$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Villa Herencia Hotel

3 stars
23 Caleta de las Monjas, San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
23 reviews
Very nice Hotel!

This hotel located in a very quiet and nice area of old San Juan, almost next to Governor house. It... See full review

  • DPhoto
  • Dec 23, 2014
Very Nice, Cultural Experience

This hotel was PERFECT for what we were looking for. A hotel in Old San Juan convenient to walking... See full review

  • RJ Smooth
  • Dec 8, 2014
A beautiful mansion in the Old City where you will find eight luxury rooms elegantly decorated with mirrors from Venice, chandeliers from eastern Europe, beautiful furniture, all skillfully handcrafted by wood masters. All are equipped with modern amenities like air conditioning, plush pillow-top mattresses, flat screen television, exquisite private bathrooms and wi-fi in common areas. Beautiful antiques by Vidal and Pacheco adorn the library and the twelve seat dinning room. A permanent exhibition by one of Puerto Rico's greatest painter Roberto Parilla is displayed in our rooms and common areas. A terrace where you can enjoy the beautiful Caribbean breeze. A romantic getaway for couples. The hotel offers No smoking policy.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Herencia Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Villa Herencia Hotel Rooms

Classic Queen
Classic Queen offers 1 Queen-Size Plush Pillow-Top mattress along with Private Bathroom, Air Conditioned and TV/Satellite.
Deluxe King
Deluxe King offers 1 King-Size Plush Pillow-Top Mattress along with Private Bathroom, Air Conditioned and TV/Satellite.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo del Nino: 0 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 6.1 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has a 12 seat dining room, a library with sofas, table and chairs plus a large terrace.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Herencia Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
5
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Olympia, WA
Apr 13, 2011

Terrific location and hospitality

We really enjoyed the wonderful hospitality at this hotel. They only have eight rooms (six on the main level & two upstairs). The location is perfect in Old Town San Juan (great for walking around for sightseeing or shopping). If you are looking for a great price and nice location, this hotel is for you. The hotel doesn't have an elevator or pool (we didn't need either) and the rooms are a little small. However, the hotel staff are terrific and decor is nice. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lexilou
Business
germany
May 23, 2012

Great Location in Old San Juan

If your plan is to explore Old San Juan, this is your hotel. It's located just a couple of steps down the road from the cathedral, and all the other sights are also within walking distance. We showed up earlier than expected, and the staff tried to have us check in as early as possible - without any early check-in fees... instead, they offered us a free breakfast during the wait. We could also leave our luggage while taking a stroll around town until the staff gave us a phone call as soon as the room was ready. On check-out day, we could also leave our luggage in the lobby after checking out of our room until we were ready to head to the cruise terminal late afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
El alquimista
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 6, 2012

I love this place :)

The staff is wonderful and I will definitely comeback. Great for couples!!! I travel to San Juan every year and this is my favorite place. I only wish the continental breakfast was more varied as it was the same every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunnyday24
Business
Evanston, Il
Aug 21, 2012

PERFECT Location!

If you want the REAL genuine, authentic Old San Juan experience you will enjoy Villa Herencia! It is a quick relaxing walk from everything you want to enjoy on a vacation. Lovely, charming and quaint. Maria and her staff will try their best to accommodate you-super gracious! Great place for a honeymoon, anniversary, birthday or any celebration. The water is wram/tepid throughout the island-so no steamy hot showers anywhere! *OSJ is a cat colony so if you are allergic to cats bring your Benedril!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

NuYoRican-Live music! Best Chicken tacos and Sangria.Get there by 9:45 for free entry. Thurs nights are Salsa heaven!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bar Taker Ryan
Business
Dover, NJ
Jun 2, 2014

Can't beat this location

My wife and I stayed only one night at the Villa Herencia Hotel but we would have gladly stayed longer if possible. We got into San Juan a day before our cruise departed and wanted to get some time in there before the cruise. Most of the hotels were booked by the time we looked for rooms because of the cruise and other people with the same idea so I was surprised such a great hotel was still available when we booked. The room was much more spacious than I expected and very clean and comfortable. Best of all, it was directly in the center of Old San Juan and walking distance to everything that it has to offer. If you're staying in Old San Juan and are looking to experience this particular part of Puerto Rico, definitely give Villa Herencia a look. You will not be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants in Old San Juan are a little pricey but a short walk to the water reveals various food trucks that are cheap and delicious with a good deal of variety. If you're not insistent on a sit-down meal, give these trucks a try.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ormond Beach, Fl
Jan 29, 2011

Great experience

This is what I would expect an Old San Juan hotel to be. Very clean, beautifuly decorated, and the staff was great. The street is quiet, but still centrally located. I would definetly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The artsy people.
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 8, 2011

Old San Juan

The hotel had a very old feel to it but was modern. The service was top notch and the room itself was very comfortable. I will stay there again. I was very nervous going there because there was no rating at the time. After the This is within walking distance of all the action Old San Juan has but it is in a very quiet location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC Metro Area
Mar 26, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

The host/hostess of Villa Herencia (Casa Herencia/Herencia Hotel) were very gracious and friendly. I wasn't expecting an all-inclusive hotel nor was I anticipating the "Bates Hotel". We were pleasantly surprised with the homey feel of Casa Herencia. Since we were going to explore the Old San Juan area and then later in the week rent a car to go to El Yunque, "la casa" provided our basic need of a room and bathroom. It is a former mansion with a comfy front room/office/ living room and a formal dining area [where a continental breakfast is served daily]. We did not miss having room service nor an on-site restaurant as there are oodles of places near the hotel. If you are a tub person, I believe the rooms only have showers. I think our room was called The Americana: a queen-size bed but not one of the romantic poster beds I had seen advertised but had oodles of pillows!!! Here's a rundown of what Villa Herencia/Herencia Hotel provides: Air Conditioned Rooms -- the air-conditioning definitely works! Private Bathrooms -- no need to worry about having to share one with any other guest! Television/Satellite -- we only watched TV basically at night after sightseeing and dining in the area! Bilingual Staff (English and Spanish) -- even if English is your primary language, do try to use a bit of Spanish: Hola/hello, Gracias/Thank you, Buenos dias/good morning, Buenos noches/good night. My high school Spanish barely got me by but was fun to recall! Wireless Internet Access in Common Area -- this was a boon to my laptop dependent hubby! Common Use Dinning Room -- great for the continental breakfast and a place to sit around with friends and after a day out sightseeing and snacking on items you may have bought and brought back to eat! Also, a great area where you can sit and write all your postcards to friends!! Roof Top Terrace -- actually, work was being done in preparation for an upcoming wedding on the weekend but, a great place to relax and enjoy the tropical breeze! Hair Dryer Available Upon Request -- didn't require one. Iron/Board Available Upon Request -- we actually had one in the room! I would definitely come back since the location is close to all the sites and shopping in Old San Juan -- forget renting a car since there is hardly any parking in the area! Besides, you CAN walk to most places in Old San Juan and there IS a free trolley to take you around especially between the old forts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Calle de la Forteleza is the main shopping drag along with Calle Cristo but I regret not checking out Calle San Francisco just one street up. Do note, there are MANY shops to check out!! I tried to do all of them but still had room in my luggage!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lolobelle14
Business
Missouri
Sep 12, 2014

High quality service at a beautiful intimate hotel!

We had an amazing experience at Villa Harencia! The service was amazing and the staff was very accomadating and assisted with any question. The location was in the heart of Old San Juan. We loved that this small hotel was only 8 rooms. Therefore, it was soooo quiet. The rooms were so beautifel! I would definitely stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Mofongo!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RJ Smooth
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 8, 2014

Very Nice, Cultural Experience

This hotel was PERFECT for what we were looking for. A hotel in Old San Juan convenient to walking around the area, walking distance to catch the ferry to Bacardi Factory, close to shopping, bars, restaurants, taxi's, etc. It's a classic establishment that looks like it was converted into a hotel...not very big, but very nice. Rooms are comfortable, each have the bed, bathroom, couch/lounge area, etc. Don't come expecting to walk into a 5-star resort....but it's very comfortable and serene if you'd like a LOCAL place to stay that doesn't break the bank.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top