You have to go!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top