$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Villa Herencia Hotel

3 stars
23 Caleta de las Monjas, San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
19 reviews
Can't beat this location

My wife and I stayed only one night at the Villa Herencia Hotel but we would have gladly stayed... See full review

  • Bar Taker Ryan
  • Jun 2, 2014
PERFECT Location!

If you want the REAL genuine, authentic Old San Juan experience you will enjoy Villa Herencia! It... See full review

  • Sunnyday24
  • Aug 21, 2012
A beautiful mansion in the Old City where you will find eight luxury rooms elegantly decorated with mirrors from Venice, chandeliers from eastern Europe, beautiful furniture, all skillfully handcrafted by wood masters. All are equipped with modern amenities like air conditioning, plush pillow-top mattresses, flat screen television, exquisite private bathrooms and wi-fi in common areas. Beautiful antiques by Vidal and Pacheco adorn the library and the twelve seat dinning room. A permanent exhibition by one of Puerto Rico's greatest painter Roberto Parilla is displayed in our rooms and common areas. A terrace where you can enjoy the beautiful Caribbean breeze. A romantic getaway for couples. The hotel offers No smoking policy.

Hotel Map

18.4657 -66.1188
Area served
23 Caleta de las Monjas, Old San Juan, San Juan, Puerto Rico 00901
Nearby airports
San Juan International Airport (SJU) is located about 20 minutes away allowing traffic.
Area description
Casa Herencia is located adjacent to El Convento Hotel in one of the most beautiful and quiet residential areas of the city. Within walking distance you can find excellent restaurants, shopping, art galleries, tennis courts, museums, El Morro Fortress and La Rogativa Plaza, which has one of the most beautiful views to the San Juan Bay.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Herencia Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Villa Herencia Hotel Rooms

Classic Queen
Classic Queen offers 1 Queen-Size Plush Pillow-Top mattress along with Private Bathroom, Air Conditioned and TV/Satellite.
Deluxe King
Deluxe King offers 1 King-Size Plush Pillow-Top Mattress along with Private Bathroom, Air Conditioned and TV/Satellite.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo del Nino: 0 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 6.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has a 12 seat dining room, a library with sofas, table and chairs plus a large terrace.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Herencia Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Olympia, WA
Apr 13, 2011

Terrific location and hospitality

We really enjoyed the wonderful hospitality at this hotel. They only have eight rooms (six on the main level & two upstairs). The location is perfect in Old Town San Juan (great for walking around for sightseeing or shopping). If you are looking for a great price and nice location, this hotel is for you. The hotel doesn't have an elevator or pool (we didn't need either) and the rooms are a little small. However, the hotel staff are terrific and decor is nice. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Apr 5, 2011

Wonderful Experience

This Hotel was wonderful. Very charming and beautiful, it felt like being in Europe. The courtyard did get a little noisy at times but for us it did not diminish the experience at all. I would gladly return. The Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, but I think the hotel is new so the taxi drivers did not really know where to go and the number provided goes to a sister hotel across town. Might be a good idea to have the directions printed out beofre you go, but the extra preperation is well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of high end shopping in Old San Juan

Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
DC Metro Area
Mar 26, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

The host/hostess of Villa Herencia (Casa Herencia/Herencia Hotel) were very gracious and friendly. I wasn't expecting an all-inclusive hotel nor was I anticipating the "Bates Hotel". We were pleasantly surprised with the homey feel of Casa Herencia. Since we were going to explore the Old San Juan area and then later in the week rent a car to go to El Yunque, "la casa" provided our basic need of a room and bathroom. It is a former mansion with a comfy front room/office/ living room and a formal dining area [where a continental breakfast is served daily]. We did not miss having room service nor an on-site restaurant as there are oodles of places near the hotel. If you are a tub person, I believe the rooms only have showers. I think our room was called The Americana: a queen-size bed but not one of the romantic poster beds I had seen advertised but had oodles of pillows!!! Here's a rundown of what Villa Herencia/Herencia Hotel provides: Air Conditioned Rooms -- the air-conditioning definitely works! Private Bathrooms -- no need to worry about having to share one with any other guest! Television/Satellite -- we only watched TV basically at night after sightseeing and dining in the area! Bilingual Staff (English and Spanish) -- even if English is your primary language, do try to use a bit of Spanish: Hola/hello, Gracias/Thank you, Buenos dias/good morning, Buenos noches/good night. My high school Spanish barely got me by but was fun to recall! Wireless Internet Access in Common Area -- this was a boon to my laptop dependent hubby! Common Use Dinning Room -- great for the continental breakfast and a place to sit around with friends and after a day out sightseeing and snacking on items you may have bought and brought back to eat! Also, a great area where you can sit and write all your postcards to friends!! Roof Top Terrace -- actually, work was being done in preparation for an upcoming wedding on the weekend but, a great place to relax and enjoy the tropical breeze! Hair Dryer Available Upon Request -- didn't require one. Iron/Board Available Upon Request -- we actually had one in the room! I would definitely come back since the location is close to all the sites and shopping in Old San Juan -- forget renting a car since there is hardly any parking in the area! Besides, you CAN walk to most places in Old San Juan and there IS a free trolley to take you around especially between the old forts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Calle de la Forteleza is the main shopping drag along with Calle Cristo but I regret not checking out Calle San Francisco just one street up. Do note, there are MANY shops to check out!! I tried to do all of them but still had room in my luggage!

Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canby, Oregon
Mar 10, 2011

Culturistic Hotel

Great looking old hotel, if you like taking in the culture then this is one of the places you might want to stay the night at. They are just finishing up a roof top bathtub like their sister hotel la casablanca which was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to La Madre for dinner and $5 margaritas (nine flavors)

Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Mar 4, 2011

spanish feel

We were in the heart of the Old San Juan and we walked everywhere. The room was rather small but it has an authentic Old Spanish home feel. The patio was really beautiful and the bed was comfortable enough for two. 4/5 experience. It was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 27, 2011

Great pre-cruise stay

The hotel was clean and staff were friendly. Great location in Old San Juan, withing walking distance of all the sites. Very quiet at night. We would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Syracuse, NY
Feb 26, 2011

Charming and convenient

La Herencia is a charmingly converted mansion in Old San Juan. Nicely furnished with antiques and beautiful art. Our room was on the second floor and had a private patio area. Bed comfortable, housekeeping good. Hotel staff pleasant and helpful. In a very safe area of Old San Juan, close to excellent shopping, dining, and tourist attractions. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Flamenco dancing at Rosa de Triana across the plaza. Food was excellent, service good, and dancing terrific. Make reservations early!

Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The artsy people.
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 8, 2011

Old San Juan

The hotel had a very old feel to it but was modern. The service was top notch and the room itself was very comfortable. I will stay there again. I was very nervous going there because there was no rating at the time. After the This is within walking distance of all the action Old San Juan has but it is in a very quiet location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ormond Beach, Fl
Jan 29, 2011

Great experience

This is what I would expect an Old San Juan hotel to be. Very clean, beautifuly decorated, and the staff was great. The street is quiet, but still centrally located. I would definetly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search