$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2015 Check-out: Jul 17, 2015

Villa Herencia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 23 Caleta de las Monjas, San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
31 reviews
Romantic Honeymoon Experience

The staff at the hotel were so nice. We were amazed how they made us feel at home and were always... See full review

  • Peggy C.
  • Apr 24, 2015
Beautiful Hotel

We arrived late after a delayed flight into San Juan and was met by a welcoming gentleman, Mark,... See full review

  • Chris London
  • Jan 9, 2015
A beautiful mansion in the Old City where you will find eight luxury rooms elegantly decorated with mirrors from Venice, chandeliers from eastern Europe, beautiful furniture, all skillfully handcrafted by wood masters. All are equipped with modern amenities like air conditioning, plush pillow-top mattresses, flat screen television, exquisite private bathrooms and wi-fi in common areas. Beautiful antiques by Vidal and Pacheco adorn the library and the twelve seat dinning room. A permanent exhibition by one of Puerto Rico's greatest painter Roberto Parilla is displayed in our rooms and common areas. A terrace where you can enjoy the beautiful Caribbean breeze. A romantic getaway for couples. The hotel offers No smoking policy.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Herencia Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Villa Herencia Hotel Rooms

Classic Queen
Classic Queen offers 1 Queen-Size Plush Pillow-Top mattress along with Private Bathroom, Air Conditioned and TV/Satellite.
Deluxe King
Deluxe King offers 1 King-Size Plush Pillow-Top Mattress along with Private Bathroom, Air Conditioned and TV/Satellite.
SunDeck Suite
One King Bed SunDeck Suite. Our Sundeck Suites open directly onto the Terrace and are comfortably furnished with all Hotel Amenities plus Refrigerator & Microwave. All rooms and guests have access to our library, dining room, courtyard, and upper rooftop Sun Deck. Our Sun Deck features plenty of lounge chairs, dining tables, day beds, and Open air Sun Showers. Complimentary breakfast is served each morning in the Dining Room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo del Nino: 0 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 6.1 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has a 12 seat dining room, a library with sofas, table and chairs plus a large terrace.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Villa Herencia Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
El alquimista
Denver, CO
Jul 6, 2012

I love this place :)

The staff is wonderful and I will definitely comeback. Great for couples!!! I travel to San Juan every year and this is my favorite place. I only wish the continental breakfast was more varied as it was the same every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peggy C.
Business
Redwood City
Apr 24, 2015

Romantic Honeymoon Experience

The staff at the hotel were so nice. We were amazed how they made us feel at home and were always available to answer any questions. Everyone from the front desk to the cleaning staff, all were courteous and helpful. The hotel was beautiful! Rustic and such history. This was exactly what we wanted for our Old San Juan experience. The rooms were clean. The location was perfect, safe and easy access to all what Old San Juan has to offer. No need to drive. We would definitely return in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris London
Business
London
Mar 10, 2015

Fabulous boutique hotel

Stayed one night before boarding our Caribbean cruise ship, hotel is beautiful and staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast was basic though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brian Mc.
Business
Ft. Lauderdale
Jan 15, 2015

Great little hotel

For the money this is a cool little hotel. Great, friendly staff. Excellent location in Old San Juan. I'll be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris London
Business
London, UK
Jan 9, 2015

Beautiful Hotel

We arrived late after a delayed flight into San Juan and was met by a welcoming gentleman, Mark, who was filling in for the receptionist. The hotel itself is beautiful, the rooms look like something from a magazine and we were highly impressed with the many photo opportunities the hotel offered. Mark was extremely helpful and caring and gave good tips on where to go, including to nearby Barrachina for the best pina coladas. Possibly the only letdown is the quality of the breakfast which was rather basic, although the fact that it was so prettily presented on a silver tray perhaps made up for the lack of a hearty meal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is in Old San Juan and you can walk everywhere on the pretty cobbled streets where you will find lots of boutique shops. There is a night market nearby and the pier where we boarded our ship is a 10-15 min walk.

Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DPhoto
Business
Buffalo Grove
Dec 23, 2014

Very nice Hotel!

This hotel located in a very quiet and nice area of old San Juan, almost next to Governor house. It is a very safe and pleasant place. Not far from old castle and inner harbor - you can walk there. Staff of the hotel is very friendly. Hotel it self represent a local style in regards of interior design. Might not be 100 appealing but it is comfy and nice. It has a pretty patio on the roof or top floor. Entrance is a bit small from outside so it is easy to miss. No near by parking is available and I would not recommend to rent a car for old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't rent a car for staying in Old San Juan. It is very compact and parking is a problem. If you want a loud fun place to stay - try to rent near commercial ship port - there are a lot of restaurants. If you like quiet place - rent closer to old castle that located at entrance of San Juan harbor.

Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RJ Smooth
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 8, 2014

Very Nice, Cultural Experience

This hotel was PERFECT for what we were looking for. A hotel in Old San Juan convenient to walking around the area, walking distance to catch the ferry to Bacardi Factory, close to shopping, bars, restaurants, taxi's, etc. It's a classic establishment that looks like it was converted into a hotel...not very big, but very nice. Rooms are comfortable, each have the bed, bathroom, couch/lounge area, etc. Don't come expecting to walk into a 5-star resort....but it's very comfortable and serene if you'd like a LOCAL place to stay that doesn't break the bank.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lolobelle14
Business
Missouri
Sep 12, 2014

High quality service at a beautiful intimate hotel!

We had an amazing experience at Villa Harencia! The service was amazing and the staff was very accomadating and assisted with any question. The location was in the heart of Old San Juan. We loved that this small hotel was only 8 rooms. Therefore, it was soooo quiet. The rooms were so beautifel! I would definitely stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Mofongo!

Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SPTraveller
Business
New York city
Sep 3, 2014

Take a step back in history

The hotel is beautiful and feels steeped in history. The rooms are beautiful and have that old world feel (place was a home for the nuns). The beds are comfortable, bathrooms are modern. Location is amazing. The other amenities are no frill. There were mosquitos, which appears to be a San Juan issue, but the open air hallway I think magnifies it. But the hotel has repellant available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kuroki
Business
Ponce , PR
Aug 13, 2014

Great for romantic night

Unbelievable Great place for family getaway. I have a unique time with my wife and will come back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bar Taker Ryan
Business
Dover, NJ
Jun 2, 2014

Can't beat this location

My wife and I stayed only one night at the Villa Herencia Hotel but we would have gladly stayed longer if possible. We got into San Juan a day before our cruise departed and wanted to get some time in there before the cruise. Most of the hotels were booked by the time we looked for rooms because of the cruise and other people with the same idea so I was surprised such a great hotel was still available when we booked. The room was much more spacious than I expected and very clean and comfortable. Best of all, it was directly in the center of Old San Juan and walking distance to everything that it has to offer. If you're staying in Old San Juan and are looking to experience this particular part of Puerto Rico, definitely give Villa Herencia a look. You will not be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants in Old San Juan are a little pricey but a short walk to the water reveals various food trucks that are cheap and delicious with a good deal of variety. If you're not insistent on a sit-down meal, give these trucks a try.

Back to menu Return to top